fbpx
 
 

 

Youssef Al Qaradhawi: The tragic end of the so-called moderation of the Muslim Brotherhood



Hmida ayachi (*)

Sheikh Al-Qaradhawi has passed away at an advanced age. His death has become the subject of controversy between those who mourned his passing and consider his death a loss for Islamic thought and the moderate spirit of preaching, and those who hold him responsible for the bloodshed of Muslims, the justification of extremism, the allegiance to corrupt and unaccountable regimes, and the issuing of politically motivated fatwas linked to these regimes.

By H’mida Ayachi*

Should we blame only Youssef al-Qaradhawi or rather attribute his excesses to the limits of the Muslim Brotherhood’s thinking, which has always adopted a two-speed strategy: calling for fraternity and moderation when it needs allies and support in the face of despotism; resorting to exclusion, extremism and totalitarianism as soon as it holds power and finds itself in a position of strength?

This was resoundingly proven when the Muslim Brotherhood in Egypt manoeuvred with the Military Council to abort the Egyptian youth revolution. And when they took the peppercorn, becoming new despots themselves, before being overthrown by one of their former military allies: Abdel Fattah al-Sissi.

Al-Qaradawi is a vivid and tragic representation of this ambivalent and contradictory political journey of the Muslim Brotherhood. This has led him, in the end, to participate in the bloody excesses of political Islam.

From his first writings, al-Qaradhawi chose to put the West on trial. But he did not hesitate to take refuge in it, to make it a rear base to fight Middle Eastern Arab authoritarianism. And in doing so, he ended up turning a blind eye to Western political interference in Muslim countries, even accepting to become an ideological mouthpiece and a zealous servant of NATO, when its protectors in the Gulf States decided to bring down Arab regimes that refused to submit to their diktat.

Youssef al-Qaradawi also served as a political-religious front for a plan to bring the Arab revolutions under the control of political Islam, thus diverting them from their democratic aspirations and turning them into obscurantist counter-revolutions.

Youssef al-Qaradhawi’s ideas cannot be separated from his personal journey and impulses, which betray both human and conceptual ambivalence and weakness, and which actively contributed to ending the democratic dream in the Arab world. So much so that al-Qaradhawi’s death also marks the death of the spirit of moderation that the Muslim Brotherhood has long claimed. This so-called moderation has collapsed in a spectacular manner reminiscent of the tragic end of the communist ideology of the dictatorship of the proletariat!

* Algerian essayist and Islamologist, last book “Reflections on Secret Islam, the religious versus the political”.

fbpx
 
 

 

Youssef al-Qaradhawi : La fin tragique du prétendu discours modéré des Frères musulmans ?



Hmida ayachi (*)

Cheikh Al-Qaradhawi vient de décéder à un âge avancé. Sa mort est devenue l’objet de controverse entre ceux qui se sont recueillis sur sa mémoire et considèrent sa disparition comme une perte pour la pensée islamique et l’esprit modéré de la prédication, et ceux qui le tiennent pour responsable du sang versé par des Musulmans, de la justification de l’extrémisme, de l’allégeance aux régimes corrompus et despotiques et l’élaboration de fatwas motivées par des manœuvres politiques liées au auxdits régimes.

Par H’mida Ayachi*

Doit-on en vouloir seulement à Youssef al-Qaradhawi ou plutôt attribuer ses dérives aux limites de la pensée des Frères musulmans qui ont toujours adopté une stratégie à deux vitesses : appel à la fraternité et à la modération , quand on a besoin d’alliés et de soutiens face au despotisme ; recours à l’exclusion, à l’extrémisme et au totalitarisme dès qu’ils détiennent le pouvoir et se retrouvent en position de force ?

Cela s’est vérifié, de façon retentissante,  quand les Frères musulmans en Egypte ont manœuvré avec le Conseil militaire pour faire avorter la révolution des jeunes égyptiens. Et quand ils ont pris le pouvoir, devenant eux-mêmes de nouveaux despotes, avant d’être renversés par l’un de leurs anciens alliés militaires : Abdel Fattah al-Sissi.

Al-Qaradawi représente de manière éclatante et tragique cet itinéraire ambivalent et contradictoire des Frères musulmans sur le plan politique. Cela l’a amené, en définitive, à participer aux dérives sanguinaires de l’islam politique.

Dès ses premiers écrits, al-Qaradhawi choisi de faire le procès de l’Occident. Mais, il n’a pas hésité à s’y réfugiant, pour en faire une base arrière pour combattre l’autoritarisme arabe moyen-oriental. Et ce faisant, il a fini par fermer les yeux sur les ingérences politiques occidentales dans les pays musulmans, acceptant même de devenir un porte-voix idéologique et un serviteur zélé de l’OTAN, lorsque ses protecteurs des pays du Golfe ont décidé d’abattre des régimes arabes qui refusaient de d’être se soumettre à leur diktat.

Youssef al-Qaradawi a aussi servi de façade politico-religieuse à un plan destiné à mettre les révolutions arabes sous la coupe l’islam politique, les détournant ainsi de leurs aspirations démocratiques, pour les transformer en contre-révolutions obscurantistes.

On ne peut séparer les idées de Youssef al-Qaradhawi de son parcours et ses pulsions personnelles, qui trahissent une ambivalence et une faiblesse à la fois humaine et conceptuelle, et qui ont activement contribué à mettre fin au rêve démocratique dans le monde arabe. Tant et si bien que mort d’al-Qaradhawi marque aussi la mort de l’esprit de modération dont les Frères musulmans se sont longtemps prévalus. Cette prétendue modération s’est effondrée d’une manière spectaculaire qui rappelle la fin tragique de l’idéologie communiste de la dictature du prolétariat !

* Essayiste et Islamologue algérien, dernier ouvrage paru ‘‘Réflexions sur l’islam secret, le religieux contre le politique’’