François Burgat : The Islamologist and the sustaining Qatar



In his book Tariq Ramadan, History of an imposture, published by Flammarion, our colleague Ian Hamel devotes to the Islamologist François Burgat a very edifying chapter on the relationships of the author of Understanding political Islam with the Muslim Brotherhood and their Qatari sponsors.

Good leaves:

By Ian Hamel

In 2004, before meeting Hassan al-Banna’s family and the leaders of the Muslim Brotherhood in Egypt, I immersed myself in L’Islamisme en face, signed by François Burgat, a researcher at the CNRS. At that time, with my modest knowledge of the subject, this reading, I must admit, almost made me sympathetic to the Brotherhood. Doctor of Public Law, professor at the University of Constantine in Algeria, a researcher at the CEDEJ in Cairo (where he had met Tariq Ramadan in 1992-1993), Director of the French Centre for Archaeology and Social Sciences in Sana’a, Yemen, François Burgat, a perfect Arabic speaker, presented an impressive business card.

Since then, I’ve changed my mind pretty quickly. Especially when he introduced me to the Sudanese Hassan al-Turabi, nicknamed the “Black Pope of terrorism”, as “a very clever, highly cultured, polyglot and above all, a moderate man, whatever those upset by his intelligence and his ability to communicate may think (1) ”.

According to François Burgat, the most bloodthirsty jihadists would be innocent victims of the selfishness and iniquity of the West. Haoues Seniguer, a lecturer at Sciences Po Lyon, notes that his “’good’ version of Islam would be that of the Islamists, who would interpret it as it should be, in accordance with what would be its deepest essence: an integral, normative, “identity-based” and therefore politically oppositional Islam”. Forgetting that Islam is “a secular religion that long went without Islamism (2)”.

Burgat badmouths Kepel and Roy

Oumma.com bluntly denounces “François Burgat’s shameless lies”. The latter accused the first site of French-speaking Islam of aligning itself with the editorial line of the Algerian authorities. Which is inaccurate to say the least, Oumma.com has always condemned dictatorships in the Muslim world. More significantly, François Burgat reproaches the site for “the most virulent Qatar and Al-Jazeera bashings”. The response of Oumma.com: “Amazing! The man of the left, who is part of the braying crowd, is therefore indignant that one should attack the ultimate slave theocracy, where money flows like water, a criterion which, it is true, would make any absolute monarchy seem charming (3).”

Is François Burgat sincere, or did he choose a niche in order to distinguish himself from the two best-known French-speaking Islamologists, Gilles Kepel and Olivier Roy? Two colleagues who, apparently, put him in the shade, if we are to believe the rather nonacademic tone he uses to “badmouth” them in his book Face to Face With Political Islam, in which, he asserts that Gilles Kepel’s writings “finally borrow a register that has always seemed closer to that of self-fulfilling prophecies or pyromaniac firefighters than that of the patient deconstruction that the social sciences can bring about”. As for Olivier Roy, his approach “had [in his view] wrongly reduced the Islamist reality to a literal appropriation of the actors’ slogans (4)”.

Since Tariq Ramadan’s legal troubles, François Burgat, aged 72, Emeritus Research Director at the CNRS, has not really used an academic tone to systematically drag his opponents in the mud. On social networks, he prefers to use the vocabulary of the neighbourhood “rascals”. “From the gutter to the #NouvelObs, have the last barriers fallen?” he wrote on Facebook in December 2018. And on Twitter, he adds #beuark to my name and to that of Le Point on March 12, 2018. François Burgat goes so far as to claim on April 28, 2019, on Twitter that I accept, “to butter up not only the Emirati people but also (let’s hope it was VERY well paid) Abdelfatah Sissi, for whom he did the election campaign! :-)Beuark!” Except, small detail, that I do not cover this region journalistically. Under these conditions, it is difficult for me to campaign for the Egyptian dictator, for whom I have no sympathy.

