fbpx
 
 

 

Austria, a historic bastion of the Muslim Brotherhood, has become the brotherhood’s sworn enemy



With the new anti-terrorism law, passed on Thursday by the People’s Assembly, Austria has taken the step of becoming the first European country to ban the Muslim Brotherhood.

By Atmane Tazaghart

Nothing is going well for the Muslim Brotherhood networks in Austria. In the crosshairs of the ecologist-conservative government since the Vienna attack (4 dead and 23 injured on 2 November 2020), the Islamic Brotherhood has just been blacklisted as an organisation linked to “religiously motivated crime”. Its slogans and literature are banned. Their possession or propagation is now punishable by a €4,000 fine and one month in prison.

Vienna was immediately accused by the Muslim Brotherhood and their Turkish cousins of the Millî Görüs of “feeding Islamophobia” and “multiplying attacks against Muslims”. However, Austria can hardly be accused of Islamophobia: the only country in Europe to recognise Islam as an “official religion”, it has long been one of the main strongholds of the Muslim Brotherhood and one of the financial hubs of so-called “political” Islamism on the Old Continent.

It was in Graz, capital of the province of Styria (145 kilometres south-west of Vienna) that the followers of Hassan al-Banna established their very first European networks in the mid-1960s. Youssef Nada, the occult financier of the Islamic Brotherhood, set up the first factories (production of cheese and dairy products!) of his industrial empire founded with the Brotherhood’s “war chest” in 1969. Before he migrated to neighbouring Switzerland to found the famous al-Taqwa bank.

Based in the Italian enclave of Campione, in the heart of the Swiss canton of Ticino, this Islamic bank was singled out by US investigators in the wake of the 9/11 attacks. Accused of financing terrorism, it quickly filed for bankruptcy. This allowed the Muslim Brotherhood’s “war chest” to fly to new financial centres.

As a result, Britain, which hosts the command of the Tanzim al-Dawli [International Organisation] (an occult body that federates all movements linked to the Muslim Brotherhood throughout the world), has imposed itself as the new financial stronghold of the Brotherhood in Europe.

In February 2017, Donald Trump threatened to put the International Muslim Brotherhood on the blacklist of terrorist groups. Panic-stricken, the European branches of the Brotherhood (including the ex-UOIF, the French branch of the Muslim Brotherhood), meeting in Istanbul, decided to change their names and solemnly announced their “withdrawal” from the International Organisation, whose very existence had been denied until then by the Muslim Brotherhood!

Money being the sinews of war, the financiers of the Islamist Brotherhood have discreetly initiated movements of funds aiming at taking the Muslim Brotherhood’s “war chest” out of Great Britain, to ward off possible American freezes. Their choice was Austria, and particularly Graz, where the Brotherhood has strong political and associative links. According to a confidential note quoting internal sources within the Muslim Brotherhood in Europe, it was even envisaged, at one point, to transfer the headquarters of Tanzim al-Dawli from Great Britain to Austria.

However, the flow of funds to the Styrian capital soon aroused the suspicions of Austrian investigators. This was the starting point of a long battle that led, two years later, to the banning of the Islamic Brotherhood.

On the orders of the Graz public prosecutor and the Styrian Office for the Protection of the Constitution, a vast investigation was launched: code name “Operation Luxor”. It lasted nearly two years and covered four provinces (Styria, Vienna, Carinthia and Lower Austria). About sixty entities (associations, mosques, socio-cultural clubs, shops, etc.) were targeted. And after 21,000 hours of wiretapping and 1.2 million images, the prosecutor decided to close this gigantic investigation and drew up a list of 70 Muslim brothers suspected of “links with a terrorist organisation, financing of terrorism and money laundering”. A major raid was decided. It was to take place on the morning of 3 November 2020. But the day before, Vienna was – as if by chance – hit by a jihadist attack!

The information about this raid leaked to the press. The public immediately saw this correlation as a cause and effect. Especially since the Graz public prosecutor revealed that his investigation had led to the freezing of more than 20 million euros of dirty money. And that an “Enemies List” of personalities opposed to political Islam was seized during the searches!

So much so that the day after the attack, the Minister of the Interior, Karl Nehammer, promised to attack “the roots of political Islam”. In the wake of the attack, the Minister of Integration, the ecologist Susanne Raab, announced the creation of a “Documentation Centre on Political Islam” charged with closely monitoring the Muslim Brotherhood. And when a new anti-terrorism law was tabled before the People’s Assembly (federal parliament) on 16 December, Austrian Chancellor Sebastian Kurz announced that the aim of this law would be to “affirm the will to fight political Islam”.

