Muslim Brotherhood: The forgotten archives of Gamal al-Banna



Ian Hamel (*)

About fifteen years ago, I had the privilege of entering Gamal al-Banna’s lair, the youngest brother of Hassan al-Banna, the founder of the Muslim Brotherhood. In a small apartment in a working-class district of Cairo, he had collected more than 30,000 books, many of which cannot be found today, hundreds of unpublished documents, such as handwritten notes on the secret links between the Brotherhood and the Free Officers Movement, the military organization founded by Gamal Abdel Nasser. During Gamal al-Banna’s lifetime, these treasures did not interest many people. What have they become since his death in January 2013?

 

 

Gamal al-Banna was probably not completely telling the truth. He claimed he had never belonged to the Brotherhood. However, he was the editor of their newspaper Al Ikhwan Al Muslimin in the 1940s. He had also been the editorial secretary of Al-Shihâb, another organ of the movement. Arrested in December 1948, along with many Muslim Brotherhood leaders, Gamal al-Banna was only released in 1950, one year after the murder of his eldest son. But very quickly, indeed, he had moved away from this Islamic organization to devote himself to the workers’ cause. He had worked in a textile factory, then became head of the General Union of Textile Industry Workers, and finally founded the International Islamic Labour Confederation in Geneva in 1981. Throughout his life, Hassan al-Banna’s younger brother wrote studies and books on trade union organizations in Egypt, but also in the United Kingdom, the United States, the former USSR, Sweden, Burma and Malaysia. We even owe him a book entitled L’opposition ouvrière à Lénine…

 

But above all, Gamal al-Banna has taken many iconoclastic positions, which will contribute to his marginalization in his country. Because if he opposes the Islamists, he is no more soft with the Egyptian regime (at the time of our meeting, Hosni Mubarak was in power). In particular, he publishes La liberté de croyance en Islam, L’islam et le rationalisme, and above all L’échec de l’État islamique à l’époque moderne: les responsabilités, which will be prohibited. “I consider that the Islam of the Sheikhs of Al-Azhar is not the Islam of the Koran. They don’t have a very broad general culture, they get cluttered with details,” the old man with grey hair had told us. In 1994, in a booklet entitled Kalla thumma Kalla! (No, still no!), he was outraged that a religious authority, in this case Sheikh Mohammed al-Ghazali, had been able to justify the murder of the writer Faraj Fouda, accused of atheism. Faraj Fouda, a human rights activist and symbol of the Egyptian secular intelligentsia, was murdered in Cairo in June 1992 by militants of the Gama’a Islamiyya, an Islamist organization even more extremist than the Muslim Brotherhood.

The veil is not an obligation in Islam. The most important thing is decency. If a woman wants to hide her hair, she may as well wear a hat,” he told us in 2004. “The Koran is a guide for believers, not an exact science. As for the hadiths, they were made over the centuries to serve religious or political interests. It makes no sense to refer to it to answer today’s questions,” did not hesitate to declare the founder of the Muslim Brotherhood’s own brother. This had led him to be soberly presented by the Egyptian official press as a “modernist Islamic thinker, often challenged by traditional circles”.

 

The foundation for “Islamic culture and information”, which he had created with his sister Fawiya (then deceased), was located on the first floor of a crumbling building on El Geish Street in the Egyptian capital, far from the more affluent arteries on the banks of the Nile River. The small apartment was overrun, from floor to ceiling, by thousands of books, old magazines, unobtainable for decades, unpublished documents on the Brotherhood. Gamal al-Banna had also recovered from booksellers collections left by the British army.

 

In the book The Project, just published by Alexandre Del Valle and Emmanuel Razavi (L’Artilleur, Paris, November 2019), the authors describe their meeting with Gamal al-Banna in July 2007, which they present as the “legatee of original documents inherent to the Brotherhood”. When asked about his nephew, Tariq Ramadan, Gamal al-Banna told them: “He looks like a Brother and has the speech of the Brothers on the surface. But he’s not one of them. He of course knows part of his grandfather’s work, but he has not read it entirely, because I am one of the few to have what is left of his texts” (2).

 

Gamal al-Banna, who was born in 1920, died in January 2013, at the age of 92, in a state of general indifference. Since his death, Hassan al-Banna’s unpublished texts have apparently not reappeared. What happened to his younger brother’s invaluable collection, the last of a family of five boys and two girls? Was it dispersed or even permanently lost?

 

While Emmanuel Macron announced in November 2019 “new concrete actions” aimed at ”political Islamism” of those who have “a project of separation from the Republic”, and Christophe Castaner, the Minister of the Interior, asked to make the “fight” against “Islamism” and “communitarianism” a strong “new axis” of State action, it is regrettable that nothing has been seriously undertaken to date to collect as much information as possible on the most dangerous and structured of Islamist organizations, the Brotherhood of the Muslim Brothers.

 

 

* Journalist and writer, specialist in the Muslim Brotherhood.

Frères musulmans: les archives oubliées de Gamal al-Banna



Ian Hamel (*)

Il y a une quinzaine d’années, j’avais eu le privilège d’entrer dans l’antre de Gamal al-banna, le plus jeune frère d’Hassan al-Banna, le fondateur des Frères musulmans. Dans un petit appartement situé dans un quartier populaire du Caire, il avait accumulé plus de 30.000 ouvrages, aujourd’hui souvent introuvables, des centaines de documents inédits, comme des notes manuscrites sur les liens secrets entre la Confrérie et le Mouvement des officiers libres, l’organisation militaire fondée par Gamal Abdel Nasser. Du vivant de Gamal al-Banna, ces trésors n’intéressaient pas grand monde. Que sont-ils devenus depuis sa disparition en janvier 2013 ?

