fbpx
 
 

 

Historical truths about the “Satanic Verses” in Islam



“The Satanic Verses”, which led to Ayatollah Khomeini’s fatwa condemning Salman Rushdie to death, is a work of fiction. However, the incident evoked in this novel and from which its title is inspired, refers to a proven historical fact, mentioned both in the Koran and in the main books of the Sira, the chronicles of the life and words of the Prophet of Islam.

By Atmane Tazaghart

The incident of the “Satanic Verses”, known in Muslim historical sources as “waqi’at al-Gharaniq”, literally “The Case of the Cranes” [Cranes being very slender silver birds capable of flying at very high altitudes], is explicitly mentioned in the Koran itself (verse 53, Sura 22), in the ‘‘Hadith of Bukhari’’, one of the two main books of the Sira (Volume 6, Book 60, Hadith no. 385) and in the most eminent Muslim historians and Arab biographers of Muhammad, such as Ibn Ishaq (704-767), Tabari (839-923), Ibn Sa’d (784-845) and al-Zamakhshari (1074-1143).

This episode of the “Gharaniq” dates back to 8 BC. Fearing that the rise of the new Islamic religion would challenge their leadership of the other Arabian tribes, the leaders of Quraysh, who controlled Mecca, proposed a compromise to Muhammad: The Quraysh agreed to embrace his religion, provided he retained a role as deities to their three favourite goddesses al-Lat, al-Uzza and Manat [among 360 idols then housed in the “house of the black stone” (The Kaaba)].

After consulting with the Archangel Gabriel, Muhammad returned to the Kaaba and recited the Sura of the Star, incorporating verses referring to al-Lat, al-Uzza and Manat as “sublime ‘Gharaniq’ whose intercession with Allah is desired”.

Since the “Gharaniq” could fly at great heights, the Muhammadan metaphor suggested that al-Lat, al-Uzza and Manat could approach the throne of God and that Muslims were allowed to worship them as mediators with Allah.

Approving this compromise, the chiefs of the Quraysh prostrated themselves at Muhammad’s side as a sign of submission to Allah. However, the Prophet soon retracted his statement, officially following the reprimands of the Archangel Gabriel, reproaching him for having distorted the message he had transmitted to him from Allah. But it was also a question of cutting short the discontent of the Prophet’s first companions, who urged him to consult the Archangel Gabriel again, because they considered this compromise as a concession to the polytheism of the Quraysh and, therefore, a departure from the founding principle of Islam as a monotheistic region.

Muhammad then corrected the verses in question. And a new sura in the Koran (sura al-Hajj) clarified matters, explaining that Satan had intervened to infuse the Prophet with impure words.

Bukhari: “the pagans prostrated themselves with him”

This episode has not been obscured in any way in the Koran and the main works of Muslim tradition. Thus, in the ‘‘Hadith of Bukhari’’, a work considered by all Muslims as one of the two reference collections [the second being that of Muslim] of the Sira, the episode of the prostration of the chiefs of Quraysh, when Muhammad recited the Sura of the Star, is mentioned in these terms (Volume 6, Book 60, Hadith n°385): “Related by Ibn Abbas: the Prophet prostrated himself after reciting Surat-an-Najm [The Star, Sura 53] and all the Muslims, and the pagans and the Jinn and the human beings prostrated with him.

The Koran, Verse 52, Sura 22: “God abrogates what the devil suggests”

Bukhari does not openly mention the satanic interference that caused the non-believers to prostrate themselves with Muhammad. However, there is a verse in the Koran that explicitly relates this incident in which Satan spoke through Muhammad’s mouth. It is verse 52 of Sura 22 (Sura al-Hajj): “We sent no messenger or prophet before you who did not recite [what was revealed to him] without the devil trying to intervene [to sow doubt in the hearts of people about] his recitation. God abrogates what the devil suggests, and God strengthens His verses. God is All-Knowing and All-Wise.