To try to understand François Burgat’s blind defence of Tariq Ramadan, as well as his seemingly immoderate love for the gas emirate, we must dive into the impressive file of more than fifty pages devoted to him by the former Muslim Brother Mohamed Louizi. It shows that the political scientist is a regular customer of the Doha palaces, which have practically become his favourite canteens. In March 2016, he is the guest of honour at the Cile, directed by Tariq Ramadan, at the same time as the Saudi theologian Salman bin Fahd al-Odah, signatory of a call for armed jihad in Syria, and Mohamed el-Moctar el-Shinqiti, “Mauritanian Muslim Jihadist Brother”.

On 23 and 24 February 2010, François Burgat was already in Qatar “when the Muslim Brotherhood, from the Islamist International, gathered at a political mass to parley around the theme ‘Islamist movements… choices and policies’, organised by the study centre attached to the Qatari channel Al-Jazeera”, writes Mohamed Louizi. François Burgat shares the same platform as Rached Ghannouchi, the leader of Ennahda, the Tunisian Islamist party. Another photo shows François Burgat, still in Doha, in July 2017 with a delegation from the NGO AFD International, “very close to the Moroccan group al-Adl Wal’ihsân (Justice and Spirituality) (5)”.

For Mohamed Louizi, François Burgat would not only be an academic who fell in love with his object of study (the Islamists), “He is a fellow traveller of the Brotherhood and one can even wonder if he is not himself a Muslim Brother,” he says. In October 2016, during the trial linked to the private Muslim high school Averroès in Lille, Mohamed Louizi was confronted with François Burgat, who testified alongside the leaders of the UOIF, namely Amar Lasfar, then imam of Lille and at the origin of the creation of this high school. “He held the speech of a militant, explaining that the Muslim Brotherhood was an excellent thing for the West, which had to deal with them (6),” says the author of Pourquoi j’ai quitté les Frères musulmans.

In addition, François Burgat chairs the Arab Center for Research and Policy Studies (ACRPS) in Paris, a subsidiary of the ACRPS Doha Institute, headed by Azmi Bishara, an Israeli Arab who has been exiled in Qatar for the past ten years and an unofficial adviser to the Emir of Qatar. For months, the former researcher has been constantly denigrating Qatar Papers, the book by Christian Chesnot and Georges Malbrunot, and their documentary directed by Jérôme Sesquin “Qatar, war of influence on Islam in Europe”, broadcast on Arte. In an interview, he explains that the Muslim Brotherhood “has indisputably risen to the forefront of Arab opposition”. And that the fury against the Brotherhood and against Doha is due to the fact that “Qatar is indeed, with Turkey, one of the only states in the region not to criminalise them. The crime of the Brotherhood is to be everywhere at the head of the ballot boxes of the Arab Spring (7).”

On October 18, 2019, leading a conference at the ACRPS entitled “La France face à la radicalisation”, François Burgat denounced “the process of criminalisation of the Muslim population” in France. Under these conditions, “it is necessary to make a big splash at the polls. We must strike where it hurts […] We must mobilise on the electoral field,” recalling that Muslims are still 6 million. Without any nuance, the researcher calls for the constitution of community lists. In front of a room conquered by his ideas, François Burgat went so far as to reverse the responsibilities in the “process that produced radicalisation”. In fact, it is the French “power”, by its behaviour and its hatred of Muslims, which would push a future Mickaël Harpon (named after the killer of the Paris police prefecture) to commit assassinations…

However, François Burgat published on the Muslim Post website a series of articles related to the Ramadan case, in which he seems to want to distance himself from his friend for 30 years. After stating that “we have not often agreed, far from it”, he claims that he has “never sought to deny or even euphemistically dismiss the obvious contradictions between Tariq Ramadan’s extramarital life and what his ‘core business’ required in terms of individual ethics. Indeed, I immediately considered that the battles I was waging at his side (with others) might have… to go without him (8).” Brave, but not reckless. All the more so as Tariq Ramadan is no longer really in the emirate’s good books.

 

1. Ian Hamel, The Truth About Tariq Ramadan, op. cit., p. 168.

2. Haoues Seniguer, “Pour François Burgat, les islamistes ont toujours raison”, https://mondafrique.com/francois-burgat-islamistes-ont-toujours-raison/, August 21, 2017.

