fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones

 

Ian Hamel cleared by Swiss justice of accusations of “defamation and slander” made by Tariq Ramadan

25 February 2021 News   26013  

On January 30, 2019, Tariq Ramadan filed a complaint against our colleague Ian Hamel, for “defamation” and “slander”, following the publication of an article published on November 26, 2018 on the website of the magazine Le Point, entitled “The Geneva government confirms the charges against Tariq Ramadan ”. The text was a synthesis of a report commissioned by the Council of State (the government) of Geneva on the behavior of the preacher when he was a teacher in a college in Switzerland between 1984 and 2004. The report confirmed the accusations against Tariq Ramadan in the Swiss press, namely that he was suspected of having had sexual relations with some of his students. On January 21, 2021, an order for the filing of this complaint was issued by Olivier Jornot, Attorney General of the Canton of Geneva, thus clearing our colleague of the accusations of “defamation” and “slander” made against him by the grandson of the founder of the Muslim Brotherhood.

The filing of a complaint by Tariq Ramadan does not normally constitute sufficiently interesting information to merit an article. Indeed, the grandson  of Hassan al-Banna, the founder of the Muslim Brotherhood, systematically lodges complaints against all women who accuse him of rape. So far, to no avail. In June 2018, the author of “Radical Reform: Islamic Ethics and Liberation” had already filed a complaint against Ian Hamel. He reproached him for having written in Le Point that he had obtained his doctorate from the University of Geneva by threatening various members of the jury evaluating his thesis. On two occasions he had been dismissed by the Geneva Court of Justice. This failure did not discourage him from pursuing his legal career.

“Sexual Touching”

It was while reading the book “Duty of Truth”, published on 11 September 2019 by Tariq Ramadan, that Ian Hamel learned that Ramadan had once again filed a criminal complaint against him, for “defamation and slander”, regarding his article of 26 November 2018. In his letter to the public prosecutor in Geneva, from Saint-Julien-en-Genevois (a French commune in Haute-Savoie, on the border with Switzerland), the preacher assured that the “allegations [of Ian Hamel] are in total contradiction with the content of the Council of State’s report”. To put it plainly, he claimed that this 32-page report, written by two former magistrates, exonerated him completely.

However, on page 7 of the report, a former student testifies: “He [Tariq Ramadan] picked her up in his car, insisted that she sit in the front passenger seat and almost immediately put his right hand on her left thigh, while making inappropriate and intrusive advances. Still on page 7, referring to another former student: “Shortly before Christmas 1988, Tariq Ramadan disturbed her with his intimate remarks (…) On the way, he stopped in an isolated car park, kissed her and touched her sexually. The same scenario was repeated one evening before the summer holidays.”

65 articles quote the Geneva report

The article published on Le Point’s website is exactly the same as all the publications published in Switzerland, France and the rest of the world. “Switzerland: a report unveils testimonies of students abused by Tariq Ramadan”, headline in Le Figaro on 29 November 2018. For the English edition of the website of Al Arabiya TV; “Geneva confirms sexual abuse accusations against Tariq Ramadan”.

To this, the preacher gives an explanation: “All the French media have repeated Ian Hamel’s allegations, without of course taking the time to read the document in question or to check the facts, not hesitating to disguise them with force of rash headlines”. Tariq Ramadan even assures that “No less than 65 articles, in the French and international media, have relayed the false information contained in this article which presented itself as “a scoop”. However, Ian Hamel’s article was certainly not a scoop, inasmuch as the report in question was available on the Geneva government’s website!

As early as 22 November 2018, Radio Lac in Geneva ran the headline: “Breaches pointed at in the Ramadan affair in Geneva”. The radio site wrote that Tariq Ramadan “tried to seduce one of his14-year-old student without success and managed to have sexual relations with the three other students aged between 15 and 18 years old”.

