Muslim Brotherhood in Germany: Everything began with a mosque in Munich…



Established in Germany since the late 1950s, the Muslim Brotherhood holds an almost total grip on Islamic places of worship and sociocultural associations. This is done through two branches of the Brotherhood : one is Arab, imported into Germany by a trio of leaders of the Tanzim al-Dawali (Saïd Ramadan, Ali Ghaleb Himmat and Youssef Nada), and the other Turkish, controlled by the Erbakan clan, one of the most influential families in the Muslim Brotherhood movement in Turkey.

The first prayer offered up in the European building of the Muslim Brotherhood was in Munich in 1958. In August of the same year, the leader of Tanzim al-Dawli, Saïd Ramadan, had settled in Switzerland. However, before founding his famous Islamic Centre of Geneva in 1961, he has already set his sights on the capital of Bavaria, by implementing the construction project of the first mosque of the Brotherhood in Europe. 

This choice is explained by the presence of a large Muslim community in Bavaria. Indeed, before the mass arrival of Muslim immigrant workers in Germany -mainly Turkish- in the 1960s and 70s, an initial Muslim community of Caucasian origin had settled in Germany in the mid-1940s. These were former Chechen, Azerbaijani and Dagestani soldiers mobilized by the Nazis to fight against the USSR during the Second World War. They remained in Germany following the defeat of the Third Reich, mainly in Bavaria. 

Anti-Soviet instrumentalization 

The choice of Munich as home to the first Muslim Brotherhood mosque was also related to other, less pious, reasons that aimed at instrumentalizing this Caucasian community against the Soviet bloc, within the context of the Cold War. This is what Pulitzer prize-winning American journalist Ian Johnson  revealed in 2011 in a book titled “A Mosque in Munich. Nazis, the CIA and the rise of the Muslim Brotherhood in the West”.

According to Johnson, as soon as Saïd Ramadan arrived in Europe he was “treated” by a CIA agent based in Munich who went under the name of Bob Dreher. The book also gives a detailed description of the trip made in July 1953 by a delegation of representatives of the Muslim Brotherhood, which included Saïd Ramadan, to the White House. Receiving the delegates of the Muslim Brotherhood, President Eisenhower offered them an unambiguous deal: “Our faith in God should give us a common objective: the fight against Communism and its Atheism”. 

To give the Munich project substance, Said Ramadan created the very first Muslim Brotherhood organisation in Europe in the form of a committee charged with the construction of the great mosque in Munich. Two years later, in 1960, this committee gave rise to an association called Islamische Gemeinschaft in Deutschland (IGD) [Islamic Community of Germany]. In 1968, following the relocation of Saïd Ramadan, who moved to Geneva after a long dispute with his Muslim Brotherhood companions (see our article When the ‘Brothers’ (warring) gutted each other in Munich, page 26), the IGD was taken over by two historic members of Tanzim al-Dawli: Ali Ghaleb Himmat and Youssef Nada (see page 16).

A “pretence non-violence” 

Currently affiliated to the Federation of Islamic Organisations in Europe (FIOE), the IGD has become the main Muslim Brotherhood body in Germany. Headed by Samir Falah, it has a  youth branch known under the name of Muslimische Jugend in Deutschland (MJD), led by Sarwar Faraj. However, the core of the propaganda and preaching activities of the IGD involves outreach work through charitable associations, Koranic schools and Islamic sociocultural centres. To do this, it has a variety of Islamische Zentren (Islamic centres) in a number of German Länder, the best-known being the Islamic Centre of Munich, headed by Ahmad Von Denffer, which publishes the magazine al-Islam, and the one in Berlin, headed by Mohammed Taha Sabri, who runs the great mosque of Berlin-Neuköln. 

