fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones

 

Between tanks and ghosts: Things seen in Ukraine

24 February 2022 Expertises   2030  

Martine Gozlan
Martine Gozlan

For anyone who visited Kiev – I was there at the end of January – in the weeks preceding Vladimir Putin’s coup de force, the prospect of seeing the weapons speak is a heartbreaker and an appalling waste. For two reasons. Firstly, the youth I met in the cafés of Kreschatyk Street, the main and monumental thoroughfare of the Ukrainian capital, is fundamentally pro-European. In the region, they look more to Vilnius in Lithuania, an EU member state where many young Ukrainians study, than to Moscow.

At 20, Galina and Itsvan, with whom I shared a sparkling cranberry kvass – the national drink – only envisage living in a democratic environment, where freedom of the press flourishes along with freedom of movement of ideas and people. But this closeness to the youth of Paris, Berlin or Rome is at the same time shattered by the situation in Ukraine.

The Russian decision to send tanks into the separatist regions of the East, now recognised as “sovereign” by the Kremlin, comes after eight years of conflict in the Donbass. The so-called vigilant observers in Europe had completely forgotten until the last two months that this real war had left 13,000 dead. Combined with the annexation of Crimea, the conflict in Donbass, which turned into an invasion of all Ukrainian territory, has completely perverted Kiev’s political reflexes. It is a logical response to Putin’s perversion, of course, who has been proclaiming the non-existence of Ukraine ever more loudly.

Terrible words that he repeated, quoting Lenin and Stalin, for an hour and a half in his televised address on 22 February. Naturally, the reaction over the years has been to fall into the Russian trap. Ukrainian nationalism has flared up. And nationalism here is haunted by ghosts. We are in the land of blood, as the American historian Timothy Snyder rightly called it, tracing the dark saga of these lands caught between Hitler and Stalin. Ukraine is a hotbed of the Holocaust: one and a half million Jews were exterminated. Among the Ukrainian leaders who lent a hand to the Nazi murderers was a certain Stepan Bandera, head of the Organisation of Ukrainian Nationalists (OUN), which rallied to Hitler in 1941 in the hope of obtaining an independent Ukrainian state. Eighty years later, it is important to know that in Ukraine any historical figure who claimed independence is mythologised, regardless of his crimes. This is the case for Symon Petliura, leader of a short-lived Ukrainian republic in 1917, whose reign was marked by a multitude of pogroms. Petliura has his own streets and statues. As for Stepan Bandera, a torchlight march organised by the Right Sector party and other currents of the nationalist right was held in his honour in the centre of Kiev at the beginning of January, on his birthday. He too has a statue in Lviv, the most European city in Ukraine. And Bandera remains a fixture in many Ukrainian hearts. An awkward silence breaks out in the discussion when his crimes are recalled. “He was arrested by Hitler,” is the response. But he was released two years later in the hope that Bandera and his men would slow down the advance of the Red Army.

The Soviets! At these words, tragedies collide. The memory of the “Holodomor”, the extermination by starvation decided by Stalin in 1932 and 1933 to liquidate the Ukrainian peasantry, remains a memory in the present with its five million victims. This funeral procession continues to occupy the identity. President Volodymyr Zelensky, elected by a large majority in 2019, has never made a secret of his Jewish origins. Public opinion demanded that he tackle corruption and keep the war at bay. “We hoped that he would prepare the autonomy of Donbass”, explains the historian Pierre Lorrain, author of an enlightening book, “Ukraine between two destinies” (Bartillat). “But Zelensky was overwhelmed by the pressures of the ultra-nationalists and the oligarchs”.

The ghosts of the past never left the Ukrainian scene. Their shadows were reflected in the eye of Vladimir Putin, to the delight of the Russian autocrat who, in turn, never ceases to go back in time. This once red and black has taken my young friends Galina, Itsvan and their entire generation hostage. I read their messages while no French plane lands in Kiev. A three-hour flight. A heartbreak.

fbpx
 
 

 

Entre chars et fantômes : Choses vues en Ukraine



Martine Gozlan (*)

Pour qui a visité Kiev – j’y étais fin janvier- dans les semaines qui ont précédé le coup de force de Vladimir Poutine, la perspective de voir parler les armes est un crève-coeur et un épouvantable gâchis. A un double titre. D’abord, la jeunesse que j’ai rencontré dans les cafés de la rue Kreschatyk, la principale et monumentale artère de la capitale ukrainienne, est fondamentalement pro-européenne. Dans la région, ses regards se tournent davantage vers Vilnius, en Lituanie, pays membre de l’UE, où vont étudier de nombreux jeunes Ukrainiens, que vers Moscou.

