fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones

 

Ukraine: their voices under the bombs

2 March 2022 Expertises   20176  

Martine Gozlan

Here and there. From the world (still) at peace to the world at war. From our screens, our streets, our cafés, our subways, to their alerts, their fleeing, their shelters, their deaths. From our first flowering shrub to their snow, their mud, their terror and their resistance. Between Paris and Kiev, this European capital three hours away by plane, a chasm has opened up. We watch, stunned, as the missiles smash a beautiful and great city, filled with the sounds of life so short a time ago, night years away. Kiev. I was walking along its immense boulevards in January. Kreshatyk Avenue leading to the Maidan, the old streets of the Podol district tumbling down to the Dnieper.

I was taking part in a so-called remembrance trip: a European Jewish delegation was coming to visit the site of Babi Yar, where the Nazis massacred 33,711 Jews on 29 and 30 September 1941.

And now I see: on this 1st of March, as I write these lines, which will inevitably be overtaken by new pains, new horrors, by the time they are published, Putin’s bombers are pulverising the television tower and, at the same time, a part of the Babi Yar memorial.

I see our procession again. And the young Ukrainian filming our silence as well as the speeches of the participants, political and religious, from Brussels, London, Paris, Bucharest and Berlin. He wants to work for his city and his country, he tells me. Relentlessly. The borders were already tightening, but we didn’t want to believe it. Neither did Boris.  He is a 24-year-old Ukrainian Jew who has pieced together his family’s history in this land of blood. He looks for traces under the snow. In this country, everyone has rebuilt themselves on nightmares. That of the Shoah. That of the extermination by hunger decided by Stalin in 1932 and 1933 to liquidate the Ukrainian peasantry. 5 million dead. Tamara, at whose house I had dinner the night before, told me about her grandmother who lived through the period and took in the starving.

Où est-elle aujourd’hui, Tamara ?

There are days with or without Whatsapp messages since the 24 February invasion of Ukraine, which will remain in my memory the darkest day since 20 March 2003, when Iraq was invaded.

Kiev. Baghdad. In both cases, I saw and loved cities and people soon to be condemned to hell. In the heart of the East. In the heart of the West. Yesterday, my friends the artists of Karrada, the dreamers of Basra. Today, Tamara from Obolon, the first bombed-out district north of Kiev. Today, Boris, my young cameraman at the Babi Yar ceremony.

He is a Ukrainian patriot. Like the president, Volodymyr Zelensky, whose fate no one can predict, but who decides, in a flash of fate, to confront barbarism. “I need weapons, not a taxi”, Zelensky replied to the Americans who offered to exfiltrate him on the first night of the invasion. It is repeated over and over again that the ex-comedian has gone from laughter to tears, from buffoonery to tragedy. In reality, he has all the faces of humanity. He is a funny guy who is happy to be alive and whose love for his country turns him into a resister. There are hundreds of thousands of them there now. And now others will join them, from neighbouring countries. The European Union, awakened by a start, is no longer afraid to displease its own opinions. It sanctions, it excludes, it isolates the sower of death. The enormous emotion of the famous public opinions – neither cowardly, nor lethargic, nor only preoccupied with the price of petrol and pasta – has indeed pushed the European leaders to act, as much as the nuclear threats of the master of the Kremlin. The Union is arming the bloody Ukraine, whose misfortune and strength it had underestimated.

There are days with or without what’s app messages between Paris and Kiev. Boris is somewhere in a small town along a dangerous road. Where the endless column of tanks will be coming? Food is running out. Just one sentence last night: “I’m fine but I’m a bit hungry.” Are Putin’s Stalinist troops going to start starving the Ukrainians again? Piling up dead bodies on top of the dead of Babi Yar in their wild ride?  To multiply the crimes committed in the name of the “denazification” of a country whose Jewish president they want to liquidate? We are going back in time, this Orwellian time of the assassins.

fbpx
 
 

Pour une lecture optimale, téléchargez gratuitement l'Appli GWA pour tablettes et smartphones

 

Ukraine : leurs voix sous les bombes

2 mars 2022 Expertises   20042  

Martine Gozlan

Ici et là-bas. Du monde (encore) en paix au monde en guerre. De nos écrans, nos rues, nos cafés, nos métros, à leurs alertes, leurs fuites, leurs abris, leurs morts. De notre premier arbuste en fleurs à leur neige, leur boue, leur épouvante et leur résistance. Entre Paris et Kiev, cette capitale européenne à trois heures de vol, un gouffre s’est ouvert. Nous regardons, frappés de sidération, les missiles fracasser une belle et grande cité, emplie des bruits de la vie il y a si peu de temps, à des années-nuits. Kiev. J’arpentais ses boulevards immenses en janvier. L’avenue Kreshatyk qui mène au Maidan, les rues anciennes du quartier du Podol qui dégringolent vers le Dniepr.