3. “Réponse aux mensonges éhontés de François Burgat,” https://oumma.com/reponse-aux-mensonges-ehontes-de-francois-burgat/, June 11, 2013.

4. François Burgat, Face to Face With Political Islam, op. cit., pp. 254-272.

5. Mohamed Louizi, “Les jalons de François Burgat sur la route des Frères”, http://mohamedlouizi.eu/2017/12/31/les-jalons-de-francois-burgat-sur-la-routedes-freres/, December 31, 2017.

6. Interview with the author, November 2018.

7. Baudouins Loos, “François Burgat : Des insinuations fantaisistes visent le Qatar… et les musulmans d’Europe”, http://blog.lesoir.be/baudouinloos/2019/09/10/francois-burgat-des-insinuations-fantaisistes-visent-le-qatar-et-les-musulmansdeurope/, September 10, 2019.

8. François Burgat, “Le piège d’une ‘affaire’”, https://lemuslimpost.com/francois-burgat-quoi-tariq-ramadan-nom-2.html, January 21, 2019.

François Burgat : L’Islamologue et le Qatar nourricier



Dans son livre Tariq Ramadan, histoire d’une imposture, paru aux éditions Flammarion, notre confrère Ian Hamel consacre à l’islamologue François Burgat un chapitre très édifiant sur les accointances de l’auteur de Comprendre l’islam politique avec les Frères musulmans et leur sponsors qataris.

Bonnes feuilles :

Par Ian Hamel

En 2004, avant de rencontrer la famille d’Hassan al-Banna et des dirigeants des Frères musulmans en Égypte, je m’étais plongé dans L’Islamisme en face, signé par François Burgat, chercheur au CNRS. À cette époque, avec mes modestes connaissances sur le sujet, cette lecture, je dois l’avouer, m’avait presque rendu sympathique la confrérie. Docteur en droit public, enseignant à l’université de Constantine en Algérie, chercheur au CEDEJ au Caire (où il avait fait connaissance avec Tariq Ramadan en 1992-1993), directeur du Centre français d’archéologie et de sciences sociales à Sanaa, au Yémen, François Burgat, parfait arabophone, présentait une carte de visite impressionnante.

Depuis, j’ai assez vite modifié mon jugement. En particulier lorsqu’il m’a présenté le Soudanais Hassan al-Tourabi, surnommé le « pape noir du terrorisme », comme « un homme très fin, très cultivé, polyglotte et surtout, un modéré, quoi qu’en pensent ceux que son intelligence et sa capacité de communication contrarient (1) ».

À en croire François Burgat, les djihadistes les plus sanguinaires seraient d’innocentes victimes de l’égoïsme et de l’iniquité de l’Occident. Haoues Seniguer, enseignant à Sciences Po Lyon, constate que sa « “bonne” version de l’islam serait celle des islamistes, qui l’interpréteraient comme il se doit, conformément à ce que serait son essence profonde : un islam intégral, normatif, “identitaire” donc, et politiquement oppositionnel ». Oubliant que l’islam est « une religion séculaire qui s’est longtemps passée d’islamisme (2) ».

Burgat débine Kepel et Roy

Oumma.com met moins de gants pour dénoncer les « mensonges éhontés de François Burgat ». Ce dernier a accusé le premier site de l’islam francophone de s’aligner sur la ligne éditoriale des autorités algériennes. Ce qui est pour le moins inexact, Oumma.com a toujours condamné les dictatures dans le monde musulman. Plus significatif encore, François Burgat reproche au site les « Qatar et Al-Jazeera bashings les plus virulents ». Réponse d’Oumma.com : « Stupéfiant ! L’homme de gauche, qui hurle avec les loups, s’indigne donc que l’on s’en prenne à la théocratie esclavagiste par excellence, là où l’argent coule à flots, un critère qui, il est vrai, ferait trouver du charme à n’importe quelle monarchie absolue (3). »

