fbpx
 
 

 

Austria puts Muslim Brotherhood on blacklist of terrorist organizations



Eight months after the Vienna attacks, the Austrian authorities have just toughened their anti-terrorism legislation. With the new anti-terrorism law adopted on July 8, Austria has taken the plunge, being the first European country to put the Muslim Brotherhood on its blacklist of terrorist organizations.

At the end of a long legislative process, initiated in the aftermath of the Vienna attacks, on November 2, 2020, the Austrian parliament adopted, on Thursday July 8, a new anti-terrorism law offering the authorities greater prerogatives in the field of surveillance and control of extremist circles.

When the new law was tabled in the federal parliament on December 16, Austrian Chancellor Sebastian Kurz said its objective was “to affirm the will to do battle with political Islam”. Indeed, the main provision of this new counterterrorism device is the inclusion of the Muslim Brotherhood on the blacklist of “extremist groups linked to religiously motivated crime”.

The Brotherhood’s name thus joins four other Islamist organizations on this blacklist since last November: Daesh, al-Qaida, Hamas and the armed wing of Hezbollah. The political wing of Hezbollah was then added, last May, to this blacklist which also includes three other organizations of nationalist tendency: the Kurdish PKK, the Turkish Gray Wolves (also banned in France and Germany) and the Croatian fascist movement Ustasha.

According to the provisions of this new anti-terrorism law, the possession or the propagation of slogans or documents defending the groups registered on the blacklist will be punished with a fine of 4,000 € and / or a prison sentence of one month. And in the event of a repeat offense, the sentences could go up to a fine of € 10,000 and six months in prison.

This Austrian so-called “symbol ban” strategy has proven to be very effective. More than 27,000 infractions have been observed, according to Interior Minister Karl Nehammer, since its establishment in the aftermath of the November 2020 attacks.

More judicious than the simple act of banning groups or associations, which are immediately reconstituted under new titles, this strategy of banning symbols is starting to be emulated in Europe. Germany, in turn, has just passed a federal law criminalizing the possession or dissemination of slogans or documents promoting extremist groups.

This German federal law, enacted just hours after the new Austrian anti-terrorism law, on July 8, in turn placed the Muslim Brotherhood on the blacklist of organizations whose slogans are banned.

A severe blow for the Muslim Brotherhood networks in Germany, which comes on top of the ban that struck, on May 6, the al-Ansar organization, one of the allegedly humanitarian arms of the international organization of Muslim Brotherhood, outlawed by German authorities for its links with the al-Nusra group in Syria and with the Shebab in Somalia.

The terrorist ramifications that led to the ban of al-Ansar are catching up with another humanitarian arm of the Muslim Brotherhood and not the least: Islamic Relief, the largest Islamist NGO active in more than forty countries around the world. .

A recent Die Welt investigation sparked a lively controversy in Germany. It pointed to the European Union’s largesse to NGOs linked to radical Islamism. According to a German daily, Islamic Relief continued to benefit from European funding reaching € 712,000 in 2019, despite the cascading scandals, which led to the resignation of its director, Heshmat Khalifa, then of all of its board of directors, because of anti-Semitic remarks and links with Hamas!

fbpx
 
 

 

L’Autriche inscrit les Frères musulmans sur la liste noire des organisations terroristes



Huit mois après les attentats de Vienne, les autorités autrichiennes viennent de durcir leurs législations antiterroristes. Avec la nouvelle loi antiterroriste adopté le 8 juillet, l’Autriche a franchi le pas, en étant le premier pays européen a inscrire la confrérie des Frères musulmans sur sa liste noire des organisations terroristes.

Au terme d’un long processus législatif, engagé au lendemain des attentats de Vienne, le 2 novembre 2020, la parlement autrichien a adopté, jeudi 8 juillet, une nouvelle loi antiterroriste offrant aux autorités de plus larges prérogatives dans le domaine de la surveillance et du contrôle des milieux extrémistes.

Lors du dépôt de cette nouvelle loi devant le parlement fédéral, le 16 décembre dernier, le chancelier autrichien Sebastian Kurz a déclaré qu’elle avait pour objectif d’« affirmer la volonté d’en découdre avec l’islam politique ». En effet, la principale disposition de ce nouveau dispositif antiterroriste est l’inscription de la confrérie des Frères musulmans sur la liste noire des « groupes extrémistes liés à la criminalité à motivation religieuse ».

Le nom de la Confrérie s’ajoute ainsi à quatre autres organisations islamistes inscrites sur cette liste noire, depuis novembre dernier : Daech, al-Qaida, Hamas et l’aile armée du Hezbollah. L’aile politique du Hezbollah a ensuite été ajoutée, en mai dernier, à cette liste noire qui comporte aussi trois d’autres organisations de tendance nationaliste : le PKK kurde, les Loups Gris turcs (interdits aussi en France et en Allemagne) et le mouvement fasciste croate Ustasha.

Selon les dispositions de cette nouvelle loi antiterroriste, la détention ou la propagation de slogans ou de documents faisant l’apologie des groupes inscrits sur la liste noire sera puni d’une amende de 4.000€ et/ou d’une peine d’emprisonnement d’un mois. Et en cas de récidive, les condamnations pourront aller jusqu’à 10.000€ d’amende et six mois de prison.

Cette stratégie autrichienne dite de « l’interdiction des symboles » s’est avérée très efficaces. Plus de 27 milles infractions ont été constatées, selon le ministre de l’intérieur Karl Nehammer, depuis sa mise en place au lendemain des attentats de novembre 2020.

Plus judicieuse que le simple fait de prononcer l’interdiction de groupes ou d’associations, qui se reconstituent aussitôt sous de nouveaux intitulés, cette stratégie de l’interdiction des symboles commence à faire des émules en Europe. l’Allemagne vient, à son tour, de promulguer une loi fédérale criminalisant la détention ou la diffusion de slogans ou documents faisant l’apologie de groupes extrémistes.

Cette loi fédérale allemande, promulguée quelques heures seulement après la nouvelle loi antiterroriste autrichienne, ce même 8 juillet, a inscrit, à son tour, les Frères musulmans sur la liste noire des organisations dont les slogans sont bannis.

Un coup dur pour les réseaux Frères musulmans en Allemagne, qui s’ajoute à l’interdiction qui avait frappé, le 6 mai dernier, l’organisation al-Ansar, l’un des bras, prétendument humanitaires, de l’organisation internationale des Frères musulmans, mis hors la loi par les autorités allemandes en raison de ses liens avec le groupe al-Nusra en Syrie et avec les Shebab en Somalie.

Les ramifications terroristes qui ont conduit à l’interdiction d’al-Ansar sont en train de rattraper un autre bras humanitaire des Frères musulmans et non des moindres : Islamic Relief, la plus grande ONG islamiste active dans plus de quarante pays à travers le monde.

Une récente enquête de Die Welt a soulevé une vive polémique outre-Rhin. Elle pointait les largesses de l’Union européenne envers des ONG liées à l’islamisme radical. Selon le quotidien allemand, Islamic Relief a continué à bénéficier de financements européens ayant atteint 712.000€ en 2019, malgré les scandales en cascades, qui ont conduit à la démission de son directeur, Heshmat Khalifa, puis de l’ensemble de son conseil d’administration, en raison de propos antisémites et de liens avec le Hamas !