fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones

 

The wife of the Qatari Emir’s cousin, sentenced to 25 years in prison, denounces the regime

22 May 2019 News   44406  

For months Qatar denied that members of the ruling family were imprisoned. The wife of Amir Tamim bin Hamad al-Thani’s own cousin has just testified in Geneva before the UN.

By Ian Hamel

The gas Emirate has handed over an old practice that was thought to be forgotten: that of punishing the whole family of the convicted person. Talal Abdulaziz al-Thani, born on 22 August 1968, is the Emir’s cousin. In 2007, he married Asma Arian, a German of Moroccan origin. The two have four children. On Talal’s passport, under the heading “occupation”, it is specified that he is a “member of the ruling family”. We can imagine that he is immensely rich. However, he has been languishing in a cell since 2013 for “debts”. A crime that earned him a 25-year prison sentence last year. His wife, aged 38, took the opportunity of a session of the Human Rights Council at the United Nations in Geneva (6-17 May 2019) to denounce not only the imprisonment of her husband without serious reason, but also to reveal that she and her four children have also been repressed.

They found themselves overnight in an unhealthy shack, without air conditioning, on the outskirts of Doha. Without any means of transport to take the children to school. Without money to pay lawyers to defend her husband. And above all, without the advantages that automatically benefit all those who hold Qatari nationality. “We were denied everything for five years. We were humiliated. I had no choice but to flee Qatar,” she explains. Last year, she managed to leave the country with her four children to join her family in Germany. “But I am threatened and I live under the protection of the German police,” she asserts.
Talal’s imprisonment was revealed in October 2017 in the international press, but Doha resolutely denied it. At that time, there were not one but about twenty members of the al-Thani family imprisoned. Their crimes? Not belonging to the right branch of the al-Thani. Talal’s grandfather, Ahmad bin Ali al-Thani, father of independence, was overthrown in 1972 by his cousin Khalifa bin Hamed al-Thani, the grandfather of the current Emir. Since the break-up of diplomatic relations between Qatar and its neighbours, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, and Egypt, the Emirate has used any pretext (debts or drug trafficking) to throw in jail those among the members of the princely family who are suspected of being able to make deals with “the enemy”. According to his relatives, the extremely heavy penalty imposed on Prince Talal is justified, in fact, by his hostility to the support that the Qatari authorities bring to the movement of the Muslim Brotherhood.
The Human Rights Council Working Group on the Universal Periodic Review considered the situation of 14 States, including Qatar, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, North Korea, Brunei and Equatorial Guinea. Countries where democracy is not the main characteristic. Once again, the Emirate was criticised for its treatment of foreign workers. He has also been accused of supporting media that propagate “hatred and violence”, and, in other words, of not putting much energy into combating terrorism.

L’épouse du cousin de l’émir du Qatar, condamné à 25 ans de prison, dénonce le régime



Pendant des mois le Qatar a nié que des membres de la famille régnante étaient emprisonnés. L’épouse du propre cousin de l’émir Tamim ben Hamad al-Thani vient de témoigner à Genève devant l’ONU.

Par Ian Hamel

L’émirat gazier a remis une pratique ancienne que l’on croyait oubliée, celle de punir toute la famille du condamné. Talal Abdulaziz al-Thani, né le 22 août 1968, est le cousin de l’émir. Il s’est marié en 2007 avec Asma Arian, une Allemande d’origine marocaine. Ils ont quatre enfants. Sur le passeport de Talal , sous la rubrique « occupation », il est précisé qu’il est « member of the ruling family ». On peut imaginer qu’il est immensément riche. Pourtant, il croupit dans une cellule depuis 2013 pour « dettes ». Un délit qui lui a valu l’année dernière une condamnation à vingt-cinq ans de prison. Son épouse, âgée de 38 ans, a profité d’une session du Conseil des droits de l’homme à l’ONU à Genève (du 6 au 17 mai 2019) pour dénoncer non seulement l’incarcération de son mari sans motif sérieux, mais aussi pour révéler qu’elle et ses quatre enfants ont aussi été réprimés.
Du jour au lendemain, ils se sont retrouvés dans un baraquement insalubre, sans climatisation, à la périphérie de Doha. Sans moyen de locomotion pour emmener les enfants à l’école. Sans argent pour payer des avocats pour défendre son mari. Et surtout, sans les avantages dont bénéficient automatiquement tous ceux qui possèdent la nationalité qatarie. « Pendant cinq ans, on nous a tout refusé. On nous a humilié. Je n’ai pas eu d’autres choix que de m’enfuir du Qatar », explique-t-elle. L’année dernière, elle est parvenue à quitter le pays avec ses quatre enfants, pour rejoindre sa famille établie en Allemagne. « Mais je suis menacé et je vis sous la protection de la police allemande », assure-t-elle.
L’emprisonnement de Talal avait été révélé en octobre 2017 dans la presse internationale, mais Doha démentait avec la plus grande énergie. A cette époque, il n’y avait pas un mais une vingtaine de membres de la famille al-Thani emprisonnés. Leurs crimes ? Ne pas appartenir à la bonne branche des al-Thani. Le grand-père de Talal, Ahmad ben Ali al-Thani, père de l’indépendance, a été renversé en 1972 par son cousin Khalifa ben Hamed al-Thani, le grand-père de l’actuel émir. Depuis la rupture des relations diplomatiques entre le Qatar et ses voisins, l’Arabie saoudite, les Émirats arabes unis, Bahreïn, et l’Égypte, l’émirat utilise n’importe quel prétexte (dettes ou trafic de drogue) pour embastiller ceux parmi les membres de la famille princière qui sont soupçonnés de pouvoir pactiser avec « l’ennemi ». Selon ses proches, la sanction extrêmement lourde prononcée à l’encontre du prince Talal se justifie, en réalité, par son hostilité au soutien des autorités qataries apportent au mouvement des Frères musulmans.
Le groupe de travail du Conseil des droits de l’homme en charge de l’examen périodique universel examinait la situation de 14 États, dont le Qatar, la République démocratique du Congo, la Corée du Nord, Brunei, la Guinée équatoriale. Des pays dont la démocratie n’est pas la principale caractéristique. Une nouvelle fois l’émirat a été épinglé concernant le traitement réservé aux travailleurs étrangers. Il lui a également été reproché de soutenir des médias qui propagent « la haine et la violence », et ,à mots couverts, de ne pas mettre beaucoup d’entrain pour combattre le terrorisme.