fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones

 

20 years after the assassination of Commander Massoud: Open letter to President Emmanuel Macron

9 September 2021 Expertises   16025  

Jean Marie Montali
Jean Marie Montali

Dear Mr. President,
Let’s not abandon Afghanistan again!
At the end of November 1998, three years before his trip to Europe, Commander Massoud, entrenched in northern Afghanistan, besieged on all sides by the Pakistan-backed Taliban, wrote me a long text.
Five pages in which he explained the dramatic situation in his country, the yoke that women were under, the danger that the Taliban represented for the whole world, the threat of Al-Qaeda, the urgency of helping it. He also denounced Pakistan’s role in the war. All these accusations and warnings were repeated, almost word for word, in April 2001 before the European Parliament.

“Once again, he wrote, the Afghan people are on the front line against terrorism, against drugs, against those who deny human rights”. On the front line, and alone: “World public opinion has forgotten us. I don’t understand. This war will soon be your war”.

Commander Massoud was not mistaken: from 1996 to 2001, the Taliban dictatorship was that of the most retrograde and barbaric religious fanaticism in the recent history of our poor world, which, however, has seen others. The Afghanistan of the Taliban was the kingdom of the absurd and the caliphate of murder.

We are told that the Taliban of today are – perhaps – not those of yesterday, that time has passed and men have changed.

It’s true, men have changed. But opposing the Taliban is not opposing people, it is opposing a religious fanaticism, which none of these new Taliban have renounced. Today, as in the past, the Taliban obey only this one doctrine that rejects everything we are, with our ideals of humanism and freedom.

We have paid the price of this rabid sectarianism. The price of blood, in Paris, in Nice, in Strasbourg, in Saint-Etienne-du Rouvray. In New York, in Madrid, in London, in Brussels, in Tunis. Elsewhere. Everywhere. No one is safe. We know this well, as the trial of the attacks of 13 November 2015 has begun in France. Massoud was right: this war is now our war.

Since August, the son of Commander Massoud has been entrenched in the Panshir valley, besieged on all sides by the Taliban. This should touch our French consciences. For in the past, we too, like him and like his father before him, were able to say no. No to the Occupation, no to the war. No to the Occupation, no to the arbitrary laws, no to the discrimination, no to the deportations, no to the roundups and shootings in the cesspools, no to the silence and the vegetative passivity, no to the defeat and the humiliation of heads bowed under raised arms. A resistance then embodied by General de Gaulle, for whom Commander Massoud had a deep admiration.

It is this “NO” that resounds today in the Panshir valley, carried by the young Ahmad Massoud, conscious of fighting for what his father finally left him: the taste of freedom. Freedom for all. And for all.

Mr President, the role of an observer is easy. He does not have to make decisions that are a burden on his soul. You do.

Of course, the conscience of an individual or a nation probably carries little weight in the face of the reason of state and commercial interests.

On the one hand, the weight of a few hundred thousand Afghan lives that nobody cares about. On the other, the weight of gold, gas, oil, copper, zinc, lithium, arms sales and trade contracts…

But is the greatness of a nation only measured in billions of euros or billions of dollars?

Are our ideals just dead ideas, as dead as the more than two million Afghans killed since 1979? Concepts empty of meaning, energy, ambition, electioneering gimmicks?

Were our 89 soldiers killed and our 700 wounded crushed for that, for nothing?

Will we abandon Ahmad Massoud as we abandoned his father?

Will we remain deaf to the immense distress of Afghans, deaf to the protests of Afghan women who are standing up to the Taliban throughout the country?

Will we let Pakistan enslave a country whose only fault is that it is its neighbour? Will we accept a government in Kabul in the pay of Islamabad?

The Taliban, as you know, as everyone knows, have nothing to do with Afghan culture and history. They are the Afghan mercenaries of Pakistan.

France is not a country like any other. It is an idea, a state of mind. It is a promise. Or rather a triple promise: of Liberty, of Equality, of Fraternity. Fraternity towards those who share our ideals. Ahmad Massoud is one of them.

You are the heir to this triple promise. I don’t know what it takes to honour it, but the answer may lie in this letter written in 1998 by Commander Massoud. He concluded with this:

And what the world can do to help us stop this human tragedy can be summed up in just two points:

  • emergency humanitarian aid to the Afghan people;
  • and press for an end to Pakistani interference.

I am sure that I am not betraying Ahmad Massoud by endorsing his father’s demands today. I am also sure that I am not betraying the ideals of France or the expectations of the vast majority of French people, by hoping that the distress calls of the Afghan people will be heard and that we will support the Resistance to the Taliban. I am sure I am not betraying anyone by saying that we should stop fighting the war for the Afghans, and that we should instead support, in one way or another, the Afghans who are fighting the gravediggers of freedom.

* journalist and essayist, managing editor of Global Watch Analysis.

fbpx
 
 

 

20 ans après l’assassinat du Commandant Massoud : Lettre ouverte au Président Emmanuel Macron



Jean Marie Montali (*)

Monsieur le Président,
N’abandonnons pas, une fois de plus, l’Afghanistan !
À la fin du mois de novembre 1998, trois ans avant son voyage en Europe, le Commandant Massoud, retranché au nord de l’Afghanistan, assailli de toutes parts par les Talibans soutenus par le Pakistan, m’écrivait un long texte.
Cinq pages dans lesquelles il expliquait la situation dramatique de son pays, le joug que subissaient les femmes, le danger que représentent les Talibans pour le monde entier, la menace d’al-Qaïda, l’urgence de l’aider. Il dénonçait aussi le rôle du Pakistan dans cette guerre. Autant d’accusations et d’avertissements répétés, presque mot à mot, en avril 2001 devant le Parlement européen.