While enjoying legal recognition, the activities of the IGD are under close scrutiny from the Bundesamt für Verfassungsschutz (BfV), the national intelligence service of Germany. In a report dated December 2018 on “legalistic Islamic organisations”, the BfV pinpointed the IGD for “non-conformity with the foundations of democracy”, denouncing its “pretence non-violence, which hides objectives that aim to strengthen a feeling of mistrust of Western values and discredit democracy”. According to the report, when the leaders of the IGD discuss things behind closed doors, they do not conceal their desire to “create Islamic states based on divine law, including in Germany sometime in the future”. 

The Turkish brothers

In parallel to the Arabic part of the Muslim Brotherhood, established in Germany thanks to the Ramadan-Himmat-Nada trio, there is a Turkish branch of the Brotherhood controlled by the Erbakan clan and organised within the Islamischen Gemeinschaft Millî Görüş (IGMG). It is the German branch of the Turkish Brotherhood Millî Görüş (monotheistic vision), founded in 1969 by Necmettin Erbakan, the leader of Refah Partisi, the forerunner of the present-day AKP, President Erdogan’s party. Currently headed by Kemal Ergün, Millî Görüş controls more than 300 mosques in Germany. 

These two branches of the German Muslim Brotherhood ignored each other for a long time. Family alliances were put in place later to help their rapprochement. As a consequence, the former head of the IGD Ibrahim el-Zayat married the daughter of Mehmet Erbakan, one of the founders of Millî Görüş. This alliance allows him to act as a go-between between the current leaders of the Arab branch -from which he came- and their ‘Brothers’ in the Turkish “family”.

Frères musulmans en Allemagne : Tout a commencé par une mosquée à Munich…



Implantés en Allemagne depuis la fin des années 1950, les Frères musulmans y exercent une emprise quasi-totale sur les lieux de culte et les institutions socio-culturelles islamiques. Et ce travers deux branches de la Confrérie : l’une est arabe, importée outre-Rhin par un trio de leaders du Tanzim al-Dawali (Saïd Ramadan, Ali Ghaleb Himmat et Youssef Nada) ; l’autre est turque, contrôlée par le clan Erbakan, l’une des familles les plus influentes au sein de la mouvance frère-musulmane en Turquie.

C’est à Munich qu’a été posée la première prière de l’édifice européen des Frères musulmans, en 1958. En août de cette année-là, le chef de file du Tanzim al-Dawli, Saïd Ramadan, s’était installé en Suisse. Mais, avant d’y fonder son célèbre Centre Islamique de Genève, en 1961, il a d’abord jeté son dévolu sur la capitale bavaroise, en y implantant le projet de construction de la première mosquée de la Confrérie en Europe. 

Un choix qui s’explique par la présence en Bavière d’une forte communauté musulmane. En effet, avant l’arrivée massive en Allemagne d’une immigration ouvrière musulmane, majoritairement turque, dans les années 1960 et 1970, une première communauté musulmane, d’origine caucasienne, s’était installée outre-Rhin, au milieu des années 1940. Il s’agissait d’anciens soldats tchétchènes, azéris et daghestanais mobilisés par les nazis pour combattre l’URSS, durant la seconde guerre mondiale. Et qui sont restés en Allemagne, après la défaite du 3ème Reich, majoritairement dans le Land bavarois. 

Instrumentation anti soviétique 

Le choix de Munich, pour accueillir la première mosquée frères-musulmane, était aussi lié à d’autres motivations, moins pieuses, visant à instrumentaliser cette communauté caucasienne contre le bloc soviétique, dans le cadre de la guerre froide. C’est ce qu’a révélé, en 2011, le journaliste américain Ian Johnson, lauréat du prix Pulitzer, dans un livre intitulé Une mosquée à Munich. Les nazis, la CIA et la montée des Frères musulmans en Occident.

Selon lui, Saïd Ramadan était « traité », dès son installation en Europe, par un agent de la CIA basé à Munich, connu sous le nom de Bob Dreher. Le livre fait aussi un récit détaillé du voyage entrepris, en juillet 1953, par une délégation de représentants des Frères musulmans, parmi lesquels se trouvait Saïd Ramadan, pour se rendre à la Maison-Blanche. Recevant ces délégués des Frères musulmans, le président Eisenhower leur a proposé un deal sans équivoque : « Notre foi en Dieu devrait nous donner un objectif commun : la lutte contre le communisme et son athéisme ». 

