fbpx
 
 

 

European Union: Facing the bellicose Erdogan



Christian Malard (*)

Turkish President Recep Erdogan wants to show the great powers that he has his say in the redistribution of the cards in the Middle East and in the resolution of conflicts in the region, at a time, moreover, when the world order that emerged from 1945, the end of the Second World War, has become obsolete.

However, the bellicose excesses of the Turkish president point to the immeasurable shortcomings of the European Union in matters of defense. From support for jihadists in Syria and Libya, to provocations against Greece in the eastern Mediterranean and ostentatious military support for Azerbaijan in the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict, Turkey is stepping up its provocations. And Europe, weakened by Franco-German differences on the subject, fails to assert itself as a great force capable of standing up to the new Ottoman sultan.

As Adel Bakawan, a researcher at the Institute of International Relations says: “By engaging his country on several fronts, he is trying to capitalise on his image as a warlord.” Like Vladimir Putin, he wants to take advantage of the withdrawal of Western powers from the Middle East, particularly the United States. He moves his pawns to advance his great project of neo-Ottoman reconquest.

According to many observers, he set foot again in Libya because it was there that Turkey’s founder, Kemal Atatürk, achieved his first military success. But, in Libya, he above all monetised his military aid against the approval of the strong man of the Tripoli region, Fayez al-Sarraj, a Muslim Brother like himself, to award him the exploitation of numerous oil fields and four strategic military bases.

Erdogan is dangerous, he wants to Islamise the Maghreb, starting with Tunisia where he maintains close links with the “Tunisian Khomeini”: Rached Ghannouchi, the leader of the Islamist Ennahda Party.

And in the Eastern Mediterranean, despite the strong criticism voiced by the French President, Emmanuel Macron, against Erdogan’s policy, the Westerners, and especially the Europeans, have little room for maneuver against him: he is a member of NATO, we cannot declare war on him. The only means of pressure were economic sanctions, especially since the Turkish economy was moribund. But in retaliation, Erdogan can put pressure on Europe, by exercising his usual blackmail linked to the flow of migrants from Greece and now from Libya.

At some point, Westerners will have to paint Erdogan into a corner, saying to him : Whose side are you on? You are a member of NATO, with the second largest armed force in the Alliance after the United States, do you want to stay there or not, because you often side with Vladimir Putin, from whom you bought S-400 missiles incompatible with NATO military equipment?

Greece’s geostrategic position is a major issue. It is in the interest of the EU to support it facing Erdogan. However, as the Defense Advisor to the Greek Prime Minister, Kyriákos Mitsotakis, says: “When a country commits its entire fleet, defying the norms of international law, it is because it intends to go all the way”.

Emmanuel Macron is right to declare that Erdogan “pursues an expansionist policy that mixes nationalism and Islamism that is not compatible with European interests and is a destabilising factor”, while specifying that he is not in favour of escalation but does not believe in “impotent diplomacy”.

When he talks about “impotent diplomacy”, Macron refers indirectly to that of Angela Merkel. For the Chancellor, relations with Turkey are of prime importance, not only because of the importance of the presence of three million Turks on German soil, but also because Turkey is the key country in the migratory dossier which, it should be repeated, Erdogan uses as a weapon for blackmailing the European Union.

Outwitting Erdogan will be difficult, because Europeans are divided. Emmanuel Macron has the merit of standing firm against Erdogan. He plays the role of the European policeman, not only in the Sahel against the Jihadists, but now in the Eastern Mediterranean as well, against the Turks and Erdogan. It is high time Angela Merkel understood that Erdogan cannot be allowed to indulge in a policy of fait accompli in the Mediterranean.

Erdogan, like his friends Putin and Xi Jinping, understands only the balance of power. In this respect, I fully agree with the analysis of the historian and theologian Jean-François Colosimo: We cannot allow the borders in the Levant to be transgressed and the European Union to be attacked at its borders […] Any peace that we think we can buy from a warmonger has the price of its overbidding […]. The chancelleries and the European Commission may well protest against the law, but Europe, like the great Rome, will end up paying a new price for force, and the ransom will inevitably be higher!

For years, European capitals have struggled to react to the multiple provocations and authoritarian abuses of Ankara, from repeated human rights violations to the lasting partition of Cyprus, including Erdogan’s entry into the Balkans. , its interventionism in Syria, Libya and quite recently in Nagorno-Karabakh, its instrumentalisation of jihadist mercenaries and its complicity with Daesh. Without forgetting his shift into the Russian military fold and his connections with the fundamentalist International of the Muslim Brotherhood…

It is time for this to stop. Europe must come out of its silence, because the hour of awakening has come!

* International policy expert and diplomatic consultant.

Union Européenne : Faire face à Erdogan, le belliqueux !



Christian Malard (*)

Le Président Turc, Recep Erdogan, veut montrer aux grandes puissances qu’il a son mot à dire sur la redistribution des cartes au Moyen Orient et sur la résolution des conflits dans la région, à un moment, qui, plus est, où l’ordre mondial, issu de 1945, fin de la 2ième guerre mondiale, est devenu caduc.

Or, les dérives belliqueuses du président turc, Recep Tayyip Erdogan, pointent les incommensurables lacunes des l’Union Européenne en matière de Défense. Du soutien aux djihadistes en Syrie et en Libye, aux provocations faites à la Grèce en Méditerranée orientale et à l’ostentatoire soutien militaire à l’Azerbaïdjan dans le conflit du Haut Karabakh, la Turquie multiplie les provocations. Et l’Europe, affaiblie par les divergences franco-allemandes sur le sujet, ne parvient pas à s’affirmer comme une grande force capable de tenir tête au nouveau sultan Ottoman.

