fbpx
 
 

 

Erdogan: The hidden meaning of the new massacre of Armenians in Nagorno Karabakh

12 February 2021 Expertises   47011  

Martine Gozlan
Martine Gozlan

“What is a fanatic,” Churchill said, “one who can’t change his mind and won’t change the subject.” The massacres taking place in the Caucasus remind us of that fanaticism that is more than a century old: the Armenian genocide in 1915.

It is with this atrocious past that Recep Tayyip Erdogan, the Islamist tyrant, renews his ties with this atrocious past by supporting the Azeris – with jihadist militia force – in the fighting in Nagorno-Karabakh, a region populated by 99% Armenians. Half of the population is displaced, fugitive and wandering. Like 105 years ago, it goes from one corner of hell to the next.

This figure of the wandering Armenian doomed to massacre was the theme of a visionary Austrian Jewish writer, Franz Werfel. In a premonitory book – “The Forty Days of Musa Dagh” – published in 1933, the year Hitler came to power, Werfel reads through the Armenian genocide what awaited the Jews. He describes the epic story of a handful of villagers who flee the deportation by reaching the mountain: the “Musa Dagh”, this Mount Moses located in the north-west of Syria. The Ottoman Empire was collapsing. In the wake of this collapse and the stench of propaganda, the regime invented the fable of the inner enemy. It programmed the liquidation of an entire people. It was the first genocide of the 20th century: one and a half million dead. Shot, hanged, stabbed or dying of thirst and hunger in the desert in which they were forced to walk. “How did Franz Werfel know the mechanism and vocabulary of the Holocaust before the Holocaust?” asked Elie Wiesel when he discovered the book on his return from Auschwitz. In the 900 pages of this masterly account (paperback), we rediscover the immense loneliness of a people abandoned by all despite the formal protests of the usual protectors of the Armenians. Is this not the case today? In September 1915, however, the French navy finally landed at the foot of the Musa Dagh and evacuated the survivors. There are images of this rescue. One thinks, when watching them on the Internet, of the current European hypocrisy which does not dare to assert its defence of the Christians: the Armenians massacred in Nagorno-Karabakh like yesterday the Copts in Egypt, the “Nazarenes” of Mosul and other Iraqi lands of the calvary of the populations doomed to the knife of the jihadists. The same cutthroats who are resuming service in the Caucasus, enlisted by Erdogan. One of the heroes of Franz Werfel and Musa Dagh is shot by a Turkish bullet, clutching a cross over his heart. So, in 2020, one more cross on the Armenians?

Their torture once again prefigures what awaits us, as Werfel foresaw in 1933 for his time, if, as far as Erdogan is concerned, semi-reproachfulness, complete cowardice, and the absence of any real vision of danger persist. In spite of the accumulating evidence. Because finally, the dictator has embalmed all the journalists suspected of making the slightest criticism. Yet he still finds on the media scene some useful idiots to excuse his lightness!

In the Mediterranean, this warlike confrontation confronts a NATO member country, Greece, and multiplies threats and insults towards the president of another member country, France. His imprecations against Emmanuel Macron are indeed directly related to the vocabulary of an Islamist preacher. And yet Erdogan is still a member of NATO!

This Muslim Brother snatched from the Basilica of Saint Sophia the status of a museum which the Ataturk endowed in 1934 to appease the two souls, Christian and Muslim, who were founding a reconciled nation. The first prayer is chanted by the tyrant and his court, between the ancestral Christian mosaics that have been carefully covered so as not to offend the shady beliefs of the believers. Another church has just been transformed in its turn into a mosque and the complete agenda of future conversions of buildings is examined in the White Palace of Ankara, the neo-Stalinist residence of Erdogan.

This dangerous “Islam for all”, and of course for those who are not, also announced the intervention in the Caucasus. And yet we saw nothing coming! We were content to confess our useless desolation without daring to call by name and history the ideology that animates the liquidator of the Kurds, the massacre of the Armenians, the denier of the genocide, the godfather and financier of the jihadists.

Erdogan, a real internal danger for our democracies with the power of his lobbies, is the bridgehead of Islamo-fascism.

*  Journalist and essayist, editor in chief at weekly magazine Marianne, specialist in Islamism and Middle-East affairs..

fbpx
 
 

 

Erdogan : le sens caché du nouveau massacre des arméniens au Haut Karabakh



Martine Gozlan (*)

« Qu’est-ce qu’un fanatique, disait Churchill : une personne qui ne veut jamais changer d’avis ni changer de sujet. » Les massacres qui se sont récemment déroulés dans le Caucase nous renvoient à ce fanatisme vieux de plus d’un siècle : le génocide des Arméniens en 1915.