Une fois encore, écrivait-il, le peuple afghan se retrouve en première ligne contre le terrorisme, contre la drogue, contre ceux qui nient les droits de l’Homme”. En première ligne, et seul : “ L’opinion publique mondiale nous a oubliés. Je ne comprends pas. Cette guerre sera bientôt la vôtre”.

Le Commandant Massoud ne s’est pas trompé : de 1996 à 2001, la dictature des Talibans a été celle du fanatisme religieux le plus rétrograde et le plus barbare de toute l’histoire récente de notre pauvre monde qui, pourtant, en a vu d’autres. L’Afghanistan des Talibans, c’était le royaume de l’absurde et le califat du meurtre.

On nous dit que les Taliban d’aujourd’hui ne sont – peut-être – pas ceux d’hier, que le temps a passé et que les hommes ont changé.

C’est vrai, les hommes ont changé. Mais s’opposer aux Talibans, ce n’est pas s’opposer aux hommes, c’est s’opposer à un fanatisme religieux, auquel aucun de ces nouveaux Talibans n’a renoncé. Aujourd’hui comme hier, les Talibans n’obéissent qu’à cette seule doctrine qui rejette tout ce que nous sommes, avec nos idéaux d’humanisme et de liberté.

Nous avons payé le prix de ce sectarisme enragé. Le prix du sang, à Paris, à Nice, à Strasbourg, à  Saint-Etienne-du Rouvray. A New-York, à Madrid, à Londres, à Bruxelles, à Tunis. Ailleurs. Partout. Personne n’est à l’abri. Nous le savons bien, alors qu’en France a débuté le procès des attentats du 13 novembre 2015. Massoud avait raison : cette guerre est désormais la nôtre.

Depuis le mois d’août, le fils du Commandant Massoud est, à son tour, retranché dans la vallée du Panchir, assailli de toutes parts par les Talibans. Cela devrait toucher nos consciences de Français. Car autrefois, nous aussi, comme lui et comme son père avant lui, nous avons su dire non. Non à l’Occupation, non aux lois arbitraires, non aux discriminations, non aux déportations, non aux rafles et aux fusillades dans les culs-de-basse-fosse, non au silence et à la passivité végétative, non à la défaite et à l’humiliation des têtes baissées sous les bras levés. Une résistance alors incarnée par le Général de Gaulle, pour lequel le Commandant Massoud avait une profonde admiration.

C’est ce “NON” qui résonne aujourd’hui dans la vallée du Panchir, porté par le jeune Ahmad Massoud, conscient de se battre pour ce que finalement son père lui a laissé en héritage : le goût de la liberté. La liberté pour tous. Et pour toutes.

Monsieur le Président, le rôle d’un observateur est facile. Il n’a pas de décisions à prendre qui sont un poids sur l’âme. Vous, si.

Bien sûr, la conscience d’un être ou d’une Nation ne pèse sans doute pas grand-chose face à la raison d’Etat et aux enjeux commerciaux.

D’un côté, le poids de quelques centaines de milliers de vies afghanes dont tout le monde se fout. De l’autre, le poids de l’or, du gaz, du pétrole, du cuivre, du zinc, du lithium, des armes vendues et des contrats commerciaux…

Mais la grandeur d’une nation ne s’estime-t-elle qu’en milliards d’euros ou en milliards de dollars ?

Nos idéaux ne sont-ils que des idées raides crevées, aussi mortes que les plus de deux millions d’Afghans tués depuis 1979 ? Des concepts vides de sens, d’énergie, d’ambition, des attrape-gogos pour périodes électorales ?

Nos 89 soldats tués et nos 700 blessés ont-ils été broyés pour ça, pour rien ?

Abandonnerons-nous Ahmad Massoud comme nous avons abandonné son père ?

Resterons-nous sourds à l’immense détresse des Afghans, sourds aux protestations des femmes afghanes qui, partout dans le pays, se dressent face aux Talibans ?

Laisserons-nous le Pakistan asservir un pays dont le seul tort est d’être son voisin ? Accepterons-nous à Kaboul un gouvernement à la solde d’Islamabad ?

Les Talibans, vous le savez, tout le monde le sait, n’ont rien à voir avec la culture et l’histoire afghane. Ils sont les mercenaires afghans du Pakistan.

La France n’est pas un pays comme les autres. C’est une idée, un état d’esprit. C’est une promesse. Ou plutôt une triple promesse : de Liberté, d’Egalité, de Fraternité. De Fraternité envers ceux qui partagent nos idéaux. Ahmad Massoud est de ceux-là.

Vous êtes l’héritier de cette triple promesse. Je ne sais pas ce qu’il faut faire pour l’honorer, mais la réponse est peut-être dans cette lettre écrite en 1998 par le Commandant Massoud. Il la concluait ainsi :

Et ce que le monde peut faire pour nous aider à arrêter cette tragédie humaine ne tient qu’en deux seuls points :

  • une aide humanitaire d’urgence au peuple afghan ;
  • et faire pression pour l’arrêt des ingérences pakistanaises.

Je suis sûr de ne pas trahir Ahmad Massoud en faisant siennes aujourd’hui les demandes de son père. Je suis sûr également de ne pas trahir les idéaux de la France ni les attentes de l’immense majorité des Français, en espérant que les appels de détresse du peuple afghan seront entendus et que nous soutiendrons la Résistance aux Talibans. Je suis sûr de ne trahir personne en affirmant qu’il faut arrêter de faire la guerre à la place des Afghans, et que nous devrions plutôt soutenir, d’une façon ou d’une autre, les Afghans qui combattent les fossoyeurs des libertés.

* journaliste et essayiste, directeur de la rédaction de Global Watch Analysis.