fbpx
 
 

 

USA: The upcoming Biden Administration is fine-tuning its teams



The new American President, Joe Biden, is fine-tuning his teams with a view to forming the next Administration, which will take office on 20 January.

At the head of diplomacy and international affairs, Antony Blinken, former Assistant Secretary of State, described as “francophone and francophile”, is expected to be Secretary of State. He will have at his side several influential personalities: William Burns, also a former Assistant Secretary of State, Susan Rice, former National Security Advisor to Obama, Senators Chris Murphy and Chris Coons, and Ambassador Wendy Sherman.

In addition, former secretary of State John Kerry will be named President Biden’s special climate envoy. A sign of the importance the new Administration intends to place on environmental issues.

Regarding the Iranian dossier, President Biden will rely on a major asset: his advisor Jake Sullivan, who has very good relations with the current Iranian ambassador to the United Nations, Majid Takht-Ravanchi. He should play a major role, alongside Antony Blinken, in initiating a thaw in relations with Tehran.

At the head of the Pentagon, several names are mentioned among which Michèle Flournoy, former Under Secretary of Defense for Policy under Obama’s Administration and Senators Tammy Duckworth and Jack Reed. And as for intelligence, two names are expected, according to our sources, to take over the post of director of the CIA: Avril Haines, former Deputy National Security Advisor under Obama’s Administration, and Michael Morrell, former deputy director of the CIA.

Etats-Unis : La nouvelle Administration Biden peaufine ses équipes



Le nouveau président américain, Joe Biden, peaufine ses équipes en vue de former la prochaine Administration, qui entrera en fonction le 20 janvier prochain.

Pour la diplomatie et les affaires internationales, Antony Blinken, ancien secrétaire d’Etat adjoint, décrit comme « francophone et francophile », est pressenti au poste de Secrétaire d’Etat. Il aura à ses côtés plusieurs personnalités influentes : William Burns, lui aussi ancien secrétaire d’Etat adjoint, Suzan Rice, l’ancienne conseillère à la sécurité nationale d’Obama, les sénateurs Chris Murphy et Chris Coons, ainsi que l’ambassadeur Wendy Sherman.

Par ailleurs, l’ancien secrétaire d’Etat, John Kerry, sera nommé émissaire spécial du Président Biden pour le climat. Signe de l’importance que la nouvelle Administration compte accorder aux questions environnementales.

Et pour le dossier iranien, le Président Biden s’appuiera sur un atout de taille : son conseiller Jake Sullivan, qui entretient de très bonnes relations avec l’actuel ambassadeur iranien aux Nations Unies, Majid Takht Ravanchi. Il devrait jouer un rôle majeur, aux côtés d’Antony Blinken, en vue d’amorcer un dégel des relations avec Téhéran.

A la tête du Pentagone, plusieurs noms sont évoqués parmi lesquels Michèle Flournoy, ancienne sous secrétaire à la politique de Défense d’Obama et les sénateurs Tammy Duckworth et Jack Reed. Et pour le renseignement, deux personnes sont pressenties, selon nos sources, au poste de directeur de CIA : Avril Haines, ancienne conseillère nationale adjointe sous l’Administration Obama, et Michael Morrell, ancien directeur adjoint de la CIA.