Abdul Rahman al-Suwaidi: 35 years in the hell of the Muslim Brotherhood (3/5)



Abdul Rahman al-Suwaidi is a former Emirati Islamist leader. Repentant, he delivers here a relentless testimony about the 35 years he spent in the hell of the Muslim Brotherhood. In front of our cameras, he reveals, in a series of uncompromising interviews, the Brotherhood’s best kept secrets, unmasks his double discourse and reveals the hearing of his hidden tentacles implanted throughout the world…

Interview by Atmane Tazaghart


– How does the “world office” of the Muslim Brotherhood work? And why is it surrounded by so many secrets and intrigues? 

– The world organization of the Muslim Brotherhood can be vertically subdivided into 3 levels : the 1st level includes the so-called National organisations, such as the Organization of Muslim Brotherhood in the Emirates etc. Those ones are autonomous. They have their organigram and their executive officer who is the Controller or the Emir. It also has its own association. The 2nd level includes Regional Groups organized as Regional Councils. In the Emirates, it is called the Gulf Coordinating Council (GCC) or Gulf Council. It includes 8 countries. The 6 GCC countries: Oman, Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Bahrain, Kuwait. To which are added Yemen and Iran. Given Yemen is located in the Arabian Peninsula and Iran has a facade on the Gulf. There is an Asia Office, a Europe Office, an Africa Office etc.

 

The chief executives of nation-based organizations are responsible for structuring and coordinating these Regional Groups and selecting their Chief-Officers. The 8 Gulf Council countries are required to agree among themselves to designate the Chief Officer, the Secretary and the chargé d’affaires of the Golf Office. These latter, in turn, hold joint Gulf-Asia-Africa-Europe. Meetings which are often held in Europe and precisely in Great Britain, in order to choose the members of the World Office.

 

By declining these 3 levels, national, regional and global, we see that the status of Egypt is somewhat incompatible with the logical of this hierarchical order. On the one hand there is Egypt, the country of the founder of the Organization, Hassan Al-Banna. On the other hand is the UK-based “World Office” that manages the global activities. This presence in Great Britain makes it possible to improve communication, especially since there is a lot less security worry, compared to Egypt where the situation is often unstable. So the Comptroller and the members of the Organization in Egypt do not have the prerogatives to communicate, order or proscribe things. Thereby the Egyptians have a certain hold on the World Office, though this grip has recently begun to ease with the proliferation of organizations.

 

– Why local Muslim Brotherhood organizations in some countries deny the very existence of this “world office”?

– Some channels have denied any membership in the World Organization, but following the recent crisis they announced their withdrawal from this Organization to which they said they did not belong. The precarious and shaky foundations on which the big entity was built are mostly at the origin of the contradictions we observe today. The Organization is shaking at regional and global levels. These contradictions can be expected to increase, especially when local organizations in some countries are in crisis and reveal things that would not have been disclosed in times of stability.

 

All organizations classified as a terrorist organizations, in all countries and religions,

including the Muslim Brotherhood, have two faces: one open to the general public, the other hidden. This also applies to the secret World Organization of the Muslim Brotherhood whose existence is denied by some and not by others.

 

– They could simply hide the existence of the “world office”, why do they go so far as to publicly deny its existence?

– Is the absence of the patriotic dimension in the thought of the Brotherhood the main reason for this confusion? Yes, it is a contributing factor. Even if it’s not the only one. Because loyalty must be exercised naturally towards the state and the government of the country where we live. This is in fact what many Muslim jurists have mentioned since the Abbasid period, when the State had scattered into many Islamic sultanates. None of these jurists said that the Muslim must give up his loyalty obedience and allegiance to the prince of such Sultanate, Emirate or State.

 

It is true that the Caliph had a symbolic authority but it was to the prince of each region that allegiance is pledged. We have never heard that in such country allegiance was pledged to another country or another thought. This is the contradiction in the organization of the Muslim Brotherhood where, by a succession of sermons, loyalty is concluded by allegiance to the Supreme Leader. So, the official allegiance lent to the ruler of the country where we live becomes a formality.

 

Concealment causes an inferiority complex in some. Because their allegiance is not for the ruler of their own country but is pledged to others. So, they deny the existence of the International Organization, to make credible their allegiance to the leader of their country, which is in reality only an appearance.

