Paris and Berlin blocking the delivery to Turkey of components essential for the manufacture of the Altay tank



The Turkish weapons program for the development of a main battle tank called Altay faces multiple obstacles, due to the blocking by Paris and Berlin of the delivery of components essential for its manufacture.

Launched in 2007, this program was to lead to the start of chain production in 2020. To this end, the Turkish army has ordered MBC, which manufactures the Altay, for 250 pieces. And Qatar has, for its part, placed an order for 115 tanks, at a unit price of $ 13.7 million, of which 40 tanks were to be delivered to it next December.

However, the start of the production line of the Altay was delayed, for at least a year, due to a veto imposed by Paris and Berlin on the delivery of transmission and armor systems that were to equip this Turkish tank.

In fact, the Altay was to be equipped in Germany with an MTU engine and a transmission from the company Renk. The Turkish tank was also to benefit from the French armor system Galix Aos, which equips the French Leclerc tanks.

But Paris and Berlin have decided to block the delivery of these components, in retaliation for Ankara’s recent political provocations against the European Union. And this after a previous Franco-German blockage, last September, which concerned the delivery to Turkey of air defense systems manufactured by the French firm Thales and the German MBDA.

According to our sources, Turkey is trying to get around this European veto, by using South Korean technologies. Thus, the firm MBC is negotiating discreetly, via Hyundai Rotem, with two firms which equip the South Korean K2 Black Panther tanks. They are Doosan, which manufactures engines, and S&T Dynamics, which manufactures automatic transmissions.

Besides the fact that this South Korean alternative will cause a delay of at least a year before the actual start of production of the Altay tank, Turkey is struggling to find another supplier capable of providing its tank with an armor system as well efficient than the French model. Which, according to our sources, pushes the MBC firm to consider falling back on a Turkish-made armor system.

Such a solution would dramatically decrease the performance of the Altay, as no Turkish manufacturer can compete with the French Galix system, which, according to experts, consists of “a series of launchers connected to four detectors arranged on either side of the tank. And who, when threatened, launch a series of multispectral smoke grenades, creating in less than a second a smoke screen impenetrable to optical systems, laser-guided munitions and other infrared systems of enemy forces”.

Paris et Berlin bloquant la livraison à la Turquie de composantes indispensables à la fabrication du char Altay



Le programme d’armement turc portant sur le développement d’un char de combat principal dénommé Altay rencontre de multiples obstacles, en raison du blocage par Paris et Berlin de la livraison de composantes indispensables à sa fabrication.

Lancé en 2007, ce programme devait aboutir à un début de fabrication en chaine, courant 2020. A cet effet, l’armée turque a commandé à la frime MBC, qui fabrique l’Altay, 250 pièces. Et le Qatar a, de son côté coté, passé commande de 115 chars, au prix unitaire de 13,7 millions de dollars, dont 40 chars devaient lui être livrés en décembre prochain.

Cependant, le début de la fabrication en chaine de l’Altay est retardé, pour au moins un an, en raison d’un véto opposé par Paris et Berlin à la livraison de systèmes de transmission et de blindage qui devaient équiper ce char turc.

En effet, l’Altay devait s’équiper en Allemagne d’un moteur de marque MTU et d’une transmission de la firme Renk. Le char turc devait aussi bénéficier du système de blindage français Galix Aos, qui équipe les chars français Leclerc.

Mais, Paris et Berlin ont décidé de bloquer la livraison de ces composantes, en représailles aux récentes provocations politiques d’Ankara à l’encontre de l’Union Européenne. Et ce après un précédent blocage franco-allemand, en septembre dernier, qui concernait la livraison à la Turquie de systèmes de défense antiaérienne fabriqués par la firme française Thales et l’allemande MBDA.

Selon nos sources, la Turquie tente de contourner ce veto européen, en faisant appel à des technologies sud coréennes. Ainsi, la firme MBC négocie discrètement, via Hyundai Rotem, avec deux firmes qui équipent les chars sud coréens K2 Black Panther. Il s’agit de la firme Doosan, qui fabrique des moteurs, et S&T Dynamics, qui fabrique des transmissions automatiques.

Outre le fait que cette solution de rechange sud coréenne entrainera un retard d’au moins un an avant le début réel de la fabrication du char Altay, la Turquie peine à trouver un autre fournisseur capable d’assurer à son char un système de blindage équivalent au model français. Ce qui, selon nos sources, pousse la firme MBC à envisager de se rabattre sur un système de blindage de fabrication turque.

Une telle solution diminuerait considérablement les performances de l’Altay, car aucun fabriquant truc ne peut rivaliser avec le système français Galix, qui consiste, selon les experts en « une suite de lanceurs reliés à quatre détecteurs disposés de chaque côté du char. Et qui, en cas de menace, lancent une série de grenades fumigènes multispectrales, pour créer en moins d’une seconde un écran de fumée impénétrable aux systèmes optiques, aux munitions guidées par laser et autres systèmes infrarouges des forces ennemies ».