fbpx
 
 

 

The feminist revolt rocks the Mullahs’ regime



Emmanuel Razavi (*)

In Iran, feminist demands are at the root of the popular mobilisation against the Mullahs’ regime. By removing or burning their veils in public, Iranian women are showing their opposition to an ageing and worn-out theocracy. As the first victims of oppression, they know better than anyone the extent to which the Islamic Republic has made this object one of its ideological pillars, relegating women de facto to the rank of inferior beings.
Thus, while in France, neo-feminists suggest that the veil is a marker of freedom and emancipation for Muslim women, in Iran, young girls are arrested, raped and killed because they refuse to wear it.

There is in fact something Orwellian, not to say inept, both sociologically and politically, in the posture of these French far-left activists who deny the deadly reality of this piece of cloth, whether it takes the form of a hijab or a chador.

We can never remind you enough that in 1979, the Ayatollah Khomeini took power by relying on the networks of the Iranian extreme left. You have to have lived through that period to remember that his best allies were the activists of the Islamo-Marxist organisation of the People’s Mujahedin. As in France, the latter held a revolutionary discourse tinged with progressivism and even feminism, seeing Islamism as a means to win their democratic revolution.

Their theories, however, were not successful. For if they had some influence at the beginning of the revolution, the People’s Mujahideen were then persecuted and their cadres imprisoned, executed or forced into exile.

In this sense, what is happening in Iran should serve as a lesson to those who think that Islamism can be dealt with.

Freer women under the old regime

It is important to emphasise how brave the Iranian women are who are fighting for their rights by freeing themselves from the veil. For this ideological banner has made them the defenceless prey of militiamen who harass them and beat them to death if they wear it the wrong way.

It is not by chance that the young Mahsa Amini, murdered by the morality police, has become a symbol of freedom. Her death reveals the gaping divide that remains between Iranian youth who aspire to modernity and the retrograde regime of the mullahs, which is totally out of step with their aspirations.

However, Iranian women have not always been mistreated by the Iranian authorities, and their condition has changed considerably over the years. As pillars of the home, they traditionally had a significant influence in the family ecosystem. But it was from 1935 onwards that everything really started to change. Inspired by Mustafa Kemal, Reza Shah Pahlavi banned the wearing of veils in public at that time. In 1936, he reformed the national education system, putting boys and girls on an equal footing and allowing girls to attend university.

In the early 1960s, his heir, Mohamed Reza Shah, gave them the right to vote. They were then able to engage in politics, some of them reaching public office.

In the years that followed, the miniskirt appeared on the streets of Tehran or Isfahan, and it was not uncommon to see young girls in bikinis on the beaches of the Caspian Sea. This was a period of emancipation for Iranian women in which Empress Farah Diba played an important role.

Then all these achievements were shattered with the arrival in power of the Islamists, who had nevertheless launched appeals to women, as early as 1978, to join them and demonstrate against the excesses of the monarchy. These calls, which had a mobilising echo in left-wing intellectual circles and the middle class, undoubtedly signalled the beginning of the end of freedoms for Iranian women. Probably none of them imagined that a religious dictatorship would be established and that it would deprive them of their fundamental rights.

Thus, as soon as Khomeini came to power, the veil became compulsory again and the age of marriage was lowered from 18 to 9 for girls. Iran entered a long period of darkness that continues to this day.

Will Iranian women bring down the Islamist regime?

Every popular protest movement takes place in a particular social and political context. Iran, which is facing an economic crisis of unprecedented gravity since the arrival of the Mullahs to power, with inflation at 60%, is no exception to the rule. More than half of its population lives below the poverty line and millions of families struggle to feed themselves. The corruption of the Revolutionary Guards, who control nearly 80% of the economy, has brought the country to a standstill. Finally, between the senseless construction of numerous dams, the poor state of the wastewater treatment network, intensive farming and global warming, several provinces are now facing serious water stress, making access to drinking water and electricity increasingly difficult.

It is therefore clear that the demands of Iranians go far beyond the sole condition of women, even if the assassination of Mahsa Amini is the trigger for the revolt movement that began on 16 September, and women are its first heroes.