 

As far as I’m concerned, it does not make sense that there is a double loyalty, as if it were a person with a split personality. If you have two referents at once, one says to go to the left and the other to the right. And you say to yourself: I am as loyal to this one as to that one. If they both agree, you do not have to worry. But, if they disagree, which one will you follow?

 

That is why we never mention these things at the middle and lower levels of the Brotherhood. It is stated that loyalty is only to the leader of the country where we live. Otherwise, new recruits risk fleeing the Organization if they learn that their allegiance must go abroad.

 

The most experienced members of the Brotherhood end up understanding how do the structures of the Brotherhood work at the global level. They consider that their loyalty to their country is formal and that their fundamental allegiance is to the Supreme Leader of the Muslim Brotherhood. However, this is problematic. If a precise position must be stopped, concerning a given situation in the country or around the world, should they conform to the position of the Supreme Leader or the one of the leader of their country?

 

Very often it is the position taken abroad that is retained. That is why they attempt to hide the existence of the world directional entity or the World Office of the Muslim Brotherhood, call it as you want. They say that such an instance does not exist. Which is contradictory.

 

That is why Bay’a is the main cause of the promulgation of laws criminalizing certain practices. If your ID documents, your nationality and your passport specify that you are from such a country, how can you pledge allegiance to a foreign organization? The law regards this as treason or intelligence with the enemy. Denying the existence of the World Organization makes it possible to reduce the risk of prosecution. So they formally say that their allegiance goes to their country and do not acknowledge having pledged allegiance abroad.

 

This concealment makes it possible for them to circumvent the fact that having two entities that can give instructions and assign responsibilities is not logical. Because, if they agree, everything is fine. But in case of disagreement, their instructions will be contradictory and will provoke a kind of schizophrenia among the members of the Brotherhood. On a personal level, this causes dissociative disorders, between the outside and the inside, and leads to what is called taqiya, that is, duplicity

 

This duplicity generates a confusion and a cacophony perceptible by the close entourage of the person in question. Especially when the Organization adopt points of view very far from those of the State of which that person bears the nationality and to which he must be loyal. That person is therefore in contradiction with the national interest. This generates an intrinsic conflict. Because, belonging to the Fatherland becomes dependent on the orientations of the Organization. While it is in the interest of the Motherland to prevail on the support a person can have for an Organization and the sympathy it can show for the activities and the instances of this Organization.

 

That’s why the law criminalizes this type of practice and punishes their authors by the deprivation of nationality or citizenship, since their loyalty goes abroad. Some countries call them agents serving the enemy, others accuse them of intelligence with a foreign entity. So what about people with total allegiance and dependence? So they undoubtedly abandoned patriotic belonging for the benefit of another supranational Organization.

Abdul Rahman al-Suwaidi : 35 ans dans l’enfer des Frères musulmans (3/5)



Abdul Rahman al-Suwaidi est un ancien leader islamiste émirati. Repenti, il délivre ici un témoigne implacable sur les 35 années qu’il a passées dans l’enfer des Frères musulmans. Face à nos caméras, il divulgue, dans série d’entretiens sans concessions, les secrets les mieux gardés de la Confrérie, démasque son double discours et révèle l’entendue de ses tentacules cachés implantés à travers le monde…

Entretien réalisé par Atmane Tazaghart


– Comment fonctionne le « bureau mondial » des Frères musulmans ? Et pourquoi est-il entouré de tant de secrets et d’intrigues ? 

– L’Organisation mondiale des Frères musulmans est hiérarchisée verticalement en trois niveaux : le premier niveau comprend les organisations dites nationales, comme l’Organisation des Frères musulmans aux Emirats… etc. Celles-ci sont autonomes. Elles ont chacune son propre organigramme et son responsable officiel, qui est le Contrôleur ou l’émir. Et aussi ses propres associations. Le deuxième niveau comprend les Groupes régionaux organisés sous la forme de conseils régionaux. Pour les Émirats, cela s’appelle le conseil de coordination du Golfe ou le conseil du Golfe. Il comprend 8 pays. Les 6 pays du CCG, Oman, Émirats Arabes Unis, Arabie saoudite, Qatar, Bahreïn et Koweït, auxquelles s’ajoutent le Yémen et de l’Iran. Car, le Yémen est situé dans la péninsule arabique et l’Iran a une Façade sur le Golfe. Il existe un Bureau Asie, un Bureau Europe, un Bureau Afrique… etc.

