fbpx
 
 

 

Tariq Ramadan’s European Muslim Network: The end of an empty shell



On his website, Tariq Ramadan still recalls today that he is president of the European Muslim Network (EMN) in Brussels, a think tank and action group created in October 2009.

By Ian Hamel, in Brussels

This group of experts affirms that it “Ensures a substantial contribution through the interaction between Europe and Muslim organizations in the field of the constantly evolving debates concerning Islam in Europe”, and that it is designed to “provide spaces for meeting and of dialogues to all Muslim and non-Muslim organizations, NGOs, active groups and decision-makers ”.

Clearly, the EMN would be the privileged interlocutor of the European Union, for all that touches Islam and the Muslims. But in reality, this structure, far from having a militant action on the ground, has never been more than a false nose of the Swiss preacher, gathering around him only his close guard. In particular the sociologist Malika Hamidi, specialist in “Muslim feminism”! Director of EMN from its inception, at the end of August 2017, she published the book Un féminisme musulman, et pourquoi pas ?, Prefaced by Alain Gresh, former editor-in-chief of Le Monde Diplomatique, with Éditions de l’Aube. In this book, she emotionally thanks “Professor Tariq Ramadan”. Bad luck for her, the ardent defender of women was indicted a few weeks later for two rapes.

These complaints immediately sparked major upheaval within the European Muslim Network. The association is organizing in disaster, on November 24, 2017, an Extraordinary General Assembly to organize the election of a new board of directors, the transfer of the registered office and the modification of the statutes.

Tariq Ramadan manages to get re-elected. But it brings about the end of the mandate of the administrator and general manager Malika Hamidi (in office since 2009), the end of the mandate of Vice-President Nazar Mahmoud and the end of the mandate of the treasurer, Vaux Sarah. Terminations that are more akin to resignations. Especially since the EMN decides to no longer appoint a managing director and “no longer include the appointment of a treasurer in the statutes”. Lack of candidates? Clearly, the false nose of Tariq Ramadan has become an empty shell, which has since had the sole occupation of shouting at the innocence of the preacher and denouncing the plot fomented against him by a necessarily “Islamophobic” France!

L’European Muslim Network de Tariq Ramadan : la fin d’une coquille vide !



Sur son site internet, Tariq Ramadan rappelle encore aujourd’hui qu’il est président d’European Muslim Network (EMN) à Bruxelles, un groupe de réflexion et d’action créé en octobre 2009.

Par Ian Hamel, à Bruxelles

Ce groupe d’experts affirme qu’il « assure une contribution substantielle à travers l’interaction entre l’Europe et les organisations musulmanes sur le terrain des débats, en constante évolution, concernant l’islam en Europe », et qu’il est conçu pour « offrir des espaces de rencontre et de dialogues à toutes les organisations, ONG, groupes actifs et décideurs musulmans et non musulmans ».

En clair, l’EMN serait l’interlocuteur privilégier de l’Union européenne, pour tout ce qui touche l’islam et les musulmans. Mais dans les faits, cette structure, loin d’avoir une action militante sur le terrain, n’a jamais été qu’un faux nez du prédicateur suisse, ne réunissant autour de lui que sa garde rapprochée. Notamment la sociologue Malika Hamidi, spécialiste du « féminisme musulman » ! Directrice d’EMN dès sa création, elle publie fin août 2017 l’ouvrage Un féminisme musulman, et pourquoi pas ?, préfacé par Alain Gresh, ancien rédacteur en chef du Monde diplomatique, aux éditions de l’aube. Dans ce livre, elle remercie avec émotion « le professeur Tariq Ramadan ». Manque de chance pour elle, l’ardent défenseur des femmes est mis en examen, quelques semaines plus tard, pour deux viols.

Ces plaintes ont aussitôt provoqué d’importants bouleversements au sein de l’European Muslim Network. L’association organise en catastrophe, le 24 novembre 2017, une Assemblée générale extraordinaire afin d’organiser l’élection d’un nouveau conseil d’administration, le transfert du siège social et la modification des statuts.

Tariq Ramadan parvient à se faire réélire. Mais il provoque la fin du mandat de l’administrateur et directrice générale Malika Hamidi (en poste depuis 2009), la fin du mandat du vice-président Nazar Mahmoud et la fin du mandat de la trésorière, Vaux Sarah. Des fins de mandats qui s’apparentent davantage à des démissions. D’autant que l’EMN décide de ne plus nommer de directeur général et de « ne plus reprendre la nomination d’un trésorier dans les statuts ». Faute de candidats ? En clair, le faux nez de Tariq Ramadan est devenu une coquille vide, qui n’a eu, depuis, comme unique occupation que de crier à l’innocence du prédicateur et de dénoncer le complot fomenté contre lui par une France forcément « islamophobe » !