Je participais à un voyage dit de mémoire : une délégation juive européenne venait se recueillir sur le site de Babi Yar, où les nazis massacrèrent 33 711 juifs les 29 et 30 septembre 1941.

Et là, je vois : ce 1er mars 2022, à l’heure où j’écris ces lignes qui seront forcément dépassées, au moment de leur publication, par de nouvelles douleurs, de nouvelles horreurs, les bombardiers de Poutine pulvérisent la tour de la télévision, et du même coup une partie du mémorial de Babi Yar.

Je revois notre cortège. Et le jeune Ukrainien qui filme autant notre silence que les prises de parole des participants, politiques et religieux venus de Bruxelles, de Londres, de Paris, de Bucarest, de Berlin. Il veut, me confie-t-il, travailler pour sa ville et son pays. Sans relâche. Déjà l’étau se resserrait aux frontières mais nous ne voulions pas y croire. Boris non plus. C’est un juif d’Ukraine, 24 ans, qui a reconstitué par bribes l’histoire de sa famille sur ces terres de sang. Il cherche des traces sous la neige. Dans ce pays, tout le monde s’est reconstruit sur des cauchemars. Celui de la Shoah. Celui l’extermination par la faim décidé par Staline en 1932 et 1933 pour liquider la paysannerie ukrainienne. 5 millions de morts. Tamara, chez qui j’ai diné la veille, me parlait de sa grand-mère qui a vécu l’époque et accueillait les affamés.

Où est-elle aujourd’hui, Tamara ?

Il y a les jours avec ou sans messages whatsApp depuis ce 24 février de l’invasion de l’Ukraine qui restera dans ma mémoire le jour le plus sombre depuis le 20 mars 2003, date de l’invasion de l’Irak.

Kiev. Bagdad. Dans les deux cas, j’ai vu et aimé des villes et des êtres bientôt condamnés à l’enfer. Au coeur de l’Orient. Au coeur de l’Occident. Hier, mes amis les artistes de Karrada, les rêveurs de Bassora. Aujourd’hui, Tamara d’Obolon, le premier quartier bombardé au nord de Kiev. Aujourd’hui, Boris, mon jeune cameraman de la cérémonie de Babi Yar.

C’est un patriote ukrainien. A  l’image de ce président, Volodymyr Zelensky, dont nul ne peut prédire le sort, mais qui décide, en un éclair du destin, d’affronter la barbarie. « J’ai besoin d’armes, pas d’un taxi ! » réplique Zelensky  aux Américains qui lui proposaient de l’exfiltrer, le premier soir de l’invasion. On répète à satiété que l’ex-comédien est passé du rire aux larmes, de la bouffonnerie à la tragédie. En réalité, il a tous les visages de l’humanité. Un type drôle et joyeux que l’amour de son pays transforme en résistant. Ils sont ainsi des centaines de milliers, maintenant, là-bas. Et voilà que d’autres vont les rejoindre, venus des pays voisins. Voilà que l’Union européenne, réveillée en sursaut, ne craint plus de déplaire à ses opinions. Elle sanctionne, elle exclut, elle isole le semeur de mort. L’émotion énorme des fameuses opinions publiques – ni lâches, ni léthargiques, ni uniquement préoccupées du prix de l’essence et des pâtes – a bel et bien poussé les leaders européens à agir, autant que les menaces nucléaires du maître du Kremlin. L’Union Européenne arme l’Ukraine ensanglantée dont elle avait sous-estimé le malheur et la force.

Il y a des jours avec ou sans messages whatsApp entre Paris et Kiev. Boris est quelque part dans une petite ville le long d’une route dangereuse. Là où l’interminable colonne de chars va se profiler ? Les vivres commencent à manquer. Juste une phrase hier soir : « Ça va mais j’ai un peu faim. » Les troupes de Poutine le stalinien vont recommencer à affamer les Ukrainiens ? À amonceler des morts sur les morts de Babi Yar dans leur équipée sauvage ? À multiplier les crimes commis au nom de la ‘‘dénazification’’ d’un pays dont ils veulent liquider le Président juif ?

Nous remontons le temps, ce temps orwellien des assassins !