USA-Afghanistan: an explosive file for Donald Trump



Christian Malard (*)

On September 7th, after a series of attacks perpetrated by Talibans against Afghan population and authorities, not to mention the 14 000 American soldiers stationed in the country, American President, Donald Trump, in one of his famous tweets, decided to put an end to a year of talks with the Talibans. Talks that were supposed to terminate an 18-year-old conflict.

One question is now left: could these negotiations, that the United States were conducting with the Talibans, have lead to lasting peace and a real sharing of power between Talibans and Afghan authorities?  Or should Afghans again experience a harder conflict, with a return to the Talibanization of the country?

How can we believe the Talibans, who continue to carry out attacks, when they say they are ready to resume the so-called peace negotiations with the United States?  They always believed they were in a position of strength to put pressure on Donald Trump. They however never demonstrated that they were committed to peace. They always refused a durable ceasefire agreement, negotiated with President Ashraf Ghani’s government, which they consider to be a puppet of the United States.

The Talibans already control nearly 50% of the country’s 400 districts. It would undoubtedly be foolish and irresponsible to trust this Islamist movement, which is amongst the most violent and obscurantist. It is not surprising, in this context, that some of Donald Trump’s advisers and prominent members of Congress remind the President of the major mistake made in 2011 by his predecessor, Barack Obama, who prematurely withdrew American troops from Iraq and abandoned Iraqi troops that were not ready for combat. As a result, three years later, in 2014, Daech controlled Mossul, one of the country’s main cities.

Today, the aim of the Talibans is to overthrow the current regime and once again become the country’s main force by establishing an Islamic theocratic emirate. How can Donald Trump and Americans be so naive as to believe that the Talibans will prevent al-Qaida and Daech from using Afghanistan as a springboard to attack Western interests in the region?

Recently, a Taliban delegation, which included the political and armed wings of the organization, was received in Tehran by the Revolutionary Guards, who supported it in leading the war against US Forces on Afghan soil.

Last year, Ali Shamkhani, head of the Iranian Supreme Security Council, already visited Kabul and assured the Talibans of the Mullahs’ regime’s support. The common goal of Talibans and Iranians is to drive out the 14 000 American soldiers still stationed on Afghan soil.

Today, Donald Trump is faced with two choices: either withdrawing his 14 000 men and leaving the field open to the Talibans. The country could therefore again face the horrors of civil war. And the region would further be destabilized. Or he decides to maintain his troops in Afghanistan, with the risk of heavy casualties. This, happening a few months before 2020’s presidential election, could be extremely damaging to him.

* International policy expert and diplomatic consultant.

USA – Afghanistan : un dossier explosif pour Donald Trump



Christian Malard (*)

Le 7 septembre dernier, après toute une série d’attentats perpétrés par les Talibans contre la population et les autorités Afghanes, sans parler des 14 000 soldats Américains stationnés dans le pays, le Président Américain, Donald Trump, par le biais de l’un de ces tweet dont il a le secret, décidait de mettre fin à un an de pourparlers avec les Talibans. Pourparlers qui étaient supposés mettre fin à un conflit vieux de 18 ans.

Une seule question se pose à présent : les négociations que menaient les États-Unis avec les Talibans pouvaient-elles aboutir à une paix durable et à un réel partage du pouvoir entre Talibans et autorités Afghanes ? ou alors les Afghans devraient-ils revivre un conflit plus dur, avec un retour à la talibanisation du pays ?

Comment croire les Talibans, qui continuent à perpétrer des attentats, lorsqu’ils se disent prêts à reprendre les négociations dites de paix avec les États-Unis ? Ils se sont toujours crus en position de force pour faire pression sur Donald Trump. Ils n’ont jamais démontré qu’ils étaient attachés à la paix. Ils ont toujours refusé un cessez-le-feu durable négocié avec le gouvernement du Président Ashraf Ghani qu’ils considèrent comme une marionnette des États-Unis.

Les Talibans contrôlent déjà près de 50% des 400 districts du pays. Sans doute, serait-il insensé et irresponsable de faire confiance à ce mouvement islamiste parmi les plus violents et les plus obscurentistes. Il n’est pas étonnant, dans ce contexte, que certains conseillers du Président Américain et membres éminents du Congrès rappellent à Donald Trump l’erreur majeure commise, en 2011, par Barack Obama qui avait retiré prématurément les troupes américaines d’Irak et abandonné des troupes irakiennes qui n’étaient pas prêtes pour le combat. Résultat : trois années plus tard, en 2014, Daech contrôlait Moussol, l’une des principales villes du pays.

Aujourd’hui, leur but des Taliban est de renverser le régime en place et redevenir la principale force du pays en y instaurant un émirat théocratique islamique. Comment Donald Trump et les Américains peuvent-ils être aussi naïfs au point de croire que les Talibans empêcheront al-Qaida et Daech de se servir de l’Afghanistan comme tremplin pour s’en prendre aux intérêts occidentaux dans la région ?

Récemment, une délégation talibane incluant la branche politique et la branche armée de l’organisation a été reçue à Téhéran par les Gardiens de la Révolution, qui lui ont apporté leur soutien pour mener la guerre contre les Américains sur le sol Afghan.

L’année dernière, Ali Shamkhani, le patron du Conseil Suprême de Sécurité iranien avait déjà effectué une visite à Kaboul et avait assuré les Talibans du soutien de régime des mollahs. Le but commun des Talibans et des Iraniens est de chasser les 14 000 soldats américains toujours stationnés sur le sol Afghan ?

Aujourd’hui, Donald Trump se trouve confronté à deux choix : Soit il retire ses 14 000 hommes et laisse le champ libre aux Talibans. Le pays pourrait alors connaître, à nouveau, les affres de la guerre civile. Et la région n’en sera que plus déstabilisée. Ou alors, il decide de maintenir la présence de ses troupes en Afghanistan, au risque d’essuyer de lourdes pertes. Ce qui, à quelques mois de l’élection présidentielle, pourrait lui être extrêmement préjudiciable.

 

* Expert en politique internationale et consultant diplomatique.