fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones
SIPA

 

Swiss banks: Risk of sanctions for Chinese secret accounts

23 March 2023 Expertises   960  

Roland Jacquard

The Russian invasion of Ukrainian has led to the Swiss government imposing sanctions on Russia and wealthy Russians close to Vladimir Putin by freezing their Swiss bank accounts. Lately, Switzerland is also “closely monitoring” Chinese wealth in Swiss banks following the intelligence input – that Beijing is considering supplying Russia with lethal weapons, such as drones and munitions. According to a Financial Times report, Switzerland’s tough stance on sanctions has fueled concern among wealthy Chinese about whether keeping their money in Switzerland is safe.

In recent weeks, a number of events have brought the possibility of sanctioning China closer, including the spy balloon incident and Beijing’s possible supply of lethal weapons to Moscow. The US Secretary of State Anthony Blinken has publicly warned Beijing against the fomenting war in Ukraine, saying it has intelligence that China will supply Russia with lethal weapons. At the same time, the United States is also preparing to share this intelligence with its allies.

Although the Swiss government has not disclosed the size of Chinese assets in the country, a batch of documents released to the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists in 2014 showed that Swiss banks set up accounts for many Chinese political elites and their children. The batch of declassified documents shows that at least 20,000 wealthy people from mainland China and Hong Kong own offshore companies involving high-level Chinese “red second-generation” families. At least five family members of the Politburo Standing Committee members own companies in offshore financial centres such as the British Virgin Islands and the Cook Islands.

Some Swiss banks have stated that they were now playing a “war game” on how to deal with the fallout incase Beijing’s  relations with the West deteriorated significantly. According to the report, all Swiss wealth managers would have to weigh the impact of the sanctions imposed by the Swiss authorities, which was high on the board and executive’s agenda.

Over the past few hundred years, Switzerland has managed about a quarter of the world’s private wealth due to its strict bank secrecy system and neutral political stance. Tens of thousands of wealthy people worldwide like to open secret accounts in Swiss banks and transfer their vast wealth and funds to Switzerland.It not only makes tax avoidance possible for rich people worldwide but also criminal activities such as money laundering, providing a safe hiding place for for organized crime and illegal funds of dictatorships. For this reason, Switzerland has been under pressure from Europe, the United States and other countries.

Since Russia invaded Ukraine last year, the Swiss government has moved in with the European Union to impose sanctions on Russia and wealthy Russians. According to the Swiss State Secretariat for Economic Affairs, about 7.5 billion Swiss francs ($8 billion) in Russian funds are currently frozen under Swiss sanctions. The data showed that some 7,500 Russian billionaires had deposited swiss francs CHF 46.1 billion in assets in Switzerland. Bank accounts of wealthy Chinese could be the next target.

fbpx
 
 

Pour une lecture optimale, téléchargez gratuitement l'Appli GWA pour tablettes et smartphones
SIPA

 

Banques suisses : Risque de sanctions pour les comptes secrets chinois

23 mars 2023 Expertises   1035  

Roland Jacquard

L’invasion russe de ‘’Ukraine a conduit le gouvernement suisse à imposer des sanctions à la Russie et aux riches oligarques proches de Vladimir Poutine en gelant leurs comptes bancaires suisses. Plus récemment, la Suisse surveille également de près les avoirs chinois dans les banques suisses à la suite de renseignements indiquant que Pékin envisage de fournir à la Russie des armes létales, telles que des drones et des munitions. Selon un rapport du Financial Times, la position ferme de la Suisse sur les sanctions a nourri l’inquiétude des fortunés chinois qui se demandent s’il est encore sûr de garder leur argent en Suisse.

Ces dernières semaines, un certain nombre d’événements ont accentué le risque de sanctions contre la Chine, notamment l’incident du ballon espion et l’éventuelle fourniture d’armes létales par Pékin à Moscou. Le secrétaire d’État américain Anthony Blinken a publiquement mis en garde Pékin contre le risque de fomenter la guerre en Ukraine, affirmant qu’il avait des informations selon lesquelles la Chine fournirait à la Russie des armes létales. Dans le même temps, les États-Unis se préparent à partager ces renseignements avec leurs alliés.

Bien que le gouvernement suisse n’ait pas divulgué la taille des actifs chinois dans le pays, un lot de documents remis au Consortium international des journalistes d’investigation en 2014 a montré que les banques suisses avaient ouvert des comptes pour de nombreuses élites politiques chinoises et leurs enfants. Le lot de documents déclassifiés montre qu’au moins 20 000 personnes fortunées de Chine continentale et de Hong Kong possèdent des sociétés offshore impliquant des familles chinoises de haut niveau parmi les « rouges de deuxième génération ». Au moins cinq des familles de membres du Comité permanent du Politburo possèdent des entreprises dans des centres financiers offshore tels que les îles Vierges britanniques et les îles Cook.

Certaines banques suisses ont déclaré qu’elles jouaient maintenant à un « jeu de guerre » sur la manière de gérer les retombées au cas où les relations de Pékin avec l’Occident se détérioreraient de manière significative. Selon le rapport du Financial Times, tous les gestionnaires de fortune suisses devraient peser l’impact des sanctions imposées par les autorités suisses, qui figurent parmi les priorités des conseils d’administration et des directions des banques.

Au cours des cent dernières années, la Suisse a géré environ un quart de la richesse privée mondiale en raison de son système strict de secret bancaire et de sa position politique neutre. Des dizaines de milliers de personnes fortunées dans le monde aiment ouvrir des comptes secrets dans des banques suisses et transférer leur vaste richesse et leurs fonds en Suisse. Cela rend non seulement possible l’évasion fiscale pour les riches du monde entier, mais également des activités criminelles telles que le blanchiment d’argent, offrant une cachette sûre pour le crime organisé et les fonds illégaux des dictatures. Raison pour laquelle, la Suisse subit la pression de l’Europe, des États-Unis et d’autres pays.

Depuis que la Russie a envahi l’Ukraine l’année dernière, le gouvernement suisse s’est rapproché de l’Union européenne pour imposer des sanctions à la Russie et aux fortunés russes. Selon le Secrétariat d’État suisse à l’économie, environ 7,5 milliards de francs suisses (8 milliards de dollars) de fonds russes sont actuellement gelés en vertu des sanctions suisses. Les données ont montré que quelque 7 500 milliardaires russes avaient déposé 46,1 milliards de francs suisses d’actifs en Suisse. Les comptes bancaires des fortunés chinois pourraient être la prochaine cible.