fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones
UPI/Newscom/SIPA

 

76th Cannes Film Festival: The Palm of suspicion and guilt!

27 May 2023 News   6685  

At the end of a selection marked by a majority of films dealing with the duality of suspicion / guilt, the Palme d’Or at the 76th Cannes Film Festival went to ‘‘Anatomy of a Fall’’, a French family drama which dissects the mechanisms of suspicion (and the resulting guilt) weighing on a wife after the (accidental?) defenestration of her husband.

By Atmane Tazaghart and Nicolas Chene

Thus, the director Justine Triet enters the annals of the Croisette for having won the tenth French Palme d’Or and the third for women, 30 years after ‘‘The piano’’ by New Zealander Jane Campion, and two years after ‘‘Titane’’ by his compatriot Julia Ducournau, member of the Jury this year.

 


Watch the Video


 

This same theme of suspicion and guilt was present this year in several films competing for the Palme d’Or, notably in ‘‘The Pot-au-feu’’ by Tran Anh Hùng (Grand Prix), in ‘‘Monster’’ by Hirokazu Kore-eda (Best Screenplay), in ‘‘About Dry Grasses’’ by Nuri Bilge Ceylan (Best Performance by an Actress, for Merve Dizdar), in ‘‘Black Flies’’ by Jean-Stéphane Sauvaire and ‘‘Home Coming’’ by Catherine Corsini, two of the great omissions of the Winners’ list.

Already selected in competition at Cannes in 2019, for ‘‘Sybil’’, Justine Triet has stood out from the other films in competition dealing with the same theme, thanks to a very dense scenario (co-written with Arthur Harari) which mixes family psycho drama, thriller with twists and masterfully staged closed-door trial film.

fbpx
 
 

Pour une lecture optimale, téléchargez gratuitement l'Appli GWA pour tablettes et smartphones
UPI/Newscom/SIPA

 

76e festival de Cannes : la Palme de la suspicion et de la culpabilité !

27 mai 2023 News   6684  

Au terme d’une sélection marquée par une majorité de films traitant de la dualité suspicion / culpabilité, la Palme d’Or du 76ème Festival de Cannes a été remportée par ‘‘Anatomie d’une chute’’, un drame familial français qui décortique les mécanismes du soupçon (et de la culpabilité qui en découle) qui pèsent sur une épouse après la défenestration (accidentelle ?) de son mari.

Par Atmane Tazaghart et Nicolas Chene

Ainsi, la réalisatrice Justine Triet entre dans les annales de la Croisette pour avoir décroché la dixième Palme d’Or française et la troisième pour une femme, 30 ans après ‘‘La leçon de piano’’ de la Néo-Zélandaise Jane Campion, et deux après ‘‘Titane’’ de sa compatriote Julia Ducournau, membre du jury cette année.


Voir la vidéo


Cette même thématique du soupçon et de la culpabilité était présente dans plusieurs films concourant pour la Palme d’Or, notamment dans ‘‘La passion de Dodin Bouffant’’ de Tran Anh Hùng (Prix de la mise en scène), ‘‘Monster’’ de Hirokazu Kore-eda (Prix du scénario), ‘‘Les herbes sèches’’ de Nuri Bilge Ceylan (Prix d’interprétation féminine, pour Merve Dizdar), ‘‘Black Flies’’ de Jean-Stéphane Sauvaire et ‘‘Le retour’’ de Catherine Corsini, l’un des nombreux oubliés du palmarès.

Déjà retenue en compétition à Cannes en 2019, pour ‘‘Sybil’’, Justine Triet a su se démarquer des autres films traitant de la même thématique, grâce à une scénario très dense (coécrit avec son mari Arthur Harari) qui mêle drame psycho-familial, polar à rebondissements et film de procès au huis clos magistralement mis en scène.