At the time of writing, it can be said that apart from the regime’s loyalists, who remain in the minority, not one socio-cultural category has escaped this anti-violent tidal wave. For in a country with 83 million inhabitants, half of whom are under thirty years old, the majority of the population is at the end of its tether.

For Iranians, whatever their condition, saying no to the veil and getting involved in supporting women means opposing a regime that they consider ultra-violent, corrupt and worn out.

Will the revolt of Iranian feminists cause it to falter? It is difficult to say, but one thing is certain: a fundamental movement, driven by women and young people in search of freedom, is sweeping Iran. A movement with which almost all Iranians identify. The Iranian actress Golshifteh Farahani summed it up perfectly: “The biggest struggle for equal rights between men and women is now taking place in Iran. Women can simply die for having uncovered hair”. So it is a universal struggle that is being played out in the land of the Mullahs. And no matter how much the government shuts down the internet and bloodily suppresses demonstrations as it has done in the past to quell protest, it has already lost the generational battle.

fbpx
 
 

Pour une lecture optimale, téléchargez gratuitement l'Appli GWA pour tablettes et smartphones

 

La révolte féministe fait vaciller le régime des mollahs !

14 décembre 2022 Expertises   11986  

Emmanuel Razavi

En Iran, les revendications féministes sont à l’origine de la mobilisation populaire contre le régime des mollahs. En retirant ou brûlant leur voile en public, les Iraniennes marquent leur opposition à une théocratie vieillissante et usée. Premières victimes de l’oppression, elles savent mieux que personne à quel point la République islamique a fait de cette étoffe l’un de ses piliers idéologiques, reléguant de facto la femme au rang d’être inférieur.

Ainsi, alors qu’en France, les néo-féministes laissent entendre que le voile serait un marqueur de liberté et d’émancipation de la femme musulmane, en Iran, des jeunes filles sont arrêtées, violées et tuées parce qu’elles refusent de porter ce fichu… fichu !

Il y a en fait quelque chose d’orwellien, pour ne pas dire d’inepte tant sur le plan sociologique que politique, dans la posture de ces militantes françaises d’extrême gauche qui nient la réalité mortifère de ce morceau de tissu, qu’il ait la forme d’un hijab ou d’un tchador.

On ne rappellera jamais assez qu’en 1979, l’Ayatollah Khomeini a pris le pouvoir en s’appuyant sur les réseaux de l’extrême gauche iranienne. Il faut avoir vécu cette époque pour se souvenir que ses meilleurs alliés furent les activistes de l’organisation islamo-marxiste des moudjahidines du peuple. Comme en France, ces derniers tenaient un discours révolutionnaire teinté de progressisme et même de féminisme, voyant dans l’islamisme un moyen de faire gagner leur révolution démocratique.

Leurs théories ont cependant fait long feu. Car s’ils ont eu un peu d’influence au début de la révolution, les moudjahidines du peuple furent ensuite persécutés et leurs cadres emprisonnés, exécutés ou contraints à l’exil.

En ce sens, ce qui se passe en Iran doit servir de leçon à ceux qui pensent que l’on peut composer avec l’islamisme.

Des femmes plus libres sous l’ancien régime

Il faut souligner à quel point les Iraniennes qui luttent pour leurs droits en se libérant de leur voile sont courageuses. Car cet étendard idéologique a fait d’elles les proies sans défense de miliciens qui les harcèlent et les tabassent à mort pour peu qu’elles le portent de travers.

Ce n’est donc pas par hasard si la jeune Mahsa Amini, assassinée par la police des mœurs, est devenue un symbole de la liberté. Car sa mort révèle la fracture béante qui demeure entre une jeunesse iranienne qui aspire à la modernité et le régime rétrograde des mollahs, totalement dépassé par les aspirations de celle-ci.

Toutefois, les femmes iraniennes n’ont pas toujours été maltraitées par les pouvoirs publics iraniens ; leur condition a même connu de nombreuses évolutions en fonction des périodes. Piliers de la maison, elles jouissaient traditionnellement d’une influence importante dans l’écosystème familial. Mais c’est à partir de 1935 que tout a vraiment commencé à changer. S’inspirant de Mustafa Kemal, Reza Shah Pahlavi interdit à cette époque le port du voile en public. En 1936, il procéda à une réforme de l’Éducation nationale en mettant sur un pied d’égalité les garçons et les filles, pour permettre à celles-ci de poursuivre des études universitaires.

