Muslim Brotherhood and Iranian Pasdaran: A Secret Alliance?



Nothing predestined the Quds Force, an elite unit within the Iranian Revolutionary Guards (Pasdaran) and the World Organization of Muslim Brotherhood to come together. Yet, documents issued by secret archives of Iran’s Ministry of Intelligence reveal the inconceivable: negotiations took place between these two apparently rival organisations, in order to confront their common enemy, Saudi Arabia.

The leaking of these documents issued by the archives of Iran’s Ministry of Intelligence and Iran’s National Security (rival of the Revolutionary Guards) reveals a secret rapprochement between the Sunni Islamic Muslim Brotherhood Confraternity and the Quds Force, the elite unit of the Revolutionary Guards, considered to be the sword arm of political Shi’ism in power in Iran, long led by powerful General Qasem Suleimani, who was assassinated by an American drone in Iraq on January 3, 2020.

According to these documents revealed by the online investigative newspaper The Intercept (see box below), senior officials from Muslim Brotherhood and Pasdaran met in 2014 at a secret summit held in a hotel in Turkey. The meeting’s aim was to “find a common ground between the two sides and explore possibilities for coordination in countries where they are present”.

The Intercept points out that the Quds Force and the Muslim Brothers are apparently antagonist due to their ideological basis and organisational nature. Pasdarans are Shi’ites and respond to a near-military and state logic, whereas the Muslim Brothers are Sunnis and adopt a transnational network based essentially on entryism in state and international institutions.

Despite these fundamental differences, both organisations have begun negotiations to initiate a secret rapprochement, which took place in a particularly tense Middle East geopolitical context, especially with the rise of Daesh in Iraq and in Syria, in 2014 and Riyadh’s support of the coup d’état of Marshal Abdel Fattah al-Sissi against Brotherhood President Mohamed Morsi a year earlier.

The documents show that first contacts between Pasdarans and Muslim Brothers took place way before these negotiations in Turkey. Contacts were initiated during the rapprochement between Egypt and Iran, following the coming to power of Mohamed Morsi in 2012. But this process of rapprochement was interrupted by the putsch that impeached Morsi and forced the Muslim Brotherhood leaders to go back into hiding.

The Turkish government, being on good terms with both Muslim Brothers, whose ideology, known as “political Islam” it shares, and with Iran’s regime to which it is linked by strategic alliance, has given its approval for secret negotiations between the two organisations to take place on its soil, as confirmed by one of Iran’s secret documents published by The Intercept and commented by its great reporter, James Risen. An agent of Iran’s Ministry of Intelligence, present during the negotiations, reported that General Suleimani, who was unable to take part in the negotiations in Turkey because he was subject to a UN visa ban, was replaced by Quds Force senior officials. On the Muslim Brothers’ side, many historical leaders, living in exile, attended the negotiations: Ibrahim Munir Mustafa, Mahmoud El-Abiary and Youssef Nada. The latter, considered as being the Muslim Brotherhood’s occult financier, asserted in a statement addressed to The Intercept that he neither had knowledge of such meetings nor had he participated in them.

Talks between the two delegations explored the possibilities of forging alliances in countries going through political crises, such as Yemen, Iraq or Syria. “Present in 85 countries”, according to statements from Brotherhood leaders participating in the summit, the Muslim Brothers proposed to the Pasdarans to “ally to fight the common enemy which is Saudi Arabia”, as reported by one of the secret documents. It adds that “According to them [the leaders of Muslim Brotherhood], Yemen seemed to be the propitious terrain for such a war, given the influence of both parties on Shi’ite and Sunni tribal components”. Iran being able to rely on Houthi militias in Yemen, while Muslim Brothers had total control over Sunni tribal armed factions, thanks to Brotherhood’s Islah movement and its alliances with tribal leaders.

Regarding Iraq, the Muslim Brotherhood delegation said it was opposed to war and proposed to Pasdarans to “help reduce the gap between Shiites and Sunnis, by ending the war and allowing Sunnis to participate in the government”. As for Syria, Muslim Brotherhood representatives refused to take sides in the conflict, considering that the multitude of interveners in the Syrian war would force them to distance themselves from it, as “obviously, the question of Syria is out of the hands of Iran and of Muslim Brothers, and there is nothing special we can do about it”.

