fbpx
 
 

 

Will Biden be able to stop Erdogan’s neo-Ottoman expansionism?



Christian Malard (*)

The Ottoman Recep Tayyip Erdogan is trying to reweave the nationalist fibre, through external provocation, because he is weakened on the inside by a sluggish economy and growing unpopularity. It is a dangerous game because he wants to project himself beyond his borders and is once again seeking to settle scores with his historical Armenian enemies, whose genocide in 1915 was caused by Turkey. Which Erdogan denies. And that is a shame.

Erdogan also defies Europe, the United States and NATO, of which he is a member, and above all Russia, on three fronts: in Syria, where he provides military aid to Islamist rebels hostile to Bashar al-Assad supported by the Kremlin; in Libya, where he supports the camp opposed to Vladimir Putin; and in the Caucasus, at the heart of the Russian president’s sphere of influence.

NATO, for its part, shows a distinct weakness by refusing to sanction him. Undoubtedly for fear of letting go the second most powerful army, after that of the United States, within the Atlantic Alliance.

Diplomats stationed in the region, for the most part, say that Erdogan is opening new fronts as a diversionary tactic because his cursor is set by the 2023 presidential election. Erdogan fears late fallout from the Arab Spring. He still has in mind how his late friend, the Egyptian Muslim Brother, Mohamed Morsi, was ousted in 2013 by the military after a year in power.

And then, it should be recalled, first of all, that the Russo-Turkish alliance is an unnatural alliance, even if it has erased, in recent years, its numerous geopolitical divergences. History is there to remind us that the Ottoman and Russian empires fought many wars for the domination of the Middle East. Until now, their good relations have been based on a common will to drive the West out of conflict zones and to take advantage of the vacuum left by Donald Trump’s America in the Middle East.

Today, we must ask ourselves two questions: Has the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict signed the end of this unnatural geopolitical alliance? And is Vladimir Putin going to want (and be able) to continue to use Turkey to divide NATO? For, by opening a third front in the Caucasus against Russia, Erdogan has called into question the status quo that Vladimir Putin maintained in the region.

If Turkey persists in tilting the balance of power, Vladimir Putin will no doubt end up coming out of his reserve. And the anti-Western policy will no longer suffice to mask the growing differences with Ankara.

Things aren’t looking good with France either. It should be remembered that Recep Tayyip Erdogan is a Muslim Brother, therefore an Islamist. And as such, it is unacceptable for him to hear Emmanuel Macron’s speech against the Islamist pandemic launched against the West and its values.

One wonders who Farettin Altun, Erdogan’s communications director, is mocking when he says that “the insidious policy of cartoons, separatism against the Muslims and searches of mosques are not linked to freedom of expression.” Erdogan, who had thousands of soldiers, lawyers, judges, politicians, journalists, Kurdish activists, etc… eliminated to establish his power.” Erdogan, who had thousands of soldiers, lawyers, judges, politicians, journalists, Kurdish activists, etc… eliminated to establish his power. Is he best placed to give lessons on freedom of expression?

Erdogan wants to challenge the secular heritage of Mustapha Kemal Ataturk, which dates back to 1924, by initiating a resurrection of the Ottoman Empire. He seeks to appear as the best defender of Muslims throughout the world and the leader of a Sunni world in which he wants to compete with Saudi Arabia, which he classifies as an anti-Turkish axis, along with the United States, the United Arab Emirates and Israel. Like Vladimir Putin, he took advantage of the American withdrawal from the Middle East to increase his influence and territorial expansionism.

Through this international outbidding, Erdogan aims to create a diversion to hide the chaotic economic situation in his country: the unemployment rate is 13% and affects 26% of young people. And the Turkish lira is collapsing against the dollar. So much so that there is no longer a sacred union around Erdogan, despite all the powers he enjoys. His popularity is waning; his Islamist conservative party, the AKP, is torn apart since its defeat at the 2019 municipal elections; his former Prime Minister, Ahmet Davutoglu, and his former Minister of Economy, have gone into opposition. And if the presidential and legislative elections, scheduled for June 2023, were held today, he would come out losing to his republican rival, Ekrem Imamoglu, who took away the mayor of Istanbul, held by the Islamo-conservatives for 25 years.

