fbpx
 
 

 

Defeat the Word Slayers



Martine Gozlan (*)

We must always take fundamentalists at their word. The ones they say to kill. The ones they forbid others to say. Hadi Matar, the man who tried to assassinate Salman Rushdie on 12 August, was driven by the words of death. Death is the true empire of Islamism. Salman Rushdie, on the other hand, is driven by the words of life. The dagger of the American-born Lebanese fundamentalist, admirer of Khomeini and Hezbollah, was to drive his words down his throat and into all his organs.

The writer survived. Millions of free consciences around the world are anxiously and hopefully awaiting news of his recovery. On the contrary, millions of other individuals, in whom the impulse has replaced the conscience, celebrate the cutthroat. In Tehran, the newspaper Kayhan, the official mouthpiece of the ayatollahs, exalts itself: “Let’s kiss the hand of the one who tore the neck of the enemy of God with a knife!” In Beirut, the press close to Hezbollah praises “A Lebanese hero”. This is no more surprising than the clamour of joy in Pakistan. But there is also that which, at the heart of our societies, swarms, grimaces and gives thanks to fury.

Hadi Matar burst onto the scene of a literary conference in peaceful Chautauka County, New York. The reverence for words that kill and their bloody initials has been spreading its kingdom for over two decades in the soft underbelly of the West. In reaction, this civilisation that proclaims itself to be the civilisation of freedom – it is, indeed, the only livable way of life – has produced only weak words, haggard, erratic reactions. In the short term, they can be compared to the level of security relaxed around Salman Rushdie. In the long term, we must remember their historical ineffectiveness. Thus, more than thirty years ago, there was no real Western reaction to the war between the words of death and those of life in Algeria, bloodied by the jihad between 1990 and 2000. Salman Rushdie, whom I had the honour of interviewing in February 2006, did not mention this country by chance during our interview: “The revolt of the Muslims has already happened. In Algeria.” At the time, the writer was fervently hoping for a great awakening while being tragically aware of the solitude of free beings, wherever they live. “The world has not heard me”, he said.

Year after year, however, horror followed horror. Always, the words of life were found under the knife, the sabre, in the sight of the machine gun, on the edge of the mass grave. In Algeria, the great massacre began with the liquidation of journalists, artists, teachers and professors. Let us remember the premonitory cry, the challenge and the SOS of the journalist and poet Tahar Djaout, assassinated on 26 May 1993 in Algiers: “If you speak, you die. If you remain silent, you die. So say and die.”

The frightening Algerian episode seemed to end in the early 2000s. Twelve years later, the France of living words was struck back. The Jewish children and teacher of the Ozar Ha Torah school in Toulouse in 2012, killed at point-blank range by Mohamed Merah, like the soldiers of Montauban who had the mistake of believing in the words of the Marseillaise. The journalists of Charlie Hebdo in January 2015. In November 2015, the youth of the Bataclan and the Parisian terraces, guilty of sharing the music and words of a sacrilegious happiness. In October 2020, the murder of Professor Samuel Paty. A humble passer of words. One forgets, inevitably, in this litany of pain. Mila, the young girl who also claimed the right to say: she survives like a shadow. Her lawyer, who is also a formidable writer, a master of words, Richard Malka, is under police protection. On the other side of the Channel, J.K Rowling is now under threat. The creator of Harry Potter, as soon as the attack on Rushdie was announced, expressed her support for the victim.

With every hour that passes, with every dawn that seems to rise brightly, we forget that hundreds, thousands of people are in danger. That millions of pages are doomed to be burned, just as the Nazis, during the Cristal night, burned the books of Jewish authors before burning the Jews. The list of targets of Islamo-Nazism is endless. For its executioners, its militiamen, its shareholders, its officials, its networks, its influencers, and finally its state powers have a precise objective: the list will never be closed. Nothing will ever be closed, neither the fatwa against Rushdie nor the extension of the domain of death, aided, as a bonus, by the extension of the domain of collaboration.

Of course, in the instant following an attack, the condemnations that fly in our gentle societies, especially in France, seem unanimous. The extreme left, which for so many years has had the eyes of Chimène for the Muslim associations linked to Salafism, is silent for a moment. It’s time to lament. But also, insidiously – because Islamo-leftism does not want to lose its south to the relativization of threats. Obscurantism is said to be equally distributed among all religions, and it would be wrong to point to one that is more murderous than another. Yet who is killing whom?  Who is condemning whom? Who is orchestrating the great concert of chaos, from the streets of Karachi and Tehran to those of Birmingham in 1989, the year of the fatwa, until 2022, over the course of these thousands of days spun into drops of blood?

Death, however, will have no empire if, like Salman Rushdie, with our humble means, wherever we are, whatever we do, we keep writing the word Resistance.

fbpx
 
 

 

Faire échec aux égorgeurs de mots



Martine Gozlan (*)

Il faut toujours prendre les intégristes aux mots. Ceux qu’ils prononcent pour tuer. Ceux qu’ils interdisent aux autres de prononcer. Hadi Matar, l’homme qui a tenté le 12 août d’assassiner Salman Rushdie, était actionné par les mots de la mort. La mort est le véritable empire de l’islamisme. Salman Rushdie, lui, actionne les mots de la vie. Le poignard de l’intégriste d’origine libanaise, né aux Etats-Unis, admirateur de Khomeiny et du Hezbollah, devait lui faire rentrer ses mots dans la gorge et tous les organes.

