Lebanon’s money is on its way to Swiss banks



While the country, whose public debt amounts to 166% of GDP, is at risk of defaulting at any time, the money of the Lebanese wealthy is evaporating on the shores of Lake Geneva and Zurich. An international letter rogatory has been sent to Switzerland.


By Ian Hamel, in Berne

 

The time when Lebanon was nicknamed “the Switzerland of the Middle East” is long gone. Today Beirut is no longer able to honour its debts. The country has been forced to seek technical assistance from the International Monetary Fund (IMF) to negotiate with its creditors the cancellation or postponement of its loans, particularly from Anglo-Saxon funds.

This economic crisis caused a liquidity crisis. While the population has been subject since October 17 to severe restrictions by the banks to withdraw money, fortunes continue to flow into Switzerland (and presumably to other tax havens), with the complicity of complacent bankers.

In January the Federal Office of Justice in Switzerland received an international rogatory commission from Lebanon asking it for “legal aid” on “suspicious” transfers. Between 17 October 2019 and 14 January 2020, the amounts transferred to Swiss financial institutions would amount to 2.376 billion dollars. These are only official figures.

In addition, around 300 million dollars would have gone into exile between September and October 17, 2019, the date of the banks’ closure. The Lebanese elite, aware of the seriousness of the situation, began to take measures before the crisis erupted in broad daylight. Already in January, according to local media, all Lebanese banks had received a request from the Banking Control Commission (BCC) for information on all transfers made to Swiss banks, “including the Swiss branches of Lebanese banks”. In total, it is estimated that at least four billion dollars were transferred abroad, despite the officially very strict restrictions on money transfers outside the country.

The problem is that these transfers are very rarely made in the names of individuals. Usually the potentates and the wealthy hide behind “mailbox companies”, where their names do not appear. Furthermore, Switzerland will only be able to block accounts if Lebanon succeeds in proving that the money is black or grey money. That is to say that it is illegally earned (corruption, drugs, etc.) or undeclared money. But Geneva and Zurich have enough excellent tax lawyers who can bury the cases for decades. For the record, the assets of the former dictator of Haiti, Jean-Claude Duvalier (now deceased), hidden behind a foundation, are still frozen in Switzerland.

The Federal Office of Justice in Bern has asked the Lebanese authorities for “additional information, which is necessary for a favourable response”. Beirut will have to be patient. Switzerland, for example, has long refused to execute French letters rogatory which contained the words “abuse of corporate assets”. For this offence does not exist in Switzerland, where there is talk of “unfair management”. And the situation would be even more ubiquitous if the Lebanese letter rogatory arrives at the office of a Swiss German-speaking prosecutor!

L’argent du Liban prend le chemin des banques suisses



Alors que le pays, dont la dette publique atteint 166% du PIB, risque à tout moment un défaut de paiement, l’argent des nantis libanais s’évapore du côté des lacs Léman et de Zurich. Une commission rogatoire internationale a été adressée à la Suisse.


Par Ian Hamel, à Berne

 

Il est bien loin le temps où le Liban était surnommé « la Suisse du Moyen-Orient ». Aujourd’hui Beyrouth n’est plus capable d’honorer ses dettes. Le pays a été contraint à demander l’aide technique du Fonds monétaire international (FMI) pour négocier avec ses créanciers l’effacement ou le report de ses emprunts, notamment auprès des fonds anglo-saxons.

Cette crise économique a provoqué une crise des liquidités. Et alors que la population est soumise, depuis le 17 octobre, à des restrictions sévères de la part des banques pour retirer de l’argent, des fortunes continuent de prendre le chemin de la Suisse (et vraisemblablement d’autres paradis fiscaux), avec la complicité de banquiers complaisants.

L’Office fédéral suisse de la Justice a reçu en janvier une commission rogatoire internationale venant du Liban lui demandant son « aide judiciaire » sur des transferts « suspects ». Entre le 17 octobre 2019 et le 14 janvier 2020, les montants transférés vers des établissements financiers helvétiques s’élèveraient à 2,376 milliards de dollars. Et il ne s’agit là que de chiffres officiels.

À cela s’ajoute autour de 300 millions de dollars qui auraient pris le chemin de l’exil entre septembre et le 17 octobre 2019, date de la fermeture des banques.  L’élite libanaise, au courant de la gravité de la situation, a commencé à prendre ses dispositions avant que n’éclate la crise au grand jour.

En janvier déjà, selon des sources médiatiques locales, toutes les banques libanaises avaient reçu de la part de la Commission de contrôle des banques (CCB) une demande d’information sur tous les transferts effectués vers des banques suisses, « y compris les branches suisses de banques libanaises ». Au total, on estime qu’au moins quatre milliards de dollars ont pu être viré à l’étranger, malgré les restrictions officiellement très strictes sur les transferts de fonds en dehors du pays.

Le problème, c’est que ces transferts ne se font que très rarement aux noms de personnes physiques. Habituellement les potentats et les nantis se dissimulent derrière des « sociétés boîtes aux lettres », où leurs noms n’apparaissent pas. Par ailleurs, la Suisse ne pourra bloquer des comptes que si le Liban réussit à prouver qu’il s’agit d’argent noir ou gris. C’est à dire qu’il s’agit d’argent illégalement gagné (corruption, drogue, etc.) ou non déclaré. Or Genève et Zurich comptent suffisamment d’excellents avocats fiscalistes susceptibles d’enterrer les affaires pendant des décennies. Pour mémoire, les avoirs de l’ancien dictateur d’Haïti, Jean-Claude Duvalier (aujourd’hui décédé), dissimulé derrière une fondation, sont toujours bloqués en Suisse.

L’Office fédéral de la justice à Berne a demandé aux autorités libanaises « des informations complémentaires, nécessaires pour y donner une suite favorable ». Beyrouth va devoir s’armer de patience. La Suisse a, par exemple, longtemps refusé d’exécuter les commissions rogatoires françaises qui contenaient les mots « abus de biens sociaux », au prétexte que ce délit n’existe pas en Suisse, où l’on parle de « gestion déloyale ». Et la situation serait encore plus ubuesque si la commission rogatoire libanaise arrive sur le bureau d’un procureur suisse alémanique !