When Turkey plays with Russia versus the United States



Christian Malard (*)

In deciding to obtain Russia’s S400 ground-air missiles, amongst the most sophisticated in the world, capable of reaching more than 80 targets at a time, Turkey’s President Recep Tayyip Erdogan merely defied the United States and jeopardised his country’s chances of remaining within NATO.

Erdogan multiplied provocations to obtain concessions. But it is clear this military-diplomatic imbroglio raises questions about Turkey’s slow drifting towards Russia and its progressive withdrawal from NATO.

Whenever Turkey’s independence is at stake, Erdogan proves to be a maverick who can break free from the rules and logics of alliances. In the background, Turkey is primarily looking to balance its relations instead of breaking off with the Western Camp.

This been said, Trump’s administration has every reason in the world to oppose the acquisition of these missiles. They are placing Russian technology at the heart of a key country within the Atlantic Alliance who possesses the 2nd strongest army after that of the USA. Russians may well have free access to all technological data of the F35 Stealth Fighter, one of the most advanced aircrafts of the American Army, which Erdogan has purchased.

But the United States have expelled Turkey from the F35’s program, already acquired by allied countries such as Japan, Australia, Canada, Norway, Denmark, the Netherlands, Italy and the United Kingdom.

Regarding this ultra-sophisticated equipment, America has always refused cooperating with Turkey as well as transferring its technology, as demanded by Erdogan.

According to Pentagone’s strategists in Washington, the selling of Russia’s S400 to the Turks is part of Vladimir Putin’s scheme to divide NATO.

Today, American officials are wondering whether Turkey can remain an active NATO member while using a Russian Aerial Defense system. According to them, Turkey drifts towards a “non-Occidental alternative”. It has of course long been a kingpin of the alliance but its interests haven’t always been in line with that of an Occidental defense alliance created in 1949 to counter the Soviet Union.

Since the start of Syria’s civil war, NATO positioned its American “Patriot” Ground-Air Missiles system on Turkish territory but, today, Erdogan insists that Turkey acquires such a system, an appeal which America has never followed up.

This been said, acquisition by Recep Tayyip Erdogan of a Russian defence missile system constitutes a political victory for Vladimir Putin who brings Turkey back into its fold. He so reinforces his foothold in the Middle East after militarily intervening in Syria.

Let’s add that, while supporting Iran, Russia maintains good diplomatic, economic and military relations with the Gulf monarchies and Egypt, all allies of the United States.

The bone of contention between Turkey and the USA may well deteriorate the relations between armies of the two countries.

The USA disposes of important military bases on Turkish soil, such as Incirlik as well as tactical nuclear weapons storage sites.

In the meantime, facing Congress which is hostile to Recep Tayyip Erdogan, Donald Trump does not wish to impose sanctions, to avoid NATO’s destabilization.

He prefers negotiating with Erdogan with whom he must also address the problem of the Kurds at the Syrian-Turkish border.

Maybe all of them should sit around a table together with Vladimir Putin, who has become indispensable in bringing stability back to the Middle East.

* Expert in international politics and diplomatic consultant.

Quand la Turquie joue la russie contre les Etats-Unis



Christian Malard (*)

En décidant de se procurer des missiles Sol Air Russes S400, parmi les plus sophistiqués au monde, capables d’atteindre plus de 80 cibles à la fois, le Président Turc, Receps Erdogan, n’a fait que défier les États-Unis et hypothéquer les chances de maintien de son pays au sein de l’OTAN.

Erdogan a multiplié les provocations pour obtenir des concessions. Mais, force est de constater que cet imbroglio militaro-diplomatique interpelle avec la lente dérive de la Turquie vers la Russie et son désengagement progressif de l’OTAN.
Erdogan est un franc-tireur qui peut s’affranchir des règles et des logiques d’alliance dès qu’il s’agit de défendre l’indépendance de la Turquie. Sur le fond, la Turquie cherche avant tout à équilibrer ses relations plutôt qu’à marquer une rupture avec le camp occidental.
Cela dit, l’Administration Trump a toutes les raisons de s’opposer à l’acquisition de ces missiles. Ils placent la technologie Russe au cœur d’un pays clef de l’Alliance Atlantique, qui a la 2ème armée la plus puissante après celle des États-Unis. Les Russes pourraient, ainsi, avoir libre accès à toutes les données technologiques du Chasseur Furtif F35, l’un des avions les plus en pointe de l’armée de l’air américaine, pour lequel Erdogan a passé commande.
Mais les États-Unis ont exclu la Turquie du programme F35 déjà acquis par des pays alliés comme le Japon, l’Australie, le Canada, la Norvège, le Danemark, les Pays Bas, l’Italie et la Grande Bretagne. Les Américains ont toujours refusé la coproduction avec la Turquie de ces équipements ultra sophistiqués et le transfert de technologie exigé par Erdogan.
Selon les stratèges du Pentagone, à Washington, la vente du S400 Russe aux Turcs fait partie d’un stratagème de Vladimir Poutine visant à diviser l’OTAN.
Aujourd’hui, les officiels américains se demandent si la Turquie peut rester, un membre actif de l’OTAN, tout en utilisant un système de Défense Aérienne Russe. Pour eux, la Turquie dérive vers une « alternative non occidentale ». Elle a, certes, longtemps été une cheville ouvrière de l’Alliance, mais ses intérêts n’ont pas toujours été au diapason avec ceux d’une alliance de défense occidentale créée en 1949 pour contrer l’URSS.

Depuis le déclenchement de la guerre civile en Syrie, l’Otan a positionné son système américain de Missiles Sol Air « Patriot » sur le territoire Turc mais, aujourd’hui, Erdogan insiste pour que la Turquie se dote d’un système semblable auquel l’Amérique n’a jamais donné suite.
Cela dit, l’acquisition, par Recep Erdogan, d’un système de missiles de défense Russes, constitue une victoire politique pour Vladimir Poutine qui ramène la Turquie dans son giron. Elle renforce aussi son ancrage au Moyen Orient après son intervention militaire en Syrie.
Ajoutons à cela que, tout en soutenant l’Iran, la Russie entretient de bonnes relations* diplomatiques, économiques et militaires avec les Monarchies du Golfe et l’Égypte alliés des États-Unis.
La pomme de discorde turco-américaine pourrait bien envenimer les rapports entre les armées des deux pays. Les États-Unis disposent, sur le territoire turc, de bases militaires importantes comme celle d’Incirlik et de sites de stockages d’armes nucléaires tactiques.
Pour l’instant, face à un Congrès hostile et à Recep Erdogan, Donald Trump ne souhaite pas imposer de sanctions, afin de ne pas déstabiliser l’OTAN. Il préfère négocier avec Erdogan avec lequel il doit aussi traiter le problème des Kurdes à la frontière Syro-Turque.
Peut-être faudrait-il que tout ce petit monde se mette autour d’une table avec Vladimir Poutine, devenu incontournable pour ramener la stabilité au Moyen Orient.

* Expert en politique internationale et consultant diplomatique.