C’est avec ce passé atroce que renoue Recep Tayyip Erdogan, le tyran islamiste, en appuyant les Azéris -avec force miliciens djihadistes- dans les combats du Haut-Karabakh, une région peuplée à 99% d’Arméniens. La moitié de la population est déplacée, fugitive, errante. Comme voici 105 ans, elle va d’un coin d’enfer au suivant.

Cette figure de l’Arménien errant et voué au massacre, ce fut le thème d’un écrivain juif autrichien visionnaire, Franz Werfel. Dans un livre prémonitoire -« Les 40 jours du Mousa Dagh »-  publié en 1933, l’année de l’arrivée d’Hitler au pouvoir, Werfel lit en transparence à travers le génocide arménien ce qui attendait les juifs. Il décrit l’épopée d’une poignée de villageois qui fuient la déportation en gagnant la montagne : le « Musa Dagh », ce Mont Moïse situé au nord-ouest de la Syrie. L’empire ottoman s’écroulait. Dans le sillage de cet effondrement et la puanteur des propagandes, le régime invente la fable de l’ennemi intérieur. Il  programme la liquidation de tout un peuple. Ce fut le premier génocide du XXème siècle : un million et demi de morts. Fusillés, pendus, poignardés ou agonisant de soif et de faim dans le désert vers lequel ils étaient contraints de marcher. « Comment Franz Werfel connaissait-il le mécanisme et le vocabulaire de l’holocauste avant l’holocauste ? » s’interrogeait Elie Wiesel, en découvrant le livre à son retour d’Auschwitz. Dans les 900 pages de ce récit magistral (Livre de poche), on redécouvre en effet l’immense solitude d’un peuple abandonné de tous en dépit des protestations formelles des protecteurs habituels des Arméniens. N’est-ce pas le cas aujourd’hui ? En septembre 1905, cependant, la marine française finit par accoster au pied du Musa Dagh et par évacuer les survivants. Il existe des images de ce sauvetage. On songe, en les regardant sur Internet, à l’hypocrisie européenne actuelle qui n’ose affirmer sa défense des chrétiens : les Arméniens massacrés au Haut-Karabakh comme hier les Coptes en Egypte, les « Nazaréens » de Mossoul et autres terres irakiennes du calvaire des populations vouées au couteau des djihadistes. Ces mêmes égorgeurs qui reprennent du service dans le Caucase, enrôlés par Erdogan. L’un des héros de Franz Werfel et du Musa Dagh est abattu par une balle turque, en serrant une croix sur son cœur. Alors, en 2020, une croix de plus sur les Arméniens ?

Leur supplice recommencé préfigure ce qui nous attend, comme Werfel l’avait pressenti en 1933 pour son époque, si,  à l’égard d’Erdogan, persistent les semi-reproches, l’entière lâcheté, et l’absence de vision réelle du danger. Malgré les preuves qui s’accumulent. Car enfin, le dictateur a embastillé l’intégralité des journalistes soupçonnés d’émettre la moindre critique. Il se trouve pourtant encore sur la scène médiatique des idiot(e)s utiles pour excuser sa légèreté !

Ce va-t-en guerre affronte en Méditerranée un pays membre de l’Otan, la Grèce, et multiplie menaces et insultes vis à vis du président d’un autre pays membre, la France. Ses imprécations contre Emmanuel Macron relèvent en effet directement du vocabulaire d’un prêcheur islamiste. Et pourtant Erdogan est toujours membre de l’OTAN !

Ce Frère musulman arrache à la basilique Sainte-Sophie le statut de musée dont la dota Ataturk en 1934 pour apaiser les deux âmes, la chrétienne et la musulmane, qui fondaient une nation réconciliée. La première prière est psalmodiée par le tyran et sa cour, entre les mosaïques chrétiennes ancestrales que l’on a pris soin de recouvrir pour ne pas heurter les convictions ombrageuses des croyants. Une autre église vient d’être transformée à son tour en mosquée et l’agenda complet des futures conversions d’édifices est examiné au Palais blanc d’Ankara, la résidence néo-stalinienne d’Erdogan.

Ce dangereux « Islam pour tous », et bien sûr pour ceux qui n’en sont pas, annonçait aussi l’intervention dans le Caucase. Et pourtant on n’a rien vu venir ! On s’est contenté de confesser sa désolation inutile sans oser appeler par son nom et son histoire l’idéologie qui anime le liquidateur des Kurdes, le massacreur des Arméniens, le négationniste du génocide, le parrain et le financier des djihadistes.

Erdogan, vrai danger intérieur pour nos démocraties, avec la puissance de ses lobbies, est la tête de pont de l’islamo-fascisme.

* Journaliste et essayiste, rédactrice en chef à l’hebdomadaire Marianne, spécialiste de l’islamisme et du Moyen-Orient.