France: Covid and the communitarian virus!



atmane tazaghart (*)

It represents a very small card in the jungle of administrative recommendations issued in France on the occasion of deconfinement, but it is a huge step in the fight against communitarianism. This three-page document issued by the Ministry of National Education, under the title of “Coronavirus and the risk of communitarian withdrawal”, is at once unprecedentedly clear-sighted on the complexity of the “spectrum of radical ideas of communitarianism”, on the “techniques and ways of proceeding” of the various “radical groups” carrying out “anti-democratic and anti-republican” projects and on the “conduct to be adopted” to thwart the “separatist” aims of such groups, whether they are “communitarian, authoritarian or unequal”.

 

At first glance, the link between Covid and communitarian withdrawal may not seem obvious. However, the document notes that “various radical groups are exploiting this dramatic situation in order to gain new members and to disrupt public order”. To do so, these groups attempt to “exploit the pandemic as an apocalyptic omen” and to “stir the fears up”, describing the emergence of Covid-19 as a “punishment sent by God on whomever He wills”. In so doing, they want to promote a “vengeful satisfaction”, by exploiting the effects of this health disaster “on the customary mode of revenge”, which is part of a “Manichaean vision of the world,” opposing “the believers and the non-believers”.

To counter such intentions, the document recommends, first of all, to foil the trap of “semantic shifts” between “community” and “communitarianism”. While recalling that “communities in France are ancient and express social ties” and that “belonging to a community, or even several communities, is a positive, even essential link for the construction of a person’s identity and the development of the individual’s values”. It defines communitarianism as “a drift opposed to the republican ideal, which gives primacy to group rules over the universalist and integrating French republican law” and which therefore constitutes “a threat to social cohesion”.

Of course, the “speeches and signs of communitarian withdrawal”, which the document calls for identifying and combating at school, are not limited to the Islamist dimension alone. The document recommends “taking into account the whole spectrum of radical ideas of communitarianism”, stressing that the communitarian drift can be “ethnic, religious, cultural, social, political, mystical…”.

However, Islamism – which is a drift of Islam, just as communitarianism stems from community belonging – takes the lion’s share in the picture where the document describes the “techniques and ways of proceeding” of communitarian radicality: Deliberately generating confusions and antagonisms (Islam/Islamism, community/communitarianism, identity/nationality, religion/secularity, etc.); Exploiting the pandemic as an apocalyptic omen; Participating in a Manichaean vision of the world (good and bad scientists, believers and the non-believers, etc.); Criticising all discourses of authority, especially scientific ones, and at the same time using them to discredit discourses that are hostile to their theses. And, mother of all communitarian battles, to advocate, “the primacy of the rules of the group [community] over the republican law”.

Yet the “extremist groups” guilty of such practices are not only the Salafi-jihadists who advocate violence and the clash of civilisations, but also – and above all – the so-called moderate Islamists, of which the Muslim Brotherhood is the head office. For, while claiming pacifism and the “happy medium”, the latter nourish communitarian withdrawal and use victimising subterfuges to disseminate a “cultural relativism”, synonymous with the primacy of the community (of believers) over the Republic, of the law of Allah over that of mankind.

 


Read the original document from the French Ministry of National Education


 

As bizarre as it may seem, this is indeed the first time that an official French document considers Islamist radicalism other than through the spectrum of violence. For the first time, through this document from the Ministry of National Education, the government discourse seems to have integrated the idea that extremism cannot be defined by the sole and reductive notion of violence/non-violence. That currents claiming to be pacifist must be perceived and treated as “extremist groups” when they carry “anti-democratic and anti-republican political projects” or “counter-projects of society that undermine the values of the republican pact”.

It’s a small card for national education, a big step for secularism!

France : Covid et le virus communautariste !



atmane tazaghart (*)

C’est une toute petite fiche dans la jungle des recommandations administratives émises en France, à l’occasion du déconfinement, mais elle constitue un énorme pas dans la lutte contre le communautarisme. Ce document de trois pages émis par le ministère de l’éducation nationale, sous l’intitulé de « Coronavirus et risque de replis communautaristes », est d’une clairvoyance inédite, à la fois, sur la complexité du « spectre des idées radicales du communautarisme », sur les « techniques et manières de procéder » des différents « groupes radicaux » porteurs de projets « anti-démocratiques et antirépublicains » et sur les « conduites à tenir » pour contrecarrer les visées « séparatistes » de tels groupes, qu’ils soient « communautaires, autoritaires ou inégalitaires ».

