Tunisia: The faded jasmine of the revolution!



Martine Gozlan (*)

Everyone thought they knew Tunisia when the revolution broke out in January 2011, sweeping away the experts’ reassuring analyses of the “Tunisian exception”. In 2021, the same experts, or their emulators, woke up with a start after having served us for years the same ideological broth, seasoned to the taste of the day. The new “Tunisian exception” would thus allow the country of jasmine to escape the fate of other Arab revolutions, thanks to the famous “democratic transition”, guarantor of the political wisdom of Carthage. Now, if it did indeed exist, at a time when intelligence held the reins of the revolutionary chariot, particularly with the great jurist Yadh Ben Achour, who chaired the High Authority for Political Reform, the “transition” has seriously slowed down over time.

It first suffered the blows of the Islamist reign under Ennahdha. Then its flame was rekindled when civil society, outraged by the Nahdaoui support for Salafism, chased the Muslim Brotherhood from power to put all its hopes in Nidaa Tounes – the Appeal of Tunisia – the anti-obscurantist party, inspired by the legacy of Bourguiba, launched in June 2012 by Béji Caïd Essebsi, very old but well surrounded by enlightened minds. In October 2014, Nidaa Tounes won the legislative and, in December, the presidential elections. Béji is a layman, a strong supporter of women’s liberation. Ennahdha’s criminal errors should have strengthened his camp. Unfortunately, the economic crisis, the terrorist threat and the nepotism of the old president, who places his son Hafedh at the helm of the party, will undermine the ground. The “transition” is lost in quicksand when Ennahdha returns to government in February 2015 in a cabinet of national unity. A month later, it is the attack at the Bardo museum and, in June, the one that decimates tourists on the beach of Sousse. The prime ministers succeed one another, the country is still sick. No matter, the European Union and France continue to cite it as an example. On 6 May 2018, at the municipal elections, Ennahdha won most of the big cities, including the capital. Beji Caïd Essebsi died on 25 July 2019 after a start, this time truly worthy of the “Tunisian exception”. In 2017, he asked lawyer Bochra Belhadj Hmida, a famous feminist figure, to launch a “Individual Freedoms and Equality Committee”. It is to propose to Parliament a series of texts on the decriminalisation of homosexuality, the equality of women before inheritance and the abolition of the death penalty. Parliament, as fragmented as the country, is predominantly conservative. The real state of Tunisia will be judged in December 2019, with the triumphant election to the presidency of Kaïs Saied, an obscure law professor who is supposed to embody the pure conscience of those who have never been involved in the slightest case.

“Tunisian exception” experts exult. As they said, jasmine always blooms again. This unknown with its austerity, dubbed by the youth who gave it the majority of its votes, is an opportunity for the country.

And, once again, they were wrong. Tunisia, indeed historically and intellectually the bearer of so many hopes, is engaged, ten years after the revolution, in a perilous phase. From declared Islamism, compromised by the government, it has been able to save itself. But what to do with a reactionary presidency? The conservatism of Kaïs Saied is much more dangerous than Ennahda, whose founder, Rached Ghannouchi is moreover president of parliament.

On the one hand, it is Islamically compatible and is causing society to regress. We saw this with the president’s refusal to amend the law on inheritance, a Koranic law that obliges the girl to get half the boy’s share. “The Koran is clear on this subject and does not accept any interpretation,” sums up Saied in his monotone voice. Farewell Bourguiba, here comes the sharia on the only point that the blue-eyed reformer could not change.

On the other hand, the ideology conveyed by the tenant of the Carthage palace flatters the anti-elite impulse inherited from the revolution, but without the breath and values of the revolution. It is based on an anachronistic discourse: the exaltation of the late Arab nationalism, the anti-Israeli obsession whose antisemitic drift is well known. This magma can lead an unhappy people to the worst. The health crisis, coming after the terrorist danger, has wiped out the tourism on which a quarter of Tunisia lived. “For lack of money, the State pays nothing to the unemployed and to those whose businesses have had to close down,” recalls the academic Pierre Vermeren.

The ten years of the revolution were celebrated by riots and looting throughout the country. Their images remind us that, alas, there is no longer any Tunisian exception.

*  Journalist and essayist, editor in chief at weekly magazine Marianne, specialist in Islamism and Middle-East affairs..

Tunisie : Le jasmin fané de la révolution !



Martine Gozlan (*)

Tout le monde croyait connaître la Tunisie quand la révolution a surgi, en janvier 2011, balayant les analyses rassurantes des experts sur « l’exception tunisienne ». En 2021, les mêmes experts, ou leurs émules, se réveillent en sursaut après nous avoir servi depuis des années le même brouet idéologique, assaisonné au goût du jour. La nouvelle « exception tunisienne » permettrait ainsi au pays du jasmin d’échapper au sort funeste des autres révolutions arabes, grâce à la fameuse « transition démocratique », garante de la sagesse politique de Carthage. Or, si elle a bel et bien existé, à un moment où l’intelligence tenait les rênes du char révolutionnaire, notamment avec le grand juriste Yadh Ben Achour, qui présida la Haute instance pour la réforme politique, la « transition » s’est sérieusement ralentie au fil du temps.