Besides, documents of Iran’s Ministry of Intelligence reveal that, upon returning to Tehran, the Quds Force’s delegation attempted to present the alliance with Muslim Brotherhood as a possibility, but certain Iranian officials found this alliance to be meaningless.

The documents note that the willingness to work together against the common Saudi enemy did not prevent doubts and differences from arising in the negotiations between the Quds Force and the Muslim Brothers. For example, one document reports that the Brotherhood representatives declared that they were “patient” and wanted “peaceful reform” of the region. This was seen by Pasdaran representatives as being an “insult” to Iranian politics.

However, the document concluded on the differences that emerged, which did not prevent the parties from planning to extend their talks in new meetings held in Istanbul and Beirut.


The Intercept: Journalistic investigation servicing whistleblowers

Launched in 2014, The Intercept is an online investigative journal. The project was founded and funded by eBay boss Pierre Omidyar, through the First Look Media journalistic platform.

At its inception, the site published articles based on documents revealed by Wikileaks. It then created a “documents section” allowing whistleblowers to disclose documents classified as secret, while protecting their anonymity.

Thanks to its network of investigative journalists, The Intercept revealed several political scandals concerning the US Administration, including Edward Snowden’s revelations about the NSA’s global surveillance programme and the Drone Papers, about the US programme of targeted strikes in Afghanistan, Yemen and Somalia.

In Europe, The Intercept has forged partnerships with major media outlets, such as the Disclose investigative site in France and Der Spiegel in Germany.

Frères musulmans et Pasdaran Iraniens : une alliance secrète ?



Rien ne prédestinait la force d’al-Qods, unité d’élite au sein des gardiens de la révolution iranienne (Pasdaran) et l’Organisation mondiale des Frères musulmans à se rapprocher. Pourtant des documents issus des archives secrètes du ministère iranien du renseignement révèlent l’inconcevable : des tractations ont eu lieu entre ces deux organisations, d’apparence rivales, pour faire face à leurs ennemi commun, l’Arabie Saoudite.

La fuite de ces documents issus des archives du ministère iranien du renseignement et du service de la sureté nationale iranienne (rival des gardiens de la révolution) dévoile un rapprochement secret entre la la Confrérie islamiste sunnite des Frères musulmans et la force Al-Qods, l’unité d’élite des gardiens de la révolution, considérée comme le bras armé du chiisme politique au pouvoir en iran, longtemps dirigée par le puissant général Qassem Soleimani, assassiné par un drone américain en Irak, le 3 janvier 2020.

Selon ces documents révélés par le journal d’investigation online The Intercept (voir encadré ci-dessous), de hauts cadres des Frères musulmans et des Pasdaran se sont rencontrés en 2014, lors d’un sommet secret qui s’est tenu dans un hôtel en Turquie. Une rencontre visant à  « trouver un terrain d’entente entre les deux parties et explorer les possibilités de coordination dans les pays où elles sont présentes ».

La Force d’al-Qods et les Frères musulmans sont d’apparence antagonistes, du fait de leur nature organisationnelle et de leurs fondements idéologies, souligne The intercept. Les Pasdarans sont chiites et répondent à une logique quasiment militaire et étatique, alors que les Frères musulmans sont sunnites et adoptent un réseau transnational se basant essentiellement sur l’entrisme dans les institutions étatiques et internationales.

Malgré ces différends fondamentaux, les deux Organisations ont entamé des tractations pour opérer un rapprochement secret, qui intervenait, dans un contexte géopolitique particulièrement tendu au Moyen Orient, notamment avec l’ascension de Daech en Irak et en Syrie, en 2014, et le soutien de Riyad au coup d’État du maréchal Abdel Fattah al-Sissi contre le président frériste Mohamed Morsi, un an auparavant.

Les documents montrent que les premiers contacts entre les Pasdaran et les Frères muslmans avaient débuté bien avant les dites tractations en Turquie. Des contacts entamés lors du rapprochement entre l’Egypte et l’Iran, suite à l’arrivée au pouvoir de Mohamed Morsi en 2012. Mais, ce processus de rapprochement a été interrompu par le putsch qui a destitué  Morsi et obligé les leaders des Frères muslmans à retourner à la clandestinité.