François Burgat est-il sincère, ou s’est-il choisi un créneau afin de se différencier des deux islamologues francophones les plus connus, Gilles Kepel et Olivier Roy ? Deux collègues qui, apparemment, lui font beaucoup d’ombre, si l’on en croit le ton assez peu académique qu’il utilise pour les « débiner » dans son livre Comprendre l’islam politique. Il y affirme ainsi que les écrits de Gilles Kepel « empruntent enfin un registre qui m’est toujours apparu plus proche de celui des prophéties autoréalisatrices ou des pompiers pyromanes que celui de la patiente déconstruction que peuvent opérer les sciences sociales ». Concernant Olivier Roy, son approche « avait à [son] sens le tort de réduire la réalité islamiste à une appropriation littérale des slogans des acteurs (4) ».

Depuis les ennuis judiciaires de Tariq Ramadan, François Burgat, 72 ans, directeur de recherche émérite au CNRS, n’utilise pas vraiment un ton académique pour traîner systématiquement dans la boue ses adversaires. Sur les réseaux sociaux, il préfère utiliser le vocabulaire des « lascars » de quartier. « Du caniveau au #NouvelObs, les derniers barrages ont-ils sauté ? » lâche-t‐il sur Facebook en décembre 2018. Et sur Twitter, il accole #beuark à mon nom et à celui du Point, le 12 mars 2018. François Burgat va jusqu’à prétendre le 28 avril 2019 sur Twitter que j’accepte « non seulement de cirer les bottes des Émiratis mais également celles (espérons que cela était TRÈS bien rémunéré) d’Abdelfatah Sissi, dont il a fait la campagne électorale ! :-)Beuark ! ». Sauf, petit détail, que je ne couvre pas journalistiquement cette région. Dans ces conditions, il m’est difficile de mener campagne en faveur du dictateur égyptien, pour lequel je n’éprouve aucune sympathie.

Pour tenter de comprendre la défense aveugle que François Burgat apporte à Tariq Ramadan, tout comme son amour qui semble immodéré pour l’émirat gazier, il faut se plonger dans l’impressionnant dossier de plus d’une cinquantaine de pages que lui consacre l’ancien Frère musulman Mohamed Louizi. On y apprend que le politologue est un fidèle habitué des palaces de Doha, devenus pratiquement ses cantines favorites. En mars 2016, il est invité d’honneur au Cile, dirigé par Tariq Ramadan, en même temps que le théologien saoudien Salman bin Fahd al-Odah, signataire d’un appel au djihad armé en Syrie, et que Mohamed el-Moctar el-Shinqiti, « Frère musulman mauritanien djihadiste ».

Les 23 et 24 février 2010, François Burgat était déjà au Qatar « lorsque les Frères musulmans, de l’Internationale islamiste, se sont réunis dans une messe politique, pour parlementer autour du thème “Les mouvements islamistes… choix et politiques”, organisée par le centre d’études attaché à la chaîne qatarie Al-Jazeera », écrit Mohamed Louizi. François Burgat partage à l’occasion la même tribune que Rached Ghannouchi, le leader d’Ennahda, le parti islamiste tunisien. Une autre photo montre François Burgat, toujours à Doha, en juillet 2017 avec une délégation de l’ONG AFD International, « très proche du groupe marocain al-Adl Wal’ihsân (Justice et Bienfaisance) (5) ».

Pour Mohamed Louizi, François Burgat ne serait pas seulement un universitaire tombé amoureux de son objet d’études (les islamistes), « c’est un compagnon de route de la confrérie et on peut même se demander s’il n’est pas lui-même Frère musulman », déclare-t‐il. En octobre 2016, lors du procès lié au lycée privé musulman Averroès à Lille, Mohamed Louizi est confronté à François Burgat, qui témoigne aux côtés des dirigeants de l’UOIF, notamment d’Amar Lasfar, alors imam de Lille et à l’origine de la création de ce lycée. « Il tenait le discours d’un militant, expliquant que les Frères musulmans étaient une excellente chose pour l’Occident, qui devait composer avec eux (6) », raconte l’auteur de Pourquoi j’ai quitté les Frères musulmans.

