fbpx
 
 

For optimal reading, download the free GWA application for tablets and smartphones

 

Cannes Film Festival: The hymn to the commitment of President Lindon

18 May 2022 News   1162  

In a poignant speech that marked the opening ceremony of the 75th Cannes Film Festival, French actor Vincent Lindon, who chairs the official competition jury, distinguished himself with an ode to the committed and civic cinema he has described as a “weapon of massive emotion”, whose function is to “awaken consciences and shake up indifference”.

Lindon, who has repeatedly moved the Croisette through social and militant films – from “La Loi du marché » (The Law of the Market), 2005, which won him the Best Actor Award’ to ‘’en guerre’’At War), 2018 – urged the cinema to “speak loud and clear the voice of the voiceless”, saying that “even if it amounts to scooping, with a thimble, the hull of a ship which fills up in waves, our strength is is that we believe in it, and that your works are immortal”.

Here is the full verbatim of this speech which will remain, for a long time, in the memories of festival-goers and lovers of the seventh art.

“Should we not evoke, from this platform, which concentrates for a time, all the eyes of the world, the torments of a planet which is bleeding, which is suffering, which is suffocating and which is burning in the indifference of the powers? Probably yes. But what to say, if not new, or at least useful?

This is a question that all artists have been, are, and will be confronted with. Should we use our notoriety, however modest it may be, to carry the voices of the voiceless loud and clear, or, on the contrary, refuse to publicly express a position in areas where we have neither legitimacy nor special skill?

uncomfortable with comfort and privileges, even if far too human to renounce them, I have often taken the risk of speaking out, sometimes naively, to denounce the pains felt by others, but which, if they spared my flesh, tortured my conscience.

The Cannes International Film Festival continues this age-old tradition. Born from a desire to fight against fascism, which had distorted European cinema, it has never ceased to welcome, protect and bring together the greatest filmmakers of their time.

Open to all cultures, demanding nothing but high standards, its selections have retained films whose ambition was not limited to filling theaters.

This is the function of the Cannes Film Festival. It is his glory. It is this inflexible, artistic and citizen line, which makes necessary what would otherwise be obscene: to project radiant images superimposed on those abominable, which reach us from a heroic and martyred Ukraine, or even, to bury under the melody of happiness, the silent massacres that are falling on Yemen, or Darfur.

And finally to conclude, a question:

“Can we do anything other than use cinema, this weapon of massive emotion, to awaken consciences and shake up indifference? »

Even if it amounts to scooping the hull of a ship that fills up in waves with a thimble, our strength is that we believe in it, and that your works are immortal.

Even if sometimes, when the news crushes us and discouragement overtakes me, I wonder if we are not dancing on the Titanic…

Perhaps then, if we listened, we would hear, in the midst of the din of empires and nations, like a tender and weak rustle of wings, the soft murmur of life and hope.

The time has come for artists, responsible filmmakers, to carry us, to feed our imagination, and help us, to repeat ourselves in ourselves, whenever we can, in tribute to all those who suffer and who fight in the world: being alive and knowing it. »

fbpx
 
 

 

Festival de Cannes : l’hymne à l’engagement du président Lindon



Dans un discours poignant qui a marqué la cérémonie d’ouverture du 75ème festival de Cannes, l’acteur français Vincent Lindon, qui préside le jury de la compétition officielle, s’est illustré par une ode au cinéma engagé et citoyen qu’il a qualifié d’« arme d’émotion massive », dont la fonction est de « réveiller les consciences et bousculer les indifférences ».

Lindon qui a, maintes fois, ému la croisette à travers des films au souffle social et militant – de « La loi du marché, qui lui a valu le prix d’interprétation masculine (2015), à « En guerre » (2018) – a exhorté le cinéma à « porter haut et fort la parole des sans-voix », affirmant que « même si cela revient à écoper, avec un dé à coudre, la coque d’un navire qui se remplit par vagues, notre force c’est que nous y croyons, et que vos œuvres sont immortelles ».

Voici le verbatim intégral de ce discours qui restera, pour longtemps, dans les mémoires des festivaliers et amateurs de septième art.

« Ne devrait-on pas évoquer, depuis cette tribune, qui concentre pour un temps, tous les regards du monde, les tourments d’une planète qui saigne, qui souffre, qui étouffe et qui brûle dans l’indifférence des pouvoirs ? Oui, sans doute. Mais que dire, sinon, de neuf, ou au moins d’utile ?

C’est une question à laquelle tous les artistes ont été, sont, et seront confrontés. Doit-on user de sa notoriété, aussi modeste soit-elle, pour porter haut et fort la parole des sans-voix, ou, au contraire, refuser d’exprimer publiquement une position dans des domaines où nous n’avons ni légitimité, ni compétence particulière ?

mal à l’aise dans le confort et les privilèges, même si bien trop humain pour y renoncer, j’ai souvent pris le risque de parler haut, parfois naïvement, pour dénoncer des douleurs ressenties par d’autres, mais qui, si elles épargnaient mes chairs, torturaient ma conscience.

Le Festival International du Film de Cannes prolonge cette tradition séculaire. Né d’une volonté de lutte, contre un fascisme, qui avait dénaturé le cinéma européen, il n’a cessé d’accueillir, de protéger et de réunir les plus grands cinéastes de leur temps.

Ouvert sur toutes les cultures, n’exigeant rien d’autre que l’exigence, ses sélections ont retenu des films dont l’ambition ne se limitait pas seulement à remplir les salles.

C’est la fonction du Festival de Cannes. C’est sa gloire. C’est cette ligne inflexible, artistique et citoyenne, qui rend nécessaire, ce qui, sans cela, serait obscène : projeter des images radieuses en surimpression de celles abominables, qui nous parviennent d’une Ukraine héroïque et martyrisée, ou bien encore, ensevelir sous la mélodie du bonheur, les massacres silencieux qui s’abattent sur le Yémen, ou le Darfour.

Et enfin pour conclure, une question :

« Pouvons-nous faire autre chose, qu’utiliser le cinéma, cette arme d’émotion massive, pour réveiller les consciences et bousculer les indifférences ? »

Même si cela revient à écoper, avec un dé à coudre, la coque d’un navire qui se remplit par vagues, notre force c’est que nous y croyons, et que vos œuvres sont immortelles.

Même si parfois, quand l’actualité nous écrase et que le découragement me gagne, je me demande, si nous ne sommes pas en train de danser sur le Titanic…

Peut-être alors, si nous prêtions l’oreille, entendrions-nous, au milieu du vacarme des empires et des nations, comme un tendre et faible bruissement d’ailes, le doux murmure de la vie et de l’espoir.

Voici venu le temps des artistes, des cinéastes responsables, pour nous porter, pour nourrir notre imaginaire, et nous aider, à nous répéter en nous même, chaque fois que nous le pourrons, en hommage à tous ceux qui souffrent et qui se battent dans le monde : être vivant et le savoir. »