fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones

 

Médine Case: When the French far left justifies the unjustifiable

30 August 2023 Expertises   18118  

Emmanuel Razavi

The rapper Médine, who has been accused of anti-Semitism, was the guest of honour at summer conference of ‘‘Europe Ecologie Les Verts (EELV) and ‘‘La France Insoumise’’ (LFI). An invitation that speaks volumes about the state of intellectual and moral decay of the French radical left.

At the end of August, the Albi public prosecutor’s office issued a summons to the rapper Médine for broadcasting a video in which he threw darts at the photos of two elected representatives from the Tarn region, the mayor of Lavaur Bernard Carayon (LR) and the MP Frédéric Cabrolier (RN). You could say that the singer has been more inspired in the past, but no. This was never the case. But that was never the case.

In a message posted a few days earlier on the social network X, he had already attacked essayist Rachel Khan, the granddaughter of deportees, infamously calling her “resKHANpée”. An insult that he said he regretted a few days later, denying any form of anti-Semitism.

Médine is a habitual provocateur, a recidivist of anathema who never shies away from abjection. Incapable of composing the slightest melody, his “hits” consist of nothing but belches and exhausting borborygmus. No matter how hard you look for an audible track in his repertoire, there isn’t one. Médine is not a rapper, he’s just a barker. Listening to him, you think that his lack of artistic disposition should have disqualified him long ago from any stage, radio or television exposure.

Lack of talent is not a crime, of course, but it can still lead to one. One wonders whether his inability to create has simply led him to play the communitarian scum, simply to be able to exist on the media scene.

The case of Médine is in fact the revelation of a whole mechanism which has been undermining our humanist values for years. It’s a mechanism made up of crass stupidity that absolves anti-Semitism and Islamism in the name of artistic freedom of expression but is in fact nothing more than a cover for the intellectual collapse of the french far left.

The word of the scoundrel has as much impact as that of the philosopher

The most important thing is not Médine. After all, he’s just a “petty thug” who plays at being a poet by surfing on communitarianism. The most important thing is that, from Médiapart to the executives of EELV and LFI who invited him to their summer days, some people are still trying to understand what drives him, what he really wants to say.

In other times, Médine would simply have been banned from radio, television and concert halls. No elected official would have compromised himself by debating with him, and only the courts would have dealt with him. But these are ‘‘times when the words of the scoundrel have at least as much impact as those of the philosopher’’.

And it is in this respect that the Médine affair should appeal to us. It is symbolic of the degradation of thought, a metaphor for a world where relativism has taken precedence over notions of respect, humanity and reflection.

A society in which it is acceptable for a political party and the media to give pride of place to a rascal like Médine no longer responds to any transcendence. In fact, it’s a society that has become hostage to stupidity and intellectual inconsistency, in which one word is worth another. Médine understands this perfectly well. He has made it his trademark, moving from insult to repentance with disconcerting ease.

Of course, it would be foolish to believe that our contemporaries are fooled by this deception. On the contrary. However, when political figures from EELV and LFI, like Jean-Luc Mélenchon and Mathilde Panot, become the sounding board for abjection, “relativising” anti-Semitism and homophobia, while at the same time disqualifying any form of criticism of Médine, what room for protest remains?

When an elected representative of the French Republic, Martine Tondelier, explains that she wants to make up her own mind about Médine, even though his comments have been well documented, and when a major newspaper like Mediapart relays his bogus mea culpa almost fervently, what are we to think?

Have the political and media elites of the radical left become so incapable of discernment that Médine’s anti-Semitic excesses lead them to temporise rather than condemn? We have to ask ourselves this question. Because freedom of expression, which is necessary for democracy, cannot have racism, homophobia and anti-Semitism as its corollaries.

If we are not careful, the relativism we are facing will soon become a prelude to the erasure of all our republican and secular reference points. So, let’s stop kidding ourselves. There are people in France today who want to destroy what makes us a nation. People for whom a woman counts for less than a man, and for whom the Jews are the enemy. These people do not deserve any hint of understanding. For they are the objective allies of a new form of totalitarianism, even though they claim to speak in the name of democracy.

“War is peace”, wrote George Orwell in his prophetic novel ‘‘1984’’, in which he denounced the excesses of a tyranny that turned words into something other than what they were. Today, the disciples of the extreme left would have us believe in the same way that the rapper is a messenger of peace and the defender of oppressed minorities, at the same time as the scapegoat of the extreme right. This is as much bad faith as it is dialectical perversion and negationism.

In so doing, they justify the unjustifiable. Above all, they trample on democracy and the notion of reason.

fbpx
 
 

Pour une lecture optimale, téléchargez gratuitement l'Appli GWA pour tablettes et smartphones

 

Affaire Médine : Quand la gauche radicale française justifie l’injustifiable

30 août 2023 Expertises   18116  

Emmanuel Razavi

Accusé d’antisémitisme, le rappeur Médine était au mois d’août l’invité d’honneur des journées d’été des écologistes (EELV) et de la France Insoumise (LFI). Une invitation qui en dit long sur l’état de délabrement intellectuel et moral de la gauche radicale française.

Fin août, le parquet d’Albi adressait une convocation au rappeur Médine, pour avoir diffusé une vidéo dans laquelle il lançait des fléchettes sur les photos de deux élus du Tarn, le maire de Lavaur, Bernard Carayon (LR) et le député Frédéric Cabrolier (RN). L’on pourrait dire que l’on a connu le chanteur mieux inspiré, mais non. Car cela n’a jamais été le cas !