Les responsables des Organisations nationales sont chargés de la structuration et la coordination de ces Groupes régionaux ainsi que la désignation de leurs responsables en chef. Les responsables locaux des 8 pays du conseil du Golfe s’accordent entre eux pour désigner le responsable en chef, le secrétaire et le chargé d’affaires du Bureau du Golfe. Et ces derniers tiennent, à leur tour, des réunions conjointes Golfe-Asie-Afrique-Europe, qui se tiennent souvent en Europe et plus précisément en Grande-Bretagne, pour choisir les membres du « Bureau mondial.

En déclinant ces trois niveaux, national, régional et mondial, on constate que le statut de l’Égypte s’inscrit quelque peu en porte à faux de la logique de cet ordre hiérarchique. Il y a d’un côté l’Égypte, pays du fondateur l’Organisation, Hassan al-Banna. Et de l’autre, le « Bureau mondial », basé en Grande-Bretagne, qui gère les activités de la Confrérie au niveau global. Cette présence en Grande-Bretagne permet de mieux communiquer, d’autant plus qu’il y a beaucoup moins de tracas sécuritaires avec les Services de sécurité européens. Ce qui est incomparable avec l’Égypte où la situation est souvent instable. Et de ce fait, le Contrôleur et les membres de l’Organisation en Égypte n’ont pas la marge de liberté nécessaire pour communiquer, ordonner ou proscrire des choses.Pour compenser cela, les Égyptiens ont acquis, historiquement, une certaine emprise sur le « Bureau mondial ». Même si cette emprise a récemment commencé à se relâcher, avec la multiplication des organisations à travers le monde.

– Pourquoi les organisations locales des Frères musulmans dans certains pays nient l’existence même de ce « bureau mondial ».

– Certaines filières de la Confrérie ont effectivement nié toute appartenance à l’Organisation mondiale des Frères musulmans. Mais, paradoxalement, suite à la crise récente, elles ont annoncé leur retrait de cette Organisation à laquelle elles disaient ne pas appartenir ! Les bases précaires et chancelantes sur lesquelles la grande entité de la Confrérie a été fondée sont pour beaucoup dans les contradictions qu’on observe aujourd’hui. L’Organisation vacille aux niveaux régional et mondial. On pouvait donc s’attendre à ce que ce genre de contradictions s’accentuent, surtout lorsque les organisations locales de la Confrérie dans certains pays traversent des crises. Ce qui révèle des choses qui n’auraient pas été divulguées en temps de stabilité.

Toutes les organisations classifiées comme terroristes, de tous les pays et toutes les religions, y compris les Frères musulmans, ont deux faces : l’une ouverte au grand public, l’autre cachée. Cela s’applique à l’Organisation secrète mondiale des Frères musulmans dont certains nient l’existence et d’autres le reconnaissent.

– Ils  pourraient se contenter de dissimuler l’existence du « bureau mondial », pourquoi vont-ils jusqu’à nier publiquement son existence ?

– L’absence de la dimension patriotique dans la pensée de la Confrérie est la raison principale de cette confusion, même si elle n’est pas la seule. c’est un facteur qui y a contribue considérablement. Car, la loyauté doit s’exercer naturellement envers l’État et le gouvernement du pays où l’on vit. C’est ce que nombre de juristes musulmans ont mentionné, depuis l’époque Abbasside, lorsque l’État s’est dispersé en plusieurs sultanats islamiques. Aucun de ces juristes n’a dit que le musulman doit renoncer à sa loyauté, son obéissance et son allégeance envers le prince de tel sultanat ou émirat ou État.

Il est vrai que le Calife avait une autorité symbolique, mais c’est au prince de chaque région qu’on prêtait allégeance. Nous n’avons jamais entendu dire que dans tel pays on a prêté allégeance à un autre pays ou à une autre pensée. Et c’est en cela que consiste la contradiction au sein de l’organisation des Frères musulmans où, par une succession de sermons, la loyauté se conclue par l’allégeance au Guide suprême. Ainsi, la loyauté ou l’allégeance officielle envers le dirigeant du pays où l’on vit devient formelle.