Et comme le dit Adel Bakawan, chercheur à l’Institut des Relations Internationales : « En engageant son pays sur plusieurs fronts, il essaie de capitaliser sur son image de chef de guerre ». Tout comme Vladimir Poutine, il veut profiter du retrait des puissances occidentales du Moyen Orient, notamment de celui des États-Unis. Il bouge ses pions pour faire avancer son grand projet de reconquête néo-ottomane.

Selon de nombreux observateurs, il a remis les pieds en Libye parce que c’est là que le fondateur de la Turquie, Kemal Ataturk, a remporté son premier succès militaire. Mais, en Libye, il a surtout monnayé son aide militaire contre l’approbation de l’homme fort de la région de Tripoli, Fayez Al Saraj, Frère musulman comme lui, de lui attribuer l’exploitation de nombreux champs pétroliers et de quatre bases militaires stratégiques.

Erdogan est dangereux, il veut islamiser le Maghreb, à commencer par la Tunisie où il entretient des liens étroits avec le « Khomeini Tunisien » : Rached Ghanouchi,  le chef du Parti Islamiste Ennahda.

Et en Méditerranée Orientale, malgré les vives critiques émises par le Président Français, Emmanuel Macron, vis-à-vis de la politique d’Erdogan, les Occidentaux, et surtout les Européens, ont peu de marge de manœuvre face à lui : Il est membre de l’OTAN, on ne peut pas lui déclarer la guerre. Les seuls moyens de pression, ce sont les sanctions économiques, d’autant plus que l’économie Turque est moribonde. Mais, en représailles, Erdogan peut faire pression sur l’Europe, en exerçant son chantage habituel lié au flux des migrants depuis la Grèce et désormais depuis la Libye.

À un moment donné, il va bien falloir aux Occidentaux mettre Erdogan au pied du mur, en lui disant : De quel côté êtes-vous ? Vous êtes membre de l’OTAN , avec la deuxième plus grande force armée de l’Alliance, après celle des États Unis, voulez-vous y rester ou pas, car vous vous rangez souvent du côté de Vladimir Poutine, auquel vous avez acheté des missiles S-400 incompatibles avec le matériel militaire de l’OTAN ?

La position géostratégique de la Grèce est un enjeu majeur. Il est de l’intérêt de l’UE de la soutenir face à Erdogan. Mais, comme le dit, le Conseiller Défense du Premier Ministre Grec, Kyriákos Mitsotakis : « Quand un pays engage toute sa flotte, en bravant le normes du droit international, c’est qu’il a l’intention d’aller jusqu’au bout »

Emmanuel Macron a raison de déclarer qu’Erdogan « mène une politique expansionniste qui mêle nationalisme et islamisme non compatible avec les intérêts européens et qui est un facteur de déstabilisation », tout en précisant qu’il n’est pour l’escalade, mais ne croit pas à une « diplomatie impuissante ».

Quand il parle de « diplomatie impuissante », Macron fait allusion indirectement à celle de Angela Merkel. Car, pour la chancelière, les relations avec la Turquie sont primordiales, non seulement en raison de l’importance de la présence de trois millions de Turcs sur le sol allemand, mais aussi parce que la Turquie est le pays clé dans le dossier migratoire dont, répétons-le, Erdogan se sert comme arme de chantage vis-à-vis de l’Union Européenne.

Damer le pion à Erdogan sera difficile, parce que les Européens sont divisés. Emmanuel Macron a le mérite de camper sur une ligne de fermeté vis-à-vis d’Erdogan. Il joue le rôle du gendarme européen, non seulement au Sahel face aux Djihadistes, mais désormais en Méditerranée Orientale aussi, face aux Turcs et à Erdogan. Il serait temps qu’Angela Merkel comprenne qu’on ne peut accepter qu’Erdogan se livre, en méditerranée, à une politique du fait accompli.

Erdogan, tout comme ses amis Poutine et Xi Jin Ping, ne comprend que le rapport de force. À cet effet, je partage tout-à-fait l’analyse de l’historien et théologien, Jean-François Colosimo : On ne peut laisser transgresser les frontières au Levant et agresser l’Union Européenne à ses frontières […] Toute paix que l’on croit pouvoir acheter à un belliciste a pour prix sa surenchère […] Les chancelleries et la Commission Européenne ont beau protester du droit, l’Europe, à la manière de la dernière Rome, finira par payer un nouveau tribut à la force, et, immanquablement, le montant de la rançon s’aggravera !

Depuis des années, les capitales européennes peinent à réagir, face aux multiples provocations et dérives autoritaires d’Ankara, des atteintes répétées aux droits de l’Homme à la partition durable de Chypre, en passant par l’entrisme d’Erdogan dans les Balkans, son l’interventionnisme en Syrie, en Libye et tout récemment encore au Haut Karabakh, son instrumentalisation des mercenaires djihadistes et ses complicités avec Daech. Sans oublier son basculement dans le giron militaire russe et ses accointances avec l’Internationale intégriste  des Frères Musulmans…

Il serait temps que cela cesse. L’Europe doit sortir de son mutisme, car l’heure du réveil a sonné !

* Expert en politique internationale et consultant diplomatique.