fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones

 

Salman Rushdie: “Muslims will eventually rebel against the fanaticism that devours their world”

13 August 2022 Interviews   68571  

In this interview conducted by our collaborator Martine Gozlan in February 2006, for the weekly Marianne, at the time of the release of his eighth novel “Shalimar The Clown”, the author of “The Satanic Verses” speaks of hope, creation and resistance. Vertiginous.

Interview By Martine Gozlan

 – While fanaticism proliferates, you describe in your latest novel, “Shalimar The Clown”, the lost paradise of Kashmir, now devoured by violence. Can Islamism win, there and everywhere?

– Salman Rushdie: Kashmir is a symbol. In India, its inhabitants were famous for their pacifism. My grandfather, who was born there, was the most tolerant man I have ever known and the novel is dedicated to him. But this fabulous place has become one of the most violent places on earth. The so-called leaders of contemporary Islam have succeeded in destroying a pure, open, colourful Islam, where people of all origins coexisted. But it is by tirelessly evoking these dissolved worlds that we can fight fanaticism. For someone who grew up in the Muslim world, it is very important to understand that there was another Islam. You have to revive first the nostalgia, then the vitality. I am an atheist but this memory lives in me. For the first time in my life, I cried while writing some pages of this book because I was writing about the death of a world. I am sure that the picture of this destruction will eventually lead to a revolt by Muslims. It has already happened, by the way. In Algeria. The revolt can only come from within Islam. The Soviet Union was thought to be indestructible, yet it has fallen into dust!

– Is it possible to create a real free-thought movement among intellectuals in Islam? One thinks of Irshad Manji, a Canadian of Pakistani origin, or Ayaan Hirsi Ali, the Dutch MP of Somali origin threatened with death as you were. Can the unsubmissive unite their energy?

– Salman Rushdie: The lobby is not my problem. My function remains that of a writer. Let the writers write! If the chapter of persecution is closed for me, it is not closed for hundreds of other artists in the Islamic world.  When all this happened to me, I kept saying that I was not an isolated case. The world did not hear me. Today, the public is aware that new Rushdie cases are cropping up everywhere. Talking about it, helping those who are being hunted down, is a fight against fanaticism. The fictional characters that writers put on stage can help to dismantle the scenarios of real madness. With Shalimar, I try to get to the bottom of a fanatic character. It’s very complicated, a suicide bomber. In Kashmir, the people who join their ranks are weak. Why do they switch? Who is pulling the strings of their fate? My hero is the mixed product of a personal story and the graft of an external manipulation. To show all this is to act. With Islamism, we are not in the universe of good and evil, but in a cosmogony of total ambiguity. My only lobbying is to touch people deep inside. We all need to think that beauty will return. And it will.

– Where can you move freely, feel the beauty of the world again?

– Salman Rushdie: I went back to India three times, which was very important. I returned to the normal life of a writer. I came out of my own tragedy not with sadness but with elation.

– Where do you see places of hope, capitals that could become those of insubordination in Islam?

– Salman Rushdie: Only in the diaspora, not in the Islamic world. Wherever Islam is not confused with the state. In the US, the Muslim community is very modern. They read my books, they invite me to debate. Of course, I met Irshad Manji and Ayaan Hirsi Ali. I always thought that the reform of Islam would start with women. Islam has a problem with modernity, and modernity comes through women.

fbpx
 
 

 

Salman Rushdie : ‘‘les musulmans finiront par se révolter contre le fanatisme qui dévore leur monde’’



Dans cet entretien réalisé par notre collaboratrice Martine Gozlan en février 2006, pour l’hebdomadaire Marianne, au moment de la sortie de son huitième roman ‘‘Shalimar le Clown’’, l’auteur des ‘‘Versets sataniques’’ parle d’espoir, de création et de résistance. Vertigineux.

Propos recueillis par Martine Gozlan

– Alors que le fanatisme prolifère, vous décrivez dans votre dernier roman, ‘‘Shalimar le Clown’’ (Editions Plon), le paradis perdu du Cachemire, aujourd’hui dévoré par la violence. L’islamisme peut-il vaincre, là-bas et partout ?

