fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones

 

Don’t tell my mother I live in Tel Aviv, she thinks I’m a rabbi in Dubaï!

30 May 2021 Expertises   26570  

Ian Hamel
Ian Hamel

There’s no need to go to the Armani Hotel’s kosher restaurant unannounced. It’s better to book well in advance. As for the terrace, it is crowded, in order to be able to attend a unique show mixing water jets, sounds and lights. Draped in his white dishdasha, the traditional dress of the men of the Gulf, our interlocutor tells us that in the lounge of a large hotel in Dubai, he recently found himself the only Arab among dozens of Jews. “But if this continues, there will be more of them than us!” he says with a smile. When they signed the Abraham Accords in September 2020 normalising Emirati-Israeli relations, the Emiratis expected to welcome a wave of visitors from Tel Aviv. But it is a wave that has swept through the Gulf. As for the Western Jewish communities, they no longer say “next year in Jerusalem”, but “the next holiday in Dubai”!

The ink on the Abraham Accords was barely dry when the first certified kosher restaurant in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) opened. And not just anywhere: on the ground floor of the five-star Armani Hotel, located in the famous Burj Khalifa Tower, the world’s tallest building rising to 828 meters. Add from the terrace a water, sound and light show from the water features of the Dubai Mall. It is, appropriately enough, the largest shopping mall in Dubai. But if you’re in the Middle East, Armani, on the other hand, runs like a Swiss clock. If your reservation shows eight o’clock, don’t show up ten minutes late. And certainly not early. That would be rude, and you’d be denied a terrace. The luxury establishment has only forty seats. It is open every day, except on the Sabbath and Jewish holidays.

An oven connected to the rabbi!

The restaurant is certified “kosher”. This means that it offers gourmet dishes that comply with the dietary laws of Judaism. Israeli television station i24 news says that Armani “operates under the supervision of Levi Duchman, rabbi of the United Arab Emirates”, and that the chef offers “a menu that reflects Dubai’s multicultural demography with dishes that feature Asian, European and Middle Eastern flavours”. Which means you won’t necessarily feel out of place. Instead of baba ganoush, hummus with tahini, or fattoush salad seasoned with sumac, you can perfectly choose lentil soup, beef bourguignon or spaghetti bolognese.

To respect all the rules to be followed in the high-tech kosher kitchen, the kitchens of the Armani restaurant have an oven connected to the rabbi himself! Don’t worry, the rabbi is not permanently in the establishment, Rabbi Levi Duchman has an application on his smartphone: he lights the fire remotely! Apart from this obligation, kosher and halal have many similarities, such as ritual slaughter and the ban on eating pork. The local staff of the restaurant did not have too much trouble assimilating the rules of kosher (Jewish dietary laws).

White wine from the Golan Heights  

The Times of Israel tells us that Armani is not the first kosher kitchen company in the country. Elli’s Kosher Kitchen, a company run by Elli Kriel, the wife of Emirates Jewish Council chairman Ross Kriel, had already been providing meals to Jewish travellers passing through Dubai since 2018. Even before the Abraham Accords, the Jewish community, especially businessmen, were already frequenting Abu Dhabi.

That evening, most of the guests on the terrace of the Armani restaurant were speaking French. Wearing yarmulkes, with a glass of Gamla, a white wine from the Golan Heights and Upper Galilee, they admired the water jets that were activated to the rhythm of Arabic, classical or popular music…

fbpx
 
 

 

Ne dites pas à ma mère que j’habite à Tel Aviv, elle croit que je suis rabbin à Dubaï !



