fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones

 

The Global Threat of the Muslim Brotherhood

9 April 2022 Investigations   74058  

The July 2018 report by the US Congressional Subcommittee on National Security is the most important and comprehensive official Western document on the global threat posed by the Muslim Brotherhood. It sheds unprecedented light on the secret ramifications of the Brotherhood, which is considered to be the mother house of contemporary Islamism, its tentacles in more than 70 countries around the world, and its supremacist dogma, which aims to establish Islamist world domination through a global “Islamic state”.

By Atmane Tazaghart

The report is unequivocal about the totalitarian nature of the Brotherhood and its global ramifications and aims. In his opening statement at the beginning of the hearings, the chairman of the subcommittee, Ron DeSantis, asserted that “There’s no question that the Muslim Brotherhood affiliates are involved in terrorism […] Muslim Brotherhood networks raise money here in the U.S. to support terrorist activities”.
Agreeing with the subcommittee chairman, who welcomed the fact that “Thankfully, the Trump administration has discarded the Obama era policy of treating the Brotherhood as a potential ally”, Jonathan Schanzer, senior vice president of the Foundation for Defense of Democracies, recalls that in 2011, James Clapper, President Barack Obama’s appointed director of national intelligence, caused an uproar after he said the Muslim Brotherhood was “a heterogeneous, largely secular group that has renounced its existence as an ally”. James Clapper, President Barack Obama’s appointee as Director of National Intelligence, caused an uproar after declaring the Muslim Brotherhood to be “heterogeneous group, largely secular, which has eschewed violence and has decried al-Qaida as a perversion of Islam,” arguing that “Clapper was way off the mark. For one, the Muslim Brotherhood is a gateway to jihadism […] It’s also a hate group. Its ideology is xenophobic, bigoted, and totalitarian.”
A misdirection that Hillel Fradkin, a senior fellow at the Hudson Institute, explains as follows: “First, we had an experiment of how the Brotherhood would behave in power. And it had been proposed before that that when they come to power they would be, through the exercise of power, they would learn to be moderate. That we saw was false, and there are reasons why it was false, because when they saw the opportunity to exercise total power they were keen to.”
For his part, the president of the American Islamic Forum for Democracy, Zuhdi Jasser, criticised the fact that “Unfortunately, much of the conversation about the Brotherhood has been obstructed, muted, marginalized, deferred, minimized by the Muslim Brotherhood sympathizers or their allies here in the West.” “The root cause of lslamist terrorism is the ideology of political Islam and a belief in the preference for and supremacy of an Islamic state and its attendant global union in a caliphate. Terrorism is but a means to that end.”
While asserting that “All of the Muslim leaders in our Muslim Reform Movement would agree that looking just at “Violent Extremism” (VE) is too nebulous, nonspecific and will result over and over in [intelligence] agency blinders to the attacks”, Zuhdi Jasser laments that “Since 9/11 the discussion of the global security threat of the Muslim Brotherhood has sadly and noticeably demonstrated our national disfunction in addressing the depth of the real threat of radical Islam and more specifically the threat of lslamism (aka, political Islam). Our negligence, ignorance, and distraction has enabled groups like the Muslim Brotherhood to take advantage of our unprecedented freedoms and excessively thrive in a manner frankly often not possible anywhere else in the world.”
This view is shared by Hillel Fradkin, who considers that “The controversy is —put it this way— there was the suggestion, especially beginning after 9/11, that by comparison with al-Qaida and other similar organizations the Brotherhood was moderate and could be a force for moderation. It was argued that it no longer seriously embraced the radical vision Banna had enunciated. Rather it was ready to participate in ordinary politics and through that participation would further moderate. The alleged model of its new destination was something like the Christian Democratic parties of Europe”, and he concludes, not without bitterness, that “We [the Americans] have now had one important test of these benign hopes and they have proven to be false”, because “it does skew the discussion insofar as it suggests that those who are not immediately active in violence […] are the parties to be worked with, the parties that are useful for interaction. And this is a continuous tendency. Once you’ve sort of made the distinction between the Brotherhood and al-Qaida, you say, okay, these are the guys we can work with”.
For his part, Congressman Paul A. Gosar considers that this dysfunction of the American strategy towards the Muslim Brotherhood is the result of a different problem. Gosar sees this dysfunctional US strategy towards the Muslim Brotherhood as a result of a different issue: “One of the biggest problems in making policy decisions with regard to the Muslim Brotherhood is the fact that the Muslim Brotherhood frequently creates front groups that while ostensibly are separate, but in reality have close ties to the mother ship […] This can include respectable institutions such as civil rights organizations, community groups, and charities. A recent report by the Middle East Forum concerning Islamic Relief, an international aid charity, documented extensive ties between Islamic Relief and the Egyptian Muslim Brotherhood.”