Indeed, after a long legislative process, the new anti-terrorism law was adopted on Thursday 8 July. It offers the authorities wider prerogatives in the field of surveillance and control of extremist groups. But its strongest provision is the inclusion of the Muslim Brotherhood on the blacklist of “extremist groups linked to religiously motivated crime”.

The Brotherhood’s name is added to four other Islamist organisations on this blacklist since last November: ISIS, al-Qaeda, Hamas and the armed wing of Hezbollah. The political wing of Hezbollah was then added in May to the blacklist, which also includes three other nationalist organisations: the Kurdish PKK, the Turkish Grey Wolves (also banned in France and Germany) and the Croatian fascist movement Ustasha.

According to the provisions of this new anti-terrorism law, any possession or dissemination of slogans or documents that glorify the groups on the blacklist will be punished by a €4,000 fine and/or a one-month prison sentence. In the event of a repeat offence, the sentence could be as high as a €10,000 fine and six months in prison.

This Austrian strategy of “banning symbols” is more effective than simply banning groups or associations, which are immediately reconstituted under new names. According to the Minister of the Interior, Karl Nehammer, more than 27,000 offences have been recorded since it was introduced in the wake of the November 2020 attack. Extending it to the Muslim Brotherhood is the hardest blow ever dealt to the Brotherhood in Europe.

fbpx
 
 

 

L’Autriche, bastion historique des Frères musulmans devenu l’ennemi juré de la Confrérie



Avec la nouvelle loi antiterroriste, adoptée jeudi par l’Assemblée du Peuple, l’Autriche a franchi le pas et devient le premier pays européen à interdire les Frères musulmans,

Par Atmane Tazaghart

Rien ne va plus pour les réseaux Frères musulmans en Autriche. Dans le collimateur du gouvernement écolo-conservateur, depuis l’attentat de Vienne (4 morts et 23 blessés, le 2 novembre 2020), la Confrérie islamiste vient d’être inscrite sur la liste noire des organisations liées à la « criminalité à motivation religieuse ». Ses slogans et sa littérature sont frappés d’interdiction. Leur détention ou propagation est désormais passible de 4000€ d’amende et un mois de prison.

Vienne est aussitôt accusée par les Frères musulmans et leurs cousins turcs des Millî Görüs d’« alimenter l’islamophobie » et de « multiplier les attaques contre les musulmans ». Pourtant, l’Autriche est difficilement accusable d’islamophobie : seul pays d’Europe à reconnaitre l’islam comme « religion officielle », elle a longtemps été l’un des principaux fiefs des Frères musulmans et l’une des plaques tournantes financières de l’islamisme dit « politique » sur le Vieux Continent.

C’est à Graz, capitale de la province de Styrie (145 kilomètres au sud-ouest de Vienne) que les adeptes de Hassan al-Banna ont implanté leurs tous premiers réseaux européens, au milieu des années 1960. Youssef Nada, le financier occulte de la Confrérie islamiste, y a implanté, en 1969, les premières usines (production de fromages et de produits laitiers !), de son empire industriel fondé avec le « trésor de guerre » de la Confrérie. Avant qu’il ne migre vers la Suisse voisine, pour y fonder la fameuse banque al-Taqwa.

Basée dans l’enclave italienne de Campione, en plein cœur du canton Suisse du Tessin, cette banque islamique a été épinglée par les enquêteurs américains, au lendemain des attaques du 11 septembre 2001. Accusée de financement du terrorisme, elle s’est empressée de se mettre en faillite. Ce qui a permis au « trésor de guerre » des Frères musulmans de s’envoler vers de nouvelles places financières.

De ce fait, la Grande Bretagne, qui accueille le commandement de du Tanzim al-Dawli [Organisation internationale] (Instance occulte qui fédère tous le mouvements liés aux Frères musulmans à travers le monde), s’est imposée comme le nouveau fief financier de la Confrérie en Europe.

En février 2017, Donald Trump menace d’inscrire l’organisation Internationale des Frères musulmans sur la liste noire des groupes terroristes. Prises de panique, les branches européennes de la Confrérie (dont l’ex-UOIF, la filiale tricolore des Frères musulmans), réunies à Istanbul, decident de changer de noms et annoncent solennellement leur « retrait » de l’Organisation internationale, dont l’existence même était niée jusque-là par les Frères musulmans !