Elle a d’abord subi les coups de boutoir du règne islamiste sous Ennahdha. Puis sa flamme s’est ravivée quand la société civile, indignée du soutien nahdaoui au salafisme, a chassé les Frères musulmans du pouvoir pour mettre tous ses espoirs en Nidaa Tounes (l’Appel de la Tunisie) le parti anti-obscurantiste, inspiré par l’héritage de Bourguiba, lancé en juin 2012 par Béji Caïd Essebsi, très âgé mais bien entouré d’esprits éclairés. En octobre 2014, Nidaa Tounes remporte les législatives et, en décembre, la présidentielle. Béji est un laïque, ardent partisan de la libération des femmes. Les errements criminels d’Ennahdha auraient dû renforcer son camp. Hélas, la crise économique, la menace terroriste et le népotisme du vieux président, qui place son fils Hafedh aux commandes du parti, vont miner le terrain. La « transition » se perd dans les sables mouvants quand Ennahdha revient au gouvernement en février 2015 dans un cabinet d’union nationale. Un mois plus tard, c’est l’attentat au musée du Bardo et, en juin, celui qui décime les touristes sur la plage de Sousse. Les premiers ministres se succèdent, le pays est toujours malade. Qu’importe, l’Union européenne et la France continuent à le citer en exemple. Le 6 mai 2018, aux municipales, Ennahdha remporte la plupart des grandes villes, dont la capitale. Béji Caïd Essebsi meurt le 25 juillet 2019 après un sursaut, digne cette fois réellement de « l’exception tunisienne ». Il a chargé en 2017 l’avocate Bochra Belhadj Hmida, célèbre figure féministe, de lancer une « Commission pour les libertés individuelles et l’égalité ». Elle doit proposer au Parlement une série de textes sur la dépénalisation de l’homosexualité, l’égalité de la femme devant l’héritage, l’abolition de la peine de mort. Le Parlement, aussi fragmenté que le pays, est majoritairement conservateur. On jugera de l’état réel de la Tunisie en décembre 2019, avec l’élection triomphale à la présidence de Kaïs Saied, un obscur professeur de droit censé incarner la conscience pure de ceux qui n’ont jamais trempé dans la moindre affaire.

Les experts es-« exception tunisienne » exultent. Ils l’avaient bien dit, le jasmin refleurit toujours. Cet inconnu à l’austérité de bon aloi, adoubé par la jeunesse qui lui a donné la majorité de ses voix, est une chance pour le pays.

Et, encore une fois, ils se sont trompés. La Tunisie, effectivement porteuse historiquement et intellectuellement de tant d’espoirs, est engagée, dix ans après la révolution, dans une phase périlleuse. De l’islamisme déclaré, compromis par le pouvoir, elle a pu se sauver. Mais que faire d’une présidence réactionnaire ? Le conservatisme de Kaïs Saied est bien plus dangereux qu’Ennahda, dont le fondateur, Rached Ghannouchi est d’ailleurs président du parlement.

D’une part, il est islamo-compatible et fait régresser la société. On l’a vu avec le refus du président de modifier la loi sur l’héritage, une loi coranique qui oblige la fille à toucher la moitié de la part du garçon. « Le Coran est clair à ce sujet et n’accepte pas d’interprétation » résume Saied de sa voix monocorde. Adieu Bourguiba, revoilà la charia sur le seul point que le réformateur aux yeux bleus n’avait pu changer.

D’autre part, l’idéologie véhiculée par le locataire du palais de Carthage flatte la pulsion anti-élites héritée de la révolution, mais sans le souffle et les valeurs de la révolution. Elle s’appuie sur un discours anachronique : l’exaltation du défunt nationalisme arabe, l’obsession anti-israélienne dont on sait la dérive antisémite. Ce magma peut mener vers le pire un peuple malheureux. La crise sanitaire, survenant après le danger terroriste, a laminé le tourisme dont vivait un quart de la Tunisie. « Faute d’argent, l’Etat ne verse rien aux chômeurs et à ceux dont le commerce a dû fermer » rappelle l’universitaire Pierre Vermeren.

Les dix ans de la révolution ont été célébrés par des émeutes et des pillages à travers tout le pays. Leurs images nous rappellent qu’hélas, il n’y a plus d’exception tunisienne.

* Journaliste et essayiste, rédactrice en chef à l’hebdomadaire Marianne, spécialiste de l’islamisme et du Moyen-Orient.