Belgium: Brussels, European capital…of Muslim Brotherhood!



Belgium has two main poles linked to the Muslim Bortherhood’s movement, around which a number of local associations and satellite organisations gravitate. But, the European capital is also coveted by several pan-European organisations of the Brotherhood whose main activity is lobbying the European institutions.

As the capital of the European Union, Brussels is a very coveted hub for Muslim Brotherhood’s networks. Three of the six pan-European organisations of the Brotherhood hold their headquarters here: the Forum of European Muslim Youth and Student Organisations (FEMYSO), the European Forum of Muslim Women (EFOMW) and the European Muslim Network (EMN). 

Their establishment in Belgium is not fortuitous, since it allows them to lobby the European institutions, as well as to join the many Belgian and pan-European NGOs, such as the European Network on Religion and Belief (ENORB) or the Humanist Democratic Center (HDC).

As for the local networks of the Belgian Muslim Brotherhood, they are structured around two main poles. One is based in Brussels, the other in Verviers.

The League of Muslims in Belgium (LMB) has its headquarters in the capital and is present in four other cities: Liege, Antwerp, Ghent, and Verviers. Created in 2005, LMB quickly established itself as the most representative organisation of the Muslim Brotherhood in Belgium. Currently chaired by Karim Azzouzi, it maintains very close links with its French alter-ego Muslims of France (former UIOF), whose organisational structure and working patterns it adopts. 

This is illustrated, in particular, by outreach work based on the federation of a multitude of local and regional associations. And by the assiduous effort of preaching, especially through the organisation of Islamic meetings, symposiums and fairs. 

The second main pole of the Belgian Muslim Brotherhood is the Educative and Cultural Islamic Complex of Verviers (ECICV). Created in 2004 by the German Islamist Hassan Sawaid, it runs the Assahaba Mosque and a socio-cultural centre attached to it. 

ECICV has long been led by Michael Privot, one of the leading intellectual figures of Belgian Islamism. After officially claiming his membership in the Muslim Brotherhood in 2008, Privot dissented, with a bang, in 2012. Five years later, he recounted the experience of his indoctrination within the Brotherhood in an autobiographical book entitled Quand j’étais Frère musulman (see the box below).  

Satellite organisations 

Around these two main poles of the Belgian Muslim Brotherhood, several satellite organisations gravitate. The most influential are the Collective against Islamophobia in Belgium (CCIB), based in Brussels and chaired by Mustapha Chairi, Empowering Belgian Muslims (EmBeM), based in Genk and led by Fatima Zibouh, the Belgian Association of Muslim Professionals (ABPM), which has become since 2018 Active Diversity Entrepreneurs (LEAD), based in Brussels and chaired by Taoufik Amzile, and the women association All Equal in Work and at Scools (also known as Collectif TETE), based in Brussels and managed by Farida Tahar.

Belgique : Bruxelles, capitale européenne des Frères musulmans



La Belgique compte deux pôles principaux liés à la mouvance frères-musulmane, autour desquels gravite un ensemble d’associations locales et d’organisations satellitaires. Mais, la capitale Européenne est aussi convoitée par plusieurs organisations pan-européenne de la Confrérie dont l’activité principale est le lobbying auprès des institutions européennes.

De par sa position de capitale de l’Union Européenne, Bruxelles est une plaque tournante très convoitée par les réseaux Frères-musulmans. Trois des six organisations pan-européennes de la Confrérie y tiennent leurs quartiers généraux : le Forum des Organisations Européennes des Jeunes et Etudiants Musulmans (FOEJEM), le Forum Européen des Femmes Musulmanes (FEFM) et le Réseau Musulman Européen (RME). 

Leur implantation en Belgique n’est pas fortuite, puisqu’elle leur permet de faire du lobbying auprès des institutions européennes, ainsi que de l’entrisme au sein des nombreuses ONGs belges et pan-européennes, telles que l’European Network on Religion and Belief (ENRB) ou le Centre Démocrate Humaniste (CDH).

Quant au réseaux locaux des Frères musulmans belges, ils sont structurés autour de deux pôles principaux. L’un est basé à Bruxelles, l’autre à Verviers.

La Ligue des musulmans de Belgique (LMB) tient son quartier général dans la capitale et est présente dans quatre autres villes : Liège, Anvers, Gand et Verviers. Créée en 2005, LMB s’est vite imposée comme l’organisation la plus représentative des Frères musulmans en Belgique. Présidée actuellement par Karim Azzouzi, elle entretient des liens très étroits avec son alter-ego français Musulmans de France (ex-UOIF), dont elle adopte la structure organisationnelle et les schémas de fonctionnent. Cela s’illustre, notamment, par un travail de proximité, basé sur la fédération d’une multitude d’associations locales et régionales. Et par l’effort assidu de prédication, notamment à travers l’organisation de rencontres, colloques et foires islamiques. 

Le second pôle principal des Frères musulmans belges est le Complexe Éducatif et Culturel Islamique de Verviers (CECIV). Créé en 2004, par l’islamiste de nationalité allemande, Hassan Sawaid, il dirige la mosquée Assahaba et un centre socio-culturel rattaché à celle-ci. 

Le CECIV a longtemps été dirigé par Michael Privot, l’une des grandes figures intellectuelle de l’islamisme belge. Après avoir revendiqué officiellement son appartenance aux Frères musulmans, en 2008, Privot fait dissidence, avec fracas, en 2012. Cinq ans plus tard, il relate l’expérience de son endoctrinement au sein de la Confrérie, dans un livre autobiographique intitulé Quand j’étais Frère musulman

Autour de ces deux pôles principaux des Frères musulmans belges, gravitent plusieurs organisations satellitaires. Les plus influentes sont le Collectif Contre l’Islamophobie en Belgique (CCIB), basée à Bruxelles et présidé par Mustapha Chairi, Empowering Belgian Muslims (EmBeM), basée à Genk et dirigée par Fatima Zibouh, l’Association Belge des Professionnels Musulmans (ABPM), devenue depuis 2018 Entrepreneurs Actifs de la Diversité (EAD), basée à Bruxelles et présidée par Taoufik Amzile, et l’association Toutes Égales au Travail et à l’École (connue aussi sous le nom de Collectif TETE ), basée à Bruxelles et dirigée par Farida Tahar.