fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones

 

The first fatwa against the “Satanic Verses” did not come from Khomeini!

14 August 2022 Expertises   32036  

Ian Hamel

In September 1988, Jean-Claude Buhrer, a senior reporter for Le Monde, was travelling in India when the writer Salman Rushdie published his novel “The Satanic Verses”. “The reaction was immediate from the Shiites in India. They immediately launched a fatwa against Salman Rushdie, calling for his death,” recalls the journalist. Jean-Claude Buhrer. He immediately called his newspaper… which declined his offer of an article. Presumably, the importance of the subject escaped the attention of the famous Parisian daily newspaper.

India was the first country to ban “The Satanic Verses”, well before the predominantly Muslim countries of Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Bangladesh, Sudan, Somalia, Indonesia, Malaysia and Qatar. It was only in February 1989, five months later, that Ayatollah Khomeini, leader of the Iranian revolution, denounced Salman Rushdie’s book as “blasphemous” against Islam, accused him of “apostasy”, issued a fatwa against him, and sentenced him to death. For Ayatollah Khomeini, it is the responsibility of every Muslim to execute the writer. Since then, a reward of more than three million dollars has been promised for anyone who does so.

Jean-Claude Buhrer, who now lives in Lausanne, is a specialist in both Latin America and Asia. His books include “Allende, un itinéraire sans detours” (1974), “Aung San Suu Kyi. Un espoir foudroyé”, published in 2004, and “Tibet, tibétains, un peuple, un regard” (2010), written with his wife, Claude B. Levenson, now deceased.

Born in Bombay in 1947, at the time of India’s independence, into a secular Muslim family, Salman Rushdie, who writes mainly in English, was already a renowned writer in 1988, at the time of the publication of “The Satanic Verses”. So he never wanted – as some mischievous minds imply – to carry out a communication operation to make the buzz through this book. We owe him in particular “The Midnight Children”, published seven years earlier, in 1981, which won the prestigious Booker Prize.

fbpx
 
 

 

La première fatwa contre les ‘‘Versets sataniques’’ ne venait pas de Khomeini !



Ian Hamel (*)

En septembre 1988, Jean-Claude Buhrer, grand reporter au journal Le Monde, est en déplacement en Inde, au moment de la publication par Salman Rushdie de son roman ‘‘Les Versets sataniques’’. « La réaction des chiites en Inde est immédiate. Ils lancent aussitôt une fatwa contre Salman Rushdie, réclamant sa mise à mort », se souvient le journaliste. Il appelle aussitôt son journal… qui décline sa proposition d’article. Vraisemblablement, l’importance du sujet a échappé sur le moment au grand quotidien parisien.

L’Inde sera le premier pays à interdire ‘‘Les Versets sataniques’’, bien avant les pays majoritairement musulmans : Pakistan, Arabie saoudite, Égypte, Bangladesh, Soudan, Somalie, Indonésie, Malaisie, Qatar. Ce n’est qu’en février 1989, soit cinq mois après sa parution, que l’ayatollah Khomeini, le guide suprême de la révolution iranienne, qualifiera le livre de Salman Rushdie de « blasphématoire » envers l’islam et accusera son auteur d’« apostasie ». Lançant contre lui une fatwa, il le condamnera à mort. Pour l’ayatollah Khomeini, il appartenait désormais à tout Musulman d’exécuter Salman Rushdie.Depuis, une récompense de plus de trois millions de dollars est promise à celui qui passera à l’acte.

Jean-Claude Buhrer, qui vit aujourd’hui à Lausanne, est un spécialiste de l’Amérique latine et de l’Asie. On lui doit notamment ‘‘Allende, un itinéraire sans détours’’ paru en 1974, ‘‘Aung San Suu Kyi. Un espoir foudroyé’’, édité en 2004, et ‘‘Tibet, Tibétains, un peuple, un regard’’ (2010), ouvrages écrits avec son épouse, Claude B. Levenson, aujourd’hui décédée.

Né à Bombay en 1947, au moment de l’indépendance de l’Inde, dans une famille musulmane laïque, Salman Rushdie, qui écrit essentiellement en anglais, était déjà un écrivain réputé en 1988, au moment de la publication des ‘‘Versets sataniques’’ Il n’a donc jamais voulu – comme le sous-entendent certains esprits malicieux –  mener une opération de communication pour faire le buzz à travers ce livre. On lui doit notamment ‘‘Les enfants de minuit’’, paru en sept ans auparavant, en 1981, qui a décroché le prestigieux Booker Prize, l’équivalant anglo-saxon du Goncourt.