Dans un message posté quelques jours plus tôt sur le réseau social X, il s’en était déjà pris à l’essayiste Rachel Khan, petite-fille de déportés, l’affublant du surnom de « resKHANpée ». Une insulte qu’il a assuré regretter quelques jours plus tard, se défendant de toute forme d’antisémitisme.

Médine est un habitué des provocations, un récidiviste de l’anathème qui ne recule devant aucune abjection. Incapable de composer la moindre mélodie, ses ‘‘tubes’’ ne sont constitués que d’éructations et de borborygmes éreintants. On a beau chercher dans son répertoire un morceau qui soit audible, il n’en est aucun. Médine n’est pas un rappeur ; il n’est qu’un aboyeur. À l’écouter, on se dit que son manque de disposition artistique aurait dû le disqualifier depuis longtemps de toutes expositions scénique, radiophonique et télévisuelle.

L’absence de talent n’est pas un crime, bien sûr, mais elle peut quand même y conduire. L’on peut ainsi se demander si son inaptitude à créer ne l’a pas poussé à jouer à la racaille communautariste, simplement pour pouvoir exister sur la scène médiatique.

Le cas Médine est en fait le révélateur de tout un mécanisme qui met à mal nos valeurs humanistes depuis des années. Un processus fait de bêtise crasse qui absout l’antisémitisme et l’islamisme au nom de la liberté d’expression artistique, mais qui n’est en fait que le cache-sexe de l’affaissement intellectuel de la gauche française.

La parole du vaurien a autant de portée que celle du philosophe !

Le plus important n’est pas Médine. Après tout, il n’est qu’une ‘‘petite frappe’’ qui joue aux poètes en surfant sur le communautarisme. L’essentiel, c’est que de Mediapart aux cadres d’EELV et de LFI qui l’ont invité à leurs journées d’été, certains essayent encore de comprendre ce qui l’anime, ce qu’il veut dire vraiment.

En d’autres temps, Médine aurait simplement été interdit de radio, de télévision et de salles de concert. Pas un élu de la République ne se serait compromis en débattant avec lui et seule la justice en aurait fait son affaire. Mais nous vivons une époque où ‘‘la parole du vaurien a au moins autant de portée que celle du philosophe’’ !

Et c’est en cela que l’affaire Médine doit nous interpeller. Elle est en effet symbolique de la dégradation de la pensée, une métaphore d’un monde où le relativisme a pris le pas sur les notions de respect, d’humanité et sur la réflexion.

Une société dans laquelle on accepte qu’un parti politique et des médias mettent à l’honneur un lascar comme Médine ne répond plus à aucune transcendance. C’est une société devenue l’otage de la sottise et de l’inconsistance intellectuelle, dans laquelle une parole en vaut une autre. Médine l’a parfaitement compris. Il en a d’ailleurs fait sa marque de fabrique, passant de l’injure au repentir avec un facilité déconcertante.

Bien sûr, il serait stupide de croire que nos contemporains sont dupes de cette supercherie. Au contraire. Cependant, lorsque des figures politiques d’EELV ou de LFI comme Jean-Luc Mélenchon et Mathilde Panot se font la caisse de résonance de l’abjection, ‘‘relativisant’’ de fait l’antisémitisme et l’homophobie, tout en disqualifiant dans le même temps toute forme de critique à l’encontre d’un Médine, quelle marge de contestation reste-t-il ?

Quand une élue de la République, Martine Tondelier, explique vouloir se faire son idée sur Médine alors même que les propos de ce dernier sont largement documentés, quand un grand média comme Mediapart relaye ses mea-culpa bidons de façon quasi fervente, que doit-on penser ?

Les élites politiques et médiatiques de la gauche radicale sont-elles devenues incapables de discernement, au point que les dérapages antisémites de Médine les poussent à temporiser plutôt qu’à condamner ? Il faut se poser cette question. Car la liberté d’expression, nécessaire à la démocratie, ne peut avoir pour corollaires le racisme, l’homophobie et l’antisémitisme.

Si l’on n’y prend pas garde, le relativisme auquel nous faisons face se transformera bientôt en un prélude à l’effacement de tous nos repères républicains et laïcs. Alors, cessons de nous voiler la face. Il existe aujourd’hui en France des gens qui veulent détruire ce qui fait nation. Des gens pour lesquels une femme compte moins qu’un homme et pour lesquels les Juifs sont l’ennemi. Ces gens-là ne méritent aucune esquisse de compréhension. Car ils sont les alliés objectifs d’une nouvelle forme de totalitarisme, alors même qu’ils prétendent parler au nom de la démocratie.

« La guerre, c’est la paix », écrivait George Orwell sans son roman prophétique ‘‘1984’’, dans lequel il dénonçait les dérives d’une tyrannie qui donnait aux mots un sens inverse à leur signification. Aujourd’hui, les disciples de la gauche extrême veulent nous faire croire que ce rappeur est un messager de la paix et le défenseur des minorités opprimées, en même temps que le bouc émissaire de l’extrême droite. Tout cela tient autant de la mauvaise foi que de la perversion dialectique et du négationnisme.

En agissant ainsi, ils justifient l’injustifiable. Et surtout, ils piétinent la démocratie et la notion de raison.