Is there a global threat from the Muslim Brotherhood?

The exchanges between the panel members heard by the sub-committee take on a much less consensual tone when it comes to understanding the global threat posed by the Muslim Brotherhood. Hillel Fradkin notes that the Brotherhood “rejected as such the nation state as a legitimate form of Muslim governance; he rejected it as a form of governance of alien origin and at variance with the traditional forms and ideals of Muslim governance that were imperial and ultimately global in character”.
Based on this same observation, Zuhdi Jasser considers that “there is no better representative of an organization with global reach that endlessly produces Islamist terror progeny than the Brotherhood.” But former ambassador Daniel Benjamin objects that “scholars, intelligence analysts, and policymakers over many years have come to agree, there is today no singular monolithic Muslim Brotherhood. Decades after the genesis of the Egyptian Ikhwan, there is no central administration linking these many different groups which are often said to have Brotherhood links, or of ideology or origins […] no serious researcher has demonstrated durable links between these groups that could be described as ones of command and control”.
To which Jonathan Schanzer replies: “It is not exactly heterogeneous, either. Many Muslim Brotherhood branches subject their members to rigid indoctrination processes and vet their members for their commitment to the organization’s ultimate goal, which is to empower the Brotherhood’s politicized and deeply intolerant interpretation of Islam.” And Zuhdi Jasser goes even further: “Muslims are not monolithic. But the Brotherhood, whether it’s 1.0 or 9.0, in the last 90 years is monolithic, and trying to say it’s not monolithic is dancing on the head of an pin.” He added that “it is as equally foolhardy in counter-terrorism and counter-radicalization work to refuse to acknowledge the role of political Islam in the threat as it is to villainize the whole of Islam and all Muslims”, arguing that “A denial of the truth about the Muslim Brotherhood has actually emboldened extremists on both sides of this debate: both radical lslamists and anti-Muslim fascists” while “truthfully identifying the Muslim Brotherhood as a radical terror organization does not demonize all or even most Muslims. In fact, identifying the primary cancer cell(s) of global radical Islamism will go a long way towards beginning to assuage the fears of concerned Americans”.

The ambivalence of the Muslim Brotherhood on the issue of jihadist violence

Another point of contention among the panelists was the involvement (or not) of the Muslim Brotherhood in jihadist violence. Hillel Fradkin argues that “What has been true is the issue of violence as far as the Brotherhood is concerned, going back to the beginning, was a tactical question. Was it useful at any particular stage to use violence to advance their goals? And al-Qaida has no doubt that violence is good, but the Brotherhood sees it otherwise, but as such, there is no repudiation of violence.”
Congressman Stephen F. Lynch, who sat on the sub-committee as chairman of the minority group (Democrats), points to the ambivalence of the Brotherhood: “While at one point the central Brotherhood body in Egypt officially renounced terrorism and violence under the Sadat regime in the 1970s, there is no doubt that certain affiliated organizations and spawn groups continue to espouse and engage in violent terrorist activity”.
Jonathan Schanzer explains this ambivalence by the fact that “if they [the Muslim Brotherhood] operate under a repressive regime, they are often left with no recourse but to recognize the regime and to renounce violence. They are more than willing to engage in the democratic process, but there’s really nothing in their creed, all right, which is ultimately the dogma that they all adhere to at their core, that suggests that they have given up violence as an approach or that they’ve embraced democracy”.
Faced with this dilemma, Zuhdi Jasser advocates moving away from the violence/non-violence binary: “The Brotherhood has offshoots of terror groups, and the non-violent group, I believe, gives cover to the Muslim Brotherhood terror groups […] We have for too long been playing a ‘whack-a-mole’ program against byproducts of Muslim Brotherhood ideologues rather than directly countering the primary cancer cells of the Muslim Brotherhood operations […] At some point every honest analyst will need to recognize that the fruit of the poisoned tree will never be acceptable, and it is the Brotherhood’s tree which is the primary problem in the Arab Sunni world and not just its ‘whack a mole’ byproducts”, for “So·called Violent Extremism (VE) is simply an endpoint of a common supremacist ideology that is innately theo·political and is a radicalization process that occurs over months to years and is far easier to publicly monitor than waiting for guess work on ‘Violent Extremism’”.
Subcommittee Chair Ron DeSantis concludes that while there are differing views on the Muslim Brotherhood’s ambivalent stance towards the use of jihadist violence, the veracity of the threat posed by the Brotherhood is not in doubt: “Between the radicalism of it hateful ideology, the danger of its theocratic rule, as seen in Egypt, its networks, including Hamas and HASM, and its powerful state sponsors, it is clear that the Brotherhood constitutes a real threat for the national security interests of the United States. We can debate the best way to counter this threat, but simply ignoring the threat is not an acceptable answer.”