 

De premier abord, le lien entre le Covid et le repli communautariste peut ne pas sembler évident. Mais, le document relève que « divers groupes radicaux exploitent cette situation dramatique dans le but de rallier à leur cause de nouveaux membres et de troubler l’ordre public ». Pour ce faire, les groupes en question tentent d’« exploiter la pandémie comme un présage apocalyptique » et d’« attiser les peurs », en qualifiant l’émergence du Covid-19 de
« châtiment envoyé par Dieu sur qui Il veut ». Ils veulent, ainsi, promouvoir une « satisfaction vengeresse », en exploitant les effets de ce désastre sanitaire « sur le mode coutumier de la vengeance », qui participe d’une « vision manichéenne du monde » opposant « les croyants et les impies ».

Pour parer à de telles desseins, le document recommande en premier lieu de déjouer le piège des « glissements sémantiques » entre « communauté » et « communautarisme ». Tout en rappelant que « les communautés en France sont anciennes et expriment le lien social » et que « l’appartenance à une communauté, voire à plusieurs communautés, est un lien positif, voire essentiel pour la construction de l’identité de la personne et le développement des valeurs de l’individu », il définit le communautarisme comme étant « une dérive opposée à l’idéal républicain, qui donne la primauté des règles du groupe sur la loi républicaine française universaliste et intégratrice » et qui constitue de ce fait « une menace pour la cohésion sociale ».

Bien entendu, « les discours et les signes de replis communautaristes », que le document appelle à identifier et à combattre à l’école, ne se limitent pas à la seule dimension islamiste. Le document recommande de « prendre en compte l’intégralité du spectre des idées radicales du communautarisme », en soulignant que la dérive communautariste peut être « ethnique, religieuse, culturelle, sociale, politique, mystique… »

Cependant, l’islamisme – qui est une dérive de l’islam, tout comme le communautarisme est une dérive de l’appartenance communautaire – tient la part du lion dans le tableau que le document dresse des « techniques et manières de procéder » des radicalités communautaristes : Engendrer volontairement des confusions et des antagonismes (islam/islamisme, communauté/communautarisme, identité/nationalité, religion/laïcité…) ; Exploiter la pandémie comme un présage apocalyptique ; Participer à une vision manichéenne du monde (les bons scientifiques et les mauvais, les croyants et les impies etc.) ; Critiquer tous les discours d’autorité, notamment scientifiques, et en même temps de s’en servir pour discréditer les discours qui sont hostiles à leurs thèses. Et, mère de toutes les batailles communautaristes, prôner « la primauté des règles du groupe [communauté] sur la loi républicaine ».

Or, les « groupes extrémistes » coupables de telles pratiques ne sont pas seulement les salafo-djihadistes qui prônent la violence et le clash des civilisations, mais aussi – et surtout – les prétendus « islamistes modérés », dont les Frères musulmans constituent la maison-mère. Car, tout en se revendiquant du pacifisme et du « juste milieu », ces derniers nourrissent le repli communautariste et usent de subterfuges victimaires pour distiller un « relativisme culturel », synonyme de la primauté de la communauté (des croyants) sur la République, de la loi d’Allah sur celle des Hommes.

 


Lire le document original du ministère français de l’éducation nationale


 

Aussi étrange que cela puisse paraître, c’est bien la première fois qu’un document officiel français envisage la radicalité islamiste autrement qu’à travers le spectre de la violence. Pour la première fois, à travers ce document du ministère de l’éducation nationale, le discours gouvernemental semble avoir intégré l’idée que l’extrémisme ne peut se définir par la seule et réductrice notion de la violence / non-violence. Que des courants se revendiquant du pacifisme doivent être perçus et traités comme des « groupes extrémistes », quand ils sont porteurs de « projet politique anti-démocratique et antirépublicain » ou de « contre-projets de société qui portent atteintes aux valeurs du pacte républicain ».

C’est une petite fiche pour l’éducation nationale, un grand pas pour la laïcité !