fbpx
 
 

 

Tunisia: Game Over for the Islamists of Ennahda!



atmane tazaghart (*)

At the end of several weeks of popular discontent, caused by a serious deterioration in the economic and health situation, which reached its peak on July 25 – the anniversary of the establishment of the Republic in Tunisia – with a day of protest calling for dismissal of the government and the dissolution of parliament, marked by the sacking of several headquarters of Ennahda, the Islamist party in power, especially in poor towns in the south of the country; President Kaïs Saïed has decided to deliver a radical “halt” to the political and social crisis shaking Tunisia.

Referring to article 80 of the constitution, the Tunisian president, elected in October 2019 with 72% of the vote, announces the dismissal of the government chaired by Hicham Mechichi, the freezing of the work of the Assembly of the Representatives of the People (parliament) and the lifting of the immunity of all deputies.

A thunderclap described by the supposedly moderate Islamists of Ennahda – and their “big arms” of the El-Karama alliance – as a “coup” damaging “the revolution and democratic institutions”. However, the “stop blow” decided by President Saïed is greeted by scenes of popular jubilation all over the country!

And even though the personalities most critical of “President Saïed’s interpretation of article 80 of the constitution” agree that “the return to the regime that prevailed until July 25 is neither possible nor desirable”, the leader of Ennahda Rached Ghanouchi decides to attempt a counter-offensive to “save the revolution and democracy”, according to the terms of a statement posted on his facebook page.

Less than two hours after President Saïed’s announcements, Ghanouchi – who also serves as speaker of parliament – holds a long conclave at his party’s national headquarter, at the same time when the police force struggled to contain the crowds which poured on the headquarter of the Islamist party determined to sack or burn it, like many party offices across the country.

During this conclave, gathered around “Sheikh” Ghanouchi, his close advisers as well as the leader of the El-Karama Alliance, the deputy Seifeddine Makhlouf. The same one who had attacked, under the dome of the Bardo Palace (seat of parliament), the deputy Abir Moussi, president of the Free Destourien Party.

The “Sheikh” decides to launch, that same evening, a coup inspired both by the response of Turkish President Erdogan, during the attempted coup of July 2016, and by the “strategy of rotting” adopted by the Egyptian Muslim Brotherhood during the sit-in in Rabia Square, which ended in carnage.

Like Erdogan, Ghanouchi decides to resort to live facebook, to harangue his troops, calling on them to join him in front of the gates of the parliament occupied by the armored vehicles of the army. A maneuver with a double objective: to gather a crowd large enough to create a balance of power that would oblige the military to give it access to parliament. Then, the scenario – as it was revealed, in real time, by the zealous deputy of El-Karama, Seifeddine Makhlouf, at the microphone of the Qatari channel al-Jazeera – consisted in summoning the office of the Assembly, chaired by Ghanouchi, in order to launch a parliamentary motion aimed at “dismissing President Saïed for violating constitutional legitimacy”. And as in Rabia Square in Egypt, the supporters of Ennahda had to mass in the courtyard of the parliament, to serve as popular backing for the Islamist counter-offensive and as…cannon fodder, if the army attempts a coup against the deputies.

However, after nearly two hours spent in front of the gates of the parliament, access to which he was prohibited by the military, the “Sheikh” – surrounded by about twenty people from his close guard – ended up going to the obvious: the expected crowd is not there!

The multiplication of calls, via an official Party statement and a long Facebook live on the “Sheikh” page, relayed by the Qatari channels al-Jazeera and al-Araby, will not change anything. Worse still, around 4 am, the opposite effect occurs: dozens of opponents of the Islamist party flock to the Bardo, to do battle with the “Sheikh” and his companions. The police intervene, but the “Sheikh” realizes that his institutional poker game has failed.

Before leaving the scene, a sentence from the crowd of his opponents rang in his ears, like a blow of cleaver: Ya Ghanouchi Babourek Zaffar! A formula, in the Tunisian dialect, that could be translated as: Game Over!

fbpx
 
 

 

Tunisie : Fin de partie pour les islamistes d’Ennahda !



atmane tazaghart (*)

A l’issue de plusieurs semaines de grogne populaire, provoquée par une grave dégradation de la situation économique et sanitaire, qui a atteint son apogée le 25 juillet – jour anniversaire de l’instauration de République en Tunisie – avec une journée de protestation appelant au limogeage du gouvernement et à la dissolution du parlement, marquée par le saccage de plusieurs sièges d’Ennahda, le parti islamiste au pouvoir, notamment dans les villes pauvres du sud du pays ; le président Kaïs Saïed a décidé de porter un « coup d’arrêt » radical à la crise politique et sociale qui secoue la Tunisie.