L’écrivain a survécu. Des millions de consciences libres, dans le monde, guettent avec angoisse et espérance les nouvelles de son rétablissement. Au contraire, des millions d’autres individus, chez qui la pulsion s’est substituée à la conscience, célèbrent l’égorgeur. A Téhéran, le journal Kayhan, relais officiel des ayatollahs, s’exalte : « Baisons la main de celui qui a déchiré le cou de l’ennemi de Dieu avec un couteau ! ». A Beyrouth, la  presse proche du Hezbollah loue « Un héros libanais ». Cela n’est pas plus surprenant que les clameurs de joie au Pakistan. Mais il faut compter aussi avec ce qui, au coeur de nos sociétés, grouille, grimace et rend grâce à la fureur.

Hadi Matar a jailli sur la scène d’une conférence littéraire organisée dans le paisible comté de Chautauka, dans l’Etat de New-York. La vénération pour les mots qui tuent et leur paraphe de sang étend son royaume depuis plus de deux décennies dans le ventre mou de l’Occident. En réaction, cette civilisation qui se proclame celle de la liberté -elle l’est, effectivement, avec le seul mode d’existence vivable- n’a produit que des mots faibles, des réactions hagardes, errantes, erratiques. Sur le temps court, on peut les comparer au niveau de sécurité relâché autour de Salman Rushdie. Sur le temps long, il faut rappeler leur inefficacité historique. Il n’y eut ainsi, voici plus de trente ans, aucune réaction véritable occidentale à la guerre entre les mots de la mort et ceux de la vie en Algérie, ensanglantée par le djihad entre 1990 et 2000. Salman Rushdie, que j’eus l’honneur d’interviewer en février 2006? ne me cita pas ce pays par hasard lors de notre entretien : « La révolte des musulmans s’est déjà produite. En Algérie. » A l’époque, l’écrivain espérait ardemment un grand sursaut tout en étant tragiquement conscient de la solitude des êtres libres, où qu’ils vivent.  « Le monde ne m’a pas entendu » disait-il.

D’année en année, pourtant, l’horreur succédait à l’horreur. Toujours, les mots de la vie se retrouvaient sous le couteau, le sabre, dans le viseur de la mitraillette, sur le bord de la fosse commune. En Algérie, enfer annonciateur, le grand massacre commença par la liquidation des journalistes, des artistes, des professeurs, des instituteurs. Souvenons-nous de ce cri prémonitoire, défi et SOS du journaliste et poète Tahar Djaout, assassiné le 26 mai 1993 à Alger : « Si tu parles, tu meurs. Si tu te tais, tu meurs. Alors dis et meurs. »

L’effrayant épisode algérien sembla se clôturer au début des années 2000. Douze ans plus tard, la France des mots vivants était frappée à son tour. Les enfants et le professeur juifs de l’école Ozar Ha Torah à Toulouse en 2012, tués à bout portant par Mohamed Merah, comme les militaires de Montauban qui avaient le tort de croire aux mots de la Marseillaise. Les journalistes de Charlie Hebdo en janvier 2015.  En novembre 2015, la jeunesse du Bataclan et des terrasses parisiennes, coupable de partager la musique et les mots d’un bonheur sacrilège. En octobre 2020, égorgement du professeur Samuel Paty. Un humble passeur de mots. On en oublie, forcément, dans cette litanie de douleurs. Mila, la jeune fille qui, elle aussi, revendiquait le droit de dire : elle survit comme une ombre. Son avocat, qui est aussi un formidable écrivain, un maître des mots, Richard Malka, est sous protection policière. De l’autre côté de la Manche, voici maintenant menacée J.K Rowling. La créatrice d’Harry Potter a, dès l’annonce de l’agression contre Rushdie, fait part de son soutien à la victime.

A chaque heure qui tourne, à chaque aube qui semble se lever radieuse, on oublie que des centaines, des milliers de gens sont en danger. Que des millions de pages sont vouées à  être brûlées, comme les nazis, pendant la nuit de Cristal, brûlèrent les livres des auteurs juifs avant de brûler les juifs. La liste des cibles de l’islamo-nazisme est interminable. Car ses bourreaux, ses miliciens, ses actionnaires, ses fonctionnaires, ses réseaux, ses influenceurs, et enfin ses puissances étatiques poursuivent un objectif précis : la liste ne sera jamais close. Rien ne sera jamais clos, pas plus la fatwa contre Rushdie que l’extension du domaine de la mort, favorisée, en prime, par l’extension du domaine de la collaboration.

Bien sûr, dans l’instant qui suit un attentat, les condamnations qui fusent dans nos douces sociétés, notamment en France, semblent unanimes. L’extrême gauche, qui, depuis tant d’années, a les yeux de Chimène pour les associations musulmanes liées au salafisme, se tait un instant. L’heure est à la déploration. Mais, aussi, insidieusement – parce que l’islamo-gauchisme ne veut pas perdre son sud – à la relativisation des menaces. L’obscurantisme serait également réparti entre toutes les religions et il ne faudrait pas en pointer une, aux dérives plus assassines qu’une autre. Pourtant, qui tue qui ? Qui condamne qui ? Qui orchestra le grand concert du chaos, des rues de Karachi et de Téhéran à celles de Birmingham en 1989, année de la fatwa, jusqu’en 2022, au fil de ces milliers de jours égrenés en gouttes de sang ?

La mort, cependant, n’aura pas d’empire si, tels Salman Rushdie, avec nos humbles moyens, où que nous soyons, quoique nous fassions, nous continuons à écrire le mot Résistance.