Hani Ramadan adopts the conspiracy theory blaming the 9/11 attacks



While the French Ministry of the Interior has just renewed Hani Ramadan’s ban on staying in France (a ban which dates back to April 2017), the Director of the Islamic Center of Geneva (Tariq Ramadan’s brother) replies by questioning the official version of the 9/11 attacks!

By Ian Hamel, in Geneva

Hani Ramadan strongly criticised this ban, especially since the French Ministry of the Interior has also renewed, for a period of six months, the freezing of his assets in France. Speaking on a blog published by La Tribune de Genève, Hani Ramadan stated that he “strongly opposes this provision which is not justified in any way, and which is in complete contradiction with the rights of any individual, be he Muslim”. And to defend himself against this ban, he refers to “Zionist state terrorism against civilians”, which is his usual rhetoric, but also to what he calls “the conspiracy version of the [9/11] attacks”!

What does this have to do with the decision of the Ministry of the Interior? Apparently none, except that with 11 September approaching, the author of L’islam et la dérive de l’Occident would like to remind us of it. Less media-oriented than his brother Tariq, Hani Ramadan has always favoured outrageous statements that do not concern themselves with seducing “infidels” but are addressed to the supporters of radical Islam.

It should be remembered that in September 2002, one year after the attacks, Hani Ramadan defended stoning to death for adultery in Le Monde, for which he lost his job in a Geneva college. More recently, invited to a school, he compared unveiled women to “a two-euro coin that passes from hand to hand”! Finally, at the very beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic, Hani Ramadan claimed that fornication and adultery were at the origin of the coronavirus. And in the same audio sermon, he also affirmed that a Muslim who would have done his prayers well would have nothing to fear from a harmful or venomous animal, because its venom would have no effect on him!

This time, regarding the 9/11 attacks, the director of the Islamic Center of Geneva claims that 520 architects and engineers “want to know why official reports have omitted all the crucial legal and scientific clues related to the controlled explosive demolition of each of the three skyscrapers of the World Trade Center”. Hani Ramadan adds that this discourse, “supported by a large number of scientists and academics”, is described as a “conspiracy theory”, but “that a healthy democracy guarantees that everyone can express their opinion freely, without it being perceived as a call to hatred”.

The director of the Islamic Center of Geneva forgets, however, that he is by no means forbidden to stay in France for his ranting about 9/11, but for his radical positions and his calls for hatred and discrimination, particularly against women.

Hani Ramadan adopte la théorie conspirationiste qui remet en cause les attaques du 11 septembre 2001



Alors que le ministère français de l’Intérieur vient de renouveler l’interdiction de séjour en France de Hani Ramadan (une interdiction qui remonte à avril 2017), le directeur du Centre islamique de Genève (et frère de Tariq Ramadan) réplique en mettant en cause la version officielle des attaques du 11 septembre 2001 !

Par Ian Hamel, à Genève

Hani Ramadan a vivement critiqué cette interdiction, d’autant plus que le ministère français de l’Intérieur a également renouvelé, pour une durée de six mois, le gel de ses avoirs dans l’Hexagone. S’exprimant sur un blog publié par La Tribune de Genève, Hani Ramadan affirme qu’il « s’oppose fermement à cette disposition qui ne se justifie en aucune façon, et qui entre en pleine contradiction avec les droits de tout individu, serait-il musulman ». Et pour se défendre de cette interdiction, il évoque « le terrorisme d’État sioniste contre les civils », ce qui est une réthorique habituelle chez lui, mais aussi ce qu’il appelle « la version complotiste des attentats [du 11 septembre 2001] » !

Quel rapport avec la décision du ministère de l’Intérieur ? Apparemment aucun, si ce n’est qu’à l’approche du 11 septembre, l’auteur de L’islam et la dérive de l’Occident tient à se rappeler à notre bon souvenir. Moins médiatique que son frère Tariq, Hani Ramadan a toujours privilégié les propos outranciers qui ne se soucient pas de séduire les « infidèles », mais s’adressent aux tenants d’un islam radical.

Il faut se souvenir qu’en septembre 2002, un an après les attentats, Hani Ramadan défendait dans Le Monde la lapidation en cas d’adultère, ce qui lui a valu de perdre son emploi dans un collège de Genève. Plus récemment, invité dans une école, il comparait les femmes non voilées à « une pièce de deux euros qui passe de mains en mains » ! Enfin, au tout début de la pandémie du Covid-19, Hani Ramadan assurait que la fornication et l’adultère seraient à l’origine du coronavirus. Et dans le même sermon audio, il affirmait aussi qu’un musulman qui aurait bien fait ses prières n’aurait rien à craindre d’un animal nuisible ou venimeux, car son venin n’aura pas d’effet sur lui !

Cette fois, à propos des attaques du 11 septembre, le directeur du Centre islamique de Genève affirme que 520 architectes et ingénieurs « veulent savoir pourquoi les rapports officiels ont omis tous les indices légaux et scientifiques d’importance cruciale liés à la démolition explosive contrôlée de chacun des trois gratte-ciel du World Trade Center ». Hani Ramadan ajoute que ce discours, « soutenu par un nombre élevé de scientifiques et d’universitaires », est qualifié  de « théorie conspirationniste », mais « qu’une saine démocratie garantit à chacun d’exprimer librement son opinion, sans que cela ne soit perçu comme un appel à la haine ».

Le directeur du Centre islamique de Genève oublie, cependant, qu’il n’est nullement interdit de séjour en France pour ses élucubrations sur le 11 septembre, mais pour ses prises de positions radicales et ses appels à la haine et à la discrimination, notamment à l’encontre des femmes.