A 20 ans, Galina et Itsvan, avec qui je partageais un kvas pétillant aux airelles – la boisson nationale – n’envisagent de vivre que dans un environnement démocratique, où fleurit la liberté de la presse avec celle de la circulation des idées et des hommes. Mais cette proximité avec la jeunesse de Paris, de Berlin ou de Rome est en même temps pulvérisée par la situation de l’Ukraine.

La décision russe d’envoyer les chars dans les régions séparatistes de l’Est, désormais reconnues comme « souveraines » par le Kremlin, intervient après huit ans de conflit dans le Donbass. Les prétendus observateurs vigilants en Europe avaient complètement oublié jusqu’à ces deux derniers mois que cette vraie guerre avait fait 13 000 morts. Conjugué à l’annexion de la Crimée, le conflit du Donbass, qui s’est mué en invasion de tout le territoire ukrainien, a complètement perverti les réflexes politiques de Kiev. C’est une réplique logique à la perversion poutinienne, bien sûr, qui clamait de plus en plus haut l’inexistence de l’Ukraine.

Des mots terribles qu’il a répétés, en citant Lénine et Staline, pendant une heure et demie, dans son allocution télévisée du 22 février. Naturellement, depuis toutes ces années, la réaction, en face, a consisté à tomber dans le piège russe. Le nationalisme ukrainien a flambé. Et le nationalisme, ici, est hanté par les fantômes. Nous sommes sur des terres de sang, comme les a justement nommées l’historien américain Timothy Snyder, en retraçant la sombre saga de ces contrées prises entre Hitler et Staline. L’Ukraine est un haut-lieu de la Shoah : un million et demi de juifs exterminés. Parmi les leaders ukrainiens qui prêtèrent main forte aux assassins nazis, il y avait un certain Stepan Bandera, chef de l’Organisation des nationalistes ukrainiens (OUN) ralliée à Hitler en 1941 dans l’espoir d’obtenir un Etat Ukrainien indépendant. 80 ans après, il faut savoir qu’en Ukraine toute figure historique qui a revendiqué l’indépendance est mythifiée quels que soient ses crimes. C’est le cas pour Symon Petlioura, leader d’une éphémère république d’Ukraine en 1917 et dont le règne fut marqué par une multitude de pogroms. Petlioura a ses rues et ses statues. Quant à Stepan Bandera, une marche aux flambeaux organisée par le parti Secteur Droit et d’autres courants de la droite nationaliste, s’est tenue en son hommage dans le centre de Kiev début janvier, à la date anniversaire de sa naissance. Lui aussi a sa statue à Lviv, la ville la plus européenne d’Ukraine. Et Bandera reste statufié dans de nombreux cœurs ukrainiens. Un silence gêné s’instaure dans la discussion quand on rappelle ses forfaits. « Il a été arrêté par Hitler » oppose-t-on alors. Certes, mais libéré deux ans plus tard dans l’espoir que Bandera et ses hommes freineraient l’avancée de l’Armée rouge.

Les Soviétiques ! A ces mots, c’est la collision des tragédies. Le souvenir de « l’Holodomor », l’extermination par la faim décidée par Staline en 1932 et 1933 pour liquider la paysannerie ukrainienne, reste une mémoire vive avec ses cinq millions de victimes. Ce cortège funèbre continue à occuper l’identité. Le président Volodymyr Zelensky, élu à une large majorité en 2019, n’a jamais fait mystère de ses origines juives. L’opinion lui demandait de s’attaquer à la corruption et d’éloigner la guerre. « On espérait qu’il préparerait l’autonomie du Donbass, explique l’historien Pierre Lorrain, auteur d’un ouvrage éclairant ‘‘L’Ukraine entre deux destins’’ (Bartillat). Mais Zelensky a été submergé par les pressions des ultra-nationalistes et celles des oligarques. »

Les fantômes du passé n’ont jamais quitté la scène ukrainienne. Leurs ombres se reflétaient dans l’œil de Vladimir Poutine, pour le plus grand plaisir de l’autocrate russe qui, à son tour, ne cesse de remonter le temps. Cet autrefois rouge et noir a pris en otage mes jeunes amis Galina, Itsvan et toute leur génération. Je lis leurs messages alors qu’aucun avion français ne se pose plus à Kiev. Trois heures de vol. Un crève-coeur.