Au début des années 60, son héritier, Mohamed Reza Shah, leur donna le droit de vote. Elles purent alors s’engager en politique, certaines accédant à des fonctions publiques.

Dans les années qui ont suivi, la minijupe a fait son apparition dans les rues de Téhéran ou d’Ispahan, et il n’était pas rare de voir des jeunes filles en bikini sur les plages de la mer Caspienne. Cette période fut celle d’une certaine émancipation des femmes iraniennes dans laquelle l’Impératrice Farah Diba joua un rôle important.

Puis, tous ces acquis ont volé en éclat avec l’arrivée au pouvoir des islamistes qui avaient pourtant lancé des appels aux femmes, dès 1978, afin qu’elles s’engagent à leurs côtés et manifestent contre les dérives de la monarchie. Ces appels, qui eurent un écho mobilisateur dans les milieux intellectuels de gauche et la classe moyenne, signèrent sans aucun doute le début de la fin des libertés pour les Iraniennes. Il est probable qu’aucune d’entre elles n’imaginait alors qu’une dictature religieuse serait instaurée et qu’elle les priverait de leurs droits fondamentaux.

Ainsi, dès l’accession de Khomeini au pouvoir, le voile redevint obligatoire et l’âge du mariage fut abaissé de 18 à 9 ans pour les filles. L’Iran entrait alors dans une longue période de ténèbres qui perdure encore.

Les Iraniennes feront-elles tomber le régime islamiste ?

Tout mouvement de contestation populaire intervient dans un contexte social et politique particulier. L’Iran, qui fait face à une crise économique d’une gravité sans précédent depuis l’arrivée au pouvoir des mollahs, avec une inflation de 60%, n’échappe pas à la règle. Plus de la moitié de sa population vit sous le seuil de pauvreté et des millions de familles peinent à se nourrir. La corruption des Gardiens de la Révolution qui ont la main mise sur près de 80% de l’économie, a conduit le pays à l’enlisement. Enfin, entre la construction insensée de nombreux barrages, le mauvais état du réseau de traitement des eaux usées, les cultures intensives et le réchauffement climatique, plusieurs provinces font aujourd’hui face à un stress hydrique important qui rend l’accès à l’eau potable et à l’électricité de plus en plus difficile.

Dès lors, on doit comprendre que les revendications des Iraniens vont bien au-delà de la seule condition des femmes, même si l’assassinat de Mahsa Amini est le déclencheur du mouvement de révolte commencé le 16 septembre dernier et que les femmes en sont les premières héroïnes.

À l’heure où ces lignes sont écrites, l’on peut ainsi affirmer qu’en dehors des fidèles du régime qui demeurent minoritaires, pas une catégorie socio-culturelle n’échappe à ce raz-de-marée antivoile. Car dans un pays qui compte 83 millions d’habitants et dont la moitié a moins de trente ans, la majeure partie de la population est à bout de souffle.

Pour les Iraniens, quelles que soient leurs conditions, dire non au voile et s’engager à soutenir les femmes, c’est s’opposer à un régime qu’ils jugent ultra-violent, corrompu et usé.

La révolte des féministes iraniennes le fera-t-elle pour autant vaciller ? S’il est difficile de l’affirmer, une chose est certaine : un mouvement de fond, porté par les femmes et une jeunesse en quête de liberté, traverse l’Iran. Un mouvement auquel presque tous les Iraniens s’identifient. L’actrice iranienne Golshifteh Farahani l’a parfaitement résumé : « le plus gros combat de résistance pour des droits égaux entre les hommes et les femmes se déroule maintenant en Iran. Les femmes peuvent tout simplement mourir pour avoir des cheveux non couverts ». C’est donc un combat universel qui se joue au pays des mollahs. Et le gouvernement aura beau couper Internet et réprimer dans le sang les manifestations comme il l’a fait par le passé pour mater la contestation, il a d’ores et déjà perdu la bataille générationnelle.