Weakened as never before on the inside, Erdogan tries to bounce back, multiplying provocations and outrages on the international scene. But a question now arises for him: will the arrival of Joe Biden force him to revise Turkey’s foreign policy, at a critical moment for him internally?

Just over a year ago, Joe Biden called Erdogan an “autocrat” and pledged to support the Turkish opposition. More recently, during the Turkish president’s intervention in Nagorno-Karabakh, Joe Biden called Erdogan’s bellicose rhetoric, including the use of Syrian jihadist mercenaries to terrify the Armenian population, “irresponsible”.

For the time being, Erdogan wants to be conciliatory, but we cannot be fooled by his manoeuvres. As always. He bets on the idea that Joe Biden will ensure, like all his predecessors, the stability of his relationship with Turkey, so as not to weaken the Atlantic Alliance, which has several hundred nuclear warhead missiles on Turkish soil.

* International policy expert and diplomatic consultant.

fbpx
 
 

 

Biden parviendra-t-il à stopper l’expansionnisme néo-ottoman d’Erdogan ?



Christian Malard (*)

L’ottomanesque Recep Tayyip Erdogan essaie de retisser la fibre nationaliste, par la provocation extérieure, parce qu’il est affaibli, à l’intérieur, par une économie moribonde et une impopularité croissante.C’est un jeu dangereux parce qu’il veut se projeter, au-delà de ses frontières, et cherche, à nouveau, à régler ses comptes avec ses ennemis historiques arméniens, dont la Turquie est responsable du génocide de 1915. Ce que Erdogan nie. Et c’est une honte.

Erdogan défie, par ailleurs, l’Europe, les États-Unis et l’OTAN dont il est membre, et surtout la Russie, sur trois fronts : en Syrie, où il aide militairement des rebelles islamistes hostiles à Bachar El Assad soutenu par le Kremlin ; en Libye, où il soutient le camp opposé à Vladimir Poutine ; et dans le Caucase, au cœur de la sphère d’influence du président Russe.

De son côté, l’OTAN affiche une insigne faiblesse, en refusant de le sanctionner. Sans doute de peur de laisser partir la 2ème armée la plus puissante, après celle des États-Unis, au sein de l’Alliance atlantique.

Les diplomates, en poste dans la région, affirment, pour la plupart, qu’Erdogan ouvre, de nouveaux fronts, pour faire diversion, car son curseur est réglé par le scrutin présidentiel de 2023. Erdogan redoute des retombées tardives des printemps arabes. Il a encore en tête la façon dont son ami défunt, le frère musulman égyptien, Mohamed Morsi, a été évincé en 2013, par les militaires, après un an de pouvoir.

Et puis, il faut rappeler, tout d’abord, que l’alliance Russo-Turque est une alliance contre nature, même si elle a gommé, ces dernières années, ses nombreuses divergences géopolitiques. L’histoire est là, pour nous rappeler que les empires Ottoman et Russe se sont livrés à de nombreuses guerres, pour la domination du moyen orient. Jusqu’à présent, leurs bonnes relations tiennent à une volonté commune de chasser les occidentaux des zones de conflit et de profiter du vide laissé par l’Amérique de Donald Trump au Moyen Orient.

Il faut, aujourd’hui, se poser deux questions : Le conflit du Haut Karabakh a-t-il signé la fin de cette alliance géopolitique contre nature ? Et est-ce que Vladimir Poutine va vouloir (et pouvoir) continuer à utiliser la Turquie pour diviser l’OTAN ? Car, en ouvrant un 3ème front, dans le Caucase, face à la Russie, Erdogan a remis en cause le statuquo que Vladimir Poutine maintenait dans la région.