Should the Muslim Brotherhood be listed as a terrorist organisation?

It is precisely on the issue of how to counter the global threat of the Muslim Brotherhood that the differences between the panel members are most pronounced. Worse still, almost all of the speakers adopt political positions, which run counter to their own expertise expressed during the hearing.
For example, Jonathan Schanzer, while acknowledging that “the Brotherhood appears homogenous in its adherence to a hateful, bigoted, and radical ideology”, recommends: “do not waste valuable Federal resources trying to designate the entire Brotherhood [as a terrorist organisation]. Focus on groups that have a history of violent acts and terrorist financing”.
Congressman Stephen F. Lynch, while acknowledging that Muslim Brotherhood-affiliated organizations and groups “continue to espouse and engage in violent terrorist activity,” argues that “the effectiveness of our counterterrorism and force protection operations in the Middle East and North Africa demand that we approach this issue with caution. A wholesale designation would severely complicate our relationship with the regional security partners, including Jordan, Tunisia, Morocco, Turkey, and Kuwait, where the Muslim Brotherhood functions within mainstream government and society […]. It could also further escalate the tension in the Middle East, which is already operating in a heightened state of conflict, where we still have 2,000 U.S. troops on the ground in Syria, an estimated 6,000 troops deployed in Iraq”. He added, as if to ease his conscience, that “The other challenge with terrorism is their ability to adapt. And I think that just putting out a blanket designation on the Muslim Brotherhood, they will sidestep that in a heartbeat, and those organizations will reconfigure and reassemble in a way that will do nothing to reduce their lethality”.
In the end, only Zuhdi Jasser openly supported the Trump Administration’s move at the time to list the Muslim Brotherhood as a terrorist organisation. For the president of the American Islamic Forum for Democracy, “for too long we’ve been on the defense worried about what the reactions will be […] I see that concern, that defensiveness on the American posture about naming the Brotherhood a terrorist organization, as at best a form of bigotry of low expectations when it comes to Muslims [when] the importance of identifying the Muslim brotherhood as a terrorist organization could not be more clear to our national security and counterterrorism strategy. This will begin not only a necessary process of treating the cancer at its core before it metastasizes rather than its byproducts after it has already spread.”
Considering that “making the Muslim Brotherhood radioactive would allow the light to shine upon the most potent antagonists in Muslim communities: those who reject political Islamist groups and believe in liberty and the separation of mosque and state”, Zuhdi Jasser advocates “Use the MB designation as a template to transition immediately from the currently useless ideological center of CVE, countering violent extremism, to the more practical one of countering Islamism.”
Although visibly convinced by Zuhdi Jasser’s arguments, former ambassador Ryan Crocker, who served for a long time in the Middle East, gives him a diplomatic rebuff: “With a few exceptions, the Muslim Brotherhood is not our friend. They don’t like us and we don’t like them. But there is a huge difference between groups that don’t like us and groups that actively seek to harm us. We put ourselves in great danger by confusing the two”!

