fbpx
 
 

 

Who are Putin’s war-mongering advisors?



In the West, Vladimir Putin is most often described as an isolated, even “paranoid” leader, enjoying absolute power that dispenses him from consulting or listening to advisers. However, if it is obvious that Putin is an autocrat who has freed himself from any counter-power, there are advisors in his “first circle” who are known for their moderation and others who are openly warmongers.

Among the moderates, only the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Dimitri Lavrov, would still dare to express opinions contradicting Putin, of whom he has been an old companion for over eighteen years. In the war-mongers’ camp, Lavrov’s biggest “bête noire” is Dimitri Kozak. Head of the presidential administration in the Kremlin since 24 January 2020, he was previously Deputy Prime Minister. As such, he managed the annexation of Crimea in 2014. Highly listened to by the master of the Kremlin, he is the architect of the Putin doctrine consisting of increasing military pressure in order to be able to negotiate from a position of strength.

Another war-mongering adviser of the Kremlin is Sergei Narychkin, the boss of foreign intelligence. A former president of the Duma, he has been in charge of Russian counter-intelligence with an iron fist since 2016. In this capacity, he is the architect of the suppression of civil society and the persecution of Russian opponents, including abroad. He will stop at nothing to satisfy his master, yet he was publicly humiliated by Vladimir Putin during a televised exchange on 21 February, three days before the invasion of Ukraine.

Following the affront he suffered, Narychkin was said to have been dismissed, disgraced or even liquidated. But the best-informed sources say that the presidential anger that fell on him was only temporary: at the time of the events, Putin was upset that his counter-intelligence chief had failed to identify a supposed “mole” suspected of informing the Americans about the Kremlin’s intentions and secret plans in the weeks leading up to the invasion of Ukraine.

Another hawk among Putin’s close advisors is General Valery Gerasimov, Chief of Staff of the Army. He is the architect of the military strategy known as the ‘new generation war’. His studies theorising the notion of a “global conflict”, at once military, economic and information, have been studied very closely for years by the Pentagon and NATO.

In his view, future conflicts will be totally different from the old paradigms of the Second World War or the Cold War. He considers, in the light of recent American and European military experiences (Gulf War, Afghan War, invasion of Iraq, intervention in Libya), that non-military factors (political, economic or cultural) now play a decisive role. He deduced that any military campaign or operation must now be considered as part of an ‘unconventional war’.

For this reason, he advocates that instead of declared wars, characterised by a strict delimitation of military efforts, with large conventional forces fighting decisive battles, preference should be given to ‘undeclared wars’ based on hybrid operations, combining military and non-military activities and engaging smaller but more precise and effective forces.

fbpx
 
 

 

Qui sont les conseillers va-t-en-guerre de Poutine ?



En Occident, Vladimir Poutine est le plus souvent décrit comme un dirigeant isolé, voire ‘‘paranoïaque’’, jouissant d’un pouvoir absolu qui le dispense de consulter ou d’écouter des conseillers. Or, s’il est évident que Poutine est un autocrate qui s’est affranchi de tout contre-pouvoir, il y a dans son ‘‘premier cercle’’ des conseillers connus pour leur modération et d’autres qui sont ouvertement bellicistes.

Parmi les modérés, seul le ministre des Affaires étrangères, Dimitri Lavrov, oserait encore émettre des avis contredisant Poutine, dont il est un vieux compagnon depuis plus de dix-huit ans. Dans le camp des va-t-en-guerre, la ‘‘bête noire’’ de Lavrov est Dimitri Kozak. Chef de l’administration présidentielle au Kremlin depuis le 24 janvier 2020, il était auparavant vice-Premier ministre. Et à ce titre, c’est lui qui a géré le dossier d’annexion de la Crimée en 2014. Très écouté par le maître du Kremlin, il est l’artisan de la doctrine poutinienne consistant à faire monter la pression militaire, pour pouvoir ensuite négocier en position de force.

Autre conseiller va-t-en-guerre du Kremlin, Sergueï Narychkine, le patron du renseignement extérieur. Ancien président de la Douma, il dirige d’une main de fer le contre-espionnage russe depuis 2016. À ce titre, il est l’artisan de la mise au pas de la société civile et de la persécution des opposants russes, y compris à l’étranger. Ne reculant devant rien pour satisfaire son maître, il a pourtant été humilié en public par Vladimir Poutine, lors d’un échange télévisé, le 21 février dernier, trois jours avant l’invasion de l’Ukraine.

Suite à l’affront qu’il a subi, on disait Narychkine écarté, en disgrâce, voire liquidé. Mais les sources les mieux informées affirment que la colère présidentielle qui s’est abattue sur lui n’était que passagère : au moment des faits, Poutine était excédé que son chef du contre-espionnage ne parvienne pas à identifier une supposée ‘‘taupe’’ soupçonnée de renseigner les Américains sur les intentions du Kremlin et ses plans secrets, dans les semaines qui ont précédé l’invasion de l’Ukraine.

Autre faucon parmi les proches conseillers de Poutine, le général Valery Gerasimov, chef d’État-Major des armées. Il est l’artisan de la stratégie militaire dite de la “guerre de nouvelle génération”. Ses études théorisant la notion de ‘‘conflit global’’, à la fois militaire, économique et d’information, sont étudiées de très près, depuis des années, par le Pentagone et l’OTAN.

Selon lui, les conflits à venir seront totalement différents des vieux paradigmes de la Seconde Guerre mondiale ou de la guerre froide. Il considère, à la lumière des récentes expériences militaires américaines et européennes (guerre du Golfe, guerre d’Afghanistan, invasion de l’Irak, intervention en Libye), que les facteurs non militaires (politiques, économiques ou culturels) jouent, à présent, un rôle décisif. Il en déduit que toute campagne ou opération militaire doit être désormais envisagée comme faisant partie d’une ‘‘guerre non conventionnelle’’.