Crime and mysteries around the war treasure of the Muslim Brotherhood in Geneva



On November 13, 1995, an Egyptian diplomat on duty for the UN was shot six times in Geneva. He was investigating the war treasure of the Muslim Brotherhood allegedly managed by Said Ramadan, Hassan al-Banna’s son-in-law. A quarter of a century later, the case has just experienced an incredible turnaround: the Swiss federal court has just ordered the release of the alleged killer, arrested in 2018!

By Ian Hamel, in Geneva

Alaa el-Dim Nazmi, aged 42, has just parked his BMW in the parking lot of his building. The Egyptian diplomat is coldly shot by six bullets fired from a SIG P210 Parabellum pistol. The killer leaves the gun at the scene. “The barrel of the gun is wrapped in a synthetic foam case to attenuate the resonance of the bullets,” says Richard Labévière, then a journalist for French-speaking Swiss television, in Les dollars de la terreur (Grasset, February 1999).

Carla del Ponte, Attorney General of the Confederation, took the case personally. This assassination has just violated one of the unwritten rules laid down by Switzerland, a neutral country. It turns a blind eye to all trafficking and other foreign shenanigans, but only on condition that no one kills each other on its territory. Was this rule not scrupulously respected by the belligerents during World War II?

The diplomat was murdered on November 13, 1995. On November 21, police searched the Geneva Islamic Centre (CIG), founded by Said Ramadan, Hassan al-Banna’s son-in-law and father of Tariq and Hani Ramadan. What is the connection between the assassination and the Ramadan family? Said Ramadan died on August 4, 1995, and a note from a European intelligence service states that “the family shared an apparently considerable sum of money that Said Ramadan had been managing on behalf of the Muslim Brotherhood in Egypt”. And precisely, this Egyptian diplomat was investigating the war treasure of the Brotherhood.
Simple coincidence? It was at the same period that Tariq Ramadan’s rise in France began, and the mass distribution of his books and cassettes by the Tawhid publishing houses of Lyon.

Violent Dispute With the Muslim Brotherhood

Still in Les dollars de la terreur, Richard Labévière tells in 1999 that this capture of the savings of the Brotherhood would have “opened a violent dispute between the family and the Muslim Brotherhood of Egypt”. Curiously, the Ramadans, which are usually prompt to lodge a complaint, do not move. Nor do they protest when Caroline Fourest in Brother Tariq, and Lionel Favrot, in Tariq Ramadan dévoilé, two books published in 2004, evoke in their turn the “evaporation” of this war treasure.

And above all, how can we explain that since his father’s death in 1995, Tariq Ramadan has never set foot in Egypt again? For a long time, he claimed that he was forbidden to stay there, without proving it. Especially since he has a Swiss passport. Strangely enough, when Mohamed Morsi takes power in June 2012, Tariq Ramadan continues to sulk Egypt. In an attempt to justify his disinterest in the country of his ancestors, in his book Islam and the Arab Awakening, he explains that in fact the “Arab Spring” was led by … the United States and Israel. On November 4, 2013, Hassan al-Banna’s grandson gave an interview in the Swiss daily Le Temps entitled: “The Muslim Brotherhood is very angry with me.” Without mentioning, of course, this possible dispute over a matter of big money.

The Federal Court Orders the Release of the Suspect

For a quarter century, the investigation into the assassination of the Egyptian diplomat has been at a standstill. The proceedings were suspended in 2009. First blow in October 2018: a man is arrested in Vernier, in the Canton of Geneva. He is an Italian-Ivorian, born in 1969. He is car salesman in Geneva and lives in neighboring France. He already made headlines in 2011 by receiving stolen gold. Most importantly, his DNA was found on the silencer of the gun that killed the Egyptian diplomat. This DNA had long been unusable for investigators. Technological developments have made it possible to make the prints legible and to find the suspect, twenty-three years after the tragedy (the statute of limitations is thirty years). This arrest is recounted in Tariq Ramadan, histoire d’une imposture (Flammarion, January 2020), written by the author of this article. Since his incarceration, the man has never spoken. One of his former girlfriends, who allegedly left her DNA on the silencer too, was also detained and released after six weeks in March 2019.

Another twist on May 18, 2020, the Federal Court, the highest judicial body of Switzerland, demands the immediate release of the suspect! This ruling is surprising, to say the least. While not denying that “the fingerprints and/or DNA belong to him”, that the individual presents a “dissocial personality disorder with particularly marked psychopathic traits”, that he is recognised as having “a certain affinity for weapons”, and that a former girlfriend refers to “comments made by the appellant’s brother – that he killed someone”, the Federal Court considers that “the circumstances surrounding the commission of the homicide are far from being definitively established” (Judgement 1B_195/2020 of May 18, 2020).

The daily Le Temps, which reports on the release of “Momo” – his nickname as a middle-class offender – explains that for these high-ranking magistrates, “his degree of involvement in a possible murder (if he had, for example, functioned as a hired killer) remains uncertain”.

From now on, it will be interesting to know the reaction of the Egyptian authorities after the release by the Swiss justice system of a man who left his fingerprints on the silencer of a pistol that killed one of his diplomats.

Crime et mystères autour du trésor de guerre des Frères musulmans à Genève



Le 13 novembre 1995, un diplomate égyptien en poste auprès de l’ONU est assassiné de six balles à Genève. Il enquêtait sur le trésor de guerre des Frères musulmans qu’aurait géré Saïd Ramadan, le gendre d’Hassan al-Banna. Un quart de siècle plus tard, l’affaire vient de connaître un incroyable rebondissement : le tribunal fédéral suisse vient d’ordonner la libération de l’assassin présumé, arrêté en 2018 !