Another former ambassador interviewed, Daniel Benjamin, agrees, but without the burden of diplomatic politeness: “Policymakers and legislators, like physicians, must keep in mind the injunction to do no harm. A hardline approach to the Muslim” […].Taking a hard line against Muslim Brotherhood-affiliated groups and their members could prove disastrous […]. The U.S. faces a real and continuing threat from jihadist terrorist violence. Unwise actions to target the Muslim Brotherhood groups will only deepen the animus against America, and we should not do anything that helps our enemies attract more recruits. That, too, would be a blunder.”

fbpx
 
 

 

La menace mondiale des Frères musulmans



Le rapport établi par la sous-commission de la sécurité nationale du Congrès américain, en juillet 2018, est le document officiel occidental le plus important et le plus complet, consacré à la menace mondiale que constituent les Frères musulmans. Il apporte un éclairage sans précédent sur les ramifications secrètes de cette confrérie considérée comme la maison-mère de l’islamisme contemporain, ses tentacules implantés dans plus de 70 pays à travers le monde et son dogme suprématiste qui vise à instaurer une domination islamiste du monde à travers un ‘‘État islamique’’ global.


Par Atmane Tazaghart
 

Le rapport est sans équivoque quant à la nature totalitaire de la confrérie, ses ramifications et visées mondiales. Dès sa déclaration préliminaire, en ouverture des auditions, le président de la sous-commission, Ron DeSantis, assure que « l’implication de groupes affiliés aux Frères musulmans dans des activités terroristes ne fait pas l’ombre d’un doute […] Les réseaux des Frères musulmans lèvent des fonds, ici même aux États-Unis, pour financer les activités terroristes ».
Abondant dans le sens du président de la sous-commission, qui s’est félicité qu’« heureusement, l’administration Trump a abandonné la politique de l’ère Obama qui considérait les Frères musulmans comme des alliés potentiels », Jonathan Schanzer, premier vice-président de la Fondation pour la Défense des Démocraties, rappelle qu’en 2011, M. James Clapper, directeur du Renseignement national nommé par le président Barack Obama, a soulevé un tollé après avoir déclaré que les Frères musulmans étaient « un groupe hétérogène, laïque dans une large mesure, qui a renoncé à la violence et a accusé al-Qaïda d’avoir déformé l’islam », estimant que « Clapper s’était lourdement fourvoyé. D’abord, la confrérie des Frères musulmans est une passerelle vers le djihadisme […] Elle est aussi un groupe qui prône la haine. Son idéologie est xénophobe, fanatique et totalitaire. »
Un fourvoiement que Hillel Fradkin, chercheur principal à l’Hudson Institute, explique ainsi : « nous [les États-Unis] avons voulu voir comment les Frères musulmans allaient se comporter une fois au pouvoir. Avant qu’ils y parviennent, certains avaient cru qu’une fois au pouvoir, et avec l’exercice du pouvoir, les Frères musulmans allaient apprendre la modération. C’était faux et il y a des raisons qui l’expliquent : lorsque l’occasion d’exercer le pouvoir s’est présentée à eux, ils l’ont exercé de façon totalitaire. »
De son côté, le président du Forum Islamique Américain pour la Démocratie, Zuhdi Jasser, fustige le fait que « l’essentiel du débat sur les Frères musulmans a été dévoyé, obscurci, dénaturé, marginalisé, renvoyé et minimisé par les sympathisants de la confrérie ou par ses alliés ici en Occident. », alors que « la cause profonde du terrorisme islamiste est l’idéologie de l’Islam politique et la croyance en la préférence et la suprématie d’un État islamique et de l’union mondiale qui l’accompagne dans un califat. Le terrorisme n’étant qu’un moyen d’atteindre cet objectif. »
Tout en affirmant que « tous les dirigeants musulmans de notre mouvement réformateur s’accordent à dire que le fait de se pencher seulement sur l’«extrémisme violent » est trop nébuleux, imprécis et aura pour conséquence de rendre les agences [du Renseignement ] encore plus aveugles aux attaques », Zuhdi Jasser déplore que « depuis le 11-Septembre, la discussion sur la menace mondiale pour la sécurité que représentent les Frères musulmans a tristement et visiblement démontré notre dysfonctionnement national face à la profondeur de la menace réelle de l’islam radical et plus spécifiquement de la menace de l’islamisme (alias l’islam politique). Notre négligence, notre ignorance et notre distraction ont permis à des groupes comme les Frères musulmans de profiter de nos libertés sans équivalent et de s’épanouir de manière excessive. »
Une vision partagée par Hillel Fradkin, qui considère que « la polémique est née d’une affirmation, apparue surtout après le 11-Septembre, selon laquelle, comparée à al-Qaïda et à d’autres groupes similaires, la confrérie des Frères musulmans est modérée et peut être une force de modération. On a fait valoir qu’elle n’épousait plus la vision radicale qu’al-Banna [son fondateur, en 1928] avait énoncée et n’adhérait plus à l’établissement d’un État islamique, mais qu’elle était plutôt prête à participer à la politique ordinaire et que, grâce à cette participation, elle se modérerait davantage. Les partis démocrates-chrétiens d’Europe étant en quelque sorte le modèle présumé de sa nouvelle vocation » Et de conclure, non sans amertume, que « nous [les Américains] avons mis ces espoirs à l’épreuve et le résultat a été un échec. », car « cela fausse le débat, en ce sens que ça laisse entendre que ceux qui ne participent pas immédiatement à l’action violente […] sont des gens avec qui il faut travailler, des gens avec qui interagir. Et c’est une tendance persistante. Une fois qu’on a fait la distinction entre les Frères musulmans et al-Qaïda, on se dit alors : bon, voici les gens avec qui on pourra travailler ».
Pour sa part, le congressman, Paul A. Gosar, considère que ce dysfonctionnement de la stratégie américaine vis-à-vis des Frères musulmans résulte d’une toute autre problématique : « L’une des principales difficultés qui se posent à l’élaboration d’orientations politiques au sujet des Frères musulmans réside dans le fait que ces derniers créent des entités de façade en apparence autonomes, mais qui en réalité entretiennent des liens étroits avec la ‘‘maison mère’’ […] Parmi ces entités on trouve des institutions respectables telles que des organisations de droits civils, des groupes communautaires et des associations caritatives. Un rapport récent du Middle East Forum consacré à l’Islamic Relief Worldwide, une ONG caritative internationale, a révélé, documents à l’appui, des liens étroits entre cette ONG et les Frères musulmans égyptiens. »