Ibn Ishaq: “temporary concessions to polytheism”

In his ‘‘Life of Muhammad’’, the historian Ibn Ishaq refers to Muhammad’s “temporary concessions to polytheism”. “The prophet, he writes, was concerned about the welfare of these people (the Quraysh pagans) and sought a way to attract them. Finally, it was the leaders of the Quraysh who came to him with a proposal. They offered him women and money, and were even prepared to crown him king, if in return he agreed to their conditions. «This is what we ask of you, Muhammad: stop insulting our deities and do not speak ill of them. If you agree, we offer you a possibility that will be to your advantage and to ours.» «What is it?» asked Muhammad. «You will honour our deities, al-Lat and al-‘Uzza, for one year, and we will do the same with your God the following year. » After initially rejecting this offer, Muhammad had a revelation, saying that Muslims were allowed to worship al-Lat, al-Uzza and Manat, the three favourite deities of the Quraysh, as mediators with Allah. The Quraysh were delighted and knelt with Muhammad and the Muslims before Allah after Muhammad recited his new revelation to them’’.

Tabari: “Satan came and put his words in his mouth”

In his famous Chronicle entitled “Stories of the Prophets and Kings”, the Muslim historian and commentator Tabari refers to the incident of the “Satanic Verses” as follows: “Then was revealed to the Prophet the Sura of the Star. He went to the centre of Makkah, where the Qurayshites were gathered, and recited this sura. When he got to verse 19: «What do you believe about al-Lat, `Uzza and Manat the third? Is it possible that God has daughters and you have sons? What a beautiful division of labour that would be…» Iblîs [Satan] came and put in his mouth these words, « These idols are illustrious deities, whose intercession must be hoped for. » The disbelievers [non-Muslims] were very pleased with these words and said, «It has happened to Muhammad to praise our idols and speak well of them.» The Prophet finished the sura, then he prostrated himself, and the disbelievers prostrated themselves after him, because of the words he had spoken, by mistake, believing that he had praised their idols. The next day, Gabriel came to the Prophet and said, «O Muhammad, recite to me the Sura of the Star». When Muhammad repeated the words, Gabriel said, «Is this not how I conveyed it to you? I said, “This division is unjust’’. You changed it and put something else in place of what I had told you.» The Prophet, frightened, returned to the mosque and recited the sura again. When he uttered the words, «And this division is unjust » the disbelievers said, «Muhammad has repented of praising our gods.» The Prophet was very worried and abstained from food and drink for three days, fearing God’s wrath. Then Gabriel conveyed to him the following verse: We have not sent a single prophet or envoy before you without Satan throwing through his wishes some sinful desire; but God brings to naught what Satan throws through, and He strengthens His signs”.

An “unthought” both visible and unnoticed in Islam!

Salam Rushdie did not, therefore, invent anything about this incident. It is a known and recognised historical fact in the Muslim tradition. It is not, in itself, a blasphemy or an attack on Islam and its prophet.

However, if the evocation of this episode, known as the “Satanic verses”, was able to provoke a worldwide polemic, it is because beyond the Hallal (licit) and the Haram (illicit), a sort of taboo hovers over a certain number of subjects and historical facts which have become both “visible and unnoticed”, as Salman Rushdie so aptly put it.

The passages evoking this type of taboo in the reference works of Islam have not been expunged, but they have become – over the centuries – of the order of the “unthought” in Islam, according to the formula of the illustrious Islamologist Mohamed Arkoun: facts which are not denied, the evocation of which is neither illicit nor blasphemous, but it is, nevertheless, agreed to avoid thinking about them!

fbpx
 
 

Pour une lecture optimale, téléchargez gratuitement l'Appli GWA pour tablettes et smartphones

 

Vérités historiques sur les ‘‘Versets sataniques’’ en islam

8 septembre 2022 Investigations   47378  

‘‘Les Versets sataniques’’, à l’origine de la fatwa de l’ayatollah Khomeini condamnant à mort Salman Rushdie, est une œuvre de fiction. Cependant, l’incident relaté dans ce roman et dont est inspiré son titre, renvoie à un fait historique avéré, évoqué aussi bien dans le Coran que dans les principaux livres de la Sira, les chroniques de la vie et des paroles du prophète de l’islam.

Par Atmane Tazaghart

L’incident des ‘‘versets sataniques’’, connu dans les sources historiques musulmanes sous le nom de ‘‘waqi’at al-Gharaniq’’, littéralement ‘‘L’Affaire des Grues’’ [les grues étant des oiseaux argentés très élancés capables de voler à de très hautes altitudes], est explicitement évoqué dans le Coran-même (verset 53, sourate 22), dans les « Hadith de Bukhari », l’un des deux principaux livres de la Sira(Volume 6, Livre 60, Hadith n°385) et chez les plus éminents historiens musulmans et biographes arabes de Mahomet, tels que Ibn Ishaq (704 -767),Tabari (839-923), Ibn Sa’d (784-845) et al-Zamakhchari (1074-1143).