Par ailleurs, François Burgat préside le Centre arabe de recherches et d’études politiques (CAREP) de Paris, une filiale du CAREP Doha Institute, dirigé par Azmi Bishara, arabe israélien, exilé au Qatar depuis une dizaine d’années et conseiller officieux de l’émir du Qatar. Depuis des mois, l’ancien chercheur ne cesse de dénigrer Qatar Papers, le livre signé par Christian Chesnot et Georges Malbrunot, et leur documentaire réalisé par Jérôme Sesquin « Qatar, guerre d’influence sur l’islam d’Europe », diffusé sur Arte. Dans une interview, il explique que le courant des Frères musulmans « s’est indiscutablement hissé au premier rang des oppositions arabes ». Et que l’acharnement contre la confrérie et contre Doha tient au fait que « le Qatar est effectivement, avec la Turquie, l’un des seuls États de la région à ne pas les criminaliser. Le crime des Frères est d’être partout sortis en tête des urnes du printemps arabe (7). »

Le 18 octobre 2019, animant au CAREP une conférence intitulée «La France face à la radicalisation», François Burgat dénonce « le processus de la criminalisation de la population musulmane » en France. Dans ces conditions, « il faut taper aux urnes. Il faut taper où ça fait mal […] Nous devons nous mobiliser sur le terrain électoral », rappelant que les musulmans sont tout de même 6 millions. Sans nuance, le chercheur lance un appel à la constitution de listes communautaristes. Devant une salle conquise à ses idées, François Burgat va jusqu’à inverser les responsabilités dans le « processus qui a fabriqué la radicalisation ». En fait, c’est le « pouvoir » français, par son comportement et sa haine des musulmans, qui pousserait un prochain Mickaël Harpon (du nom du tueur de la préfecture de police de Paris) à commettre des assassinats…

Toutefois, François Burgat a publié sur le site du Muslim Post une série d’articles liés à l’affaire Ramadan, dans laquelle il semble vouloir prendre ses distances avec son ami de trente ans. Après avoir déclaré « nous n’avons pas souvent été d’accord, tant s’en faut », il prétend qu’il n’a « jamais cherché ni à nier ni même à euphémiser les contradictions évidentes entre la vie extraconjugale de Tariq Ramadan et ce que son “cœur de métier” requérait d’éthique individuelle. J’ai immédiatement envisagé en effet que les combats que je menais à ses côtés (avec d’autres) pourraient avoir… à se passer de lui (8) » Courageux, mais pas téméraire. D’autant que Tariq Ramadan n’est plus vraiment en odeur de sainteté dans l’émirat.

1. Ian Hamel, La Vérité sur Tariq Ramadan, op.cit., p.168.

2. Haoues Seniguer,« Pour François Burgat, les islamistes ont toujours raison », https://mondafrique.com/francois-burgat-islamistes-ont-toujours-raison/, 21 août 2017.

3. « Réponse aux mensonges éhontés de François Burgat », https://oumma. com/reponse-aux-mensonges-ehontes-de-francois-burgat/, 11 juin 2013.

4. François Burgat, Comprendre l’islam politique, op.cit., p.254-272.

5. Mohamed Louizi, « Les jalons de François Burgat sur la route des Frères », http://mohamedlouizi.eu/2017/12/31/les-jalons-de-francois-burgat-sur-la-route- des-freres/, 31 décembre 2017.

6. Entretien avec l’auteur, novembre 2018.

7. Baudouins Loos, « François Burgat : Des insinuations fantaisistes visent le Qatar… et les musulmans d’Europe », http://blog.lesoir.be/baudouinloos/2019/ 09/10/francois-burgat-des-insinuations-fantaisistes-visent-le-qatar-et-les-musulmans- deurope/, 10 septembre 2019.

8. François Burgat, « Le piège d’une “affaire” », https://lemuslimpost.com/ francois-burgat-quoi-tariq-ramadan-nom-2.html, 21 janvier 2019.