 

 

Gamal al-Banna ne disait sans doute pas complètement la vérité. Il affirmait n’avoir jamais appartenu à la Confrérie. Il assurait pourtant la direction de leur journal Al-Ikhwan Al-Muslimum dans les années quarante. Il avait aussi été secrétaire de rédaction d’Al-Shihâb, une autre organe du mouvement. Arrêté en décembre 1948, en même temps que de nombreux dirigeants des Frères musulmans, Gamal al-Banna n’avait été relâché qu’en 1950, un an après l’assassinat de son aîné. Mais très vite, effectivement, il s’était éloigné de cette organisation islamique pour se consacrer à la cause ouvrière. Il avait travaillé dans une usine textile, puis pris la tête du syndicat général des ouvriers de l’industrie textile, et enfin fondé en 1981 la Confédération islamique internationale du travail à Genève. Tout au long de sa vie, le plus jeune frère d’Hassan al-Banna a rédigé des études et des ouvrages sur les organisations syndicales en Égypte, mais aussi au Royaume-Uni, aux États-Unis, dans l’ex-URSS, en Suède, en Birmanie, en Malaisie. On lui doit même un livre intitulé L’opposition ouvrière à Lénine

 

Mais surtout, Gamal al-Banna a multiplié les prises de position iconoclastes, qui vont contribuer à le marginaliser dans son pays. Car s’il s’oppose aux islamistes, il n’est pas plus tendre avec le régime égyptien (au moment de notre rencontre, Hosni Moubarak était au pouvoir). Il publie notamment La liberté de croyance en Islam, L’islam et le rationalisme, et surtout L’échec de l’État islamique à l’époque moderne : les responsabilités, qui sera interdit. « Je considère que l’islam des cheikhs d’Al-Azhar n’est pas l’islam du Coran. Ils n’ont pas une culture générale très étendue, ils s’encombrent de détails », nous avait confié le vieil homme aux cheveux gris. En 1994, dans une plaquette intitulé Kalla thumma Kalla ! (Non, encore non !), il s’était indigné qu’une autorité religieuse, en l’occurrence le cheikh Mohammed al-Ghazali, ait pu justifier l’assassinat de l’écrivain Faraj Fouda, accusé d’athéisme. Faraj Fouda, militant des droits de l’homme, symbole de l’intelligentsia laïque égyptienne, a été assassiné au Caire en juin 1992 par des militants de la Gama’a Islamiyya, une organisation islamiste plus extrémiste encore que les Frères musulmans.

 

« Le voile n’est pas une obligation dans l’islam. L’essentiel est dans la décence. Si une femme souhaite cacher ses cheveux, elle peut aussi bien porter un chapeau », nous disait-il en 2004. « Le Coran est un guide pour les croyants, pas une science exacte. Quant aux hadiths, ils ont été fabriqués au fil des siècles pour servir des intérêts religieux ou politiques. Cela n’a aucun sens de s’y référer pour répondre aux question d’aujourd’hui », n’hésitait pas à déclarer le propre frère du fondateur des Frères musulmans. Ce qui lui avait valu d’être sobrement présenté par la presse officielle égyptienne comme un « penseur islamique moderniste, souvent contesté par les cercles traditionnels ».

 

La fondation pour « la culture et l’information islamiques », qu’il avait créé avec sa sœur Fawiya (alors disparue), était installée au premier étage d’un immeuble vétuste de la rue Al-Geish, dans la capitale égyptienne, loin des artères plus opulentes sur les bords du Nil. Le petit appartement était envahi, du sol au plafond, par des milliers de livres, des revues anciennes, introuvables depuis des décennies, des documents inédits sur la Confrérie. Gamal al-Banna avait aussi récupéré chez des bouquinistes des collections laissées par l’armée britannique.

 

Dans l’ouvrage Le Projet, que viennent de publier Alexandre Del Valle et Emmanuel Razavi (Éditions L’Artilleur, Paris, novembre 2019), les auteurs racontent leur rencontre avec Gamal al-Banna en juillet 2007, qu’ils présentent comme le « légataire de documents originaux inhérents à la Confrérie ». Interrogé sur son neveu, Tariq Ramadan, Gamal al-Banna leur avait déclaré : « Il ressemble à un Frère et il a le discours des Frères en apparence. Mais il n’en est pas un. Il connaît bien sûr en partie l’œuvre de son grand-père, qu’il n’a cependant pas lue entièrement, car je suis l’un des rares à disposer de ce qui reste de ses textes » (2).

 

Gamal al-Banna, qui était né en 1920, s’est éteint en janvier 2013, à l’âge de 92 ans, dans l’indifférence générale. Depuis sa disparition, les textes inédits d’Hassan al-Banna ne sont apparemment pas réapparu. Qu’est devenu l’inestimable collection de son jeune frère, le dernier d’une fratrie de cinq garçons et deux filles ? A-t-elle était dispersée ou même définitivement perdue ?

 

Alors qu’Emmanuel Macron a annoncé en novembre 2019 « des actions nouvelles concrètes » visant « l’islamisme politique » de ceux qui ont « un projet de séparation d’avec la République », et que Christophe Castaner, le ministre de l’Intérieur, a demandé de faire du « combat » contre « l’islamisme » et le « communautarisme » un « nouvel axe » fort de l’action de l’État, il est regrettable que rien ne soit sérieusement entrepris à ce jour pour collecter le maximum d’informations sur la plus dangereuse et la plus structurée des organisations islamistes, la Confrérie des Frères musulmans.

 

* Journaliste et écrivain, spécialiste des Frères musulmans.