fbpx
 
 

 

France: Fierce battle around the “Catholic vote”



Practising Catholics represent barely 10% of the French electorate. Nevertheless, they are the object of all the covetousness in the race for the presidential elections next April. Although they do not weigh much in quantitative terms, their positioning – on the border between a traditional right-wing, which is stagnating in opinion, and a national and identity-based right-wing, which is making strong progress – makes them a pivotal segment of the electorate around which the balance of power between the three right-wing and far-right candidates will be articulated. Thus, unless there is a surprise from a left that is more divided than ever, it is on the basis of the orientations of the Catholic vote that the decision will be made as to which of Valérie Pécresse, Marine Le Pen or Eric Zemmour will reach the second round of the presidential election.

The specificities of the practising Catholic vote

Like the French as a whole, practising Catholics are becoming more right-wing. They are found at higher levels than the national average for three of the dominant motivations of the moment among the French as a whole, which are politically marked on the right: 77% of practising Catholics (compared to 73% of the French) are motivated by the fight against insecurity and delinquency; 76% (compared to 69% of the French) by the fight against terrorism; 64% (compared to 56% of the French) by the fight against illegal immigration.

On the other hand, Catholic voters are less motivated by three other themes that are predominant among the French as a whole, which are politically marked on the left: only 61% of Catholic voters (compared to 70% of the French) are motivated by raising salaries and purchasing power; 49% (compared to 51% of the French) are interested in protecting the environment and fighting climate change; 44% (compared to 48% of the French) are mobilised for the defence of secularism.

In addition to this conservative trend, linked to the overall right-wing trend in the French electorate, there are factors specific to practising Catholics. These are reflected in an exacerbation of identity-related phobias. Thus, 50% of Catholics (59% of regular voters / 43% of occasional voters) consider the defence of the traditional family as a determining factor in their vote. Worse still, 61% of Catholics (74% of regular churchgoers / 51% of occasional churchgoers) place the defence of France’s culture and Christian roots higher than the fight against racism, anti-Semitism and discrimination (46%) or the fight against community and identity-based withdrawal (43%).

This resurgence of identity-based phobias has its roots in the trauma of certain terrorist attacks, such as the slaughter of Father Hamel in Saint-Étienne-du-Rouvray or the attack on the Basilica in Nice. It is also deliberately fed, as Jérôme Fourquet explains (see page 8), by the “civilisational fibre” of the Christians of the East, used by certain candidates to send a subliminal message to French Catholics suggesting that the fate of the Christians of the East would be a foreshadowing of what could happen to them in France within the framework of a civilisational conflict!

No, Zemmour is not favoured by Catholics!

Despite the considerable efforts he has been making for months to win over practising Catholics (over-mediatised trip to Armenia, over-the-top dramatization of his installation of a nativity scene at Christmas, fierce defence of traditional values and the Catholic identity of France, etc.), Eric Zemmour has not achieved the lightning breakthrough he was hoping for among the Catholic electorate: the polemicist has only won over 15% of them!

This modest score is explained by the shock caused by some of his outrages on Pétain and other dark episodes of French history, but above all on migrants, whom he rejects and stigmatises, whereas Pope Francis recommends adopting “behaviours of humanity and generosity” towards them.

The French Bishops’ Conference even published, at the beginning of January, a booklet entitled L’espérance ne déçoit pas(Read page 10), warning Catholic voters against “fear [which] is always a bad advisor”, recommending them to “make sure that no one takes sides with the humanitarian tragedies that are constantly taking place before our eyes or a few miles from our shores

Another important fact is that among Catholics, as for the French as a whole, Zemmour’s electorate has the same profile: mostly male, active, between 35 and 49 years old, belonging to the higher socio-professional categories. However, this profile is far from being the majority among practising Catholics!


Macron-Pécresse: a duel by proxy

 Emmanuel Macron and Valérie Pécresse are neck and neck among practising Catholics. They each account for a quarter of this electorate, with a bonus for Pécresse (26%) among regular churchgoers, who are more conservative, and for Macron among occasional churchgoers (28%), more sensitive to liberal ideas.