En se référant à l’article 80 de la constitution, le président Tunisien, élu en octobre 2019 avec 72% des suffrages, annonce le limogeage du gouvernement présidé par Hicham Mechichi, le gèle des travaux de l’Assemblée des Représentants du Peuple (parlement) et la levée d’immunité de tous les députés.

Un coup de tonnerre qualifié par les islamistes prétendument modérés d’Ennahda – et leurs « gros bras » de l’alliance El-Karama – de « coup d’Etat » portant atteinte à « la révolution et aux institutions démocratiques ». Pourtant, le « coup d’arrêt » décidé par le Président Saïed est accueilli par des scènes de liesse populaire dans tout le pays !

Et alors même que les personnalités les plus critiques à l’encontre de « l’interprétation faite par le Président Saïed de l’article 80 de la constitution » s’accordent que « le retour au régime qui a prévalu jusqu’au 25 juillet n’est pas possible ni souhaitable », le leader d’Ennahda Rached Ghanouchi décide de tenter une contre-offensive « pour sauver la révolution et la démocratie », selon les termes d’un communiqué posté sur sa page facebook.

Moins de deux heures après les annonces du Président Saïed, Ghanouchi – qui occupe aussi la fonction de président du parlement – tient un long conclave au siège national de son parti, au moment même où les forces de police se débattaient pour contenir les foules qui déferlaient sur le siège du parti islamiste décidées à le saccager ou le brûler, à l’instar de nombreux bureaux du parti à travers le pays.

Lors de ce conclave, étaient réunis, autour du « Cheikh » Ghanouchi, ses proches conseillers ainsi que le chef de file de l’Alliance El-Karama, le député Seifeddine Makhlouf. Celui-là même qui avait agressé, sous la coupole du palais du Bardo (siège du parlement), la députée Abir Moussi, présidente du Parti Destourien Libre.

Le « Cheikh » décide de lancer, le soir même, un coup de force inspiré, tout à la fois, de la riposte du président turc Erdogan, lors de la tentative de coup d’Etat de juillet 2016, et de la « stratégie du pourrissement » adoptée par les Frères musulmans égyptiens, lors du sit-in de la place Rabia, qui s’est soldé par un carnage.

A l’instar d’Erdogan, Ghanouchi décide de recourir au live facebook, pour haranguer ses troupes, les appelant à le rejoindre devant les grilles du parlement investi par les blindés de l’armée. Une manœuvre à l’objectif double : réunir une foule suffisamment nombreuse pour créer un rapport de force qui obligerait les militaires à lui donner accès au parlement. Ensuite, le scénario – tel qu’il a été révélé, en temps réel, par le zélé député d’El-Karama, Seifeddine Makhlouf, au micro de la chaîne qatarie al-Jazeera – consistait à convoquer le bureau de l’Assemblée, que préside Ghanouchi, afin de lancer une motion parlementaire visant à « destituer le Président Saïed pour violation de la légitimité constitutionnelle ». Et comme à la place Rabia en Egypte, les partisans d’Ennahda devaient se masser dans la cours du parlement, pour servir de caution populaire à la contre-offensive islamiste et de… chair à canon, si l’armée tente un coup de force contre les députés.

Cependant, après près de deux heures passées devant les grilles du parlement, dont l’accès lui a été interdit par les militaires, le « Cheikh » – entourés d’une vingtaine de personnes de sa garde rapprochée – finit par se rendre à l’évidence : la foule espérée n’est pas au rendez-vous !

La multiplication des appels, via un communiqué officiel du Parti et un long live facebook sur la page du « Cheikh », relayé par les chaînes qataries al-Jazeera et al-Araby, n’y changera rien. Pis encore, vers 4 heures du matin, c’est l’effet inverse qui se produit : des dizaines d’opposants au parti islamiste affluent au Bardo, pour en découdre avec le « Cheikh » et ses compagnons. Les forces de police s’interposent, mais le « Cheikh » comprend alors que son coup de poker institutionnel a échoué.

Avant de quitter les lieux, une phrase venue de la foule de ses opposants retentit à ses oreilles, comme un coup de couperet : Ya Ghanouchi Babourek Zaffar ! Une formule, en dialecte tunisien, que l’on pourrait traduire par : Game Over !