fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones
D.R

 

Maïwenn crashes the opening of the Cannes Film Festival

17 May 2023 News   19406  

What is the most inelegant and unforgivable thing Maïwenn has done? Pulling Edwy Plenel’s hair out or plunging the opening of the 76th Cannes Film Festival with her insipid and very disappointing “Jeanne du Barry”?

By Atmane Tazaghart and Nicolas Chene

This biopic inspired by the life of Louis XV’s last favourite, whose flatness contrasts with the pomp and flamboyance of the Versailles setting, unfortunately failed to embody the complex personality of Jeanne du Barry, who was both light-hearted and non-conformist, audacious and clumsy.

 


Watch the Vidéo


 

Long before its first screening, at the opening of the Cannes Film Festival, the film was the target of fierce criticism: attacks with macarist overtones that quickly went beyond the artistic domain to attack aspects of the private life of the director – whom the film’s detractors reproached, in particular, for her “detestation of feminism” – and of its main actor, Jonny Depp – whom some would like to condemn to the gavel, ad vitam aeternam, because of marital setbacks, for which he has already given an account in court!

The film could well have overcome these criticisms, if it had been able to embody the audacious and non-conformist character of Jeanne du Barry. For, for four years, Louis XV’s last favourite shook up the heaviness of the Versailles decorum. However, by dint of looking for similarities in Jeanne de Barry’s life with her own, Maïwenn allowed herself to be carried away by a narcissistic game of mirrors which prevented the film from rising to the level of the extraordinary destiny of a woman of the people whose arrival at court upset the conventions of Versailles, bringing a breath of fresh air to the final years of a sovereign at the end of his reign, thanks to her spontaneity and her insouciance. Worse still, the film did not even grasp the tragedy of this courtesan’s destiny, sent back to her status as a commoner even before her king’s lover had given up the ghost.

Thus, the director got lost in the maze of a Versailles on which she wanted to cast a critical eye. But by reducing it to an overwhelming formalism, she inflicted on her film a heaviness that tarnished its rare festive and tedious aspects. This is why she failed to capture either the back or the front of the Versailles decor!

fbpx
 
 

Pour une lecture optimale, téléchargez gratuitement l'Appli GWA pour tablettes et smartphones
D.R

 

Maïwenn plombe l’ouverture du Festival de Cannes

17 mai 2023 News   19271  

Qu’est-ce que Maïwenn a commis de plus inélégant et d’impardonnable ? Avoir tiré les cheveux d’Edwy Plenel ou plombé l’ouverture du 76ème Festival de Cannes avec son insipide et très décevant ‘‘Jeanne du Barry’’ ?

Par Atmane Tazaghart et Nicolas Chene

Ce biopic inspiré de la vie de la dernière favorite de Louis XV, dont la platitude contraste avec le faste et la flamboyance du décor versaillais, n’est – hélas – pas parvenu à incarner la complexe personnalité de Jeanne du Barry, tout à la fois légère et anticonformiste, audacieuse et maladroite.


Voir la vidéo


Bien avant sa première projection, en ouverture du Festival de Cannes, le film a été la cible de vives critiques : des attaques aux relents maccartistes qui ont vite débordé le domaine artistique pour s’en prendre à des aspects de la vie privée de la réalisatrice – à laquelle les détracteurs du film ont notamment reproché sa ‘‘détestation du féminisme’’ – et de son acteur principal, Johnny Depp – que certains voudraient vouer aux gémonies, ad vitam aeternam, en raison de déboires conjugaux, dont il a pourtant déjà rendu compte devant les tribunaux !

Le film aurait très bien pu enjamber ces critiques, s’il avait su incarner le caractère audacieux et anticonformiste de Jeanne du Barry. Car, durant quatre ans, la dernière favorite de Louis XV a bousculé les pesanteurs du décorum versaillais. Or, à force de chercher dans la vie de Jeanne de Barry des similitudes avec son propre parcours, Maïwenn s’est laissée emporter par un jeu de miroirs narcissiques qui empêcha le film de se hisser à la hauteur du destin extraordinaire d’une femme du peuple, dont l’arrivée à la cour a bouleversé les convenances de Versailles, apportant par sa spontanéité et son insouciance une bouffée d’oxygène aux ultimes années d’un souverain en fin de règne. Pis encore, le film n’a même pas su se saisir du tragique de la destinée de cette courtisane, renvoyée à son statut de roturière avant même que son amant de roi n’ait rendu l’âme.

Ainsi, la réalisatrice s’est perdue dans les dédales d’un Versailles sur lequel elle ambitionnait de porter un regard critique. Or, en le réduisant à un formalisme écrasant, elle a infligé à son film des pesanteurs qui ont terni ses rares aspects festifs et fastidieux. Raison pour laquelle, elle n’est parvenue à capter ni l’envers ni l’endroit du décor versaillais !