– Salman Rushdie : Le Cachemire est un symbole. En Inde, ses habitants étaient célèbres pour leur pacifisme. Mon grand-père, qui y est né, était l’homme le plus tolérant que j’ai connu et le roman lui est dédié. Or ce lieu fabuleux est devenu l’un des plus violents de la terre. Les soi-disant leaders de l’islam contemporain ont réussi à détruire un islam pur, ouvert, chamarré, où coexistaient des gens de toutes origines. Mais c’est en évoquant inlassablement ces mondes dissous qu’on peut lutter contre le fanatisme. Pour quelqu’un qui a grandi dans le monde musulman, c’est très important de comprendre qu’il y a eu un autre islam. Il faut en ressusciter d’abord la nostalgie, ensuite la vitalité. Je suis athée mais cette mémoire vit en moi. Pour la première fois de mon existence, j’ai pleuré en écrivant certaines pages de ce livre parce que j’écrivais sur la mort d’un monde. Je suis persuadé que le tableau de ces destructions finira à long terme par susciter la révolte des musulmans. Elle s’est déjà produite, du reste. En Algérie. Le sursaut ne peut venir que de l’intérieur de l’islam. On croyait l’Union Soviétique indestructible, pourtant elle est tombée en poussière !

– Peut-il se créer chez les intellectuels un vrai mouvement de la libre-pensée en islam ? On pense à Irshad Manji, Canadienne d’origine pakistanaise, ou à Ayaan Hirsi Ali, cette députée néerlandaise d’origine somalienne menacée de mort comme vous l’avez été. Les insoumises et les insoumis peuvent-ils unir leur énergie ?

– Salman Rushdie : Le lobby n’est pas mon problème. Ma fonction à moi reste celle de l’écrivain. Déjà, qu’on laisse les écrivains écrire ! Si le chapitre de la persécution est clos pour moi, il ne l’est pas pour des centaines d’autres artistes dans le monde islamique.  Quand tout cela m’est arrivé, j’ai dit sans arrêt que je ne constituais pas un cas isolé. Le monde ne m’a pas entendu. Aujourd’hui, l’opinion a conscience que partout, surgissent de nouvelles affaires Rushdie. En parler, aider ceux qu’on traque, c’est un combat contre le fanatisme. Les personnages fictifs que les écrivains mettent en scène peuvent aider à démonter les scénarios de la folie réelle. Avec Shalimar, j’essaie de descendre au plus profond d’un personnage de fanatique. C’est très compliqué, un kamikaze. Au Cachemire, les gens qui rejoignent leurs rangs sont des faibles. Pourquoi basculent-ils ? Qui tire les ficelles de leur destin ? Mon héros est le produit mixte d’une histoire personnelle et de la greffe d’une manipulation extérieure. Montrer tout cela, c’est agir. Avec l’islamisme, nous ne sommes pas dans l’univers du bien et du mal, mais dans une cosmogonie d’une ambiguïté totale. Mon seul lobbying consiste à toucher les gens au fond d’eux-mêmes. Tous, nous avons besoin de penser que la beauté reviendra. Et elle reviendra.

– Où pouvez-vous vous déplacer librement, sentir à nouveau cette beauté du monde ?

– Salman Rushdie : Je suis retourné trois fois en Inde, ce qui était très important. J’ai renoué avec la vie normale d’un écrivain. Je suis sorti de ma propre tragédie lesté non de tristesse mais d’exaltation.

– Où voyez-vous des lieux d’espoir, des capitales qui pourraient devenir celles de l’insoumission en islam ?

– Salman Rushdie : Uniquement dans la diaspora, pas dans le monde islamique. Partout où l’islam ne se confond pas avec l’Etat. Aux Etats-Unis, la communauté musulmane est très moderne. On lit mes livres, on m’invite à débattre. Bien sûr, j’ai rencontré Irshad Manji et Ayaan Hirsi Ali. J’ai toujours pensé que la réforme de l’islam commencerait avec les femmes. L’islam a un problème avec la modernité et la modernité passe par les femmes.