L’argent étant le nerf de la guerre, les financiers de Confrérie islamiste ont discrètement initié des mouvements de fonds visant à sortir le « trésor de guerre » Frères-musulman de Grande Bretagne, pour parer à d’éventuels gels américains. Leur choix se porte, alors, sur l’Autriche et tout particulièrement Graz, où la Confrérie dispose de solides relais politiques et associatifs. Selon une note confidentielle citant des sources internes au sein Frères musulmans en Europe, il fut même envisagé, à un moment, de transférer le siège du Tanzim al-Dawli de la Grande Bretagne vers l’Autriche.

Cependant, les mouvements de fonds qui ont déferlé sur la capitale de la Styrie ne tardèrent pas à éveiller les soupçons des enquêteurs autrichiens. Et ce fut le point de départ d’un long bras de fer qui aboutira, deux ans plus tard, à l’interdiction de la Confrérie islamiste.

Sur ordre du procureur général de Graz et du Bureau de Protection de la Constitution de la Styrie, une vaste investigation est lancée : nom de code « opération Luxor ». Elle durera près de deux ans et s’étendra à quatre provinces (Styrie, Vienne, Carinthie et basse Autriche). Une soixantaine d’entités (associations, mosquées, clubs socio-culturels, commerces…etc) sont visées. Et au bout de 21 mille heures d’écoutes et 1,2 millions d’images de filature, le procureur décide de clore cette gigantesque enquête et dresse une liste de 70 personnalités frères-musulmanes soupçonnées de « liens avec une organisation terroriste, financement du terrorisme et blanchiment d’argent ». Une grande rafle est décidée. Elle devait avoir lieu au matin du 3 novembre 2020. Mais, la veille, Vienne est – comme par hasard – frappée par un attentat djihadiste !

L’information à propos de cette rafle fuite dans la presse. Et l’opinion voit aussitôt dans cette corrélation un lien de cause à effet. D’autant plus que le procureur général de Graz a révélé, dans la foulée, que son enquête avait permis de geler plus de 20 millions d’euros d’argent sale. Et qu’une « Ennemies List » de personnalités opposées à l’Islam politique a été saisie pendant les perquisitions !

Tant et si bien qu’au lendemain de l’attentat, le ministre de l’Intérieur, Karl Nehammer, promet de s’attaquer « aux racines de l’Islam politique ». Dans la foulée, la ministre de l’intégration, l’écologiste Susanne Raab, annonce la création d’un « Centre de documentation sur l’Islam politique » chargé de surveiller de près la mouvance Frères-musulmane. Et lorsqu’une nouvelle loi antiterroriste est déposée devant l’Assemblée du Peuple (parlement fédéral), le 16 décembre dernier, le chancelier autrichien Sebastian Kurz annonce que cette loi aura pour objectif d’« affirmer la volonté d’en découdre avec l’islam politique ».

En effet, au terme d’un long processus législatif, la nouvelle loi antiterroriste est adopté, jeudi 8 juillet. Elle offre aux autorités de plus larges prérogatives dans le domaine de la surveillance et du contrôle des milieux extrémistes. Mais sa disposition la plus forte est l’inscription des Frères musulmans sur la liste noire des « groupes extrémistes liés à la criminalité à motivation religieuse ».

Le nom de la Confrérie s’ajoute ainsi à quatre autres organisations islamistes inscrites sur cette liste noire, depuis novembre dernier : Daech, al-Qaida, le Hamas et l’aile armée du Hezbollah. L’aile politique du Hezbollah a ensuite été ajoutée, en mai dernier, à cette liste noire qui comporte aussi trois d’autres organisations de tendance nationaliste : le PKK kurde, les Loups Gris turcs (interdits aussi en France et en Allemagne) et le mouvement fasciste croate Ustasha.

Selon les dispositions de cette nouvelle loi antiterroriste, toute détention ou propagation de slogans ou de documents faisant l’apologie des groupes inscrits sur la liste noire sera puni d’une amende de 4.000€ et/ou d’une peine d’emprisonnement d’un mois. Et en cas de récidive, les condamnations pourront aller jusqu’à 10.000€ d’amende et six mois de prison.

Plus judicieuse que le simple fait de prononcer l’interdiction de groupes ou d’associations, qui se reconstituent aussitôt sous de nouveaux intitulés, cette stratégie autrichienne dite de « l’interdiction des symboles » s’avère très efficaces. Plus de 27 milles infractions ont été constatées, selon le ministre de l’intérieur Karl Nehammer, depuis sa mise en place, au lendemain de l’attentat de novembre 2020. Le fait de l’étendre aux Frères musulmans est le coup le plus dur jamais porté à la Confrérie en Europe.