Y a-t-il une menace mondiale des Frères musulmans ?

Les échanges entre les membres du panel auditionné par la sous-commission prennent une allure nettement moins consensuelle, dès qu’il s’agit d’appréhender la menace globale que constituent les Frères musulmans. Hillel Fradkin constate que la confrérie « a rejeté, en tant que tel, l’État-nation comme une forme légitime de gouvernance musulmane [le considérant comme] une forme de gouvernance d’origine étrangère et en contradiction avec les formes et les idéaux traditionnels de la gouvernance musulmane qui avaient un caractère impérial, et en définitive, mondial ».
Partant de ce même constat, Zuhdi Jasser considère que « la confrérie des Frères musulmans est le meilleur modèle d’organisation de portée mondiale qui produit sans cesse une progéniture de terroristes islamistes. » Mais l’ex-ambassadeur Daniel Benjamin objecte que « les universitaires, les analystes du renseignement et les décideurs politiques des Administrations précédentes s’accordent tous pour dire qu’il n’existe pas une seule, unique et monolithique confrérie des Frères musulmans […] Des décennies après la genèse des Ikhwan égyptiens, il n’existe aucune administration centrale fédérant ces groupes disparates. Tant dans leur caractère que sur des questions d’idéologie ces groupes varient grandement […] Aucun travail de recherche sérieux n’a pu démontrer l’existence entre ces groupes de liens de commandement et de contrôle solides. ».
Ce à quoi Jonathan Schanzer réplique : « Les Frères musulmans sont tout sauf un groupe hétérogène. Plusieurs des filiales de la confrérie soumettent leurs membres à un endoctrinement rigide et exigent d’eux un engagement sans faille en faveur de l’interprétation absolument intolérante que font les Frères musulmans de l’islam. » Et Zuhdi Jasser va plus loin encore : « Les musulmans ne sont pas un bloc monolithique. En revanche, les Frères musulmans, qu’ils soient de la version 1.0 ou 9.0, sont demeurés un bloc monolithique tout au long des 90 dernières années. Tenter de le nier équivaudrait à vouloir couper un cheveu en quatre. » Et d’ajouter qu’ « il est tout aussi imprudent, dans le cadre de la lutte contre le terrorisme et la radicalisation, de refuser de reconnaître le rôle de l’Islam politique dans la menace que de vilipender l’ensemble de l’Islam et tous les musulmans », arguant que « le déni de la vérité sur les Frères musulmans a, en fait, enhardi les extrémistes des deux côtés de ce débat : les islamistes radicaux et les fascistes anti-musulmans », alors qu’« identifier honnêtement les Frères musulmans comme une organisation terroriste radicale ne diabolise pas tous les musulmans, ni même la plupart d’entre eux. En fait, l’identification de la (des) cellule(s) cancéreuse(s) primaire(s) de l’islamisme radical mondial contribuera largement à apaiser les craintes des Américains inquiets ».

