fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones
JEANNE ACCORSINI/SIPA

 

France: The Immigration Act and the fascism to come

21 December 2023 Expertises   183616  

atmane tazaghart

Hats off to the illustrious analyst of French political life, Jean-François Kahn: a year ago, in an interview he gave us for our special issue “Resist the cretinization of the world”, he warned – with his customary brio – against the “fascisation of the mind”, while pointing out that fascism does not come from the rise of the far right or the far left, but from the junction of the two extremes.
Here we go!

On 11 December, La France Insoumise crossed the red line by voting, hand in hand with the Rassemblement National, in favour of the motion for the prior rejection of the Immigration Law proposed by the government. And with appalling political short-sightedness, the radical left was jubilant at the time at having brought Macronism to heel, unaware of the disaster that this “junction of extremes” was going to cause. Not only on a moral level – regarding the compromise of a left that renounced all its values, to ally itself with what it had long described as the “brown plague” – but also, and above all, on a concrete and immediate level, regarding the calamitous political strategy of such a motion that produced the exact opposite of the intended goal: by inflicting such a slap in the face on the (very relative) majority of the Macron camp, the rejection motion led the government to make concessions, unthinkable just a few weeks ago, in order to secure the support of the most right-wing wing of the Republicans.

The result was the adoption of a much tougher version of the Immigration Act, thanks to the votes of the Republican Right, but also with the blessing of the Rassemblement National, which was quick to hail this tougher version of the Immigration Act as an “ideological victory” for far-right ideas. Thanks, in particular to the introduction into the law – for the first time in the history of the French republic – of xenophobic measures based on “national preference”, the Front National’s historical hobbyhorse for more than three decades!

The Le Pen fathers and daughters dreamt of it. Mélenchon, by cornering Macron, made him do it!

This brings us to the famous words of another illustrious columnist, the late Jacques Julliard, who, ten months before his death last September, made the observation – not without bitterness – that “the French left no longer needs to be killed, it can do it itself” (see Screen Watch, #38).

Of course, the responsibility for this “ideological victory” of the far right does not lie solely with the French radical left. Nothing obliged President Macron to compromise himself with the most right-wing xenophobic ideas. If it wasn’t for his Jupiterian posture and inordinate political ego.

Faced with the political crisis and the institutional deadlock caused by the rejection motion on 11 December, the occupant of the Élysée should have taken a step back and acted like a statesman, instead of sinking into the vilest political calculations.

There were several honourable options open to him, the most obvious of which was dissolution of the parliament. On the one hand, such a solution would have allowed him to turn to the ballot box to reshuffle the political deck and create a new majority in the Assembly. On the other hand – and this is at least as important – it would have put the parliamentary church back in the middle of the republican village, by rebalancing the electoral agenda. The legislative elections would thus become mid-term elections once again, as they were before the Chirac dissolution of 1997, which – combined with the transition from the seven-year to the five-year presidential term – had the perverse effect of making the legislative and presidential elections coincide.

Unfortunately, political calculation prevailed. With the ulterior motive that the dissolution could offer a parliamentary majority to the national coalition. But when it comes to elections, the worst is never certain. And even if Jordan Bardella found himself in Matignon as Prime Minister, wouldn’t that be a kind of “fertile regression” likely to wear down the popularity of the Rassemblement National, under the trying burden of government management? This would have compromised its chances of winning the next presidential election. Instead of offering it, through the hardened version of the Immigration Law, an “ideological victory” that opens up a boulevard for 2027!

fbpx
 
 

Pour une lecture optimale, téléchargez gratuitement l'Appli GWA pour tablettes et smartphones
JEANNE ACCORSINI/SIPA

 

France : La loi Immigration et le fascisme à venir

21 décembre 2023 Expertises   183477  

atmane tazaghart

Chapeau bas à l’illustre analyste de la vie politique française, Jean-François Kahn : il y a un an, lors d’une interview qu’il nous a accordée, à l’occasion de notre Hors-Série ‘‘Comment résister à la crétinisation du monde’’, il mettait en garde – avec le brio qu’on lui connaît – contre la ‘‘fascisation des esprits’’. Et l’auteur de ‘‘Comment en est-on arrivé là’’ précisait que le fascisme ne nait pas de la montée de l’extrême droite ou de l’extrême gauche, mais de la jonction de ces deux extrêmes.
Nous y voilà !