This deceptive equality is actually the result of a clear downgrading of the candidate of the traditional right among the Catholic electorate. It is essentially a collateral damage of the emergence of the Zemmour phenomenon: Pécresse received 25% of the Catholic vote, against 46% for the LR candidate, François Fillon, in 2017. That is to say a 21% drop. However, 15% of these votes lost by the LR candidate are captured by Zemmour. When Emmanuel Macron (19% in the first round in 2017) only increases by 6% and Marine Le Pen (15% in 2017) only gets 3% more.

This is why, in order to move the lines between Macron and Pécresse, it will not be so much the direct capture of Catholic votes that will be decisive. But rather a duel by proxy, arbitrated by the national and/or identity-based right.

If Pécresse resists Zemmour’s and Le Pen’s attacks on her Catholic electorate, she will be able to reach the second round, provided that she manages to gather more of the centre-right.

On the other hand, if the LR candidate does not manage to stop the siphoning of her Catholic votes by the national right and/or the identarian right, a “bearish logic” will be set in motion. This will not be limited to the accentuation of the diversion of conservative fringes of the Catholic electorate from the traditional right to the benefit of the national and/or identity-based right. It will also give rise to a logic of useful vote in favour of Macron among the current Catholic supporters of Pécresse.

fbpx
 
 

Pour une lecture optimale, téléchargez gratuitement l'Appli GWA pour tablettes et smartphones

 

France : bataille acharnée autour du ‘‘vote Catho’’

21 février 2022 News   6895  

Les catholiques pratiquants représentent à peine 10% de l’électorat français. Il n’empêche qu’ils font l’objet de toutes les convoitises, dans la course à la présidentielle d’avril prochain. Bien qu’ils ne pèsent pas grand-chose sur le plan quantitatif, leur positionnement – à la frontière d’une droite traditionnelle qui stagne dans l’opinion, et de la droite nationale et identitaire, en forte progression – en fait un segment charnière de l’électorat autour duquel s’articuleront les rapports de forces entre les 3 candidats de la droite et de l’extrême droite. Ainsi, à moins d’une surprise venant d’une gauche plus que jamais divisée, c’est en fonction des orientations du vote catholique que se décidera qui de Valérie Pécresse, Marine Le Pen ou Éric Zemmour accèdera au second tour de la présidentielle.

Les spécificités du vote catholique pratiquant

À l’instar de l’ensemble des Français, les électeurs catholiques pratiquants se droitisent. On les retrouve à des niveaux supérieurs à la moyenne nationale sur trois des motivations dominantes du moment chez l’ensemble des Français, qui sont politiquement marquées à droite : 77% des catholiques pratiquants (contre 73% des Français) sont motivés par la lutte contre l’insécurité et la délinquance ; 76% (contre 69% des Français) par la lutte contre le terrorisme ; 64% (contre 56% des Français) par la lutte contre l’immigration clandestine.

En revanche, les électeurs catholiques sont moins motivés par trois autres thématiques prédominantes chez l’ensemble des Français, qui sont politiquement marquées à gauche : 61% seulement des électeurs catholiques (contre 70% des Français) sont motivés par le relèvement des salaires et du pouvoir d’achat ; 49% (contre 51% des Français) s’intéressent à la protection de l’environnement et à la lutte contre le dérèglement climatique ; 44% (contre 48% des Français) sont mobilisés pour la défense de la laïcité.

À cette tendance conservatrice, liée à la droitisation globale de l’électorat français, s’additionnent des facteurs spécifiques aux catholiques pratiquants. Ceux-ci se traduisent par une exacerbation des phobies identitaires. Ainsi, 50% des catholiques (59% des pratiquants réguliers / 43% des occasionnels) considèrent la défense de la famille traditionnelle comme un facteur déterminant de leur vote. Pis encore, 61% des catholiques (74% des pratiquants réguliers / 51% des occasionnels) placent la défense de la culture et des racines chrétiennes de la France à des niveaux plus hauts que la lutte contre le racisme, l’antisémitisme et les discriminations (46%) ou la lutte contre les replis communautaires et identitaires (43%).