L’ambivalence des Frères musulmans sur la question de la violence djihadiste

Autre point de discorde entre les membres du panel : l’implication (ou pas) des Frères musulman dans la violence djihadiste. Hillel Fradkin soutient que « la question de la violence, pour ce qui concerne les Frères musulmans, a été depuis le début une question tactique : est-il utile, à une étape quelconque, de recourir à la violence pour atteindre leurs objectifs ? Si al-Qaïda use de la violence sans scrupules, la position des Frères musulmans est plus nuancée, mais ils ne la rejettent pas totalement. »
Le congressman Stephen F. Lynch, qui siégeait à la sous-commission en sa qualité de président du groupe minoritaire (Démocrates), pointe l’ambivalence de la confrérie : « Certes, à une certaine époque, l’instance centrale des Frères musulmans avait officiellement renoncé à la violence. C’était sous le régime de Sadate dans les années 70. Mais il est tout aussi certain que des organismes et des groupuscules qui lui sont affiliés continuent de s’adonner à des actes terroristes ».
Jonathan Schanzer explique cette ambivalence par le fait que « quand ils [les Frères musulmans] agissent sous un régime répressif, ils n’ont d’autre choix que de reconnaître le régime et de renoncer à la violence. Ils sont plus que disposés à jouer le jeu démocratique, mais il n’y a vraiment rien dans leur crédo (le dogme auquel ils adhèrent tous) qui indique qu’ils ont véritablement renoncé à la violence et qu’ils ont adopté la démocratie ».
Face à ce dilemme, Zuhdi Jasser préconise de sortir de la vision binaire violence/non-violence : « Les Frères musulmans ont tout un réseau de groupuscules terroristes, et je crois que le groupe non violent sert de couverture aux groupes violents […] Depuis trop longtemps, nous nous livrons à un ‘‘jeu de cache-cache’’ contre les sous-produits des idéologues Frères musulmans plutôt que de contrer directement les cellules cancéreuses primaires des opérations des Frères musulmans […] À un moment donné, tout analyste honnête devra reconnaître que le fruit de l’arbre empoisonné ne doit jamais être acceptable, et c’est l’arbre de la confrérie qui est le problème principal dans le monde arabe sunnite et pas seulement les sous-produits de son ‘‘jeu de cache-cache’’, car « le soi-disant extrémisme violent est simplement un point d’aboutissement d’une idéologie suprématiste commune qui est théocratique et politique par nature et constitue un processus de radicalisation qui se produit sur des mois, voire des années, et qui est bien plus facile à surveiller publiquement que de jouer aux devinettes sur l’« extrémisme violent ».
Le président de la sous-commission, Ron DeSantis, en conclue que, même si les avis divergent à propos de la position ambivalente des Frères musulmans vis-à-vis du recours à la violence djihadiste, la véracité de la menace que représente la confrérie ne fait aucun doute : « Entre la nature extrémiste de leur idéologie de la haine, les dangers inhérents à leur gouvernance théocratique (comme on l’a vu en Égypte), leurs réseaux (y compris Hamas et Hasm) et les puissants États qui les parrainent, les Frères musulmans constituent une véritable menace pour les intérêts américains en matière de sécurité nationale. Certes, nous pouvons avoir un débat sur la meilleure façon de la contrer mais nous ne devons pas l’ignorer ».

Faut-il inscrire les Frères musulmans sur la liste des organisations terroristes ?