Et la dissimulation qui en découle crée un complexe d’infériorité chez certains. Car, leur allégeance n’est pas pour leur propre pays, mais est prêtée à d’autres. Alors, ils nient l’existence de l’Organisation internationale, pour donner de la crédibilité à leur allégeance aux dirigeants de leur pays, qui n’est en réalité qu’une apparence.

Pour moi, il n’est pas logique d’avoir une double allégeance, comme s’il s’agissait de quelqu’un qui souffre d’un dédoublement de la personnalité. Si vous avez deux référents à la fois, l’un dit d’aller à gauche et l’autre à droite et vous vous dites : je suis aussi loyal à celui-ci qu’à celui-là. Mais, alors, lequel allez-vous suivre ?

C’est pour cela qu’on n’évoque jamais ces choses-là aux niveaux moyens et subalternes de la Confrérie. On affirme, au contraire, que la loyauté va uniquement au dirigeant du pays où l’on vit. Sinon les nouvelles recrues risquent de fuir l’Organisation, si elles venaient à apprendre que leur allégeance doit aller à l’étranger.

Les membres de la Confrérie les plus expérimentés finissent par comprendre comment fonctionnent ses structures mondiales. Ils considèrent alors que leur loyauté envers leur pays n’est qu’une formalité et que leur allégeance fondamentale va au Guide suprême des frères musulmans. Or, cela pose problème. Si une position précise doit être arrêtée, concernant une situation donnée dans le pays où à travers le monde, doivent-ils se conformer à la position du Guide Suprême ou à celle du dirigeant de leur pays ?

Le plus souvent, c’est la position prise à l’étranger qui est retenue. Et c’est pour cela que certains d’entre-eux cherchent à dissimuler l’existence de l’entité directionnelle globale ou du « Bureau mondial » des Frères musulman, appelez le comme vous voulez. Ils disent qu’une telle instance n’existe pas. Ce qui est inexact et contradictoire.

Et c’est pour cela que la Bay’a est la cause principale de la promulgation de lois criminalisant certaines pratiques. Si vos documents d’identité, votre nationalité et votre passeport spécifient que vous êtes originaire de tel pays, comment pouvez-vous, dès lors, prêter allégeance envers une organisation étrangère ? La loi considère cela comme de la trahison ou de l’intelligence avec l’ennemi. Nier l’existence de l’Organisation mondiale des Frères musulmans permet de réduire les risques de poursuites judiciaires. Les filières de la Confrérie dans certains pays disent donc, pour la forme, que leur allégeance va à leur pays. Et ne reconnaissent pas avoir prêté allégeance à l’étranger.

Par cette dissimulation, il cherchent à contourner le fait qu’il n’est pas logique d’avoir deux entités qui peuvent donner des instructions et assigner des responsabilités. Car, si elles sont d’accord, tout va bien. Mais en cas de désaccord, leurs instructions seront contradictoires et provoqueront une sorte de schizophrénie chez les membres de la Confrérie. Sur un plan personnel, cela donne naissance à des troubles dissociatifs entre l’extérieur et l’intérieur, l’intime et le public, et conduit à ce qu’on appelle la taqîya, c’est-à-dire la duplicité.

Cette duplicité génère une confusion et une cacophonie perceptibles par l’entourage proche de la personne en question. Notamment, lorsque la Confrérie adopte des points de vue très éloignés de ceux de l’État dont cette personne porte la nationalité et envers lequel il doit être loyal. Cette personne se retrouve alors en contradiction avec l’intérêt national. Ce qui engendre un conflit intrinsèque. Car, l’appartenance à la Patrie devient tributaire des orientations de la Confrérie. Alors que c’est l’intérêt de la Patrie qui doit prévaloir sur le soutien qu’une personne peut avoir pour une Organisation et la sympathie qu’elle peut manifester pour les activités ou pour les instances de cette Organisation.

C’est pour ces raisons que la loi criminalise de telles pratiques et punit leurs auteurs par la déchéance de la nationalité ou de la citoyenneté, puisque leur loyauté va l’étranger. Certains pays les appellent des agents au service de l’étranger, d’autres les accusent d’intelligence avec l’ennemi. Alors que dire de gens ayant une allégeance et une dépendance totales à une entité étrangère ? Il n’y a aucun doute sur le fait qu’ils ont abandonné l’appartenance patriotique au profit d’une Organisation extra-nationale.