Par Ian Hamel, à Genève

Alaa el-Din Nazmi, 42 ans, vient de garer sa BMW dans le parking de son immeuble. Le diplomate égyptien est froidement abattu de six balles tirées par un pistolet SIG P. 210 Parabellum. Le tueur abandonne l’arme sur place. « Le canon de l’arme est enveloppé dans un étui de mousse synthétique pour atténuer la résonance des coups », raconte Richard Labévière, alors journaliste à la télévision suisse romande, dans Les dollars de la terreur (éditions Grasset, février 1999).

Carla del Ponte, procureur général de la Confédération, prend personnellement l’affaire en main. Cet assassinat vient de violer l’une des règles non écrites édictées par la Suisse, pays neutre. Celui-ci ferme les yeux sur tous les trafics et autres magouilles étrangères, mais à condition que personne ne s’entretue sur son territoire. Cette règle n’a-t-elle pas été scrupuleusement respectée par les belligérants durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale ?

Le diplomate a été tué le 13 novembre 1995. Le 21 novembre, la police perquisitionne le Centre islamique de Genève (CIG), fondé par Saïd Ramadan, gendre d’Hassan al-Banna, et père de Tariq et Hani Ramadan. Quel rapport entre l’assassinat et la famille Ramadan ? Saïd Ramadan est mort le 4 août 1995, et une note d’un service européen de renseignement constate que « la famille s’est partagée une somme apparemment considérable que Saïd Ramadan avait en gestion pour le compte des Frères musulmans en Égypte ». Et justement, ce diplomate égyptien enquêtait sur le trésor de guerre de la Confrérie.

Simple coïncidence ? C’est à la même période que commence l’ascension de Tariq Ramadan en France, et la diffusion en masse de ses livres et de ses cassettes par les éditions Tawhid à Lyon.

Violent contentieux avec les Frères musulmans

Toujours dans Les dollars de la terreur, Richard Labévière raconte en 1999 que cette captation des économies de la Confrérie aurait « ouvert entre la famille et les Frères musulmans d’Égypte un contentieux violent ». Curieusement, les Ramadan, habituellement prompts à déposer plainte, ne bougent pas. Ils ne protestent pas davantage lorsque Caroline Fourest dans Frère Tariq, et Lionel Favrot, dans Tariq Ramadan dévoilé, deux ouvrages parus en 2004, évoquent à leur tour l’« évaporation » de ce trésor de guerre.

Et surtout, comment expliquer que depuis la mort de son père en 1995, Tariq Ramadan n’ait jamais remis les pieds en Égypte ? Pendant longtemps, il a prétendu qu’il y était interdit de séjour, sans en apporter la preuve. D’autant qu’il dispose d’un passeport suisse. Étrangement, quand Mohamed Morsi prend le pouvoir en juin 2012, Tariq Ramadan continue à bouder l’Égypte. Pour tenter de justifier son désintérêt pour le pays de ses ancêtres, dans son livre L’Islam et le réveil arabe, il explique qu’en fait le « Printemps arabe » aurait été téléguidé par… les États-Unis et Israël. Le 4 novembre 2013, le petit-fils d’Hassan al-Banna donne une interview au quotidien suisse Le Temps intitulée : « Les Frères musulmans m’en veulent énormément ». Sans évoquer, bien évidemment, ce possible contentieux portant sur une affaire de gros sous.

Le Tribunal fédéral fait libérer le suspect

Pendant plus d’un quart de siècle, l’enquête sur l’assassinat du diplomate égyptien piétine. La procédure est suspendue en 2009. Premier coup de théâtre en octobre 2018 : un homme est arrêté à Vernier, dans le canton de Genève. Il s’agit d’un Italo-Ivoirien, né en 1969. Vendeur de voitures à Genève, il vit en France voisine. Il a déjà défrayé la chronique en 2011 en recelant de l’or volé. Et surtout, on a retrouvé son ADN sur le silencieux de l’arme qui a tué le diplomate égyptien. Cet ADN avait longtemps été inutilisable pour les enquêteurs. C’est l’évolution technologique qui a permis de rendre les empreintes lisibles et de retrouver le suspect, vingt-trois ans après le drame (la prescription étant de trente ans). Cette arrestation est racontée dans Tariq Ramadan, histoire d’une imposture (éditions Flammarion, janvier 2020), écrit pas l’auteur de cet article. Depuis son incarcération, l’homme n’a jamais parlé. L’une de ses ex-amies, qui aurait également laissé son ADN sur le silencieux, est également placée en détention, puis libérée après six semaines, en mars 2019.

Nouveau coup de théâtre le 18 mai 2020, le Tribunal fédéral, la plus haute instance judiciaire de Suisse, exige la libération immédiate du suspect ! Cet arrêt est pour le moins surprenant. Tout en ne niant pas que « les traces digitales et/ou ADN lui appartiennent », que l’individu présente un « trouble de la personnalité dyssociale avec traits psychopathiques particulièrement marqués », qu’on lui reconnaît « une certaine affinité pour les armes », et qu’une ancienne compagne évoque des « propos tenus par le frère du recourant – soit que celui-ci aurait tué quelqu’un », le Tribunal fédéral estime que « les circonstances entourant la commission de l’homicide sont loin d’être définitivement établies » (Arrêt 1B_195/2020 du 18 mai 2020).

Le quotidien Le Temps, qui rapporte la libération de « Momo » – son surnom de délinquant de moyenne envergure – explique que pour ces hauts magistrats, « son degré de participation dans un éventuel assassinat (dans l’hypothèse où il aurait par exemple fonctionné comme tueur à gages) demeure incertain ».
A présent, il sera intéressant de connaître la réaction des autorités égyptiennes après la libération par la justice suisse d’un homme qui a laissé ses empreintes sur le silencieux d’un pistolet qui a tué l’un de ses diplomates.