Cette recrudescence des phobies identitaires trouve ses racines dans les traumatismes subis lors de certaines attaques terroristes, comme l’égorgement Père Hamel, à Saint-Étienne-du-Rouvray, ou l’attentat de la Basilique de Nice. Elle est aussi nourrie à dessein, comme l’explique Jérôme Fourquet (Lire page 8), par la ‘‘fibre civilisationnelle’’ des Chrétiens d’Orient, utilisée par certains candidats pour envoyer un message subliminal aux catholiques français, en suggérant que le sort des Chrétiens d’Orient serait une onde de préfiguration de ce qui pourrait leur arriver en France dans le cadre d’un conflit de civilisation !

Non, Zemmour n’est pas plébiscité par les Catholiques !

Malgré les efforts considérables qu’il déploie depuis des mois pour séduire les catholiques pratiquants (voyage sur-médiatisé en Arménie, théâtralisation surjouée de l’installation d’une crèche à Noël, défense acharnée des valeurs traditionnelles et de l’identité catholique de la France…), Éric Zemmour n’a pas obtenu la percée fulgurante qu’il espérait au sein de l’électorat catholique : le polémiste n’en a séduit que 15% !

Un modeste score qui s’explique par le choc provoqué par certaines de ses outrances sur Pétain et d’autres épisodes sombres de l’Histoire de France, mais surtout sur les migrants qu’il rejette et stigmatise, alors que le pape Françoisrecommande d’adopter à leur l’égard des « comportements d’humanité et de générosité ».

La Conférence des évêques de France a même édité, début janvier, un livret intitulé L’espérance ne déçoit pas (Lire page 10), mettant en garde les électeurs catholiques contre « la peur [qui] est toujours mauvaise conseillère », leur recommandant de « veiller à ce que personne ne prenne son parti des drames humanitaires qui se produisent constamment sous nos yeux ou à quelques encablures de nos côtes ».

Autre fait important, chez les catholiques, comme pour l’ensemble des Français, l’électorat Zemmour a le même profil : majoritairement masculin, actif, de 35 à 49 ans, appartenant aux catégories socio-professionnelles supérieures. Or, ce profil est loin d’être majoritaire chez les catholiques pratiquants !


Macron-Pécresse : un duel par procuration

 Emmanuel Macron et Valérie Pécresse sont au coude-à-coude chez les électeurs catholiques pratiquants. Ils comptabilisent chacun un quart de cet électorat, avec un bonus pour Pécresse (26%) chez les pratiquants réguliers, qui sont plus conservateurs, et pour Macron chez les pratiquants occasionnels (28%), davantage sensibles aux idées libérales.

Cette égalité en trompe-l’œil résulte, en réalité, d’une nette décote de la candidate de la droite traditionnelle au sein de l’électorat catholique. Elle est, pour l’essentiel, un dommage collatéral de l’émergence du phénomène Zemmour : Pécresse recueille 25% des votes catholiques, contre 46% pour le candidat LR, François Fillon, en 2017. Soit un recul de 21%. Or, 15% de ces voix perdues par la candidate LR sont captés par Zemmour. Quand Emmanuel Macron (19% au premier tour en 2017) ne progresse que de 6% et Marine Le Pen (15% en 2017) n’obtient que 3% de plus.

Raison pour laquelle, pour faire bouger les lignes entre Macron et Pécresse, les captations directes de voix catholiques ne seront pas si déterminantes. Il s’agira plutôt d’un duel par procuration, arbitré par la droite nationale et/ou identitaire.

Deux cas de figure à la clé : Si Pécresse résiste aux assauts de Zemmour et Le Pen sur son électorat catholique, elle sera en mesure d’accéder au second tour, pour peu qu’elle parvienne à rassembler davantage au centre-droit.

Par contre, si la candidate LR ne parvient pas à stopper le siphonnage de ses voix catholiques par la droite nationale et / ou identitaire, s’enclenchera alors une ‘‘logique baissière’’. Celle-ci ne se limitera pas à l’accentuation du détournement de franges conservatrices de l’électorat catholique de la droite traditionnelle au profit de la droite nationale et / ou identitaire. Elle donnera également naissance à une logique de vote utile au profit de Macron parmi les soutiens catholiques actuels de Pécresse.