Si la Turquie s’entête à faire basculer les rapports de force, Vladimir Poutine finira, sans doute, par sortir de sa réserve. Et la politique anti-occidentale ne suffira plus à masquer les divergences grandissantes avec Ankara.

Les choses ne sont pas, non plus, au beau fixe avec la France. Il faut rappeler que Recep Tayyip Erdogan est un Frère Musulman, donc un Islamiste. Et à ce titre, il est inacceptable pour lui d’entendre le discours d’Emmanuel Macron contre la pandémie Islamiste lancé à l’encontre de l’Occident et de ses valeurs.

On se demande de qui se moque Farettin Altun, le directeur de communication d’Erdogan, lorsqu’il déclare que « la politique insidieuse des caricatures, de séparatisme contre les Mulsumans et des perquisitions de mosquées ne sont pas liées à la liberté d’expression. » Erdogan, qui a fait éliminer des milliers de militaires, avocats, juges, politiciens, journalistes, militants kurdes, etc… pour asseoir son pouvoir. Est-il le lieux placer pour donner des leçons en matière de liberté d’expression ?

Erdogan veut défier l’héritage laïc, de Mustapha Kemal Ataturk, qui remonte à 1924, en amorçant une résurrection de l’Empire Ottoman. Il cherche à apparaître comme le meilleur défenseur des musulmans, à trevers le monde, et le leader d’un monde sunnite au sein duquel il veut concurencer l’Arabie Saoudite qu’il classe dans un axe anti Turc, avec les États-Unis, les Émirats Arabes Unis et Israel. Tout comme Vladimir Poutine, il profite du retrait américain du Moyen Orient, pour accroître son influence et son expansionisme territorial.

A travers cette surenchère à l’internationale, Erdogan vise à faire diversion, pour occulter la situation économique chaotique de son pays : le taux de chômage est à 13% et touche 26% des jeunes. Et la livre turque s’effondre, par rapport au dollar. Tant et si bien qu’il n’y a plus d’union sacrée autour d’Erdogan, en dépit de tous les pouvoirs dont il jouit. Sa popularité s’étiole ; son parti islamo-conservateur, l’AKP, est déchiré, depuis sa défaite aux municipales de 2019 ; son ancien Premier Ministre, Ahmet Davutoglu, et son ancien Ministre de l’Économie, sont passés dans l’opposition. Et si les élections présidentielles et législatives, prévues pour juin 2023, avaient lieu aujourd’hui, il en sortirait perdant face à son rival républicain, Ekrem Imamoglu, qui lui a ravi la mairie d’Istanbul, tenue par les islamo-conservateurs depuis 25 ans.

Affaibli comme jamais à l’intérieur, Erdogan tente de rebondir, en multipliant les provocations et les outrances sur la la scène internationale. Mais, une question se pose à lui à présent : l’arrivée de Joe Biden  va-t-elle le contraindre à réviser la politique étrangère de Turquie, à un moment critique pour lui à l’intérieur ?

Il y a un peu plus d’un an, Joe Biden avait qualifié Erdogan d’« autocrate » et s’était engagé à soutenir l’opposition turque. Plus récemment, lors de l’intervention du Président turc au Haut Karabakh, Joe Biden a qualifié « d’irresponsable » la rhétorique belliqueuse d’Erdogan allant jusqu’à l’utilisation de mercenaires djihadistes syriens pour terrifier les populations arméniennes.

Pour l’heure, Erdogan se veut conciliant, mais on ne peut être dupe de ses manœuvres. Comme toujours. Il mise sur l’idée que Joe Biden veillera, comme tous ses prédécesseurs, à la stabilité de sa relation avec la Turquie, pour ne pas affaiblir l’Alliance Atlantique, qui possède plusieurs centaines de missiles à têtes nucléaires sur le sol turc.

* Expert en politique internationale et consultant diplomatique.