Cet épisode des ‘‘Gharaniq’’ remonte à l’an 8 avant l’Hégire. Craignant que l’essor de la nouvelle religion islamique ne remette en cause leur leadership auprès des autres tribus d’Arabie, les dirigeants de Quraysh, qui contrôlaient la Mecque, proposèrent un compromis à Mahomet : Quraysh accepte d’épouser sa religion, à condition qu’il conserve un rôle de divinités à leurs trois déesses préférées al-Lat, al-Uzza et Manat [parmi 360 idoles qu’abritait alors la ‘‘maison de la pierre noire’’ (La Kaaba)].

Après avoir consulté l’archange Gabriel, Mahomet est revenu à la Kaaba et y a récité la sourate de L’Étoile, en y intégrant des versets qualifiant al-Lat, al-Uzza et Manat de « sublimes ‘‘Gharaniq’’ dont l’intercession auprès d’Allah est souhaitée ».  

Les ‘‘Gharaniq’’ pouvant atteindre de très hautes altitudes, la métaphore Mahometienne suggérait qu’al-Lat, al-Uzza et Manat pouvaient s’approcher du trône de Dieu et que les Musulmans étaient autorisés à les vénérer et les considérer comme des médiatrices auprès d’Allah.

Approuvant ce compromis, les chefs de Quraysh se prosternèrent aux côtés de Mahomet, en signe de soumission à Allah. Mais, très vite, le prophète se rétracta, officiellement suite aux réprimandes de l’archange Gabriel, lui reprochant d’avoir déformé le message qu’il lui a transmis de la part d’Allah. Mais il s’agissait aussi de couper court au mécontentement des premiers compagnons du prophète, qui le pressaient de consulter à nouveau l’archange Gabriel, considérant ce compromis comme une concession au polythéisme de Quraysh et donc une entorse au principe fondateur de l’islam en tant que religion monothéiste.

Mahomet rectifia ensuite les versets en question. Et une nouvelle sourate du Coran (sourate al-Hajj) est venue clarifier les choses, en expliquant que Satan était intervenu pour insuffler des paroles impures au prophète.

Bukhari : ‘‘les païens se prosternèrent avec lui’’

Cet épisode n’a en rien été occulté dans le Coran et les principaux ouvrages de la tradition musulmane. Ainsi, dans les ‘‘Hadith de Bukhari’’, ouvrage considéré par l’ensemble des Musulmans comme l’un des deux recueils de référence [le second étant celui de Muslim] de la Sira, l’épisode de la prosternation de chefs de Quraysh, quand Mahomet a récité la sourate de l’Étoile, est évoqué en ces termes (Volume 6, Livre 60, Hadith n°385) : « Relatés par Ibn Abbas : le prophète se prosterna après avoir récité la Surat-an-Najm [L’Étoile, Sourate 53] et tous les musulmans, et les païens et les Jinns et les êtres humains se prosternèrent avec lui. »

Le Coran, Verset 52, sourate 22 : ‘‘Dieu abroge ce que le Diable suggère’’

Bukhari n’évoque pas ouvertement l’interférence satanique qui a provoqué la prosternation des non croyants avec Mahomet. Cependant, un verset du Coran relate de façon très explicite cet incident durant lequel Satan a parlé par la bouche de Mahomet. Il s’agit du verset 52 de la sourate 22 (sourate al-Hajj) : « Nous n’avons envoyé, avant toi, ni Messager ni prophète qui n’ait récité (ce qui lui a été révélé) sans que le Diable n’ait essayé d’intervenir [pour semer le doute dans le coeur des gens au sujet] de sa récitation. Dieu abroge ce que le Diable suggère, et Dieu renforce Ses versets. Dieu est Omniscient et Sage. »

Ibn Ishaq : ‘‘des concessions temporaires au polythéisme’’