Pour concrétiser son projet munichois, Said Ramadan a créée la toute première association frères-musulmane d’Europe, sous la forme d’un comité chargé de la construction de la grande mosquée de Munich. Deux ans plus tard, en 1960, ce comité donna naissance à une association intitulée Communauté Islamique d’Allemagne ou Islamische Gemeinschaft in Deutschland (IGD). En 1968, suite au retrait de Saïd Ramadan, forcé de se replier à Genève, suite à un long conflit avec ses compagnons de route Fréristes (voir les détails, page 26), l’IGD a été reprise en main par deux autres historiques du Tanzim al-Dawli : Ali Ghaleb Himmat et Youssef Nada (voir notre enquête sur les Frères musulmans en Suisse, page 16). 

Une « non violence de façade » 

Actuellement affiliée à la Fédération des Organisations Islamique en Europe (FOIE), l’IGD est devenue la principale entité frères musulmane en Allemagne. Dirigée par par Samir Falah, elle dispose d’une filiale jeunesse connue sous le nom de Muslimische Jugend in Deutschland (MJD), dirigée par Sarwar Faraj. Cependant, l’essentiel de la propagande et des activités de prédication de l’IGD passe par le travail de proximité, à travers des associations caritatives, des écoles coraniques et des centres socio-culturels islamiques. Pour cela, elle dispose d’une myriade d’Islamische Zentren (centres Islamiques), implantés dans les différents Länder allemands, dont les plus célèbres sont le Centre Islamique de Munich, dirigé par Ahmad Von Denffer, qui publie le journal al-Islam, et celui de Berlin, dirigé par Mohammed Taha Sabri, qui gère la grande mosquée de Berlin-Neuköln. 

Bien que jouissant d’une reconnaissance légale, les activités de l’IGD sont scrutées de très près par le Bundesamt für Verfassungsschutz (BfV), le service de renseignement intérieur allemand. Dans un rapport daté de décembre 2018, consacré aux « organisations islamistes légalistes », le BfV a épinglé l’IGD, pour « non-conformité avec les fondements de la démocratie », dénonçant sa « non violence de façade, qui cache des objectifs visant à renforcer un sentiment de défiance à l’égard des valeurs occidentales et à discréditer la démocratie ».

Selon le rapport, les leaders de l’IGD, quand ils s’expriment à huis clos, ne cachent pas leur volonté de « créer des Etats islamiques de droit divin, y compris, à terme, en Allemagne ». 

Les Frères turcs  

En parallèle de la filière arabe des Frères musulmans, implantée outre-Rhin grâce au trio Ramadan-Himmat-Nada, il existe une branche turque de la Confrérie, contrôlée par le clan Erbakan, organisée au sein de l’Islamischen Gemeinschaft Millî Görüş (IGMG). Il s’agit de la branche allemande de la Confrérie turque Millî Görüş (vision monothéiste), fondée en 1969, par Necmettin Erbakan, le leader du Refah Partisi, l’ancêtre de l’actuel AKP, le parti du président Erdogan. Présidée actuellement par Kemal Ergün, la Millî Görüş contrôle plus de 300 mosquées en Allemagne. 

Longtemps ces deux branches des Frères musulmans allemands s’ignoraient mutuellement. Puis, des alliances familiales ont été mises en place, pour aider à les rapprocher. Ainsi, Ibrahim el-Zayat, l’ancien directeur de l’IGD, a épousé la fille de Mehmet Erbakan, l’un des fondateurs de la Millî Görüş. Une alliance qui lui permet de jouer les go-between entre les leaders actuels de la branche arabe, dont il est issu, et leur Frères de la « famille » turque.