fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones
D.R

 

“Fallen Leaves” by Aki Kaurismäki A burlesque and melancholy masterpiece

26 May 2023 News   795  

After a six-year absence and seventeen years of sobriety (feigned or real?), the great Finnish master of zany comedy, Aki Kaurismäki, is back in the footsteps of his famous “losers’ trilogy” (“Drifting Clouds” – 1996 , “The Man Without a Past” – 2002 , “Lights in the Dusk” – 2006). Presented in the Official Competition, his latest opus “Fallen Leaves” won the Jury Prize and dazzled the Croisette with its offbeat, minimalist aesthetic.

By Atmane Tazaghart and Nicolas Chene

In this poignant and melancholy fresco, Kaurismäki depicts – with his usual talent and deadpan humour – the shattered destiny of two outsiders desperately trying to sketch out a love story in which the burlesque vies with the tragic.

 


Watch our exclusive Video


 

In 2017, after his masterful “The Other Side of Hope” (Silver Bear at the Berlinale) – supposed to be the second part of a trilogy about migrants – he suddenly announced his retirement from the cinema, due to health problems linked to his notorious penchant for vodka.

Five years later, much to the delight of lovers of the 7th art, this hypothetical retirement was interrupted, in 2022, not to complete the “migrant trilogy”, as might have been expected, but to complete an older trilogy, that of the proletariat: “Fallen Leaves” was thus intended to be the continuation of “Shadows in Paradise” (1986) and “The Match Factory Girl” (1990).

fbpx
 
 

Pour une lecture optimale, téléchargez gratuitement l'Appli GWA pour tablettes et smartphones
D.R

 

‘‘Les feuilles mortes’’ d’Aki Kaurismäki : Une toile de maître burlesque et mélancolique

26 mai 2023 News   593  

Après six ans d’absence et dix-sept ans de sobriété (feinte ou réelle ?), le grand maître finlandais de la comédie loufoque, Aki Kaurismäki, revient sur les pas de sa célèbre ‘‘trilogie des perdants’’ (‘‘Au loin s’en vont les nuages’’ – 1996, ‘‘L’homme sans passé’’ – 2002, ‘‘Les lumières du faubourg’’ – 2006). Présenté en compétition officielle, son nouveau film ‘‘Les feuilles mortes’’ a décroché le Prix du Jury et ébloui la Croisette par son esthétique décalée et minimaliste.

Par Atmane Tazaghart et Nicolas Chene

Dans cette fresque poignante et mélancolique, Kaurismäki dépeint – avec le talent et l’humour pince-sans-rire qu’on lui connaît – le destin brisé de deux marginaux qui tentent désespérément d’esquisser une histoire d’amour où le burlesque le dispute au tragique.


Voir notre vidéo exclusive


En 2017, après son magistral ‘‘De l’autre coté de l’espoir’’ (Ours d’Argent à la Berlinale) – censé représenter le deuxième volet d’une trilogie sur les migrants, il annonce subitement sa retraite cinématographique, en raison de problèmes de santé liés à son penchant notoire pour la vodka.

Cinq ans plus tard, au grand bonheur des amateurs du 7ème art, cette hypothétique retraite est interrompue, en 2022, non pas pour parachever la ‘‘trilogie des migrants’’, comme on pouvait s’y attendre, mais pour compléter une trilogie plus ancienne, celle du prolétariat : ainsi, ‘‘Les Feuilles mortes’’ se veut le prolongement d’‘‘Ombres au paradis’’ (1986) et de ‘‘La fille aux allumettes’’ (1990).