Following Tariq Ramadan’s complaint, Ian Hamel was heard by Olivier Jornot, the public prosecutor of Geneva, on 13 March 2020, in the presence of a lawyer from Le Point. The same day, Tariq Ramadan published a press release claiming that our colleague had been indicted for “slander, even defamation”. He claimed that Ian Hamel had been unable “to quote a passage from the report that justified the false content of his article”.

Since then, Tariq Ramadan’s entourage has posted dozens of articles and hundreds of Tweets on social networks relaying these false accusations. On the “Réveil Citoyen” website, it is even stated that in 2007 I threatened to “kill” Tariq Ramadan ! Still as elegant as ever “Chadi Ardelesse” wrote on 22 March 2020: “Internet user: Fake news! The scoundrel journalist IAN Hamel is already under examination for lying about Professor Tariq Ramadan”.

On the other hand, the preacher never filed a complaint against Ian Hamel’s book “Tariq Ramadan: Story of a Sham”, published in January 2020. However, the book is 475 pages long and is largely based on the report of the Council of State of Geneva.

On 9 November 2020, the public prosecutor announced that an order to close the case would soon be issued. This order was issued on 21 January 2021, exonerating our colleague of the charges of “defamation” and “slander”. As usual, Tariq Ramadan appealed against this order of closure.

fbpx
 
 

 

Ian Hamel innocenté par la justice suisse des accusations de « diffamation et calomnie » proférées par Tariq Ramadan



Le 30 janvier 2019, Tariq Ramadan déposait plainte contre notre confrère Ian Hamel, pour « diffamation » et « calomnie », suite à la publication d’un article paru le 26 novembre 2018 sur le site du magazine Le Point, intitulé « Le gouvernement genevois confirme les accusations portées contre Tariq Ramadan ». Le texte était une synthèse d’un rapport commandé par le Conseil d’État (le gouvernement) de Genève sur le comportement du prédicateur lorsqu’il était enseignant dans un collège en Suisse entre 1984 et 2004. Le rapport confirmait les accusations portées contre Tariq Ramadan dans la presse helvétique, à savoir qu’il était soupçonné d’avoir eu des relations sexuelles avec certaines de ses élèves. Le 21 janvier 2021, une ordonnance de classement de cette plainte a été prise par Olivier Jornot, procureur général du canton de Genève, innocentant ainsi notre confrère des accusations de « diffamation » et de « calomnie » proférées à son encontre par le petit fils du fondateur des Frères musulmans.

Le dépôt d’une plainte par Tariq Ramadan ne constitue normalement pas une information suffisamment intéressante pour mériter un article. En effet, le petit-fils d’Hassan al-Banna, le fondateur des Frères musulmans, porte systématiquement plainte contre toutes les femmes qui l’accusent de viols. Pour l’instant, sans résultat. En juin 2018, l’auteur de « Islam, la réforme radicale » avait déjà déposé une première plainte contre notre confrère Ian Hamel. Il lui reprochait d’avoir écrit dans Le Point qu’il avait obtenu son doctorat de l’université de Genève en menaçant différents membres du jury chargé de l’évaluation de sa thèse. A deux reprises, il avait été débouté par la justice genevoise. Cet échec ne l’a pas découragé de poursuivre son feuilleton judiciaire.

« Attouchements sexuels »

C’est par la lecture du livre de Tariq Ramadan « Devoir de vérité », publié le 11 septembre 2019, que Ian Hamel a appris que Tariq Ramadan avait une nouvelle fois déposé une plainte pénale contre lui, pour « diffamation et calomnie », concernant un article qu’il a publié dans Le point, le 26 novembre 2018. Dans son courrier au procureur de Genève, depuis Saint-Julien-en-Genevois (Commune française de Haute-Savoie, à la frontière avec la Suisse), le prédicateur assurait que les « allégations [de Ian Hamel] sont en totale contradiction avec le contenu du rapport du Conseil d’État ». En clair, il soutenait que ce rapport de 32 pages, rédigé par deux anciens magistrats, l’innocentait totalement !

