fbpx
 
 

 

The pen stronger than the dagger…



Malika Madi (*)

“Religious radicalism radiates a kind of ‘glamour’. Give a Kalashnikov and a black uniform to a penniless, jobless youth and suddenly you empower the one who feels vulnerable and disadvantaged.” These words are from the writer Salman Rushdie, who is between life and death at the time of writing. They reflect the immense insight this man has into his contemporaries. Threatened with death for more than 30 years, Salman Rushdie has built his work on the burning embers of an end that he did not imagine was impossible at the hand of Man.

Rushdie, a head of state? A business tycoon? A mafia godfather? A corrupt or incorruptible politician? No, none of these. He is a wordsmith, a transmitter of emotions, a conjurer of words, a storyteller. His fault is that one day, while he was giving free rein to his creativity as a novelist, he imagined a picturesque passage for the work that took him five years to write, “The Satanic Verses”.

This passage, which would irrevocably change his life until the attack on Friday 12 August 2022, takes up about ten pages in a book that would later number five hundred. Salman Rushdie describes a bizarre situation: Gibreel Farishta, one of his characters, has hallucinations and sees the beginnings of a monotheistic prophet called Mahound (an allusion to the Prophet Mohamed). As he tries to establish monotheism in Mecca, he is bullied by the city’s notables who are convinced of polytheism. Rushdie fictitiously recounts in the “Satanic Verses” that this prophet first uttered verses authorising other deities before retracting them, these verses being inspired by the devil. Oh, scandal, oh, insult to the Prophet, to Islam, to the Koran and to Muslims whether Sunni or Shiite.

The Voltaire of modern times

Salman Rushdie chose freedom. To write is to be free. To write is to reinvent the world to offer it as a gift to those who have chosen the Light. The novelist is a dreamer, an eternal child who allows the adult he has become to reinvest this part of innocence, without which fiction could not be. The novelist, like any human being in our modern societies, is obliged to observe the laws, to respect the rules that his country of birth or of reception imposes on him. But where his freedom is total, absolute and non-negotiable is in the development of his work.

To write is to complete the unfinished, to name the unspeakable, to magnify the darkness and glorify the dark side of humanity. If the pen is stronger than the dagger, it remains sadly less sharp and a novelist, on this Friday 12 August 2022, knew this better than anyone.

Salman Rushdie the storyteller, the dreamer, the cultivator of plural thought from Bombay to London, from New York to Brussels, delivers the wish of bringing people together, of fraternity between all Men, no matter where they come from and in whom they may believe.

Salman Rushdie, the lover of words, of literary symphonies, of parallel worlds accessible to such a tiny minority of us, never had any other ambition than to think that a book, a story, a work contribute to the radiance of humanity by ridding it of the vileness that the fanatics, the enlightened, the self-proclaimed guardians of Islam have so lamentably defiled.

He said: “Fighting extremism, I repeat, is not fighting Islam. It is the opposite. It is to defend it.” But if the progressives and pacifists do not doubt this, how could these extremist uneducated people suffering from cyclopia understand the nuance of it?

Little is known about the perpetrator of the attack. His name is Hadi Matar and he is 24 years old, an American of Lebanese origin and a practising Muslim. On his Facebook account, which has been blocked since his arrest, Hadi Matar posted links that revealed his affinity with Shiite extremism. Fascinated by Iran and its Islamic Republic regime. Hadi Matar had a genuine fascination with Ayatollah Khomeini, author of the fatwa against Salman Rushdie 33 years ago. Hadi Matar was not yet born when the “Satanic Verses” were published. He was not yet born either when Khomeini died, but his fascination for the former commander of the Iranian revolution led him, beyond a simple profile picture of the old mullah, to carry out a fatwa pronounced in 1989 as a tribute to the emblematic figure of Iranian Shiism.

Today, the world is lacerated, stabbed, cut off from a part of its deep and vital consciousness. But a part of Salman Rushdie remains in us, for it is the fate of writers to live on in the depths of our souls.

As for the assailant, now in the hands of justice, we have nothing more to fear. Let’s just be afraid of the Hadi Matar who are born, grow up and will be born again without us guessing the terrible morbid excavations that animate them without logic or reason.

 * Belgian essayist and novelist, editor of the online media diverCite.be

fbpx
 
 

 

La plume plus forte que le poignard…



Malika Madi (*)

“Le radicalisme religieux irradie une sorte de « glamour ». Offrez une kalachnikov et un uniforme noir à un jeune sans le sou, sans emploi, et soudain vous conférez un pouvoir à celui qui se sent vulnérable et défavorisé”. Ces mots sont de l’écrivain Salman Rushdie, entre la vie et la mort à l’heure où nous écrivons ces lignes. Ils traduisent l’immense clairvoyance que cet homme a sur ses contemporains. Menacé de mort depuis plus de 30 ans, Salman Rushdie a construit une œuvre sur les braises ardentes d’une fin qu’il n’imaginait pas impossible de la main de l’Homme.