C’est justement à propos de la façon de contrer la menace mondiale des Frères musulmans que les divergences entre les membres du panel sont les plus prononcées. Pis encore, quasiment tous les intervenants adoptent des positions politiciennes, allant à l’encontre de leurs propres expertises exprimées durant l’audition.
Ainsi, Jonathan Schanzer qui reconnait pourtant que « les Frères musulman semblent homogènes dans leur adhésion à une idéologie haineuse, sectaire et radicale », recommande de « veiller à ne pas gaspiller des ressources fédérales précieuses dans des tentatives de désigner toute la confrérie des Frères musulmans [comme une organisation terroriste]. Se concentrer sur les groupes qui ont des antécédents d’actes violents et de financement du terrorisme ».
Le congressman Stephen F. Lynch, tout en reconnaissant que des organismes et groupuscules affiliés aux Frères musulmans « continuent de s’adonner à des actes terroristes », soutient que « l’efficacité de nos opérations antiterroristes et de protection de nos troupes au Moyen-Orient et en Afrique du Nord requiert une approche prudente de cette problématique. Une classification en vrac (de la confrérie) mettrait à mal notre relation avec les partenaires régionaux de sécurité, y compris la Jordanie, le Koweït, le Maroc, la Turquie et la Tunisie, où les Frères musulmans sont solidement implantés tant dans la société que dans le gouvernement […]. Cela peut aussi aggraver la tension dans un Moyen-Orient qui évolue déjà dans un climat de conflit aigu et où nous avons déployé 2000 soldats américains en Syrie et environ 6000 autres en Irak ». Avant d’ajouter, comme pour se donner bonne conscience, que « si on désignait toutes les organisations des Frères musulmans comme terroristes, elles trouveraient le moyen de contourner cela en un clin d’œil, elles se réorganiseraient et se regrouperaient d’une manière qui n’entamerait en rien leur capacité destructrice ».
En définitive, seul Zuhdi Jasser a soutenu ouvertement la démarche envisagée, à l’époque, par l’Administration Trump afin d’inscrire les Frères musulmans sur la liste américaine des organisations terroristes. Pour le président du Forum Islamique Américain pour la Démocratie, « nous [les Américains] sommes restés sur la défensive pendant trop longtemps, craignant les réactions […] l’excessive prudence américaine à considérer les Frères musulmans comme une organisation terroriste est, au mieux, une forme de ‘‘tartuferie complaisante’’ [alors que ] l’importance d’identifier la confrérie des Frères musulmans comme une organisation terroriste ne pourrait être plus claire pour notre sécurité nationale et notre stratégie de lutte contre le terrorisme. Cela permettra d’entamer un processus nécessaire de traitement du cancer à sa base avant qu’il ne produise des métastases, plutôt que de traiter ses sous-produits après qu’ils se soient déjà propagés. »
Considérant que « le rejet des Frères musulmans, comme des éléments toxiques, permettrait de faire émerger leurs plus puissants détracteurs au sein même des communautés musulmanes ; ceux qui rejettent les groupes politiques islamistes et qui croient en la liberté et en la séparation entre l’État et la mosquée », Zuhdi Jasser préconise d’« utiliser la désignation des Frères musulmans en tant qu’entité terroriste afin de basculer immédiatement du centre de gravité non idéologique inutile actuel, qui repose sur la ‘‘lutte contre l’extrémisme violent’’, à un autre beaucoup plus pratique axé sur la ‘‘lutte contre l’islamisme’’. »
Bien que visiblement convaincu par les arguments de Zuhdi Jasser, l’ex-ambassadeur Ryan Crocker, qui a longtemps servi au Moyen-Orient, lui oppose une fin de non-recevoir toute diplomatique : « À quelques exceptions près, les Frères musulmans ne sont pas nos amis. Ils ne nous aiment pas et nous ne les aimons pas. Mais il y a une énorme différence entre les groupes qui ne nous aiment pas et les groupes qui cherchent activement à nous nuire. Nous nous mettons en grand danger en confondant les deux » !

Autre ancien ambassadeur auditionné, Daniel Benjamin abonde dans le même sens, mais sans s’encombrer de politesses diplomatiques : « À l’instar des médecins, les législateurs et les décideurs politiques se doivent de respecter le principe de précaution. Adopter une ligne dure contre les groupes affiliés aux Frères musulmans et leurs membres pourrait s’avérer désastreux » […]. Les États-Unis sont la cible d’une menace réelle et permanente du terrorisme djihadiste. Des actions imprudentes ciblant les groupes affiliés aux Frères musulmans ne feraient qu’exacerber l’animosité contre les États-Unis ; nous devrions nous garder de toute action susceptible de renforcer les rangs de nos ennemis. Ce serait une erreur monumentale. »