fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones

 

Cannes Film Festival: Zelensky pits Chaplin against Putin!

18 May 2022 News   1797  

The opening ceremony of the 75th Cannes International Film Festival was marked by a surprise live intervention by Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky, who called on the new generation of filmmakers to confront dictators, as Charlie Chaplin had done with his satire of Adolf Hitler in “The Great Dictator” (1940)

By Atmane Tazaghart and Nicolas Chene

 


Watch the video


 

Speaking via satellite link, live from Kiev, Zelensky was greeted by a warm standing ovation. Dressed in his now famous olive green shirt, the former actor elected president of Ukraine in 2019, focused his speech on the link between cinema and freedom fights, with strong references to famous cinematographic works, ranging from Charlie Chaplin’s “The Great Dictator” to Francis Ford Coppola’s “Apocalypse Now”.

Paraphrasing Chaplin’s final speech in “The Great Dictator”, in which he prophesied: “The hatred of the people will end and the dictators will die. The power that they had taken will return to the people”, Volodymyr Zelensky addressed a message of hope to the Cannes audience: “To all those who can hear me, I say: do not despair. ‘The hatred of the people will end and the dictators will be die’. We must finally win this battle. And we need filmmaking to provide us with such an ending and to make sure that every voice is on the side of freedom.”

Drawing a parallel between Putin and Chaplin’s “Dictator”, Zelensky gave a historical reminder, drawing a blood-red line between the Second World War and the current war in Ukraine: “We thought that everyone had understood that you could conquer people with beauty, by gathering them in front of screens, instead of conquering them with disgrace, by gathering them in bomb shelters. We thought that the horror of a large-scale war that may involve the whole continent would not be followed up. But again, as then, there is a dictator. Once again, as then, there is a war for freedom. Once again, like then, the cinema must not be silenced.”

He added: “Of course, we will continue to fight. And we have no alternative but to fight for freedom. And I am sure that the dictator will lose. But we should hear words like in 1940, words from every screen in the free world. We need a new Chaplin, who will show that the cinema of our time is not silent”…

fbpx
 
 

 

Festival de Cannes : Zelensky oppose Chaplin à Poutine !



La cérémonie d’ouverture du 75ème Festival international du film de Cannes a été marquée par l’intervention surprise et en direct du Président ukrainien Volodymyr Zelensky, qui appelle la nouvelle génération de cinéastes à affronter les dictateurs, comme Charlie Chaplin l’avait fait, avec sa satire d’Adolf Hitler dans ‘’Le dictateur’’ (1940).

Par Atmane Tazaghart (texte) et Nicolas Chene (vidéo)


Voir la vidéo


Intervenant par liaison satellite, en direct de Kiev, Zelensky a été accueilli par une chaleureuse ovation debout. Vêtu de sa désormais célèbre chemise vert olive, l’ex-acteur élu président de l’Ukraine en 2019, a axé son allocution sur le lien entre le cinéma et les combats pour la liberté, avec des références appuyées à des œuvres cinématographiques célèbres, allant du ‘‘Dictateur’’ de Charlie Chaplin à ‘’Apocalypse Now’’ de Francis Ford Coppola.

Paraphrasant le discours final du ‘’Dictateur’’, dans lequel Chaplin prophétisait : « La haine des hommes passera, les dictateurs mourront, et le pouvoir qu’ils ont pris au peuple reviendra aux gens », Volodymyr Zelensky a adressé un message d’espoir au public cannois : « À tous ceux qui peuvent m’entendre, je dis : ne désespérez pas. ‘La haine des hommes passera et les dictateurs mourront’. Nous devons enfin gagner cette bataille. Et nous avons besoin de la cinématographie pour nous fournir une telle fin et faire en sorte que chaque voix soit du côté de la liberté. »

Faisant le parallèle entre Poutine et le ‘’Dictateur’’ de Chaplin, Zelensky s’est livré à un rappel historique, traçant une ligne rouge sang entre la Seconde Guerre mondiale et la guerre actuelle en Ukraine : « Nous pensions que tout le monde avait compris qu’on pouvait conquérir les gens avec beauté, en les rassemblant devant des écrans, au lieu de les conquérir, avec disgrâce, en les rassemblant dans des abris anti-bombes. Nous pensions que l’horreur d’une guerre à grande échelle qui peut impliquer tout le continent n’aurait pas de suite. Mais encore une fois, comme à l’époque, il y a un dictateur. Encore une fois, comme à l’époque, il y a une guerre pour la liberté. Encore une fois, comme à l’époque, il ne faut pas que le cinéma se taise ».

Et d’ajouter : « Bien sûr, nous continuerons à nous battre. Et nous n’avons pas d’autre alternative que de nous battre pour la liberté. Et je suis sûr que le dictateur perdra. Mais nous devrions entendre des mots comme en 1940, des mots venant de tous les écrans du monde libre. Nous avons besoin d’un nouveau Chaplin, qui démontrera que le cinéma de notre temps n’est pas silencieux »…