Or, en page 7 du rapport, on découvre le témoignage d’une ancienne élève qui déclare : « Il [Tariq Ramadan] l’a prise en charge dans sa voiture, insista pour qu’elle s’installe sur le siège avant du passager et presque aussitôt posa sa main droite sur sa cuisse gauche, tout en lui tenant des avances inappropriées et intrusives ». Toujours en page 7, concernant une autre ancienne élève : « Peu avant Noël 1988, Tariq Ramadan l’a perturbée par ses propos d’ordre intime (…) En chemin, il s’est arrêté sur un parking isolé, l’a embrassée et a eu des attouchements sexuels à son égard. Le même scénario  s’est répété un soir avant les vacances d’été ».

65 articles citent le rapport genevois

L’article publié sur le site du Point va exactement dans le même sens que toutes les publications parues en Suisse, en France et à travers le monde. « Suisse : un rapport dévoile des témoignages d’élèves abusées par Tariq Ramadan », titre Le Figaro du 29 novembre 2018. Pour l’édition anglaise du site internet de la chaine Al Arabiya ; « Geneva confirms sexual abuse accusations against Tariq Ramadan ».

A cela, le prédicateur donne une explication : « Tous les médias français ont répété les allégations de Ian Hamel, sans bien sûr prendre le temps de lire le document en question ou de vérifier les faits, n’hésitant pas à travestir ces derniers avec force de titres racoleurs ». Tariq Ramadan assure même que « Pas moins de 65 articles, dans les médias francophones et internationaux, ont relayé les fausses informations contenues dans cet article qui se présentait comme “un scoop“ ». Or, l’article de Ian Hamel n’avait rien d’un scoop, dans la mesure où le rapport en question était disponible sur le site Internet du gouvernement genevois !

Dès le 22 novembre 2018, Radio Lac à Genève titrait : « Des manquements pointés du doigt dans l’affaire Ramadan à Genève ». Le site de la radio écrivait notamment que Tariq Ramadan « aurait tenté de séduire sans succès l’une de ses élèves âgée de 14 ans et serait parvenu à entretenir des relations sexuelles avec les trois autres élèves âgées de 15 à 18 ans ».

Suite à la plainte de Tariq Ramadan, Ian Hamel a été entendu par Olivier Jornot, le procureur général de Genève, le 13 mars 2020, en présence d’une avocat du Point. Le jour même, Tariq Ramadan publiait un communiqué de presse prétendant que notre confrère a été mis en examen pour « calomnie, voire diffamation ». Il affirmait que Ian Hamel était incapable « de citer un passage du rapport qui justifiait le contenu mensonger de son article ».

Depuis cette date, l’entourage de Tariq Ramadan a déversé sur les réseaux sociaux des dizaines d’articles et des centaines de tweets relayant ces fausses accusations. Sur le site « Réveil Citoyen », on affirme même que Ian Hamel aurait menacé en 2007 de « buter » Tariq Ramadan ! Toujours aussi élégant “Chadi Ardelesse“ écrit le 22 mars 2020 : « Internaute : Fake news ! Le journaliste crapuleux IAN Hamel es déjà mi en examen pour mensonges envers le professeur Tariq Ramadan ».

En revanche, le prédicateur n’a jamais déposé plainte contre le livre de Ian Hamel « Tariq Ramadan, histoire d’une imposture », paru en janvier 2020. L’ouvrage compte pourtant 475 pages et reprend très largement le rapport du Conseil d’État genevois.

Le 9 novembre 2020, le procureur général annonçait qu’une ordonnance de classement serait prochainement rendue. Celle-ci est tombée le 21 janvier 2021, innocentant notre confrère des accusations de « diffamation » et de « calomnie ». Et, comme à son habitude, Tariq Ramadan a interjeté un recours contre cette ordonnance de classement.