Dans sa biographie de Mahomet, l’historien Ibn ishaq évoque des ‘‘concessions temporaires au polythéisme’’ du la part de Mahomet. ‘‘Le prophète, écrit-il, était soucieux du bien-être de ces gens (les païens Quraysh) et recherchait une façon de les attirer. Finalement, ce sont les dirigeants de Quraysh qui vinrent à lui avec une proposition. Ils lui offrirent des femmes et de l’argent, et étaient même prêts à le couronner roi, si en contrepartie, il acceptait leurs conditions. « C’est ce que nous te demandons, Mahomet : cesse d’insulter nos divinités et ne dit pas du mal d’elles. Si tu es d’accord, nous te proposons une possibilité qui sera à ton avantage et au nôtre. » « Quelle est-elle? », demanda Mahomet. « Tu honoreras nos divinités, al-Lat et al-‘Uzza, pendant un an, et nous ferons de même avec ton Dieu l’année suivante. » Après avoir initialement rejeté cette offre, Mahomet eut une révélation, disant que les musulmans étaient autorisés à vénérer al-Lat, al-Uzza et Manat, les trois divinités préférées des Quraysh, comme médiatrices auprès d’Allah. Les Quraysh furent enchantés et s’agenouillèrent avec Mahomet et les musulmans devant Allah, après que Mahomet leur ait récité sa nouvelle révélation.

Tabari : ‘‘Satan Vint et mit dans sa bouche ses paroles’’

Dans sa célèbre Chronique intitulée ‘‘Histoires des prophètes et des rois’’, l’historien et commentateur musulman Tabari évoque l’incident des ‘‘versets sataniques’’ en ces termes : ‘‘Alors fut révélée au prophète la sourate de l’Étoile. Il se rendit au centre de La Mecque, où étaient réunis les Quraychites, et récita cette sourate. Lorsqu’il fut arrivé au verset 19 : « Que croyez-vous de al-Lat, de `Uzza et de Manat, la troisième ? Est-il possible que Dieu ait des filles, et vous des garçons ? La belle répartition des tâches que ce serait là… » Iblîs [Satan] vint et mit dans sa bouche ces paroles : « Ces idoles sont d’illustres divinités, dont l’intercession doit être espérée. » Les incrédules [les non-musulmans] furent très heureux de ces paroles et dirent : « Il est arrivé à Mahomet de louer nos idoles et d’en dire du bien. » Le prophète termina la sourate, ensuite il se prosterna, et les incrédules se prosternèrent à son exemple, à cause des paroles qu’il avait prononcées, par erreur, croyant qu’il avait loué leurs idoles. Le lendemain, [l’archange] Gabriel vint trouver le prophète et lui dit : « Ô Mahomet, récite-moi la sourate de l’Étoile. » Quand Mahomet en répétait les termes, Gabriel dit : « Ce n’est pas ainsi que je te l’ai transmise ? J’ai dit : « Ce partage est injuste. » Tu l’as changée et tu as mis autre chose à la place de ce que je t’avais dit. » Le prophète, effrayé, retourna à la mosquée et récita la sourate de nouveau. Lorsqu’il prononça les paroles : « Et ce partage est injuste » Les incrédules dirent : « Mahomet s’est repenti d’avoir loué nos dieux. » Le prophète fut très inquiet et s’abstint de manger et de boire pendant trois jours, craignant la colère de Dieu. Ensuite Gabriel lui transmit le verset suivant : « Nous n’avons pas envoyé avant toi un seul prophète ou envoyé sans que Satan n’ait jeté à travers dans ses vœux quelque désir coupable ; mais Dieu met au néant ce que Satan jette à travers, et il raffermit ses signes »’’.

Un ‘‘impensé’’ à la fois visible et inaperçu en islam !

Salam Rushdie n’a donc rien inventé de cet l’incident. Il s’agit d’un fait historique connu et reconnu dans la tradition musulmane. Et ne constitue, en soi, ni un blasphème ni attaque contre l’islam et son prophète.

Or, si l’évocation de cet épisode dit des ‘‘versets sataniques’’ a pu provoquer une polémique d’envergure mondiale, c’est parce qu’au-delà du Hallal (Le licite) et du Haram (L’illicite), une sorte de tabou plane sur un certain nombre de sujets et de faits historiques qui sont devenus à la fois ‘‘visibles et inaperçus’’, comme le dit si bien Salman Rushdie.

Les passages évoquant ce type de tabous dans les ouvrages de référence de l’islam n’ont pas été expurgés, mais sont devenus – au fil des siècles – de l’ordre de ‘‘l’impensé’’ en islam, selon la formule de l’illustre islamologue Mohamed Arkoun : des faits qui ne sont pas niés, dont l’évocation n’a rien d’illicite ou blasphématoire, mais il est, pourtant, convenu d’éviter d’y penser !