Ian Hamel (*)

Inutile d’aller à l’improviste au restaurant casher de l’hôtel Armani à Dubaï. Il est plus prudent de réserver longtemps à l’avance. Quant à la terrasse, elle est prise d’assaut, afin de pouvoir assister à un spectacle unique mêlant jets d’eau, sons et lumières. Drapé dans sa dishdasha blanche, l’habit traditionnel des hommes du Golfe, notre interlocuteur raconte que dans le salon d’un grand hôtel à Dubaï, il s’est retrouvé récemment le seul Arabe au milieu de dizaines de juifs. « Mais si ça continue, ils vont être plus nombreux que nous ! », lâche-t-il en souriant. En signant en septembre 2020 les accords d’Abraham normalisant les relations émiro-israéliennes, les Émiratis s’attendaient à accueillir une vague de visiteurs venus de Tel Aviv. Mais c’est une déferlante qui s’est abattue sur le Golfe. Quant aux communautés juives occidentales, elles ne disent plus « l’année prochaine à Jérusalem », mais « les prochaines vacances à Dubaï » !

L’encre des accords d’Abraham était à peine sèche, que le premier restaurant certifié casher des Émirats arabes unis (EAU) voyait le jour. Et pas n’importe où : au rez-de-chaussée de l’hôtel cinq étoiles Armani, situé dans la fameuse tour Burj Khalifa, le plus haut bâtiment du monde, culminant à 828 mètres. Ajoutez depuis la terrasse un spectacle à la fois aquatique, son et lumière depuis les plans d’eau de Dubaï Mall. C’est, comme il se doit, le plus grand centre commercial de Dubaï. Mais si vous êtes bien au Moyen-Orient, Armani, en revanche, fonctionne comme une horloge suisse. Si votre réservation affiche vingt heures, ne vous pointez pas dix minutes en retard. Et encore moins en avance. Ce serait de l’impolitesse, et vous seriez privé de terrasse. L’établissement de luxe ne propose que quarante couverts. Il est ouvert tous les jours, sauf pendant le shabbat et les fêtes juives.

Un four connecté au rabbin !    

Le restaurant est certifié « casher ». C’est-à-dire qu’il propose des plats gastronomiques conformes aux lois alimentaires du judaïsme. La télévision israélienne i24news précise qu’Armani « fonctionne sous la supervision de Levi Duchman, rabbin des Émirats arabes unis », et que le chef propose « un menu reflétant la démographie multiculturelle de Dubaï avec ses plats aux saveurs de l’Asie, de l’Europe et du Moyen-Orient ». Ce qui veut dire que vous ne serez pas forcément dépaysé. Plutôt que du baba ganoush, du houmous au tahiné, ou de la salade fattoush assaisonnée au sumac, vous pouvez parfaitement choisir une soupe de lentilles, un bœuf bourguignon ou des spaghettis bolognaises.

Pour respecter toutes les règles à suivre dans la cuisine casher high-tech, les cuisines du restaurant Armani possèdent un four connecté au rabbin lui-même ! Que l’on vous rassure, celui-ci n’est pas en permanence dans l’établissement, le rabbin Levi Duchman possède une application sur son smartphone : il allume le feu à distance ! A part cette obligation, le casher et le halal présentent de nombreuses similitudes, comme l’abattage rituel et l’interdiction de consommer de la viande de porc. Le personnel local du restaurant n’a pas eu trop de mal pour assimiler les règles du cacherout (les lois alimentaires juives).

Vin blanc issu du Golan   

The Times of Israël nous apprend qu’Armani n’est pas la première entreprise de cuisine casher du pays. Elli’s Kosher Kitchen, une société dirigée par Elli Kriel, l’épouse du président du Conseil juif des Émirats, Ross Kriel, fournissait déjà depuis 2018 des repas aux voyageurs juifs de passage à Dubaï. Avant même les accords d’Abraham, la communauté juive, et notamment les hommes d’affaires, fréquentait déjà assidument Abu Dhabi.

Ce soir-là, la plupart des convives sur la terrasse du restaurant Armani s’exprimaient en français. Portant kippa, un verre de Gamla, un vin blanc issu du Golan et de Haute-Galilée à la main, ils admirent les jets d’eaux s’activant au rythme de musiques arabes, classiques ou carrément populaires…