Rushdie, un chef d’État ? Un magnat de l’entreprise ? Un parrain de la mafia ? Un homme politique corrompu ou incorruptible ? Non, rien de tout cela. Il est un faiseur de mots, un passeur d’émotions, un prestidigitateur du verbe, un raconteur d’histoire. Sa faute est d’avoir un jour, alors qu’il laissait libre cours à sa créativité de romancier, imaginé un passage pittoresque pour cette œuvre qu’il aura mis cinq ans à écrire ‘‘Les Versets sataniques’’.

Ce passage qui bouleversera sa vie irrémédiablement jusqu’à l’agression de ce vendredi 12 aout 2022, tient en une dizaine de pages dans un livre qui en comptera cinq cents. Salman Rushdie y décrit une situation ubuesque :  Gibreel Farishta, l’un de ses personnages, a des hallucinations et voit les débuts d’un prophète monothéiste qui se nomme Mahound (allusion au Prophète Mohamed). Au moment où ce dernier essaye de mettre en place le monothéisme à la Mecque, il est malmené par les notables de la ville, convaincus du polythéisme. Rushdie narre de manière fictive dans les ‘’Versets sataniques’’ que ce prophète aurait d’abord énoncé des versets autorisant d’autres divinités avant de se rétracter, ces versets étant inspirés par le diable. Oh ! Scandale, oh ! Insulte au Prophète, à l’Islam, au Coran et aux Musulmans qu’ils soient sunnites ou chiites.

Le Voltaire des temps modernes

Salman Rushdie aura choisi la liberté. Écrire c’est être libre. Écrire c’est réinventer le monde pour l’offrir en cadeau à ceux qui ont choisi la Lumière. Le romancier est un rêveur, un enfant éternel qui autorise l’adulte qu’il est devenu à réinvestir cette part d’innocence, sans quoi la fiction ne pourrait être. Le romancier, comme tout être humain dans nos sociétés modernes, est tenu d’observer les lois, de respecter les règles que son pays de naissance ou d’accueil lui impose. Mais là où sa liberté est totale, absolue et non négociable, c’est bien dans l’élaboration de son œuvre.

Écrire, c’est parachever l’inachevé, nommer l’innommable, magnifier l’obscurité et glorifier la face obscure de l’humanité. Si la plume est plus forte que le poignard, elle reste tristement moins aiguisée et un romancier, ce vendredi 12 aout 2022, le sut mieux que quiconque.

Salman Rushdie le raconteur, le rêveur, le cultivateur de la pensée plurielle de Bombay à Londres, de New York à Bruxelles, délivre le souhait du rapprochement des peuples, de la fraternité entre tous les Hommes, peu importe d’où ils viennent et en qui ils peuvent croire.

Salman Rushdie l’amoureux des mots, des symphonies littéraires, des mondes parallèles accessibles par une si infime minorité d’entre nous, n’a jamais eu d’autres ambitions que de penser qu’un livre, une histoire, une œuvre participent au rayonnement de l’humanité en la débarrassant de la vilénie que les fanatiques, les illuminés, les autoproclamés gardiens de l’Islam auront si lamentablement souillée.

Il dira : « combattre l’extrémisme, je le répète, n’est pas combattre l’islam. Au contraire. C’est le défendre. » Mais si les progressistes et les pacifistes n’en doutent pas, comment ces incultes extrémistes atteints de cyclopie pourraient-ils en comprendre la nuance ?

On sait encore peu de choses sur l’auteur de l’agression. Il s’appelle Hadi Matar et a 24 ans, il est américain d’origine libanaise et musulman pratiquant. Sur son compte Facebook, bloqué depuis son arrestation, Hadi Matar publiait des liens qui révélaient ses affinités avec l’extrémisme chiite. Fasciné par l’Iran et son régime de République islamique. Hadi Matar vouait une véritable fascination pour l’Ayatollah Khomeyni, auteur de la fatwa contre Salman Rushdie il y a 33 ans. Hadi Matar n’était pas encore né lors de la publication des ‘‘Versets sataniques’’. Il n’était pas encore né non plus lors de la mort de Khomeyni, mais sa fascination pour l’ex-commandeur de la révolution iranienne l’aura poussé, au-delà d’une simple photo de profil à l’effigie du vieux mollah, à mettre à exécution une fatwa prononcée en 1989 comme un hommage à la figure emblématique du chiisme iranien.

Aujourd’hui, le monde est lacéré, poignardé, amputé d’une partie de sa conscience profonde et vitale. Mais une part de Salman Rushdie demeure en nous, car c’est le destin des écrivains que de continuer à vivre dans les tréfonds de nos âmes.

Quant à l’assaillant, aujourd’hui entre les mains de la justice, nous n’avons plus rien à craindre. Effrayons-nous juste des Hadi Matar qui naissent, grandissent et naitront encore sans que l’on devine les terribles excavations morbides qui les animent sans logiques ni raison.

 * Essayiste et romancière Belge, rédactrice en chef du média en ligne diverCite.be