Switzerland will punish before the crime is committed



Preparing a trip to Syria or Somalia can now earn you years in prison in Switzerland. Bern is developing preventive justice and wants to take on “potential terrorists”, like some sci-fi movies which say that in the future the police will not only arrest the perpetrators of a heist, but will have the right to intercept the people who brought up the idea to commit a robbery…

By Ian Hamel, in Bern

By a fairly large majority (127 votes in favour, 54 against and 13 abstentions), the National Council (the National Assembly) in Switzerland has strengthened its anti-terrorist legal arsenal. From now on, an individual who prepares a trip to a war zone or participates in an activity to finance such a trip can be arrested and sentenced to up to ten years in prison. Even if he or she has not been involved in a terrorist act.

Ahead of France, which is trying to imagine what preventive justice could be, its little neighbour has just implemented it. As the editorialist of La Tribune de Genève writes, if someone tries to go to an area controlled by jihadists, it is “rarely with the intention of opening a restaurant there or bringing back holiday photos”. We must therefore stop fishing out of naivety. The prosecuting authorities now have the power to criminalize anyone suspected of supporting terrorist organizations. This means that a cousin who lends 300 Swiss francs to a potential jihadist could face years in prison.

To put it plainly, the Swiss penal code now punishes recruitment, training and travel with a view to a terrorist act. To which the Left, opposed to this tightening, replies that some people are not necessarily aware of the criminal nature of the person they are working for. A sports coach may well be training someone in the Vaud Alps without knowing that the person is preparing to join ISIS in a few weeks’ time. A waiter in a restaurant may be unaware of his boss’s criminal intentions. On the other hand, should all mythomaniacs capable of boasting of warlike actions that they will never ultimately carry out be condemned?

For it is rarely those who announce their imminent departure for Syria, Iraq or the Sahel to their friends and family for weeks at a time, whoever leave. Moreover, how can we define what a terrorist organisation is when there is no common definition at the international level? Unlike some Gulf countries, European states do not consider the Brotherhood of the Muslim Brothers as a criminal organisation. However, the National Council has made it clear that the new criminal standard would not apply to humanitarian organisations, such as the International Committee of the Red Cross, which are forced to deal with al-Qaida or the Islamic State in order to save lives. On the other hand, the new law provides for the expulsion from Switzerland of all foreigners who would help potential terrorists.

In France, more attention is being paid to the fate of detainees, convicted in a terrorism case, after their release from prison (this is the case of 43 detainees who will be released in 2020, and about 60 in 2021). Should certain coercive measures be imposed on them, such as the obligation to live in a commune or a ban on visiting certain places? To meet certain people? To report several times a week to the police or gendarmerie? This can be considered as a sentence after the sentence has been served. However, when a prisoner has served his sentence in France, it is considered that he has paid his debt to society. With the exception of sex offenders who continue to be monitored after their release, because of the dangerousness of their pathology. But is terrorism a pathology?

La Suisse va punir avant le délit



Préparer un voyage en Syrie ou en Somalie peut dorénavant vous valoir des années de prison en Suisse. Berne développe la justice préventive et veut s’en prendre aux « terroristes potentiels », à l’instar de certains films de science-fiction qui racontent qu’à l’avenir les polices n’arrêteront pas seulement les auteurs d’un hold-up, mais auront le droit d’intercepter les personnes qui ont évoqué l’idée de commettre un braquage…

Par Ian Hamel, à Berne 

A une assez large majorité (127 voix pour, 54 contre et 13 abstentions), le Conseil national (l’Assemblée nationale) en Suisse a renforcé son arsenal juridique antiterroriste. Dorénavant un individu qui prépare un déplacement dans une zone de guerre ou qui participe à une activité de financement de ce voyage peut être arrêté et condamné jusqu’à dix années de prison. Même s’il n’y a pas eu participation à un acte terroriste.

En avance sur la France, qui tente d’imaginer ce que pourrait être une justice préventive, son petit voisin vient de la mettre en application. Comme l’écrit l’éditorialiste de La Tribune de Genève, si quelqu’un tente de se rendre dans une zone contrôlée par les djihadistes, c’est « rarement pour intention d’y ouvrir un restaurant ou d’en ramener des photos de vacances ». Il faut donc cesser de pêcher par naïveté. Les autorités de poursuite pénale ont dorénavant le pouvoir de criminaliser toutes les personnes qui sont soupçonnées de vouloir soutenir les organisations terroristes. Ce qui veut dire qu’un cousin qui prêterait 300 francs suisses à un potentiel djihadiste risquerait de croupir des années en prison.

En clair, le code pénal helvétique punit dorénavant le recrutement, l’entraînement et le voyage en vue d’un acte terroriste. Ce à quoi la gauche, opposée à ce durcissement, répond que certaines personnes n’ont pas forcément conscience du caractère criminel de la personne pour laquelle elles travaillent. Un coach sportif peut fort bien entraîner une personne dans les Alpes vaudoises sans savoir que celle-ci se prépare à rejoindre Daech dans quelques semaines. Un serveur dans un restaurant peut tout ignorer des desseins criminels de son patron. Par ailleurs, faut-il condamner tous les mythomanes capables de se vanter d’actions guerrières qu’ils ne mèneront finalement jamais ?

Car ce sont rarement ceux qui annoncent pendant des semaines à leur entourage leur départ imminent pour la Syrie, l’Irak ou le Sahel, qui y partent un jour. Par ailleurs, comment définir ce qu’est une organisation terroriste alors qu’il n’y a pas de définition commune au niveau international ? Contrairement à certains pays du Golfe, les Etats européens ne considèrent pas la Confrérie des Frères musulmans comme une organisation criminelle. Le Conseil national a tout de même précisé que la nouvelle norme pénale ne s’appliquerait pas aux organisations humanitaires, comme le Comité international de la Croix-Rouge, qui sont contraint de traiter avec Al-Qaïda ou avec l’Etat islamique afin de sauver des vies. En revanche, la nouvelle loi prévoit l’expulsion de la Suisse de tous les étrangers qui aideraient les potentiels terroristes.

En France, on s’intéresse davantage au sort réservé aux détenus, condamnés dans une affaire de terrorisme, après leur sortie de prison (c’est le cas de 43 détenus qui vont retrouver la liberté en 2020, et d’une soixantaine en 2021). Faut-il leur imposer certaines mesures coercitives comme l’obligation d’habiter une commune, l’interdiction de se rendre dans certains lieux ? De rencontrer certaines personnes ? De pointer plusieurs fois par semaine à la police ou à la gendarmerie ? Cela peut être considéré comme une peine après la peine. Or, quand un détenu a exécuté sa peine en France, on estime qu’il a payé sa dette à l’égard de la société. A l’exception des délinquants sexuels qui continuent à être suivis après leur libération, en raison de la dangerosité de leur pathologie. Mais le terrorisme est-il une pathologie ?