Le gouvernement Turc, en bon termes tout à la fois avec les Frères musulmans, dont il partage l’idéologie dite de « l’islam politique », et le régime iranien avec lequel il est lié par une alliance stratégique, a donné son aval pour que les tractations secrets entre les deux organisations se déroulent sur son sol, comme le confirme l’un des documents secrets iraniens publié par The Intercept et commenté par son grand reporter, James Risen. Un agent du ministère iranien du renseignement, présent pendant les tractations, a rapporté que le général Soleimani ne pouvant prendre part aux tractations en Turquie, puisqu’il est visé par une interdiction de visa par l’ONU, fut remplacé par des cadres de la force al-Qods. Côté Frères musulmans, plusieurs leaders historiques vivant en exil assistèrent aux tractations : Ibrahim Munir Mustafa, Mahmoud El-Abiary et Youssef Nada. Ce dernier, considéré comme le financier occulte des Frères musulmans, a toute fois affirmé dans une déclaration adressée à The Intercept n’avoir aucune connaissance de telles réunions ni n’y avoir participé.

Les pourparlers entre les deux délégations ont étudié les possibilités de nouer des alliances dans des pays qui traversent des crises politiques, tels que le Yémen, l’Irak ou la Syrie. « Présents dans 85 pays », selon les affirmations des leaders de la Confrérie participants au sommet, les Frères musulmans ont proposé au Pasdaran de « s’allier pour combattre l’ennemi commun qui est l’Arabie Saoudite », rapporte l’un des documents secrets. Et d’ajouter que « le Yémen paraissait, selon eux [les leaders des Frères musulmans], comme le terrain propice pour mener une telle guerre, compte tenu de l’influence des deux parties sur les composantes tribales chiites et sunnites ». L’Iran pouvant compter au Yémen sur les milices Houthis, alors que les frères musulmans avaient la mainmise sur les factions armées tribales sunnites, grâce au mouvement Frèriste Islah et ses alliances au sein des aux chefs des tribus.

Concernant l’Irak, la délégation des Frères muslmans s’est dite opposée à la guerre et a proposé aux Pasdaran de « contribuer à réduire le fossé entre chiites et sunnites, en mettant fin à la guerre et en permettant aux sunnites de participer au gouvernement ». Quant à la Syrie, les représentants des Frères musulmans ont refusé de prendre parti au conflit, considérant que la multitude des intervenants dans la guerre en Syrie leur imposer de prendre leurs distances, car « de toute évidence, la question de la Syrie est hors des mains de l’Iran et des Frères musulmans, et il n’y a rien de particulier que nous pouvons faire à ce sujet ».

Par ailleurs, les documents du ministère iranien du renseignement révèlent que de retour à Téhéran la délégation de la force d’Al-Qods a tenté de présenter l’alliance avec les Frères muslmans comme une possibilité, mais certains officiels iraniens trouvaient cette alliance dépourvue de sens.

Les documents relèvent que la volonté de travailler ensemble contre l’ennemi commun saoudien n’a pas empêché les doutes et les divergences de se manifester lors des tractations entre la force al-Qods et les Frères musulmans. A titre d’exemple, un document rapporte que les représentants fréristes ont déclaré qu’ils étaient « patients » et voulaient « une réforme pacifique » de la région. Ce que les représentants des Pasdaran ont considéré comme une « insulte » à la politique iranienne.

Cependant, conclue le document, les divergences qui se sont  manifestées n’ont pas empêcher les ceux parties de prévoir de prolonger leurs pourparlers lors de nouvelles rencontres organisées Istanbul et à Beyrouth.

 

The Intercept : l’investigation journalistique au services des lanceurs d’alerte 

 

Lancé en 2014, The Intercept est un journal d’investigation en ligne. Le projet a été fondé et financé par le patron d’eBay Pierre Omidyar, à travers la plate-forme journalistique First Look Media.

A sa création, le site publiait des articles se basant sur les documents révélés de Wikileaks. Puis, il a créé une « section documents » permettant aux lanceurs d’alerte de divulguer des documents classés secrets, tout en protégeant leur anonymat.

Grâce à son réseau de journalistes d’investigation, The Intercept a révélé plusieurs scandales politiques concernant l’Administration américaine, dont les révélations d’Edward Snowden sur les programme de surveillance globale de la NSA et les Drone Papers, sur le programme américain de frappes ciblées en Afghanistan, au Yémen et en Somalie.

En Europe, The Intercept a scellé des partenariats avec de grands médias, comme le site d’investigation Disclose en France et Der Spiegel en Allemagne.