Le 11 décembre dernier, La France Insoumise a franchi la ligne rouge en votant, main dans la main avec le Rassemblement National, la motion de rejet préalable de la Loi Immigration proposée par le gouvernement. Et dans une myopie politique affligeante, la gauche radicale jubilait, alors, d’avoir fait plier le macronisme, ignorant le désastre que cette ‘‘jonction des extrêmes’’ allait provoquer. Non seulement sur le plan moral – à propos de la compromission d’une gauche reniant toutes ses valeurs, pour s’allier avec ce qu’elle a longtemps qualifié de ‘‘peste brune’’ – mais aussi, et surtout, au niveau concret et immédiat, concernant la stratégique politique calamiteuse d’une telle motion qui a produit l’exact opposé du but escompté : en infligeant un tel camouflet à la majorité (toute relative) du camp macronien, la motion de rejet a conduit le gouvernement à faire des concessions, inenvisageables il y a encore quelques semaines, pour s’assurer le soutien de l’aile la plus droitière des Républicains.

Résultat des courses : l’adoption d’une version bien plus dure de la Loi Immigration, grâce aux voix de la droite républicaine, mais aussi avec la bénédiction du Rassemblement National, qui s’est empressé de saluer cette version endurcie de la Loi Immigration comme étant une ‘‘victoire idéologique’’ de ses idées d’extrême droite. Grâce notamment à l’introduction dans la loi – pour la première fois dans l’Histoire de la République – de mesures xénophobes relevant de la ‘‘préférence nationale’’, cheval de bataille historique de Front national depuis plus de trois décennies !

Les Le Pen, père et fille en rêvaient. Mélanchon, en acculant Macron, l’a fait !

Ceci nous amène à la célèbre formule d’un autre illustre éditorialiste, le regretté Jacques Julliard qui, dix mois avant son décès en septembre dernier, faisant – non sans amertume – le constat amer que « la gauche française n’a plus besoin qu’on la tue, elle s’en charge toute seule » (voir Ecran de Veille, n° 38) !

Bien entendu, la responsabilité de cette ‘‘ victoire idéologique’’ de l’extrême droite n’incombe pas seulement à la gauche radicale française. Rien n’obligeait Emmanuel Macron à se compromettre avec les idées xénophobes les plus droitières. Si ce n’est la posture jupitérienne et l’égo politique démesuré.

Face à la crise politique et au blocage institutionnel provoqué par la motion de rejet du 11 décembre dernier, il aurait fallu que le locataire de l’Élysée prenne de la hauteur, pour agir en Homme d’État, au lieu de sombrer dans les calculs politiciens les plus vils.

Plusieurs choix honorables s’offraient à lui, dont le plus évident était la dissolution. Une solution qui aurait permis de s’en remettre aux urnes, pour rabattre les cartes politiques et dégager une nouvelle majorité à l’Assemblée. Et qui, par ailleurs – et c’est au moins aussi important –, aurait remis l’église parlementaire au milieu du village républicain, en rééquilibrant l’agenda électoral. Les législatives redeviendraient, ainsi, des élections de mi-mandat, comme elles l’étaient avant la dissolution chiraquiènne de 1997, qui – conjuguée au passage du septennat au quinquennat présidentiels – a eu l’effet pervers de faire coïncider législatives et présidentielle.

Hélas, le calcul politicien l’a emporté. Avec l’arrière-pensée que la dissolution pouvait offrir une majorité parlementaire au Rassemblement National. Or, en matière d’élections, le pire n’est jamais sûr. Et quand bien même Jordan Bardella se retrouvait-il à Matignon, ne serait-ce pas une sorte de ‘‘régression féconde’’ de nature à user la popularité du Rassemblement National, sous l’éprouvante charge de la gestion gouvernementale ? Ce qui aurait compromis ses chances de victoire à la prochaine présidentielle. Au lieu de lui offrir, à travers cette version endurcie de la Loi Immigration, une ‘‘victoire idéologique’’ qui, au contraire, lui ouvre un boulevard pour 2027 !