The (not very) Syrian refugees from the Sorbonne!



A university scholarship programme, funded by Qatar in 2015, was to give about 100 Syrian refugee students the opportunity to continue their studies at the prestigious Sorbonne University. Three years later, the overwhelming majority of Syrian students were expelled from this programme under conditions considered by some to be “arbitrary and discriminatory”. At the same time, the nature and objectives of the program has changed, opening up to refugees of other nationalities, or even to students who would not even be refugees!

On 23 May 2019, Adil Sahban, a lawyer at the Paris Bar, submitted a request to the administrative court of the capital, seriously implicating the University of Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne. He defends the Yazan Alhussain’s interests, a Syrian refugee student born in Damascus in 1991. The facts can be summarized as follows: Qatar signed a partnership with this university on 14 September 2015. The Emirate, represented by Ali Bin Fetais al Marri, the Attorney General, has pledged €1.8 million over three years to support 111 Syrian refugee students.
Yazan Alhussain, who holds a university degree in mechanics and electromechanics obtained in his country, is only given a grant of 350 euros per month, which is very insufficient to live in Paris, especially since he does not have university housing. In addition, this allowance is very quickly withdrawn. On the other hand, he notes that the allocation of housing and scholarships is arbitrary.
In other words, students who are neither Syrians nor refugees are taking advantage of this manna paid by Qatar! Another Syrian refugee student, whom we met twice in Paris, told us the same story. Mr Adil Sahban claims 25,000 euros from the university, in particular for the stress and damage caused to Yazan Alhussain’s living conditions.
The least we can say is that the University of Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne is not rushing to give explanations. The latter, after three weeks of the process, simply acknowledged that 72% of the scholarship recipients (and not 100%) were Syrian, as the integration criteria would have “slightly changed and the programme should have been open to refugee students of other nationalities”. This “openness” seems, however, to go far beyond this: the case of a Saudi student, who most probably does not have refugee status, and who would have obtained both housing and a scholarship of 1,000 euros, without even having to travel to school!

Les réfugiés (pas très) syriens de la Sorbonne !



Un programme de bourses universitaires, financé par le Qatar en 2015, devait donner à une centaine d’étudiants réfugiés syriens l’occasion de poursuivre leurs études à la prestigieuse université de la Sorbonne. Trois ans plus tard, l’écrasante majorité des étudiants syriens a été éjectée de ce programme, dans des conditions jugées par certains d’entre eux comme « arbitraires et discriminatoires ». En parallèle, le programme a changé de nature et d’objectifs, en s’ouvrant à des réfugiés d’autres nationalités, voir à des étudiants qui ne seraient même pas réfugiés !

Maître Adil Sahban, avocat au barreau de Paris, a adressé le 23 mai 2019 une requête au tribunal administratif de la capitale, mettant gravement en cause l’université Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne. Il défend les intérêts de Yazan Alhussain, un étudiant réfugié syrien, né à Damas en 1991. Les faits peuvent se résumer ainsi : le Qatar signe le 14 septembre 2015 un partenariat avec cette université. L’émirat, représenté par Ali Bin Fetais al Marri, le procureur général, s’engage à verser, sur trois ans, 1,8 million d’euros afin de prendre en charge 111 étudiants réfugiés syriens.
Yazan Alhussain, titulaire d’un diplôme universitaire en mécanique et électromécanique obtenu dans son pays, ne se voit octroyer qu’une bourse de 350 euros par mois, très insuffisante pour vivre à Paris, d’autant qu’il ne bénéficie pas d’un logement universitaire. De plus, cette allocation lui est très rapidement retirée. En revanche, il constate que les attributions de logements et de bourses se font de manière arbitraire.
En clair, des étudiants qui ne sont ni syriens ni réfugiés profitent de cette manne versée par le Qatar ! Un autre étudiant réfugié syrien, rencontré à deux reprises à Paris, nous a relaté les mêmes faits. Maître Adil Sahban réclame à l’université 25.000 euros, notamment pour le stress et l’atteinte aux conditions d’existence de Yazan Alhussain.
Le moins que l’on puisse constater, c’est que l’université Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne ne se bouscule pas pour donner des explications. Celle-ci, après trois semaines de démarche, a simplement reconnu que 72 % des bénéficiaires des bourses (et non pas 100 %) étaient syriens, car les critères d’intégration auraient « légèrement évolué et le programme a dû s’ouvrir à des étudiants réfugiés d’autres nationalités ». Cette « ouverture » semble, cependant, aller bien au-delà : en témoigne le cas d’un étudiant saoudien, qui n’a très vraisemblablement pas le statut de réfugié, et qui aurait obtenu à la fois un logement et une bourse de 1.000 euros, sans même avoir à se déplacer en cours !