Interpol rejects Turkish arrest warrant for ex-Palestinian preventive security chief Mohammed Dahlan



In a letter dated August 22, 2020, issued by its “Notices and Diffusions Task Force”, the General Secretariat of Interpol informed its National Central Bureaus (NCBs) in all member countries of the organization of its decision on the rejection of the Turkish request to issue an international arrest warrant (Interpol red notice) against the former head of Palestinian “Preventive Security”, Mohammed Dahlan.

The rejection comes less than 24 hours after the August 21 diffusion of a request from Interpol’s NCB in Ankara against Dahlan, who currently resides in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, accusing him of carrying out spy activities targeting residents of Egyptian and Palestinian nationalities in Turkish territory.

In its letter addressed to all Interpol NCBs around the world, the “Notices and Diffusions Task Force” informed of the decision rendered by the Interpol General Secretariat rejecting the request made by Turkey, because of its Non-compliance with article 3 of the Interpol’s constitution. According to the letter from the “Notices and Diffusions Task Force”, the General Secretariat informed Ankara’s NCB that “no police cooperation via Interpol‘s channels in this case can take place”.

The letter specifies, moreover, that “all the information in relation to Mr. Dahlan has been deleted from Interpol databases”, that “the General Secretariat will not take any action concerning the IPCQ message circulated on 21/8/2020 by NCB Ankara”, that “no communication or police cooperation in this case can take place via Interpol’s channels” and that “all member countries [are requested] to update their national databases accordingly”.

As a reminder, Turkey first tried, in December 2019, to issue an international arrest warrant against Mohammed Dahlan, accusing him at the time of having participated in the putsch attempt of July 15, 2016 in Turkey, in collaboration with the Hizmet movement of the Turkish opponent exiled in the United States, Fethullah Gulen.

Interpol rejette le mandat d’arrêt turc contre l’ex chef de la sécurité préventive palestinienne Mohammed Dahlan



Dans un courrier daté du 22 août 2020, émis par sa « Notices and Diffusions Task Force », le  Secrétariat Général d’Interpol a informé ses Bureaux Centraux Nationaux (NCBs) dans tous les pays membres de l’organisation de sa décision portant sur le rejet de la demande turque d’émettre un mandat d’arrêt international (notice rouge d’Interpol) à l’encontre de l’ancien chef de la « Sécurité préventive » palestinienne, Mohammed Dahlan.

Ce rejet intervient moins de 24 heures après la diffusion, le 21 août, d’une demande émanant du NCB d’Interpol à Ankara, à l’encontre de Dahlan, qui réside actuellement à Abou Dabi, aux Emirats Arabes Unis, l’accusant de mener des activités d’espionnage visant des résidents de nationalités égyptienne et palestinienne sur le territoire turc.

Dans son courrier adressé à tous les NCBs d’Interpol à travers le monde, la « Notices and Diffusions Task Force » fait part de la décision rendue par le Secrétariat Général d’Interpol rejetant la demande émise par la Turquie, en raison de sa « non conformité avec l’article 3 de la constitution d’Interpol ». Selon le courrier de la « Notices and Diffusions Task Force », le Secrétariat Général a informé le NCB d’Ankara qu’« aucune coopération policière via les canaux d’Interpol ne doit avoir lieu dans cette affaire ».

Le courrier précise, par ailleurs, que « toutes les informations concernant M. Dahlan ont été supprimées des bases de données d’Interpol », que « le Secrétariat Général ne donnera aucune suite au message IPCQ émis le 21/08/2020 par le NCB d’Ankara », qu’« aucune communication ou coopération policière ne doit avoir lieu dans cette affaire via les canaux d’Interpol » et que « tous les pays membres [doivent] mettre à jour leurs bases de données nationales à cet effet ».

A rappeler que la Turquie avait déjà tenté une première fois, en décembre 2019, d’émettre un mandat d’arrêt international contre Mohammed Dahlan, l’accusant, à l’époque d’avoir participé à la tentative de coup d’État du 15 juillet 2016 en Turquie, en collaboration avec le mouvement Hizmet de l’opposant turc exilé aux Etats Unis, Fethullah Gulen.