Pentagon offers AWACS reconnaissance planes to Algiers



The proposal made to Morocco by the former Trump administration to establish an Africom (United States Africa Command) relay base there has angered the Algerian authorities at the highest level.

This decision, which was part of the “incentive measures” taken by the Trump administration, in return for Morocco’s normalization of its relations with Israel, prompted Algiers to threaten to suspend all cooperation with the United States. , especially on the burning security issues in the Sahel and Libya.

Aware of the seriousness of the stake, Trump dispatched to Algiers, a week before his departure from the White House, two emissaries of weight: the Assistant Secretary of State for Near Eastern Affairs, David Schenker, and the Secretary of the Air Force (on which Africom depends), Barbara Barrett.

But the Algerian authorities refused to comply with the conciliation attempts of the American emissaries, preferring to “wait for the installation of the Biden administration, to resume dialogue with the United States in better terms”.

According to our sources, the new team installed at the Pentagon, since the arrival at the helm of the new Secretary of Defense Lloyd Austin, is very concerned with appeasing the “traditional dispute” between Algeria and Morocco, which has grown considerably since the decision of the Trump Administration to recognize the “Moroccanness of Western Sahara”, in return for the normalization of relations with Israel.

Without going back on this decision, the new Pentagon team is working to calm the anger of Algiers, by using both the carrot and the stick: on the one hand, ultra-modern AWACS-type reconnaissance planes are offered to the Algerian army, in particular to strengthen its capacities in the fight against terrorism. In addition, confidential US intelligence notes are exchanged with Algiers. These report alarming terrorist projects developed by jihadist groups in the Sahel, in an attempt to extend their areas of activity further north, taking advantage of the deterioration of Algerian-Moroccan relations and the end of security cooperation between Algiers and Rabat.

Le Pentagone propose des avions de reconnaissance AWACS à Alger



La proposition faite au Maroc par l’ex-Administration Trump d’y implanter une base relais d’Africom (le commandement des forces américaines en Afrique) a irrité au plus haut niveau les autorités algériennes.

Cette décision, qui faisait partie des « mesures d’incitation » prises par l’Administration Trump, en contre-partie de la normalisation par le Maroc de ses relations avec Israël, a poussé Alger à menacer de suspendre toute coopération avec les Etats-Unis, notamment sur les dossiers sécuritaires brûlants au Sahel et en Libye.

Conscient de la gravité de l’enjeu, Trump a dépêché à Alger, une semaine avant son départ de la Maison Blanche, deux émissaires de poids : le secrétaire d’Etat adjoint chargé du Moyen Orient, David Schenker, et la secrétaire de l’armée de l’air (dont dépend Africom), Barbara Barrett.

Mais les autorités algériennes ont opposé une fin de non-recevoir aux tentatives de conciliation des émissaires américains, préférant « attendre l’installation de l’Administration Biden, pour reprendre le dialogue avec les Etats Unis dans de meilleures dispositions ».

Selon nos sources, la nouvelle équipe installée au Pentagone, depuis l’arrivée aux commandes du nouveau ministre de la défense Lloyd Austin, est très soucieuse d’apaiser le « différend traditionnel » entre l’Algérie et le Maroc, qui s’est considérablement envenimé depuis la décision de l’Administration Trump de reconnaitre la « marocanité du Sahara occidental », en contre-partie de la normalisation des relations avec Israël.

Sans revenir sur cette décision, la nouvelle équipe du Pentagone s’attelle à calmer la colère d’Alger, en usant à la fois de la carotte et du bâton : d’une part, des avions de reconnaissance ultra-modernes de type AWACS sont proposés à l’armée algérienne, notamment pour renforcer ses capacités en matière de lutte antiterroriste. Par ailleurs, des notes confidentielles du renseignement américain sont échangées avec Alger. Celles-ci font état de projets terroristes alarmants élaborés par des groupes djihadistes au Sahel, pour tenter d’étendre leurs zones d’activité plus au nord, en profitant de la dégradation des relations algéro-marocaines et l’arrêt de la coopération sécuritaire entre Alger et Rabat.